Oklahoma's Milken Educators


2016-17 National Milken Educator Award Recipient
Hilldale Elementary Teacher earns $25,000

Hilldale Elementary School in Putnam City Schools — the fifth-largest school district in Oklahoma — is known for turning around student achievement. Today, an all-school assembly was turned on its head when first-grade teacher Amanda Raupe was called to accept a $25,000 Milken Educator Award for her contributions to the school’s significant achievement growth.

Raupe is the only Milken Educator Award recipient for Oklahoma this year and among up to 35 honorees who will receive the prestigious honor nationwide for 2016-17. This season marks the 30th year of the Milken Educator Awards, hailed by Teacher magazine as the “Oscars of Teaching.”

Read the full press release 

Watch Amanda Raupe receive the Milken Educator Award.


Award Program Facts - Oklahoma

Year Program Began in Oklahoma: 2000
Number of Recipients Since Inception: 27
Total Dollars Awarded Since Inception: $675,000.00

The Awards alternate yearly between elementary and secondary educators. Unlike most teacher recognition programs, the Milken Educator Awards has no formal nomination or application process. Candidates are sourced through a confidential selection process and then reviewed by blue ribbon panels appointed by state departments of education. Those most exceptional are recommended for the Award, with final approval by the Milken Family Foundation.

Past recipients have used their Awards to fund their children’s education or their own continuing education. Others have financed dream field trips, established scholarships and even funded the adoption of children.

Recipient Name, School at Time of Award


Tammera Mittelstet, Highland Park, Will Rogers Elementaries, Stillwater 2012
Sarah Vann, Owasso Eighth Grade Center, Owasso 2011
Jennifer Evans-Lowery, Highland Park Elementary School, Midwest City-Del City 2010
Chris Brewster, Santa Fe South Charter School, Oklahoma City 2009
Ronia Davison, Sadler Arts Academy, Muskogee 2008
Shelly Unsicker, Central Junior High School, Moore 2007
Dionne Liebl, Putnam City West, Putnam City 2007
Deborah Harwell, Hugh Bish Elementary School, Lawton 2006
Lisa Brown, Harvest Hills Elementary School, Putnam City 2006
Shelley Self, Coweta High School, Coweta 2005
Jill Rumbaugh, Cheyenne Middle School, Edmond 2005
Malissa C. Barker, West Intermediate School, Jenks 2004
Pam Holland, Russell Babb Elementary School, Harrah 2004
Darryl Andrews, Yukon High School, Yukon 2003
Kasandra Lovell, Spiro High School, Spiro 2003
Kristy Crabtree, Jefferson Elementary School, Norman 2002
Ginger Mendenhall, Marshall Elementary School, Tulsa 2002
Paula L. Dyer, Mayfield Middle School, Putnam City 2001
Tim Rose, Bridge Creek High School, Blanchard 2001
Gene L. Williams, Emerson Alternative Education Center, Oklahoma City 2001
Jean Brassfield, Pershing Elementary School, Muskogee 2000
Suzanne Craig, Summit Middle School, Edmond 2000
Tracy L. Foor, Norman High School North, Norman 2000
Dee Fox, Taft Middle School, Oklahoma City 2000
Marcellus Hankins, Soldier Creek Elementary School, Midwest City 2000
Theresa Kiger, Robert B. Grove Elementary School, Tulsa 2000

For more information about the Milken Educator Awards, visit www.MilkenEducatorAwards.org or call MFF at (310) 570-4772.

To get regular updates on the surprise Milken Educator Award events, follow and use the #MilkenAward hashtag on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. The Milken Educator Awards tour is on social media at www.facebook.com/milkeneducatorawardswww.twitter.com/milkenwww.youtube.com/milkenaward, and http://instagram.com/milkenfamilyfdn.



Last updated on April 5, 2017