State Supt. Janet Barresi Congratulates ACT College Readiness Award Schools

State Superintendent of Public Instruction Janet Barresi recently received notice that 32 Oklahoma High Schools have been awarded the 2011 College Readiness Award by the Oklahoma ACT Council.

The recognition means each school has shown a significant increase in its ACT composite score over the past five years, while at the same time increasing the number of students taking the ACT assessment. The result is a greater number of Oklahoma students prepared for college.

“This pleases me beyond measure,” Barresi said. “My top mission is to make sure each student who graduates with a diploma in Oklahoma is college, career and citizen ready. These schools show they are dedicated to that mission as well, and their students will reap the benefits of this hard work in future success.”

Barresi said the schools also will prove invaluable to Gov. Fallin’s participation in Complete College America -- a program that aims to improve the state’s economy by producing 1,700 more college graduates a year.

Only 5 percent of the high schools in Oklahoma were able to achieve the 2011 College Readiness Award. But, more than 76 percent of Oklahoma students took the ACT in 2011 – an all-time high.

The Oklahoma ACT Council, supervised by the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education, is comprised of secondary and postsecondary educators who advise ACT Inc. on the utilization of ACT programs and services in Oklahoma schools and colleges. Directors from ACT Inc.’s Southwest Region joined Oklahoma ACT Council members in recognizing the significant achievement of the 32 schools.

High schools receiving the 2011 College Readiness Award:

Ada; Bixby; Booker T. Washington, Tulsa; Cashion; Central High School, Tulsa; Chisholm, Enid; Colbert; Dibble; Durant; Edmond Santa Fe; Fort Gibson; Guymon; Haileyville; Harding Charter Prep, Oklahoma City; Haskell; Haworth; Hennessey; Hominy; Howe; Liberty, Mounds; Locust Grove; Miami; Newcastle; Piedmont; Preston; Quapaw; Salina; Sallisaw; Thomas A. Edison, Tulsa; Washington; Westville; Wewoka.

Last updated on January 12, 2012