Lincoln Essay Contest Winners Announced

The Oklahoma Humanities Council (OHC) honored winners of its 2012 Lincoln Essay Contest at a reception at the Oklahoma History Center on April 21. The annual contest was sponsored with support from Pottawatomie Telephone Company and SONIC, America-s Drive-In. Panera Bread provided cookies for the reception.

Bruce Fisher, Administrative Program Officer for the Oklahoma Historical Society, was the featured speaker and discussed how the preliminary Emancipation Proclamation of September 1862 set the stage for the abolition of slavery.

First-place winners received a cash prize of $200, and their teachers received a $250 classroom grant. Second-place winners received $150, and third-place winners received $100.

"More than 900 students competed in this year-s contest," said OHC Program Associate Kelly Elsey. "We congratulate all the students and teachers who took on this year's challenging essay and drawing topics."

A lesson plan contest was added to this year's competition. Teachers were asked to submit a lesson plan that incorporated the Lincoln Essay Contest in their classroom. First place, $600, was awarded to Corde' Dunlap of Anderson Elementary in Sand Springs. Second place, $500, was awarded to Karen Cruise of Destiny Christian School in Oklahoma City. Third place, $400, was awarded to Melissa Cavenah of Mannford Elementary School.

Becky Rickard, Director of Archives and Administration for Sonic Corp., presented Sonic gift cards to all the winning students.

This year's contest winners include:

Kindergarten through First Grade:
First Place - Enya Apanasova, Truman Primary, Norman
Second Place - Connor Graham, Anderson Elementary, Sand Springs
Third Place - Zane Hause, Prague Early Childhood Center

Second through Third Grade:
First Place - Kuldip Singh Cheema, Central Elementary, Idabel
Second Place - Kolton Sain, Cental Elementary, Idabel
Third Place - Coleton Dallas, Deer Creek Prairie Vale, Edmond

Fourth through Sixth Grade:
First Place - Ken Nguyen, Classen School of Advanced Studies, Oklahoma City
Second Place - Justice Karlon LeeGrace LeSure, Nichols Hills Elementary School, Oklahoma City
Third Place - Claire Smith, Classen School of Advanced Studies, Oklahoma City

Seventh through Ninth Grade:
First Place - Kelsey West, Glenpool High School
Second Place - Mason Maple, Harrah Middle School
Third Place - Cheyenne Edison, Glenpool High School

10th through 12th Grade:
First Place - Lacey Daubenspeck, Cache High School
Second Place - Tanya Salyers-Spangler, Lawton High School
Third Place - Daniel Pae, Lawton High School

Last updated on December 8, 2017