2012 Presidential Scholars Named

Two Oklahoma students have been named 2012 U.S. Presidential Scholars.

Joseph C. Woodson, a home school student from Tulsa, and Anna H. Zhao, a student at Oklahoma School of Science and Mathematics in Oklahoma City, were selected by the White House Commission on Presidential Scholars.

“We appreciate the leadership and the academic accomplishments of these two outstanding young people,” State Superintendent Janet Barresi said. “To be recognized as a Presidential Scholar is an extraordinary honor showing these students have exceeded all expectations and are ready for a bright future.”

The Scholars have been invited to National Recognition Week in Washington, D.C., in June, where each will receive a U.S. Presidential Scholars medallion. This year marks the program’s 48th year.

One young man and one young woman have been chosen from each state, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and from families of U.S. citizens living abroad. Fifteen students have been selected at large, and 20 students have been chosen from the visual and performing arts. The Scholars have all demonstrated leadership, scholarship, contribution to school and community, and outstanding accomplishments in the arts, sciences, humanities, and other fields of interest.

Zhao was recognized at Thursday’s State Board of Education meeting. Woodson was unable to attend.

See the complete list of the 2012 Scholars.

Last updated on May 24, 2012