McLoud, Broken Arrow Educators Awarded Presidential Excellence in Math, Science Teaching

The White House this week announced 97 mathematics and science teachers as recipients of the prestigious Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching. The educators will receive their awards in Washington, D.C., later this month.

Oklahoma winners are: Ashley Moody, from McLoud Public Schools, for math; and
 Rebecca Morales, from Broken Arrow Public Schools, for science.

“Congratulations to these exceptional educators,” State Superintendent Janet Barresi. “Math and science are key components of getting students prepared for college and the work force in this century. We’re thrilled that these two educators were chosen for this national recognition.”

The Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching is awarded annually to outstanding K-12 science and mathematics teachers from across the country. A panel of distinguished scientists, mathematicians, and educators following an initial selection process done at the state level selects the winners. Each year the award alternates between teachers teaching kindergarten through 6th grade and those teaching 7th through 12th grades. The 2011 awardees named this week teach 7th through 12th grades.

Winners of this Presidential honor receive a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation to be used at their discretion. They also are invited Washington, D.C., for an awards ceremony and several days of educational and celebratory events, including visits with members of Congress and the Administration.

See the complete list of winners.

Last updated on December 8, 2017