21st Century Community Learning Center Grants Awarded

The Oklahoma State Department of Education recently announced nine recipients for 21st Century Community Learning Center (21st CCLC) grants for the 2012-13 school year, bringing the total number of current grantees in the state to 71.

“These centers are crucial to giving students additional learning opportunities and resources outside of the normal school day, particularly for those students who are at highest risk,” said State Superintendent of Public Instruction Janet Barresi. “As we work to make sure that each child in our state is reading at or beyond grade level and excelling in core subjects such as math, history and science, we must embrace such relationships with our community partners. I’m thrilled that these providers were awarded these grant funds so they can help make an impact in the lives of Oklahoma students.”

The purpose of the 21st Century Community Learning Center program is to provide learning opportunities and enrichment activities that will complement the regular academic program of K-12 students. The program is authorized under Title IV, Part B, of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act.

The program’s specific purpose is to offer assistance to students in meeting state and local performance standards in core academic subjects, including tutorial services, particularly for students in high poverty areas and low-performing schools. The program offers opportunities for literacy training and related education development for families of students and help for working parents by providing a safe environment for students when school is not in session. The learning centers also offer additional services such as youth development; drug and violence prevention; counseling; art, music, technology and service learning; as well as character, physical and wellness education.

There were 68 grant applicants in Oklahoma this year and nine grants awarded. Each grantee received between $50,000 and $300,000 based on the number of students served. A total of $1,801,538 was awarded this year to new grantees, out of a five-year total of $7,959,624, the balance of which will continue funding existing grantees.

School districts awarded grants this year were:
Boone Apache in Caddo County, $225,643
Indiahoma in Comanche County, $228,837
Jay in Delaware County, $300,000
Madill in Marshall County, $300,000
Warner in Muskogee County, $225,000
Morris in Okmulgee County, $228,692
Marble City in Sequoyah County, $50,000
Yarbrough in Texas County, $78,572
Tipton in Tillman County, $164,794 

Last updated on August 13, 2012