Oklahoma Title I School Paraprofessional Credential Requirements


Credential requirements for paraprofessionals (teaching assistants) teaching at Title I schools.
 


What must a paraprofessional have in order to be a teaching assistant in an Oklahoma Title I school?

The No Child Left Behind Act of 2001 requires paraprofessionals (teaching assistants) who are employed in Title I schools to meet federal requirements. Those requirements are:

  • Have a high school diploma or a General Educational Development (GED) diploma, PLUS:
  • Option A:
    Hold an associate’s degree (or higher)
    OR
  • Option B:
    Complete at least two years (48 credit hours) of study at an institution of higher education
    OR
  • Option C:
    Pass the Oklahoma General Education (OGET) Test. (See Office of Educational Quality and Accountability for testing.)
    OR
  • Option D:
    Pass the Praxis ParaProfessional Assessment Test (Passing score is 455)
     

Are the requirements for a special education classroom paraprofessional different than the requirements for Title I classroom paraprofessionals?

Yes. In addition to the requirements listed in the question above, a special education paraprofessional has to meet the following:

  • Complete Oklahoma Special Education Paraprofessional Training (9 modules).
  • Complete and maintain training and skills in Cardiovascular Pulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) and First Aid.
  • Complete training in Universal Precautions/Bloodborne Pathogens Training.
  • Complete an additional 6 hours of professional development and Universal Precautions/Bloodborne Pathogens each school year thereafter.


For more information contact Special Education Services, Oklahoma State Department of Education, at (405) 522-3248.

May I apply for some kind of credential to show that I am a paraprofessional?

Oklahoma teaching assistants may apply for a Title I Paraprofessional Credential by submitting the following:

  • Submit fingerprint cards and the $53.94 fee for a criminal history record search.
    • Or, for faster and more accurate results, you may have your fingerprints laser-scanned at the Oklahoma State Department of Education (OSDE), Room 212, 2500 North Lincoln Boulevard, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, for a $53.94 processing fee.
    • Fingerprints are scanned at the OSDE between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. For additional information refer to Fingerprints/Background Checks Information.
  • Verification of having met Option A, B, C, or D listed in question 47.
  • Application for Oklahoma Title I Paraprofessional Credential. Contact Teacher Certification at (405) 521-3337 to obtain the application.
  • $10 processing fee (check, cashier’s check or money order) made payable to the Oklahoma State Department of Education.
     

When does a Title I Paraprofessional Credential expire?

A Title I Paraprofessional Credential is valid for life.

 

back button icon Back to Alternative Certification Paths

Last updated on April 9, 2018