Governor’s Christmas Tree Lighting Ceremony

Christmas Tree Lighting Ceremony poster


Events Office
- Governor’s Christmas Tree Lighting Ceremony or (405) 522-8767

State Superintendent of Public Instruction Joy Hofmeister welcomes schools to attend the Governor’s Christmas Tree Lighting Ceremony, at the Oklahoma State Capitol.

All students and the public are invited to attend the lighting of the Capitol tree, which will take place on the south side of the Capitol.


Calling all First through Fifth Grade Classrooms. 

On behalf of Governor Mary Fallin and State Superintendent of Public Instruction Joy Hofmeister, we are excited to announce the upcoming Governor's Christmas Tree Lighting Ceremony.

This event will take place at the Oklahoma State Capitol on Tuesday, November 29, 2016

Apply for your classroom to decorate a tree.


The Governor's Christmas Tree Lighting Ceremony is hosted by the Office of Governor Mary Fallin, the Oklahoma State Department of Education, the Oklahoma Arts Council, the Office of Management & Enterprise Services and the Oklahoma Highway Patrol.

Capitol Building Trees Decoration

First through fifth-grade classrooms were selected to participate in this event. Teachers were notified if their class was selected. Each classroom of students is responsible for decorating one four-foot artificial tree, with a theme selected by the students.

The day’s activities, for the 26 chosen classes, include tree decorating; photos with Governor Fallin and State Superintendent Hofmeister; a visit from Santa Claus; treats; storybook reading; musical entertainment, and the lighting of the Capitol Christmas Tree.

Additional Information

Additional details were emailed to teachers whose classrooms were chosen to participate.


Schools Selected for Decorating

2016 Selected Schools 

  • Coming Soon

2015 Selected Schools

  • Westfall Elementary - Choctaw/Nicoma Park Public Schools
  • Grove Valley Elementary - Deer Creek Public Schools
  • West Field Elementary - Edmond Public Schools
  • White Rock Elementary - White Rock Public Schools
  • Dibble Elementary - Dibble Public Schools
  • Sequoyah Elementary - Shawnee Public Schools
  • Skyline Elementary - Stillwater Public Schools
  • Carnegie Elementary School - Carnegie Public Schools
  • Bixby Northeast Elementary & Intermediate - Bixby Public Schools
  • Jackson Elementary  -  Pauls Valley Public Schools
  • Martin Luther King Elementary  -  Oklahoma City Public Schools
  • Eugene Field Elementary  -  Oklahoma City Public Schools
  • Grandview Elementary -  Elk City Public Schools
  • Jenks East Intermediate School  -  Jenks Public School
  • Tulsa Legacy Charter School  -  Tulsa Public Schools
  • Heavener Elementary  -  Heavener Public Schools
  • Battiest Elementary  -  Battiest Public Schools
  • Coyle Elementary  - Coyle Public Schools
  • Covington-Douglas Elementary School  -  Covington-Douglas Public Schools
  • Midway Elementary School  - Midway Public Schools
  • Sadler Arts Academy -  Muskogee Public Schools
  • Pond Creek-Hunter - Pond Creek-Hunter Public Schools
  • Wyandotte Elementary  -  Wyandotte Public Schools
  • Antlers Elementary  -  Antlers Public Schools
  • Wilson Elementary School  -  Wilson Public Schools
  • Poteau Upper Elementary  -  Poteau Public Schools


Last updated on September 28, 2016