## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: May 12, 2015

**CONTACT:** Dr. Sharon Lease, OEHF Executive Director, (405) 692-3190

## **EDUCATORS HALL OF FAME ANNOUNCES INDUCTEES FOR 2015**

(Oklahoma City, OK) -- The Oklahoma Educators Hall of Fame (OEHF) Board of Directors today announced its selection of their 2015 inductees: Janet L. Cunningham, Alva; Kara Gae Wilson-Neal, Tulsa; William R. White, Edmond; and John M. Woods, Weatherford.

"Our Board is proud to have chosen four esteemed educators to join the leaders who have been inducted into the Oklahoma Educators Hall of Fame since its inception in 1984," OEHF President Eugene Earsom said.

Nominees for the annual honor are evaluated in seven areas: Professional Experience, Recognitions and Awards, Professional Model, Research, Educational Service, Community Service and Leadership. After induction, the 2015 inductees' portraits will be added to those on display in the Hodge Education Building, State Capitol Complex, Oklahoma City.

- Janet L. Cunningham, Ed. D. President of Northwestern Oklahoma State University, Alva, since 2006, Dr. Janet Cunningham has been on the NWOSU faculty for 27 years and in education for 30. While president, NWOSU has seen an 84 percent increase in first-time freshman, and has added seven new endowed chairs. A Certified Public Accountant, Dr. Cunningham was appointed in 2010 to the State of Oklahoma Team for Complete College America.
- **Kara Gae Wilson-Neal, Ed. D.** Currently Curriculum Director for the School of Urban Studies at the University of Tulsa, Dr. Kara Gae Wilson-Neal achieved a long list of "firsts" in 32 years in education including first female superintendent at both Oklahoma City's Metro Tech (1993-99) and Tulsa Technology Centers (2008-2012). She may best be known as Oklahoma's last elected County Superintendent (Tulsa 1987-1993), one of the reforms of House Bill 1017 in 1990.
- William R. White, Ed. D.—With 38 years in education, Dr. William White has been a pioneer in the development of trimester scheduling, and implemented major technology integration plans as superintendent of Deer Creek (1984-1994) and Ponca City (1994-2004) public schools. He retired in 2011 after nine years at Southern Nazarene University and three as Interim Executive Director for the Cooperative Council for Oklahoma School Administration (CCOSA).
- **John M. Woods, Ph. D.** Math Department Chair, grant specialist and professor at Southwestern Oklahoma State University since 1988, Dr. John Woods has excelled as a mathematician, educator and STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) promoter for nearly 50 years. In the early 1990s, he helped advance input

of the Oklahoma Council of Teachers of Mathematics in developing new state standards, and served on subsequent revision committees for the *Priority Academic Student Skills*.

OEHF Executive Director Dr. Sharon Lease noted, "As Oklahomans, we are grateful for these educators' service over the course of a lifetime teaching and inspiring children and adults. Moreover, we appreciate the extent of their efforts in helping move our state forward."

The 2015 Oklahoma Educators Hall of Fame Banquet and Induction Ceremony will be held on Friday, August 7, at Quail Creek Golf and Country Club, Oklahoma City.

The Oklahoma Educators Hall of Fame was incorporated in 1984 as a nonprofit organization to recognize and honor those professionals who have exemplified a commitment to quality public-supported education while demonstrating exceptional abilities in realizing the ideals of research, service or leadership through their contribution to Oklahoma education. The Oklahoma Educators Hall of Fame is co-sponsored by private donors and underwriting organizations.

## -OEHF-

EDITORS: We do not have official photos available at this time but will provide that closer to the banquet in August. If you need further assistance, feel free to contact Wendy Pratt, (405) 437-8204 or (405) 842-8408.