
  

 

 

 

 

 
 

The Oklahoma Alternative Placement Program provides an opportunity for individuals with degrees 
to teach in Oklahoma accredited schools.  There are four stages in the process.  This packet is designed 
to guide you through the four stages of the application process by outlining information and 
instructions.  It is important to complete all requirements of each step before moving to the next step.  
The fifth stage of the process occurs after receiving a license. 

 

1. Determining eligibility and applying for acceptance into the program - page 2 
 

2. Completing testing requirements (The state agency with responsibility for teacher 
certification testing is the Oklahoma Commission for Teacher Preparation [OCTP].) - page 3 

 

3. Completing fingerprinting requirements - page 3 
 

4. Applying for initial Alternative certificate – page 3 
 

5. After receiving the initial certificate, completing requirements for an Alternative 
standard certificate - page 5 

 
 

 

  

Please use the appropriate checklist when submitting your application. 

Upgrade to Alternative Standard Certificate 

Information Packet 
for the Oklahoma 

Alternative Placement Program 

 

70 O.S. § 6-122.3 

Initial Eligibility Application 

Application form with Parts I, II, III, and IV 
completed.  
 
 

Official transcripts from each accredited higher 
education institution attended.  (Accreditation must be 
recognized by the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher 
Education.) 
 
 

Current résumé indicating date prepared and including 
subject-related post baccalaureate work experience 
with corresponding dates and telephone numbers of 
references for verification of experience. 
 
 

$50 fee by check, cashier’s check, or money order 
made payable to the Oklahoma Alternative Placement 
Program.   

Informational inquiries may be made to the Teacher Certification Section, (405) 521-3337, OR visit the Oklahoma 
Department of Education Web site at <www.ok.gov/sde>.   

IMPORTANT NOTICE 

Tax compliance Title 68 O.S. § 238.1 (effective May 31, 2001) requires that all license/certificate holders be in compliance with 
Oklahoma state income tax laws before a teaching license or certificate can be RENEWED. 
 
The Department of Education is mandated to provide to the Oklahoma Tax Commission a list of individuals who are applying for 
license/certificate renewal. 
 
The Tax Commission will contact any person who appears to be in noncompliance. 
 
Please contact the Oklahoma Tax Commission's Professional Compliance Unit, (405) 522-6800, with any questions. 

 -1- Revised January 2014 

Application for of Oklahoma Alternative Standard 
Certificate.                
 
Official transcripts of any coursework you have 
completed since you submitted your last application.  
(Accreditation of the higher education institution must 
be recognized by the Oklahoma State Regents for 
Higher Education.) 
 
 

If you have completed clock hours as part of the 
professional education component of the Oklahoma 
Alternative Placement Program, please submit official 
verification from your school district. 
 
 

$50 certificate processing fee made payable to the 
Oklahoma State Department of Education. 



  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

1.  Determining Eligibility 
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INFORMATION 

TO DO  

Oklahoma law requires the following: 

 
• A minimum of a baccalaureate degree with a retention GPA of 2.5 (on a 4.0 

scale) from an institution whose accreditation is recognized by the Oklahoma 
State Regents for Higher Education; 

 
• A major in a field of study that corresponds to an area of certification listed in 

Part I of the Oklahoma Alternative Placement Program application; (Degrees in 
liberal arts, general studies…etc., that do not correspond with an area of 
certification will not qualify unless the university academic vice president 
or registrar will provide a letter verifying a major or equivalent 
coursework in a certification area.) 

 
NOTE:  Anyone who has been denied admittance to an approved teacher 
education program, or enrolled in and subsequently failed required teacher 
education courses necessary to meet the minimum requirements of a teacher 
education program, is not eligible for the Oklahoma Alternative Placement 
Program. 

 
• At least two (2) years of work experience which is related to the subject area of 

specialization if the person has only a baccalaureate degree with no post-
baccalaureate work in a related area.  (HB 3259 – Effective July 1, 2010) 

 

 

 

• Complete the Application for Evaluation of : 

 

- Official transcripts from each university and college attended; 
 
- Current résumé indicating date prepared and including subject-related work 

experience with corresponding dates and telephone numbers of references 
for verification of experience; 

 
- $50 evaluation fee by check, cashier’s check, or money order made payable 

to the Oklahoma Alternative Placement Program.   
 

• Mail to: Oklahoma Teacher Certification 

 2500 North Lincoln Boulevard, Room 212 

 Oklahoma City, OK  73105 
 
Your materials will be evaluated and you will be notified of your eligibility 
status in a written memorandum from a certification specialist and provided 
with further direction. 

 

• Please allow up to six weeks for written notification of your eligibility status. 



  

 
 
  
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
 

 

 

 
 
 
        Send Application for initial certificate and $50 fee by check, cashier’s check or money order payable to OSDE. 

2.  Complete Testing Requirements 

• Once your eligibility for the program has been verified in a written memorandum 
from an Oklahoma Alternative Placement Program specialist, the law requires 
passing the 

 

- Oklahoma General Education Competency Test (OGET) and 

- Oklahoma Subject Area Competency Test (OSAT) in your degree field. 
 

 PLEASE DO NOT TAKE ANY OF THE EXAMINATIONS UNTIL YOU HAVE BEEN 

DETERMINED ELIGIBLE IN A WRITTEN MEMORANDUM FROM AN OKLAHOMA 

ALTERNATIVE PLACEMENT SPECIALIST TO SEEK CERTIFICATION THROUGH 

THE ALTERNATIVE PLACEMENT PROCESS. 
 

• The state agency with responsibility for teacher certification testing is the 
Oklahoma Commission for Teacher Preparation (OCTP).   

 

 NOTE:  In addition to the Oklahoma General Education Test and Oklahoma Subject Area Test(s), 
the OCTP administers an Oklahoma Professional Teaching Examination.  The law does not 
require the Oklahoma Professional Teaching Examination to be passed prior to receiving a license, 
but it does have to be passed within three years before a standard teaching certificate can be 
granted. 

 
 

• To register for the appropriate competency examinations, contact the Office of 
Educational Quality and Accountability, the state agency with statutory authority 
and responsibility for teacher testing (70 O.S. § 6-184), 840 Research Parkway, 
Suite 455, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73104, (405) 522-5399, 
<http://www.ok.gov/oeqa>. 

 

• Pass the OGET and the appropriate OSAT after admission to the program has 
been granted. 

 

PLEASE DO NOT TAKE ANY OF THE EXAMINATIONS UNTIL YOU HAVE BEEN 

DETERMINED ELIGIBLE IN A WRITTEN MEMORANDUM FROM AN OKLAHOMA 

ALTERNATIVE PLACEMENT SPECIALIST TO SEEK LICENSURE THROUGH THE 

ALTERNATIVE PLACEMENT PROCESS. 

 

 

 

  

 
• Effective November 1, 2001, Oklahoma statute 70 O.S. § 6-190 requires 

applicants for Oklahoma teacher licensure to have on file with the Oklahoma 
State Board of Education a current OSBI criminal history AND Federal Bureau 
of Investigation fingerprint-based criminal history record. 

 
• Complete an OSBI and FBI background check.  You may have your prints live-

scanned in our office between 8-4 Monday through Friday or contact our office 
for fingerprint cards.  NOTICE: Fingerprints are valid for a maximum of one 
year. 

 

3.  Complete Fingerprinting Requirements 
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INFORMATION 

TO DO  

TO DO  

 4. Applying for initial Alternative Certificate. 

INFORMATION 



  

  

• The law requires participants in the Oklahoma Alternative Placement Program 
to declare the intention to earn a standard certificate by means of the 
Alternative Placement Program in not more than three (3) years.  Steps to 
move from a license to a certificate include the following: 

 

1. Complete a professional education component (college semester hours 
or Oklahoma State Department of Education-approved professional 
development clock hours) [70 O.S. § 6-122.3]).  How many semester 
hours/clock hrs. needed depends on degree level and professional 
education courses you may already have on your college transcript. 

 
 Minimum requirements are as follows: 
 
 

Degree Professional Education Requirements 

Baccalaureate 18 semester hours or 270 clock hours 

Master’s 12 semester hours or 180 clock hours 

Doctorate 12 semester hours or 180 clock hours 

 
 

 
 

2. Pass the Oklahoma Professional Teaching Examination (OPTE).        
To register, contact the Office of Educational Quality and 
Accountability, the state agency with statutory authority and 
responsibility for teacher testing (70 O.S. § 6-184), 840 Research 
Parkway, Suite 455, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73104, (405) 522-5399, 
<http://www.ok.gov/oeqa>. 

 
 The OCTP will notify the Oklahoma State Department of Education when you 

pass the examination. 
 

5.  After receiving a certificate, complete requirements for a standard 

certificate. 

INFORMATION 

TO DO  
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5.  Apply to the Teacher Competency Review Panel (TCRP) 

 -5-  

70 O.S. § 6-122.3 

Alternative Certification Process 
 

 Candidate submits Alternative Certification Evaluation Application with official transcripts, 
resume’ and $50 fee. 

 
Candidate must have:  

1. At least a bachelor’s degree from an regionally accredited university in an area of certification 
offered in the Alternative program, with a retention GPA minimum of 2.5 (on a 4.0 scale). 

2. At least two years experience in their degree field or post-baccalaureate coursework in a related 
field. 

 
Applicant will receive official notice of their eligibility from the Teacher Certification Section 

 
If approved, follow next steps listed below 

Candidate Passes OGET and an OSAT in their degree field 

Applicant completes OSBI and FBI background check required by law 

 
Applicant submits Application for initial Alternative Certificate and $50  

 
Within three years of obtaining certification the applicant must:   

 Pass the Oklahoma Professional Education Examination (OPTE) 
 
 Complete a professional education component of between 6-18 semester hours or 90 to 270 

clock hours as outlined in a plan approved by the Oklahoma State Department of Education 
and on file with the institution of higher education. 

+ 

+ 

+ 

+ 

= 
Initial Alternative Certificate 

Upon Employment 
 

= 
Alternative Standard Certificate 

Revised January 2014 



  

PART II:  EDUCATIONAL INFORMATION 

 

Name 

Address 

Social Security Number: 

Oklahoma Alternative Placement Program Evaluation Application 
70 O.S. § 6-122.3 

Last First Middle Maiden 

Street or Rural Route Number 

 City State Zip Code 

PART I:  TYPES OF AVAILABLE CERTIFICATES:  Check the area/s which you wish to pursue in your degee field. 

PART III:  SUBJECT-MATTER WORK EXPERIENCE 

Daytime  Telephone  Number 

( ) 
Evening  Telephone  Number 

( ) 

Last College 

Attended 

Check if you are in the  
Troops to Teachers Program 

If you have ever been certified to teach in Oklahoma, please check. 

Dates of Last Semester in Attendance Highest Degree Conferred Last College Attended 

Subject-related work experience must be documented by a current résumé which includes telephone numbers of 
references who can verify the work experience to be considered. 
 
 Have you served in the military?    Yes     No      If yes, how many years?   

FEE: 

If you are renewing, please check.   
It is not necessary to complete Parts I and III.   

 Certificates offered for  grades 5-12 Certificates offered for grades PK-12 
  

  Business  Mathematics  Art  *Library Media Specialist 

  Driver/Safety Education  Science  *Counselor  Music 

  English  Social Studies  Dance ____ Physical Education/Health/Safety 

 ____ Journalism  Computer Science ____English as a Second Language ____ *Reading Specialist 

 ____Technology Engineering   ____ Foreign Language ____ Speech/Drama/Debate 

       *Required master’s degree in the field or related field 

  

Career and Technology Education Certificates:  Grades 5-12 
 

  Agricultural Education  Marketing Education  Career and Technology Family and consumer Sciences 

  Family and Consumer Sciences        Career and Technology Business 

 

Other number where you can be reached 

( ) 

The completed application packet should include the following: 

 - Completed application 

 - Official transcripts from all universities attended 

 - Current Résumé 

 - $50 application fee 

Please mail the complete application packet to  
 
 Oklahoma State Department of Education 

 2500 North Lincoln Boulevard – Room 212 

 Oklahoma City, Oklahoma  73105 

E-Mail Address 

If you are applying for additional areas at  
this time, please indicate certificate area. 

Name under which certificate was issued? 

January 20, 2015 

LEAVE THIS SPACE BLANK 

!01-003ALTPROG! 



  

PART IV:  CRIMINAL HISTORY DISCLOSURE STATEMENT AND STATEMENT OF INTENT Last College 

Attended 

Suggested Professional Education Courses 

This is to certify that this applicant for certification through the Oklahoma Alternative Placement Program is required to 
obtain the number of professional education hours listed below as a part of the requirements of the program.  The 
evaluation is based on the degree level presented for review. 

 

 
 Degree Professional Education Requirements 

 

 Baccalaureate 18 semester hours or 270 clock hours 

 

 Master’s  12 semester hours or 180 clock hours 

 

 Doctorate 12 semester hours or 180 clock hours 

Classroom Management 
Developmental Psychology 

Educational Technology 
Evaluation 

Foundations of Education 
Psychology of Learning 

Reading in the Content Area 
Substance Abuse Symptoms Identification

 Teaching Methods 

 
 

FOR STATE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION USE ONLY 

 

Pursuant to legislation, Title 70 O.S. 1991, § 3-104 and 3-104.1, every applicant is required to answer each of the following questions: 

If the answer to any of the preceding questions is “Yes,” state on a separate sheet of paper the nature of the charge and in what court or 
jurisdiction you were charged/convicted.  You may be required to obtain and provide to the Oklahoma State Department of Education, 
official certified copies of all court and/or police records. 
 
The Oklahoma State Department of Education has the authority to require state and national (fingerprint-based) felony background 
checks on any applicant.  If a background check is required, it will be at the applicant’s expense. 

1. During the preceding ten-year period, have you been convicted of a felony?  …………………………………………………….. Yes ____ No ____ 

2. During the preceding ten-year period, have you been convicted of a crime involving moral turpitude?  …………………………. Yes ____ No ____ 

3. Have you ever been convicted in Oklahoma, whether upon a verdict or plea of guilty or upon a plea of nolo  

 contendere (no contest), or received a suspended sentence for a crime or an attempt to commit a crime which  

 is considered sexually related in nature? …………………………………………………………………………………………. Yes ____ No ____ 

4. Have you ever been convicted, received a suspended sentence, or received a deferred judgment for a crime or   

 attempted crime which was considered sexually related in nature in any other state or jurisdiction? …………………………….. Yes ____ No ____ 

5. Have you ever had adverse action taken against any educator certificate or license in Oklahoma or any other 

 state or jurisdiction? ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………… Yes ____ No ____ 

6. Is any action now pending against you for alleged misconduct in any school district, court, or before any  

 educator licensing agency in Oklahoma or any other state or jurisdiction? ………………………………………………………. Yes ____ No ____ 

7. Do you currently have any outstanding criminal charges or warrants of arrest pending against you in  

 Oklahoma or in any other state or jurisdiction? ………………………………………………………………………………….. Yes ____ No ____ 

Signature of Applicant Date 

Are you a United States citizen?   ..................................................................................................................................  Yes ____ No ____ 
If the answer is no, the following applies to you.    
Noncitizens of the United States are required to submit an unexpired United States Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) employment 
authorization document with the application before an Oklahoma teaching credential may be issued.  Also include a copy of your social security card. 

 
Falsification of any information pertaining to certification can result in denial, 

withdrawal, or revocation of the Oklahoma teaching credential. 



 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

  

Initial Alternative Certification Application  

(Supplement to application for Oklahoma Alternative Placement Application) 

!ALTCERTIFY! 

IMPORTANT: This form is to be submitted AFTER passing the Oklahoma General Education Test (OGET) and the 

Oklahoma Subject Area Test (OSAT). 

I. INFORMATION UPDATE 

Name 

 

Address 

April 2015 

Pursuant to legislation, 70 O.S. 1991, § 3-104.1, every applicant is required to answer each of the following questions: 
 
1.  During the preceding ten-year period, have you been convicted of a felony? ........................................................  Yes ____ No ____ 

2. During the preceding ten-year period, have you been convicted of a crime involving moral turpitude? ...............  Yes ____ No ____ 

3. Have you ever been convicted in Oklahoma, whether upon a verdict or plea of guilty or upon a plea of nolo  

 contendere (no contest), or received a suspended sentence for a crime or an attempt to commit a crime which  
 is considered sexually related in nature? ................................................................................................................  Yes ____ No ____ 
4. Have you ever been convicted, received a suspended sentence, or received a deferred judgment for a crime or   
 attempted crime which was considered sexually related in nature in any other state or jurisdiction? ....................  Yes ____ No ____ 
5. Have you ever had adverse action taken against any educator certificate or license in Oklahoma or any other 

state or jurisdiction? ...............................................................................................................................................  Yes ____ No ____ 
6. Is any action now pending against you for alleged misconduct in any school district, court, or before any  

educator licensing agency in Oklahoma or any other state or jurisdiction? ...........................................................  Yes ____ No ____ 
7. Do you currently have any outstanding criminal charges or warrants of arrest pending against you in  
 Oklahoma or in any other state or jurisdiction? ......................................................................................................  Yes ____ No ____ 
  
If the answer to any of the preceding questions is “Yes,” state on a separate sheet of paper the nature of the charge and in what court or jurisdiction you 
were charged/convicted.  You may be required to obtain and provide to the Oklahoma State Department of Education, official certified copies of all 
court and/or police records. 
  
The Oklahoma State Department of Education has the authority to require state and national (fingerprint-based) felony background checks on any 
applicant.  If a background check is required, it will be at the applicant’s expense.  

 

         

Social Security Number: 

           Last                        First                               Middle                                   Maiden 

Street or Rural Route Number 

     City                                                    State                                     Zip code 

Teaching area to be assessed: 

II. CRIMINAL HISTORY DISCLOSURE STATEMENT AND STATEMENT OF INTENT 

(       ) 

Signature of Applicant Date 

Falsification of any information pertaining to certification can result in denial, withdrawal, or revocation of 

the Oklahoma teaching certificate. 

Are you a United States citizen? ………………………………………………………………………………………Yes ____ No ____ 

If the answer is no, the following applies to you: Noncitizens of the United States are required to submit an unexpired United States Citizenship and 

Immigration Services (USCIS) employment authorization document with the application before an Oklahoma teaching certificate may be issued. Also 

include a copy of your social security card. 

(       ) 

Daytime Telephone Number 

Evening Telephone Number 

E-Mail Address 



IMPORTANT NOTICE 

Effective November 1, 2001, Oklahoma statute 70 O.S. § 6-190 requires applicants, for initial licensure, to have on file with 

the Oklahoma State Board of Education a current Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation (OSBI) criminal history AND 

Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) fingerprint-based criminal history record. If you have not yet submitted completed 

fingerprint cards, enclose them (UNFOLDED) with the $59 fee (made payable to L-1 by check, money order, cashier’s 

check or credit card (please see below if paying with credit card*)) at this time. Results will be considered current for one 

year from the report date. 

*If paying by credit card you have two options. You may pay online by visiting www.L1enrollment.com or by 

telephone at 1(877)-219-0197. Please be sure to include your confirmation number when sending your 

fingerprints in. 

 

Application Instructions 

Please make sure you have included the following: 

 $50 fee (check, money order, or cashier’s check) made payable to the Oklahoma State Department of Education 

(OSDE) 

 Fingerprint cards and $59 fee, (for more information please look under “IMPORTANT NOTICE”) 

 If you answered yes to any of the criminal history questions please provide all official certified copies of court 

documents/police records also 

 

Submit all items to the following: 

Teacher Certification 

2500 N. Lincoln Boulevard Room 212 

Oklahoma City, OK 73105-4599 

(405) 521-3337 

http://www.l1enrollment.com/

