§300.111 Child Find. (b) (1) A State that adopts a def-
inition of developmental delay under § 300.8(b) de-
termines whether the term applies to children aged
three through nine, or to a subset of that age range
(e.g., ages three through five).

(2) A State may not require an LEA to adopt and use
the term developmental delay for any children within
its jurisdiction.

(3) If an LEA uses the term developmental delay for
children described in § 300.8(b), the LEA must con-
form to both the State’s definition of that term and to
the age range that has been adopted by the State.
(4) If a State does not adopt the term developmental
delay, an LEA may not independently use that term
as a basis for establishing a child’s eligibility under
this part.

See also the Oklahoma Special Education Hand-
book, Chapter 2: Child Find.

Considerations

Consider what the goals for the child are before
considering placement. Goals and objectives should
drive placement.

What services for children
ages 3-5 might look like:

Bl Developmentally Delayed Preschool Classroom
B Speech-Language Pathology Services
B Occupational Therapy Services

M Physical Therapy Services

M Public Preschool

M Head Start

M Private Preschool

M Child Care Center

M Library Story Hour

H Mother’s Day Out

M Health Department Play Groups

Bl Native American Services

B Community Recreation Groups

Transition from SoonerStart

Child's Age
in Months

3rd
Birthday

IFSP Initial Transition
Planning Meeting
*(27-33 months)

Notification
to the LEA

Transition Planning
Conference
*(27-33 months)

Evaluation by LEA

E|| ibility Meeting
Ey 3rd birthday)

IEP Meeting
**(by 3rd birthday)

IEP in Effect
**(by 3rd birthday)

*Oklahoma SoonerStart Early Intervention Program Manual: Policies, Procedures, and Guidelines. Items in green are the responsi-bility of SoonerStart.
**QOklahoma Special Education Handbook. Items in blue are the responsibility of the local school district.




What are Preschool Special
Education Services?

Preschool special education services are those pro-
vided by the local education agencies (LEAs) to
students ages three to five. These services are referred
to in the Individuals with Disabilities Education Improve-
ment Act (IDEA, PL 108-446), Section 619. School
districts (LEAs) are responsible for providing services
to children with special needs beginning at age three.
This information can be found in the Federal
Regulations, § 300.8 Child with a disability. (b)
Children aged three through nine experiencing
developmental delays. Child with a disability for chil-
dren aged three through nine (or any subset of that
age range, including ages three through five), may,
subject to the conditions described in § 300.111(b),
include a child:

(1) Who is experiencing developmental delays, as
defined by the State and as measured by appropriate
diagnostic instruments and procedures, in one or
more of the following areas: physical development,
cognitive development, communication development,
social or emotional development, or adaptive devel-
opment; and

(2) Who, by reason thereof, needs special education
and related services.

Transition

If the prospective student is coming from Sooner-
Start (Part C of IDEA) to the LEA (Part B of IDEA) then
the transition process applies.

§ 300.124 Transition of children from the Part C
(SoonerStart) program to preschool programs.

The State must have in effect policies and proce-
dures to ensure that:

(a) Children participating in early intervention pro-
grams assisted under Part C (SoonerStart) of the
Act, and who will participate in preschool programs
assisted under Part B of the Act, experience a
smooth and effective transition to those preschool
programs in a manner consistent with section 637
(a)(9) of the Act;

(b) By the third birthday of a child described in para-
graph (a) of this section, an IEP or, if consistent with
§ 300.323(b) and section 636(d) of the Act, an IFSP,

has been developed and is being implemented for
the child consistent with § 300.101(b); and (c) Each
affected LEA will participate in transition planning
conferences arranged by the designated lead agency
(SoonerStart) under section 635(a)(10) of the Act.

Transition from SoonerStart

Notification to the LEA

The transition process from SoonerStart services
ranges from 27-33 months. If the child is potentially
eligible for Part B services, SoonerStart will send a
Notification to the LEA, which they must provide to
the LEA (and the Oklahoma State Department of
Education-Special Education Services (OSDE-SES))
at least 90 days before the child’s third birthday. This
notification will include the child’s name, date of
birth, and the parent or guardian contact informa-
tion (name(s), address, and phone number(s)). This
is simply a notification for Child Find purposes. No
action by the LEA is required at this time.

A potentially eligible child is one who was:

¢ Determined eligible for SoonerStart early interven-
tion services by a multidisciplinary evaluation team;
and/or

e Enrolled in SoonerStart early intervention services
who has not met all outcomes on his or her Individu-
alized Family Service Plan (IFSP); and/or:

e Enrolled in SoonerStart early intervention services
who is demonstrating a delay in any developmental
domain based on the expertise of a member of the
IFSP team.

Providing the Notification to the LEA to the OSDE-
SES ensures seamless transition services for infants
and toddlers with disabilities served in the Sooner-
Start program.

Transition Planning Conference

The Transition Planning Conference (TPC) will be
held not fewer than 90 days or more than 9 months
before the child’s third birthday. The TPC is a meet-
ing between SoonerStart personnel and a represen-
tative from the LEA. If the parent has given consent,
the LEA may have received a copy of the IFSP and
evaluation information prior to the TPC. During the
meeting, the SoonerStart service coordinator will
introduce team members, and review any informa-

tion. The LEA representative will then discuss the
evaluation procedure and answer any questions
from parents or other team members. When this
meeting is complete, it is the responsibility of the
LEA to continue the process of evaluation.

The evaluation, eligibility meeting, and IEP (if appli-
cable) must occur by the child’s third birthday. See
chart on page 6 for a visual representation of this
process.
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Late Referrals

A child is considered a late referral to SoonerStart if
he/she is determined eligible for SoonerStart services
on or after 33 months of age (or less than 90 days
from the child’s third birthday).

Child Find

If a child is referred less than 45 days prior to his/her
third birthday, SoonerStart (with parental consent)
will directly refer the family to the LEA or other com-
munity services. The LEA may also have families that
have not received early intervention (SoonerStart)
contact them (self-referral). In these cases, the child
would be considered a child under Child Find and
the referral process would proceed as usual. See
flow chart for a visual representation of this process.



