MEMORANDUM

TO: The Honorable Members of the State Board of Education

FROM: Janet Barresi

DATE: September 27, 2012

SUBJECT: Statutory Waiver for Library Media Specialist Exemption

The following schools are requesting exemption from library media certification requirements pursuant to 70 O.S. § 3-126 for the 2012-2013 school year. A certified teacher will be used as the librarian while pursuing library media certification. Approval is recommended.

District	County	Waiver (Years)	Students Served
Bowlegs Public Schools	Seminole *5	2	310
Butner Public Schools	Seminole *5	1	220
Coweta Public Schools	Wagoner *1	1	957
Cyril Public Schools	Caddo *3	2	352
Deer Creek Public Schools	Oklahoma *5	1	664
Elgin Public Schools Tomi Lorah Ashley Swart	Comanche *4	2	1157 815
Frederick Public Schools	Tillman *4	1	177
Friend Public School	Grady *4	1	193
Hydro-Eakley Public Schools	Caddo *3	1	492
Kellyville Public Schools	Creek *3	2	636

State Board Members September 27, 2012 Page 2

District	County	Waiver (Years)	Students Served
Muskogee Public Schools	Muskogee *2	1	431
Nowata Public Schools	Nowata *2	1	495
Shawnee Public Schools	Pottawatomie *5	1	343
Stilwell Public Schools	Adair *2	1	589
Strother Public Schools	Seminole *5	2	370
Tahlequah Public Schools	Cherokee *2	2	1,206
Turner Public Schools	Love *4	1	300

^{*} The number in the County category represents the Congressional District. See the attached map.

rr

Attachments