
State of Oklahoma 

State Department of Education 

 

SPECIAL FORM INSTRUCTIONS FOR PUBLIC SCHOOLS REQUESTING MOTOR 

VEHICLE REPORTS FROM THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

 

On the following page are instructions provided by the Department of Public Safety for 

completion of their Records Request and Consent to Release form which is used to obtain a 

Motor Vehicle Report.  Although the instructions specify that each request requires a $25 fee, 

public schools who are seeking this information as part of their duty to employ qualified 

individuals to drive a bus are not required to pay this fee.    

 

Instead, school districts need to submit their request on school letterhead that specifies an office 

of that public school as the receiving address for this request.  Multiple names may be placed on 

one request. 

 

Listed below is the Oklahoma Statute that pertains to this information. 

 

Title 47 section 2 – 110 subsection C 
C.  The Commissioner and any other officers of the Department as the Commissioner may 

designate are hereby authorized to provide a copy of any record required to be maintained by the 

Department at no charge to any of the following government agencies when requested in the 

performance of official governmental duties: 

1.  The driver license agency of any other state; 

2.  Any court, district attorney or municipal prosecutor in this state or any other state; 

3.  Any law enforcement agency in this state or any other state or any federal agency empowered 

by law to make arrests for public offenses; 

4.  Any public school district in this state for purposes of verifying the driving record of a currently 

employed school bus driver or person making application for employment as a school bus driver; or 

5.  Any state agency in this state. 

 

  



State of Oklahoma 
Department of Public Safety

RECORDS REQUEST and CONSENT TO RELEASE

Form Instructions

Please fill out completely all applicable portions of the Records Request and Consent to Release
form.

Mail the form and all applicable fees, using one of the forms of payment listed at the bottom of
the form, to:

Department of Public Safety
Records Management Division
P. O. Box 11415
Oklahoma City, OK 73136-0415

You may include a stamped self-addressed envelope with your request, but it is not required. 
For quicker delivery, you may provide the Department of Public Safety with an appropriate
prepaid United States Postal Service (USPS) or Federal Express (FedEx) return envelope.  The
Department can not process and will not use a United Parcel Service (UPS) return envelopes. 
The Department will not mail documents C.O.D.

You may also present the completed form and fees at the Department of Public Safety, 3600
North Martin Luther King Avenue (southeast corner of Northeast 36th and Martin Luther King
Avenue), Oklahoma City.

To obtain a regular driving record summary (Motor Vehicle Report, or MVR), you may present
the completed form and the $25 fee at any motor license agency in the state.

The Department of Public Safety does not issue National Driving Records.

The Department of Public Safety is not affiliated with DocViews.

To preserve your rights and privacy under the Driver's Privacy Protection Act, 18 U.S.C.,
Sections 2721 through 2725:

Requests for records can not be made by telephone or e-mail
Records can not be faxed or e-mailed

NOTE:  Effective August 26, 2011, the cost of collision reports will increase to:

$15 for a non-certified collision report
$18 for a certified collision report



State of Oklahoma 
Department of Public Safety

RECORDS REQUEST and CONSENT TO RELEASE
Per Record Fee        

I hereby request the following driver record(s): Regular            Certified  

 Oklahoma driving record summary (Motor Vehicle Report, or MVR) [state law limits this summary to three years] $25.00                  $28.00 

 Collision Report.  Provide Date: ___________________ City/County ___________________________________ $7.00                  $10.00 

(Effective August 26, 2011) $15.00                  $18.00 

Per          Per Certified
 Other Driving Record(s) (please specify record by type and date):  _______________________________________ Page Fee       Record Fee 

________________________________ ________________ ______________________________________________ $  0.25                   $ 3.00 
[For vehicle records, contact Oklahoma Tax Commission.  For birth certificates, contact Department of Health]

for:

Driver's Name: _________________________________________________________________________________   Sex: __________________

Driver License Number: _____________________________________________  Date of Birth: ________________________________________

Check the following applicable statement:

 I am the person named in the record(s) sought.   I am requesting the record(s) of another person.

If you are not the person named in the record(s) sought, provide the reason(s) you are entitled to this record without approval of the named
person [please check all that apply].  If none of these reasons apply, you must have the named person sign the Consent to Release below.:

1.  Government Agency (federal, state, or local, including court or law enforcement): for carrying out its functions  †

2.  Legal: in connection with any court, administrative, arbitral, or self-regulatory body; service of process; investigation in anticipation of
litigation; execution or enforcement of judgment or order; order of a court.

3.  Research Activities or Statistical Reports: personal information shall not be published, redisclosed, or used to contact individuals  †

4.  Insurance Company, InsuranceSupport Organization, Self-insured Entity: for claims investigation, antifraud, rating or underwriting
activities  †

5.  Licensed Private Investigative Agency or Licensed Security Service: for any purpose permitted under 18 U.S.C. §2721, subsection (b)  †

6.  Employer of Commercial Driver License Holder: to obtain or verify information required under 49 U.S.C., Chapter 313  †

7.  Other: for use specifically authorized under the laws of the State of Oklahoma related to the public safety
Statutory citation: _____________________________________________________________________

CONSENT TO RELEASE by Person Named in Request [if none of the reasons above apply, consent to release is required.  Employers MUST
have consent to release a driving record when it is to be used for purposes other than 49 U.S.C., Chapter 313.]

_____________________________________________________ _______________________________________________________
Printed Name of Person Named in Request Signature of Person Named in Request

By signing above, I voluntarily give consent to the Department of Public Safety or any Motor License Agency to release the above-named record(s)
to the person making this Records Request.  I understand, as required by the federal Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA), 18 U.S.C. Section 2721,
et seq., the Department of Public Safety or any Motor License Agency will not release personal information from my driving record unless I consent
by waiving my right to privacy under the DPPA, or unless the Department is required or authorized by DPPA to release personal information without
my consent as enumerated above.

AFFIRMATION of Person Making Request

Pursuant to 12 O.S. §426, I state under the penalty of perjury that the requested information is being solicited solely for the reason(s) checked above
or at the consent of the named person.  I understand the personal information furnished is confidential under Federal and State laws and is being
released to me only for the reason I have indicated above or at the consent of the named person, and that it is unlawful for me to furnish the
information to any unauthorized person or entity or to be used for any unauthorized purpose.

_____________________________________________________ _______________________________________________________
Printed Name of Person Making Request Signature of Person Making Request

_________________________________________________________ _______________________________________________________
†  Print Agency/Company Name(if item 1, 3, 4, 5 or 6 was checked above) Date

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Address City State Zip

Mail completed form along with appropriate fees to: Fees are listed above.
Department of Public Safety Please send total amount due in form of :
Records Management Division      Cashier's Check, Money Order, Personal or Business Check
P. O. Box 11415 Cash is accepted only when paying in person.
Oklahoma City, OK 73136-0415 Record fees are in accordance with Oklahoma Statutes.
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