MARY FALLIN

MICHAEL C, THOMPSON
GOVERNOR

COMMISSIONER

STATE OF OKLAHOMA
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY

February 26, 2014
To all Certified Driver Education Instructors,

With the passage of HB 2367, 2012 legislation, all certified driver education instructors, who are
employed by any school district or a certified commercial driver training school, are eligible to apply to
become a designated examiner (DE) for the Department of Public Safety (DPS). These designated
examiners will be authorized to administer the skills portion of the driving exam to anyone that has not
previously been a student of the designated examiner.

DPS will be responsible for conducting the training for these designated examiners. The training will
consist of the same curriculum that the DPS Examiners are taught. The date for the training will be
Monday, March 17, 2014 at 9:00 am at the Department of Public Safety Robert E. Lester Training
Center, 3600 N. Martin Luther King Blvd. Oklahoma City, OK. It is located on the Department of Public
Safety complex.

We will be accepting applications for designated examiners beginning at 8:00 am on Monday, March 10,
2014. All applications shall be either scanned and emailed to desexaminer@dps.state.ok.us or faxed to
405-419-2197. We will not accept applications by mail or reservations over the phone. This class will
be limited to the first 12 applications received and will be based on the date and time stamp. To make it
fair, only one (1) application for a DE per school will be accepted unless we do not have 12 people
applying from individual schools. If that is the case, we will start back at the first applications received
according to the date and time stamp and fill in the class in the order they were received until we get to
12 people. If you are selected for this first training class you will be notified along with further
information on the training and other requirements.

The fee for this training is $1,000 and shall be due prior to the first day of training. Anyone who has not
paid the fee prior to the class starting will not be allowed to attend this session. Title 47 Chapter 110
Section D 3, your renewal fee will be $500 due at the end of each calendar year (December 31, 2014). If
you have any additional questions about this program you may call the Driver License Services Division
at (405) 425-7745.
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Oklahoma Statute: § Title 47-6-110C D. 3

1. Any certified driver education instructor who is currently
an operator or an employee of a commercial driver training
school in this state or any driver educaticn instructor
employed by any school district in this state shall be
eligible to apply to be a designated examiner of the
Department of Public Safety for the purposes of
administering the Class D driving skills portion of the
Oklahoma driving examination to any person who has not
previously been a student of the instructor.

2. The Department of Public Safety shall adopt a curriculum of
required courses and training to be offered to applicants
who are qualified to apply to be a designated examiner. The
courses and training for certification shall meet the same
standards as required for driver examiners of the Department
of Public Safety.

3. Each person applying to be a designated examiner shall be
required to pay an initial designated examiner certificatiocon
fee of One Thousand Dollars {($1,000.00). Upon successful
completion of training prescribed by paragraph 2 of this
subsection, the person shall be required to pay an annual
designated examiner certification fee of Five Hundred
Dollars {$500.00). Each designated examiner certification
shall expire on the last day of the calendar year and may be
renewed upon application to the Department of Public Safety.
The designated examiner certification fees collected by the
Department pursuant to this subsection shall be depcsited to
the credit of the Department of Public Safety Restricted
Revolving Fund to be used for the purposes of this
subsection. No designated examiner certification fee shall
be refunded in the event that certification is denied,
suspended or revoked.

4, A designated examiner may charge a fee of no more than
Twenty~five Dellars ($25.00) for each Class D driving skills
examination given, whether the person being examined passes
or fails the examination.

5. The Department shall conduct an annual complete nationwide
criminal history background check on each designated
examiner and a complete nationwide criminal history
background check on each designated examiner applicant. The
fees for the background check shall be borne by the
designated examiner or designated examiner applicant.

6. The Department of Public Safety shall promulgate rules to
implement and administer the provisions of this subsection.



