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PREFACE 

Pursuant to the Oklahoma  statutes and State Board of Education regulations,  certain individuals are appointed or 
designated by the local board of education to be responsible for proper receipting and disbursement of public funds within 
the public school districts in Oklahoma. Periodically, statutory provisions or board regulations are amended to meet current 
financial or administrative situations. 

This Technical Assistance Document for School Finance should be utilized to complement the statutes and 
regulations. It is presented in an easy-to-use format using a  combination  of actual  statutory/regulatory  provisions and 
an easy-to-understand  narrative. 

The document provides an overview of revenues for local school districts and provides an explanation of the various 
sources. Typically, the State Aid Formula is the prominent source of funding for the average school district. The formula 
with its weighted components is explained in detail. 

Various penalties/adjustments that affect school district funding are outlined and defined to allow school district 
personnel to monitor the local district's compliance with statutory  provisions  or  board  regulations. Policies/procedures 
governing school finance are also presented in an understandable  manner. 

Members of the local board of education,  superintendents,  business  office  personnel,  budget  makers, 
independent auditors, and others who have the responsibility for school district funds, preparation of school district 
budgets, and the administration of local school districts should become familiar with this Technical Assistance Document  
for School Finance - June 2013. 

Janet C.  Barresi 

State Superintendent  of Public Instruction 
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SECTION  I 

SOURCES  OF  REVENUE 
for 

OKLAHOMA SCHOOL  DISTRICTS 



PERCENT (%)
LOCAL AND COUNTY SOURCES AMOUNT  OF TOTAL

35-mill Ad Valorem Tax……………………………….… $ 958,291,545
County 4-mill……………………………………………… $ 108,842,819
County Apportionment…………………………………… $ 20,477,424
Resale Property Fund…………………………………….. $ 1,730,810
Miscellaneous……………………………………………. $ 98,056,391
Total Local and County………………………………… $ 1,187,398,989 26.73%

STATE SOURCES   (Dedicated and Appropriated)
Gross Production Tax………………………………………$ 72,663,646
Motor Vehicle Collections………………………………. $ 229,772,900
Rural Electrification Assoc. Cooperative Tax (R.E.A.)…. $ 35,437,821
State School Land Earnings……………………………… $ 98,617,025
State Aid Allocations…………………………………….. $ 1,818,162,469
Driver Education……………………………………………$ 900,014
Vehicle Tax Stamp………………………………………… $ 1,113,422
Farm Implement Tax Stamp……………………………… $ 179,116
Other Dedicated Revenue………………………………… $ 307,281
Flexible Benefit Allowance…………………………………$ 328,041,115
Alternative and At-Risk Education…………………………$ 11,122,461
Instructional, Cooperative and Tech. Educ. (I.C.T.E.)…… $ 160,050
Arts-in-Education………………………………………… $ 4,347
State-Categorical………………………………………….. $ 51,998,718
Special Programs…………………………………………. $ 1,599,055
Other State Sources……………………………………….. $ 11,178,042
Child Nutrition Programs………………………………… $ 752,369
Career-Technology Programs………………………………$ 18,534,377
Total State………………………………………………… $ 2,680,544,228 60.35%

FEDERAL SOURCES
Capital Outlay………………………………………………$ 68,621,637
Disadvantaged Students…………………………………… $ 233,756,116
Individuals with Disabilities……………………………… $ 144,232,184
Minority…………………………………………………... $ 16,130,141
Operations………………………………………………… $ 9,193,209
Other Federal Sources………………………………………$ 59,651,269
Child Nutrition Programs………………………………… $ 35,570,919
Federal Vocational Education………………………………$ 6,739,218
Total Federal………………………………………………$ 573,894,693 12.92%

GENERAL FUND TOTAL…………………………………………$ 4,441,837,910 100.00%

Building Fund Total…………………………….…………$ 172,409,143
Sinking Fund Total……………………………………… $ 172,409,143

GRAND TOTAL……………………………..………………………$ 4,786,656,196

This chart reflects state totals for collections from the various sources for General Fund revenue and the amount
collected by source among the common schools of Oklahoma for the 2011-12 fiscal year as reported by the
Oklahoma Cost Accounting System.  State totals for Building Fund and Sinking Fund collections are also included.

CHART #1
Revenues--State Totals
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LOCAL SOURCES OF REVENUE  FOR SCHOOL DISTRICTS 

The principal sources of local revenue are as follows: 

General Fund Levies 
Building Fund Levy 
County 4-mill Levy 
Sinking Fund Levy 
County Apportionment 
Other Local Miscellaneous Revenues 

The Ad Valorem Tax Levy 

The property tax (ad valorem tax) is the traditional source of local revenue for schools throughout the United 
States. In Oklahoma, this tax is levied in mills (1 mill is 1/1000 of a dollar or .001) against real, personal and public 
service property. Ten mills equal one penny.  Stated another way, a mill is a tax of one dollar per thousand dollars 
of property valuation subject to taxation. 

Real property is the land itself and all rights and privileges that add value to the property, such as irrigation, 
mines, minerals, quarries, and trees on or under the same, and all buildings, structures, and improvements of any 
kind. Excluded are machinery and fixtures, which are defined as personal property. Property owners receive a tax 
exemption of $1,000 if the property is claimed as a homestead. Personal property includes all goods, chattels and 
effects; all improvements made by others upon lands; all stock of nurserymen; all horses, cattle, mules, sheep, 
swine, goats, and other livestock; all household furniture, and personal libraries; wagons, vehicles, or carriages; 
machinery and materials used by manufacturers and  all manufactured articles; all goods and capital used in 
merchandising; all abstractors’ books and records; all agriculture implements and machinery; all tanks and 
containers used to hold or store oil or any of its by-products; all gas, oil, water or other pipelines; telephone or 
telegraph lines, railroad tracks, oil and petroleum products; and all other property having an actual, constructive or 
taxable situs in this state and not included within the definition of real property. Public service property is that 
property used to provide services, usually utility services, for the public in general. This includes oil and gas 
pipelines, generating plants for electricity, railroads and other such utilities. 

Taxes are not levied on the full value of properties. The Constitution limits taxation to 35 percent of the fair 
cash value of the property. Fair cash value is the value and price at which a willing buyer would purchase property, 
and a willing seller would sell property, if both parties are knowledgeable about the property and its uses, and if 
neither party is under any undue pressure to buy or sell. Some percentage of full value is established which is called 
an assessment ratio. This percentage, when applied to the fair cash value, determines the assessed value at which 
property will be taxed. Real and personal property are assessed by a county official, the county assessor. Public 
service property is assessed  by the state. The State Board of Equalization, with recommendations from the 
Oklahoma Tax Commission, Ad Valorem Division, orders equalization of locally assessed property when counties 
are not in compliance and ultimately approves all property value assessment, including public service property. The 
ratio used for public service property is 22.85 percent (22.85%), which is higher than the ratio that is used at the 
local level. Chart No. 2 (page 8) summarizes the various property classifications and school tax levies. 
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Separate Tax Levies 

There are seven different ad valorem tax levies that are used in Oklahoma for the support of the public schools 
at the local level. The state Constitution provides for each levy, which in one way or another is constrained by the 
constitutional provisions. Three of the seven require direct authorization by a majority of electors in the school 
district at the annual school election. Chart No. 3 (page 9) illustrates the constitutional levies for taxing jurisdictions 
in Oklahoma. 

Each levy is listed below with an explanation of the specific provisions of each: 

General Fund Levies 

MILLAGE LEVY AUTHORITY 

Certification of Need Resolution by Board of Education 
15 mills 

Each board of education in Oklahoma is authorized to levy up to 15 mills (plus increased millage because of 
personal property tax adjustment) on the property in the district based on certification of need for the financial 
support of the schools. School districts should be aware that when this millage is increased, the higher millage 
rate will be used when calculating the amount of adjusted valuation that will be used as a chargeable in the 
Foundation Aid portion of the State Aid formula (70 O.S. § 18-200.1). The board is required to file a 
“Preliminary Estimate of Needs” that is published in a local newspaper no later than December 31 specifying a 
proposed budget for the coming year that demonstrates the need for the levy. The election for such levies and board 
member elections occur in school districts annually. 

County Levy County Excise Board 
5 mills (minimum) 

There is a 15-mill county levy over which the county excise board has jurisdiction. The law requires that at 
least 5 mills of that 15 must be allocated to the schools. For all practical purposes, the other 10 mills are allotted to 
the support of county government, but technically, the law would allow the excise board to allocate a portion of the 
10 mills to municipalities and/or school districts. 

Emergency Levy Majority of voters in 
5 mills (maximum) annual school election 

This levy was an amendment to the Constitution. Originally, criteria constituting an emergency had to be met 
in order for a school district to ask for approval. Those emergency criteria were abandoned many years ago, and it is 
now a routine supporting levy for every school district in the state. 

Local Support Levy Majority of voters in 
10 mills (maximum) annual school election 

This levy was another amendment to the Constitution of the state. As in the case of the emergency levy, it has 
become a routine tax issue that every district in the state levies every year. 

These four levies add up to a total of 35 mills (plus increased millage because of personal property tax 
adjustment) for the General Fund. The system has evolved to the point that these millage levies are not really 
optional. They are also interrelated with state aid to the point that no district, even one with considerable property 
wealth, can afford not to levy the maximum. In effect, there is no constitutionally permissible way for districts, even 
by approval of voters, to raise additional ad valorem levies to support the general operation of the schools. 
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Building Fund Levy 

Building Fund Levy Majority of voters in 
5 mills (maximum) annual school election 

The Constitution provides that each school district may levy up to 5 mills for the purpose of erecting, 
remodeling, and repairing school buildings, or for purchasing furniture. In the early history of the state, it was 
envisioned that the 5 mills might be sufficient to provide the money necessary for building facilities for the many 
school districts. However, it became unrealistic for most districts a long time ago. 

Through various legal interpretations, the use of money in the Building Fund levy has been liberalized so that it 
can be used not only for maintenance, but also for the purchase of equipment. In some cases, it is used even for 
operational expenses. The Attorney General has ruled that payment of property and casualty insurance can be made 
from this fund. 

County 4-mill Levy 

4-mill Countywide Levy Constitutional 

During the days of the so-called “separate” schools in Oklahoma, this levy was provided as a means of raising 
money to support those schools. When desegregation was implemented in Oklahoma in the mid-fifties, this 4-mill 
levy became a countywide source to be divided among the school districts within the county. This is the only school 
support levy that is countywide and is divided among the school districts in each county on the basis of each 
district’s average daily attendance. In some counties, this contributes to a much more equal distribution of at least 
these 4 mills of the money derived from a single piece of valuable industrial or public service property. 

Sinking Fund Levy 

Sinking Fund Levy Through bond issue election 
with 60 percent (60%) majority 
vote and judgments against 
the district 

Each school district in Oklahoma is authorized to borrow money up to an amount that does not exceed 
10 percent of its total assessed valuation. Money is borrowed through the issuance of bonds after the bond issue has 
been approved by the voters. The issue does not carry unless 60 percent of those voting in the election vote 
“yes.” 

A Sinking Fund levy is determined following the approval of the bond issue to yield enough money to pay the 
principal and the interest on the bond issue. In other words, the number of mills levied will vary from district to 
district in terms of the size of the bond issue, the term of the bonds (how long until they are paid off), and the 
interest rate. Many districts have no Sinking Fund levy, and others have levies exceeding 30 mills. Additionally, 
Sinking Fund levies may be ordered by the court to fund debts of the school district when the district has unlawfully 
expended beyond its appropriation. 

County Apportionment and Other Local Miscellaneous Revenues 

There is a county apportionment that comes from revenue from a mortgage tax in each county. It is distributed 
among the school districts on an average daily attendance basis. Other miscellaneous revenues, such as interest 
income, gifts, student fees, the sale of property, transfer fees, tuition, rental, and refunds are collected locally. 
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CHART NO. 2 

Summary of 
Ad Valorem Property Classifications 
and Tax Levies for School Districts 

Ad Valorem Property includes these classifications: 

I. Real Property 
A. Residential 
B. Commercial/Industrial 

C. Agricultural 
II. Personal Property**

III. Public Service Property

Ad Valorem Tax Levies for School Purposes 

General Fund: 

15-mill Levy 15 mills** Certification of Need 
County 4-mill Levy 4 mills Constitutional 
County 15-mill Levy 5 mills Constitutional 
Emergency Levy 5 mills Majority Vote 
Local Support Levy 10 mills Majority Vote 

General Fund = 39 mills 

Building Fund: 5 mills Majority Vote 

Sinking Fund:  As voted for Bond Issues 
and levied for Judgments 

** Counties who have done away with their individual personal property tax have been allowed to raise their 
15-mill Levy based on a formula in Article X, Section 8A, Paragraph (b) of the Constitution. 

5



CHART NO. 3 

Ad Valorem Levies by Jurisdiction 

Constitutional Current Mill Levy 
Authority Levy by Jurisdictional Category Limitation 

School Districts 
Art. X, Sec. 9(a) 15-mill County Levy ..................................................................................... 5 
Art. X, Sec. 9(b) County 4-mill Levy ....................................................................................... 4 
Art. X, Sec. 9(c) School District Levy (Board Certified) .....................................................15+ 
Art. X, Sec. 9(d) Emergency Levy  ........................................................................................... 5 
Art. X, Sec. 9(d-1) Local Support Levy ..................................................................................... 10 
Art. X, Sec. 10 Building Fund Levy ...................................................................................... 5 
Art. X, Sec. 26, 28 Sinking Fund Levy     ....................................................................... 10% NAV* 

County Government 
Art. X, Sec. 9(a) 15-mill County Levy ................................................................................... 10 
Art. X, Sec. 9A Health Department Levy ............................................................................ 2.5 
Art. X, Sec. 10 Building Fund Levy ...................................................................................... 5 
Art. X, Sec. 35 Industry Development Incentive Bond Levy ................................................. 5 
Art. X, Sec. 26, 28 Sinking Fund Levy      ....................................................................... 10% NAV* 

Municipal Government 
Art. X, Sec. 10 Building Fund Levy ...................................................................................... 5 
Art. X, Sec. 35 Industry Development Incentive Bond Levy ................................................. 5 
Art. X, Sec. 26, 27, 28   Sinking Fund Levy  ....................................................................... 10% NAV* 

Special Districts 
Art. X, Sec. 9B(A) Career Tech/Community College School Levy ............................................. 5 
Art. X, Sec. 9B(B) Career Tech Local Incentive Levy ................................................................ 5 
Art. X, Sec. 10 Career Tech Building Fund Levy .................................................................. 5 
Art. X, Sec. 9B(C) Career Tech Sinking Fund Levy .................................................... 5% NAV* 
Art. X, Sec. 10A County and City-County Library Fund Levy ............................................. 1-4 
Art. X, Sec. 9C(a) Emergency Medical Service District Levy .................................................... 3 
Art. X, Sec. 9C(d) Emergency Medical Service District Sinking Fund Levy ............................. 3 
Art. X, Sec. 9D(A) Solid Waste Management District Levy ........................................................ 3 
Art. X, Sec. 9D(G) Solid Waste Management District Sinking Fund Levy ................................. 3 
Art. X, Sec. 71 Fire Protection District Levy ......................................................................... 7 
Art. X, Sec. 7, 26 Fire Protection District Sinking Fund Levy ................................. 10% NAV* 
Art. X, Sec. 72 Sewer Improvement District Levy  .............................................................. 10 
Art. X, Sec. 7, 26 Sewer Improvement District Sinking Fund Levy 

(on real property only)3 ............................................................... 10% NAV* 
Art. X, Sec. 74 Rural Road Improvement District Levy ........................................................ 3 
Art. X, Sec. 7 Rural Road Improvement District Sinking Fund Levy .................................. 5 

1 See also 19 O.S., Sec. 901.1 et seq. 
2 See also 19 O.S., Sec. 871 et seq. 
3 Tax base limitation also applies to jurisdictional general fund. 
4 See also 19 O.S., Sec. 902.1 et seq 
* NAV: Net assessed valuation
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STATE  SOURCES  OF REVENUE  FOR SCHOOL DISTRICTS 

Most school districts in Oklahoma receive more money from the state for the support of their schools than from 
any other source. However, the money comes in a number of different ways. 

The two major categories of state money are the monies that come from dedicated revenues and those that come 
from appropriations by the Legislature. In the case of the former, from time to time during the years since the state 
came into existence, certain portions of certain taxes or other revenue sources have been earmarked for use by the 
schools. These provisions have been incorporated in the statutes, and there is usually little or no discussion about 
them each year as the Legislature meets.  However, use of these earmarked taxes occurs when the state aid formula 
is calculated for state appropriation purposes. 

The second category, the money that is received by the schools from appropriations by the Legislature, is the 
largest single revenue source for almost all public schools in Oklahoma. Appropriated revenue is debated each time 
the Legislature meets. The debate centers not only on how much money will be provided, but on how the money 
will be distributed among school districts. The common school appropriation is by far the largest single 
appropriation that the Legislature makes each year. Since it affects every school district in the state, the concerns 
about how many dollars are spent and where the dollars go are universal and intense. Either directly or indirectly, 
almost every person in Oklahoma is affected by the decisions the Legislature makes about how much money is to be 
appropriated for the schools and how that money is to be distributed. 

STATE-DEDICATED REVENUES 

The principal sources of state-dedicated revenues are established in law and are very rarely changed by the 
legislature. These revenue sources are: 

Gross Production Tax 
Motor Vehicle Collections 
Rural Electrification Association (R.E.A.) Tax 
State School Land Earnings 

Gross Production Tax 

Since Oklahoma is an energy state, a major source of tax revenue has been the tax on oil, gas and other minerals 
as they are produced. This tax is called gross production tax. A portion of the tax generated from production in 
each county is allocated back to the county for distribution on an average daily attendance basis among the county’s 
independent school districts (68 O.S. § 1004). Since some counties have large amounts of production, and others 
very little, there is substantial variation in the revenues received by school districts from the portion of the gross 
production tax that is dedicated to the public schools. 

Motor Vehicle Collections 

Revenues generated by all motor vehicle taxes and fees now go into one fund at the state level and are 
apportioned to the recipients, including schools, from that fund. The money for schools is remitted to the respective 
county and independent treasurers, but the amount of money received depends on the allocations from the state to 
the respective school districts--not on the sales of tags in the respective counties. Effective October 1, 2000, and 
approved by a popular vote of the people, registration fees for car tags were significantly reduced and a new fee 
schedule went into effect. The most expensive car tag for Oklahoma residents is $91, excluding related fees; 
however, those purchasing used vehicles now pay a higher excise tax fee than under the former schedule. Under the 
updated fee schedule, funds collected for schools should remain constant with no adverse effect to school funding. 
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The percentage that comes to the schools is 36.2 percent (36.2%) of this total state fund (47 O.S. § 1104 
B[1][c]). There is also a provision in the law, which states that all school districts receive the same amount of money 
per month as they did in the same month of the previous year. In effect, it is a guarantee provision of these 
collections. Money collected above what is necessary to meet the monthly guarantee provision will be distributed 
statewide on the basis of average daily attendance. If the monies fall below the monthly guarantee, all school 
districts are reduced proportionately. 

A separate allocation of money to schools for boat and motor fees and for manufactured (mobile) homes no 
longer exists. They are combined with the other vehicle fees and registrations, which also include those for 
motorcycles, recreational vehicles, ambulances, and travel trailers. 

A separate statute for manufactured homes requires that such homes be initially registered for one year with 
subsequent placement on the ad valorem tax rolls as either real or personal property. 

Rural Electrification Association Cooperative Tax 
(R.E.A. Tax) 

A tax is levied on rural electric cooperatives in accordance to property valuation and distributed in proportion to 
the number of miles of transmission lines within each district served. Such money is considered in lieu of property 
tax and goes to the schools in the respective counties. 

School Land Earnings 

When Oklahoma came into the union, a substantial amount of federal lands were granted to Oklahoma from the 
federal government. The federal requirement was that the revenue from those lands must be used for the benefit of 
the public schools. The land is administered by the Commissioners of the Land Office and the revenue derived from 
it, whether it be interest or rent, for example, is distributed to school districts across the state on the basis of average 
daily attendance. The money derived from the selling of this property must go into what is called the “Permanent 
School Fund.” Only interest from the investment of that money can be distributed to the schools. The principal 
must be permanently maintained. 
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STATE-APPROPRIATED REVENUES 

In the 2012 legislative session, the Legislature appropriated more than $2.3 billion for elementary and 
secondary schools of Oklahoma. 

A major function of the Legislature is to allocate the monies available to the state from taxes; the tax proceeds 
go into the state’s general revenue fund. Higher education, career and technology education, highways, corrections, 
and other state agencies compete with the schools to receive what they consider their share of the available money. 

The principal sources of appropriated revenues are as follows: 

ACE Remediation Oklahoma Parents as Teachers 
ACE Technology 
Advanced Placement Incentives 
Alternative and High Challenge Education 
Driver Education 
Flexible Benefit Allowance – Certified/Support 
Foundation and Salary Incentive Aid 

Purchase of Textbooks 
School Consolidation Assistance Fund 
School Lunch – State Matching 
National Board Certified Bonus 

ACE Remediation 

During 2012-13, $6,696,577 will be allocated to school districts for costs associated with providing remediation 
to students on a per-student basis (see 70 O.S. § 1210.522). The per-student rate shall be based on the most current 
test results with a maximum of $240 for each student scoring “Unsatisfactory” on a qualifying test and a maximum 
of $180 for each student scoring “Limited Knowledge” on a qualifying test (see 70 O.S. § 1210.526). Funds for 
remediation shall be used to provide intervention and/or remediation to any student in grade 6 through grade 12 who 
has been determined to be in need of remediation or intervention, including but not limited to those students who 
have scored at the unsatisfactory or limited knowledge level. Allowable expenditures include salaries and stipends 
for highly qualified teachers and tutors under the supervision of highly qualified teachers; instructional materials 
such as textbooks, workbooks, teacher-made materials, computer-assisted instructional software, manipulatives, and 
classroom instructional tools necessary to provide remediation; assessments designed to monitor the progress of 
students in remediation programs; transportation to and from tutoring sessions held outside of the school day; and 
training in best practices for providing remediation. Funds for remediation may not be used for salaries, materials, 
or administrative services not directly related to remediation or intervention or for students who do not qualify for 
remediation as described in this section” (OAC 210:10-13-2). 

ACE Technology 

When the School Consolidation and Assistance Fund equals $5 Million dollars, monies above that limit are 
allocated to school districts based upon the audited end-of-year Average Daily Membership (ADM) in Grades 8 
through 12 of the preceding fiscal year. Schools with Grades 8-12 are to use the ACE Technology funds to purchase 
technology equipment (primarily computers, computer wiring) in order to conduct on-line student testing required 
by the Achieving Classroom Excellence Act of 2005. 
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Advanced Placement Incentives 

During 2012-13, $3,236,700 will be available for the purpose of expanding the Advanced Placement program in 
Oklahoma. Funds will be used for professional development, course materials, and school incentives. 

Alternative and High Challenge Education 

Revenue is distributed through the Oklahoma State Board of Education (OSBE) for students who are at-risk of 
not completing a high school education. For 2012-13, the OSBE approved $14,877,366 for Alternative Education 
Academy programs. Programs include stand-alone schools, multidistrict cooperatives, evening programs, 
partnerships with career technology centers and community colleges, and alternative classrooms. 

Driver Education 

Revenue is appropriated by the Legislature and allocated to school districts as a reimbursement for providing a 
driver education program during the preceding school year. Courses offered during (1) the regular school day, (2) 
the summer, or (3) on Saturday will be reimbursed at $82.50 per pupil. Courses offered before or after the regular 
school day will be reimbursed at $95 per pupil. 

Flexible Benefit Allowance (Certified and Support Personnel) 

The purpose of the Flexible Benefit Allowance (FBA) is to furnish school district employees with choices about 
insurance benefits or cash compensation. Flexible benefit allowance means amounts credited by the school district 
for each school district employee for the purpose of benefits under the cafeteria plan. For the 2012-13 school year, 
the FBA for certified personnel taking insurance with the district will be equal to 100 percent (100%) of the 
HealthChoice (Hi) option; but, for certified employees not taking insurance, the “In Lieu of FBA” amount is $69.71 
a month. The FBA for full-time support employees taking insurance with the district will be equal to 100 percent 
(100%) of the HealthChoice (Hi) option; but, for full-time support employees not taking insurance, the “In Lieu of 
FBA” amount is $189.69 a month. The 2012-13 appropriation for certified staff exceeded $226 million; the 
appropriation for support staff exceeded $117 million. 

Foundation and Salary Incentive Aid 

Revenue is distributed through the state aid formula as administered by the OSBE. This source of 
appropriated funding is the primary funding provided to Oklahoma school districts. 

Oklahoma Parents as Teachers 

For 2012-13, $1,000,000 was approved by the OSBE for the Parent Training Program (Oklahoma Parents as 
Teachers [OPAT] – 70 O.S. § 10-105.3). The OPAT program is designed to foster an early partnership between 
home and school to support parents in preparation for their children’s formal years of schooling. The program serves 
families with children from birth to aged three and is designed to maximize a child’s overall development. 

Reading Sufficiency Act

The OSBE also approved funds under the Reading Sufficiency Act. Part of this line item includes funds 
designated for school districts on a reimbursement basis. Under this act, students enrolled in the first, second, and 
third grades shall be assessed at the beginning of the school year and throughout the school year for the acquisition 
of reading skills. Students not reading at the appropriate grade level will be provided with a program of reading 
instruction and will be provided reading remediation. Districts may receive up to $150 for each enrolled 
kindergarten, first-, second-, and third-grade student of the current school year who is on a program of reading 
instruction. 
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Districts also may be reimbursed up to $400 for each student completing third grade who is found not to be 
reading at the third-grade level and who participates in a summer reading remediation program. The program must 
be taught by teachers who have successfully completed a professional development institute in reading administered 
by the Oklahoma Commission for Teacher Preparation or a scientifically based reading professional development 
program administered by the State Board of Education, or teachers who are certified reading specialists. The 
program must be a minimum of four weeks and held four days each week for a least one-half day each day. 

Purchase of Textbooks 

Purchase of textbooks is an operating expense, and the amount of funds available to a particular school district 
through the appropriations for textbook support is unrelated to its revenue-raising capacity, types of pupils, or other 
characteristics. Textbook monies are sent directly to schools based upon a district’s Average Daily Attendance 
multiplied by $55 (70 O.S. § 16-114a). If sufficient funding is not available, the $55 amount will be prorated. One 
percent (1%) of the Textbook appropriation will be retained by the Oklahoma State Department of Education (SDE) 
to increase funding for growth districts in January. If the increased ADA times $55 is greater than the retained 
amount, the additional allocation for the growth districts will be prorated. School districts are faced with ever- 
increasing costs of textbooks annually. The funds allocated for textbooks in Section 16-114a of this title may be 
used by a school district for supplementary textbooks and other instructional materials other than those selected and 
listed by the State Textbook Committee. 

School Consolidation Assistance Fund 

For 2012-13, from the Oklahoma Education Lottery Trust Fund, $3,266,980 or so much thereof as necessary for 
transfer to the School Consolidation Assistance Fund. School districts that consolidate or annex are provided 
additional funds to ease the transition and costs incurred by the act. Once a capped amount of $5 Million is reached 
in this fund, excess monies are allocated for ACE Technology. 

School Lunch—State Matching 

Revenue is appropriated by the Legislature for the purpose of matching a portion of the federal funds expended 
by school districts for student lunches. 
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FEBRUARY 2013

MARCH 2013

APRIL 2013

SEPTEMBER 2012

OCTOBER 2012

"STATE  AID"  IN  THE  BANK
(Foundation and Salary Incentive Aid)

Electronic Funds Tranfer Dates
(Target Date for Payment is Bold  and Outlined)
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Tentative Payment Schedule 
Foundation and Salary Incentive Aid (State Aid) 

Accumulated Accumulated 
Month Percentage Percentage Month Percentage Percentage 

July 0% 0% January 9% 54% 
August 8% 8% February 9% 63% 
September 10% 18% March 9% 72% 
October 9% 27% April 9% 81% 
November 9% 36% May 10% 91% 
December 9% 45% June 9% 100% 

To calculate the state aid payment each month, multiply the accumulated 
percentage (see chart above) by the most recent allocation, then subtract the 
amount paid to date.  The result is the amount of payment for any given month. 

Example: The accumulated percentage for September’s state aid is 
18 percent (18%); (August 8% + September 10%). Multiply your district’s most 
recent allocation x 18%, subtract the amount already paid to date, and the result 
will be the payment amount for September. 
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CHART NO. 4

OKLAHOMA  STATE  DEPARTMENT  OF  EDUCATION  
 COMMON  EDUCATION  APPROPRIATIONS

14

ACTIVITY 2010-11 
APPROPRIATIONS

2011-12 
APPROPRIATIONS

2012-13 
APPROPRIATIONS

Academic Achievement Awards -$  -$  -
ACE Remediation 8,617,800$  7,611,577$                6,696,577$  
Adult Education Matching 2,315,297$  -$  -
Advanced Placement Incentives 3,111,169$  2,002,700$                3,236,700$  
AG in the Classroom -$  38,675$  38,675$  
Alternative and High Challenge Education 17,230,945$               14,877,366$              14,877,366$               
Certified Employee Health Benefit Allowance 227,614,934$             198,200,836$            226,842,833$             
Charter Schools Incentive Fund 50,000$  -$  50,000$  
*Driver Education -$  -$  -
Early Childhood Initiative 10,000,000$               10,000,000$              10,000,000$               
Early Intervention 13,761,397$               14,417,922$              14,417,922$               
Education Leadership Oklahoma 12,090,000$               -$  14,942,350$               
Financial Support of Schools 1,754,747,581$          1,816,091,355$         1,816,091,355$          
Instructional, Cooperative and Technological Educ. 300,000$  -$  -
Mentor Teacher Stipend -$  -$  -
Middle School Mathematics Laboratories 2,500,000$  -$  -
Oklahoma Ambassador of Teaching -$  -$  -
Oklahoma Parents as Teachers 2,045,709$  1,585,471$                1,000,000$  
Purchase of Textbooks and Instructional Materials 33,000,000$               33,000,000$              33,000,000$               
Reading Sufficiency -$  6,274,003$                6,274,003$  
Recreation Therapy Grants -$  -$  -
**Reform Implementation -$  -$  4,216,169$  
Robotics Program 100,000$  -$  100,000$  
Rural Infant Stimulation Environment Program -$  529,943$  529,943$  
School Lunch Matching 4,601,288$  4,601,288$                4,600,425$  
***School Lunch Programs 359,000$  359,000$  359,863$  
School/Community Network/Arts-in-Education -$  -$  -
School Consolidation Assistance Fund 3,077,637$  3,207,865$                3,266,980$  
Staff Development 8,526,770$  - -
Summer Arts Institute 447,076$  350,000$  350,000$  
Support Personnel Health Benefit Allowance 106,117,619$             105,064,499$            117,321,148$             
Teachers' Retirement Credit 35,311,375$               35,311,375$              35,311,375$               
Teachers' Retirement System of Oklahoma (TRS) 3,077,637$  3,207,865$                3,266,980$  
State Department of Education (Agency, The Wave, Student Testing 22,342,692$              21,426,642$              21,425,642$              
Educ. Stabilization Component/Amer. Recovery & Reinvest. Act (ARRA 139,521,635$            -$  -

SUBTOTAL 2,410,867,561$          2,278,158,382$         2,338,216,306$          
*Driver Education  (Revolving Fund) 900,000$  900,000$  900,000$  

BUDGET  TOTAL 2,411,767,561$          2,279,058,382$         2,339,116,306$          
*House Bill 1420 (1997-98) initiated a revolving fund for Driver Education.

  **Includes C3 Implementation, STEM, Great Expectations, Reward Schools, 3rd Grade Readiness, Think Through Math, TLE.       
***For 2010-11, 2011-12, and 2012-13 the amount shown for School Lunch Programs is for SDE use only:  Maintenance of Effort.
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SECTION II 

STATE  AID FORMULA CALCULATION 

When the Legislature adopted new formulas for the distribution of state money in 1981, and amended those 
formulas in 1989 and 1996, it committed itself to several principles. One of these is often called “vertical equity.” 
That principle is simply an effort to recognize that the costs of providing education vary with students and with 
districts. Some students, who have one or more disabilities, may not receive an equal educational opportunity unless 
more money is spent on them than for nondisabled students. Such a need has long been recognized in Oklahoma 
through special supplements that school districts have received to support special education services. 

It is equally true that various conditions within many school districts lead to higher expenses in the delivery of 
education to their pupils than in other districts. For example, the costs of education are greater in a district with a 
small number of pupils for each teacher. Additionally, if teachers’ salaries are inordinately high due to a 
concentration of salaries at the high end of the salary schedule, the costs for the school district are greater than 
would be the case in a district which has a high percentage of its teachers at the lower levels of its salary schedule. 

Pupil Weighting 

The Legislature chose to consider the cost factors through pupil weighting. This concept has been around for 
more than 60 years. Many states adopted pupil weighting systems in the 1970s and on into the 1980s. Actually, 
Oklahoma has had a limited form of pupil weighting for many years. Prior to the adoption of new formulas, 
secondary pupils were weighted at 1.2 as opposed to 1.0 for elementary pupils. The assumption of such weight was 
that secondary education is somewhat more expensive to provide than is elementary education. 

If the weighting system considered the varying conditions in each school district in the state regarding both 
pupils and districts, then all that would remain would be to apply the formulas that consider the wealth of the 
various districts. In a perfect equalization program, the revenue of every school district would be identical per 
weighted pupil unit. Such a program would mean that the weighting system was taking into full account the 
differences in the kinds of pupils in each district as well as individual district characteristics. It would not mean 
rigidity because the variation in revenue per pupil in average daily attendance or membership might well be 
substantial. It would simply mean that some districts would have greater numbers of weighted pupil units than 
others. 

Whatever the theoretical base, the present formula calls for the determination of numbers of weighted pupil 
units as the first step in determining a given district’s eligibility for state-appropriated money. What follows is a 
description of the weights used in Oklahoma at the present time, along with an explanation of how the number of 
weighted pupils in a given district is determined. The complexity of the formula makes it difficult for a local school 
district to easily calculate state aid at the district level. However, the formula has been presented in the next few 
pages using a step-by-step format to make the calculations easier to understand. 
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STATE AID FORMULA COMPONENTS 

CHANGES  IN STATE  AID FORMULA 

FROM: 2010-11 (End of year) TO: 2011-12 (August 2012) 
Foundation Aid: Foundation Aid:- 

Weighted ADM Factor $1,578.00 Weighted ADM Factor $1,585.00 

Transportation Factor 1.39 Transportation Factor 1.39 

Salary Incentive Aid: Salary Incentive Aid: 
Weighted ADM Factor $73.11 Weighted ADM Factor $72.71 

ADM = Average Daily Membership 

FOUNDATION AND  SALARY INCENTIVE  AID COMPONENTS: 
STATE   AID  FORMULA  2012-13 

The same components are used in both the Foundation and Salary Incentive Aid parts of the State Aid 
Formula. Weighted ADM is based on the following: 

1. Raw Average Daily Membership

2. Weighted ADM Calculation

a. Pupil Grade Level
b. Pupil Category
c. District Calculation

1. Small school district formula
or 

2. District sparsity-isolation formula
d. Teacher Index

Once a Weighted ADM is calculated for the 2010-11 data and for the 2011-12 data, whichever Weighted ADM 
is higher will be used for the initial, tentative allocation. The components will be collected and calculated again after 
the first nine weeks for a new nine-week Weighted ADM during the 2012-13 school year. Whichever year has the 
highest of the three Weighted ADMs will be used for the January final, tentative allocation. 
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Special Education = October 1, 2012 
Gifted = October 1, 2012 

Bilingual = October 1, 2012 
Econ. Disadv. = October 2012 

Teacher Index 

District Weights: 

= November 2012 

2012-13 State Aid Formula 

2010-11 Weighted ADM* 2011-12 Weighted ADM 

FY11 Raw ADM x Grade Level Weight FY12 Raw ADM x Grade Level Weight 

Student Category Weights: Student Category Weights: 

Special Education  =  October 1, 2010 Special Education  =  October 1, 2011 
Gifted  =  October 1, 2010 Gifted  =  October 1, 2011 

Bilingual  =  October 1, 2010 Bilingual  =  October 1, 2011 
Econ. Disadv.  =  October 2010 Econ. Disadv.  =  October 2011 

Teacher Index =  November 2010 Teacher Index =  November 2011 

District Weights: District Weights: 
Small School Weight Small School Weight 

using final 2011 Raw ADM using final 2012 Raw ADM 
or or 

Isolation Weight Isolation Weight 
using final 2011 Raw ADM using final 2012 Raw ADM 

Total 2010-11 Weighted ADM** Total 2011-12 Weighted ADM** 

*ADM=Average Daily Membership
**The higher of the two totals is to be used for the 2011-12 initial allocation in July. 

2012-13 Weighted ADM 

First Nine-Week Raw ADM x  Grade Level Weight 

Student Category Weights: 

Small School Weight using 2012-13 First Nine-Week Raw ADM 
or 

Isolation Weight using 2012-13 First Nine-Week Raw ADM 

Total 2012-13 First Nine-Week Weighted ADM*** 

***The highest of the three totals is to be used for the 2012-13 allocation in January 2013. 
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FOUNDATION AND  SALARY INCENTIVE  AID CALCULATION 

A. Calculation of Weighted ADM for each year to be considered. 
1. Pupil Grade Level Weight Calculation

a. Raw ADM Calculation
Source: State Department of Education Audit. 

(1) Review Audits. 
(2) Using the Days of membership on audit, divide each grade’s membership 

by the number of days taught. 
(3) Add each grade average to compile Raw ADM. 

b. Weighted Pupil Grade Level Calculation
Source: Utilize computation of original ADM from Audit. 
Procedure: (1)  Total each grade average based on the following categories and multiply (x) 

grade totals by the following weights. 
Early Childhood/PK 3* 1.2 Out of Home Placement (OHP): 
Early Childhood/PK(Half Day) 0.7 OHP1 1.5 
Early Childhood/PK (Full Day) 1.3 OHP2 1.8 
Kindergarten (Half Day) 1.3 OHP3 2.3 
Kindergarten (Full Day) Beg. FY2006 1.5 OHP4 3.0 
1st – 2nd grade 1.351 
3rd grade 1.051   *3-year-olds with an “IEP” 
4th – 6th grade 1.0 Note: PK = Prekindergarten 
7th – 12th grade 1.2 

(2)  Add each weighted pupil grade level category computed above. This figure 
will be the Weighted Pupil Grade Level Calculation. 

Weighted Pupil Category Calculation 
Source:   The  Special  Education  Child  Count  form  (October  1)  and  the  Gifted  and 

Talented Education Child Count Report (due by October 1) are collected each 
year. The students approved for free and reduced-price lunches in October are 
also considered. Bilingual counts are obtained from the October Accreditation 
Report. 

Procedure: (1)  Multiply the number of students counted in each category by the weight 
assigned to those categories in the law. The weights are as follows: 
LD .40 MR (EMH+TMR) 1.30 
HI (D+HH) 2.90 ED 2.50 
VI 3.80 PH (OI + OHI) 1.20 
MH 2.40 Gifted .34 
SI .05 D/B 3.80 
Bilingual .25 Spec. Ed. Summer  1.20 
TBI 2.40 Economically 
Autism 2.40 Disadvantaged .25 

(2)  Add the weighted categories computed above.   This figure will be the 
Weighted Pupil Category calculation. 

Weighted District Calculation 
Source: Utilize the same year ADM to determine if district qualifies at less than 529 

ADM. 
Procedure: (1)  If ADM is less than 529, the following formula is used to compute this area. 

If district ADM is 529 or greater, go to Step 2. 

Same Year 
529 – Raw ADM = x .2 = x = 

529 Same Year Small School 
Raw ADM District Weight 
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(2) District  may  qualify  for  district  sparsity-isolation  formula.  Compute 
the following: 
(a) If  school  district’s  total  area  in  square  miles is 

greater than the state average area in square miles (134), go to next step 
and compute areal density. If district has less than state average area in 
square miles (132), go to paragraph “d” at the end of the Weighted 
District Calculation. 

(b) Compute areal density:  School district’s same year Raw ADM 
divided by district’s total area in square miles = 

District’s Areal Density 
If school district’s Areal Density is less than 2.40, calculate the District 
Sparsity-Isolation Formula as follows in the next step. If district has an 
areal density of 2.40 or greater, proceed to paragraph “d” at the end of 
the Weighted District Calculation. 

(c) Group  the  subtotals  of  the  same  year  Raw  ADM  (unweighted)  as 
follows: 

Grades EC-5 +   23   = (Ca) 

Grades 6-8 + 133 =

(Cb) Grades 9-OHP 

+ 128   = (Cc) Use these Grade Level Group 

amounts in the following formula: 
1) 74 divided by ("Ca" from _= + .85 = _x =  

above) EC-5 EC-5 Cost 
ADM Factor 

2) 122 divided by ("Cb" from _= + .85 = _x =  
above) 6-8 6-8 Cost 

ADM Factor 

3) 292 divided by ("Cc" from _= + .78 = _x = 
above) 9-OHP   9-OHP Cost 

ADM Factor 

4) Sum 1 + 2 + 3 from above divided by district’s same 
year RAW ADM _= - 1.00 = 

District Cost Factor 

5) (District’s Square Miles - 134) divided by 134 = 
Area Factor 

6) Multiply District Cost Factor (Line 4 above) by the lesser of the 
Area Factor (Line 5 above) or 1.00 =  

Isolation Factor 
7) Multiply the Isolation Factor on line 6 times the same year Raw ADM

_= 
Isolation Weight 

(d) Select the greater weight of the Small School District Weight or the 
Isolation Weight and use that weight for the Weighted District Weight. 

Weighted District Weight 
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4. Weighted Teacher Index Calculation
Source: Refer to the latest Teacher Personnel Report to determine the number of teachers, 

degrees held, and total years of experience. 
Procedure: (1)  Compile information on each teacher by type of degree held and years of 

experience. 
(2) Add  the  total  number  of teachers  within each degree  level  (Bachelor’s, 

Master’s, Doctorate) and group them by the following years of experience. 

“B” “M” or “MT” “D” 
Years of Experience Degree Degree Degree 

0-2 .7 .9 1.1 
3-5 .8 1.0 1.2 
6-8 .9 1.1 1.3 
9-11 1.0 1.2 1.4 
12-15 1.1 1.3 1.5 
Over 15 1.2 1.4 1.6 

(3) Multiply (x) the total number of teachers in each degree and years of 
experience level by the following weights assigned by law. 

(4) Add (+) all of the weights computed for a total Degree Index. 
(5) Divide (÷) this total Degree Index by the total number of teachers (not FTE). 

This equals the Weighted Average District Teacher. 
(6) Subtract (-) the Weighted Average State Teacher from Weighted Average 

District Teacher. This equals the School District Teacher Index. 
(7) Multiply (x) School District Teacher Index times 0.7. This computation 

(School District Factor) is then multiplied (x) by a partial Weighted ADM. 
(This partial Weighted ADM is the total of Grade Level Weight and Pupil 
Category Weight for Economically Disadvantaged.) 

(8) The final figure is the Teacher Index Weighted Calculation. The following 
formula is used for this computation. 
Degree Index  
÷ No. of Teachers = Weighted Average District Teacher  
(Round to 4 places) 
Weighted Average District Teacher (from above) 
(–) Weighted Average State Teacher 1.0880 (Unknown FY12 State Average 
at this time; FY10 State Average is shown) 
= School District Tchr. Index x .7 = x ( + _) = 

Grd. Wtd. ADM   Econ. Dis. Wtd. 

Weighted Teacher Index 

B. Compiling Individual Weighted Calculations to determine Total Weighted ADM. 
Source: Use weighted totals compiled for Pupil Grade Level, Pupil Category, District Calculation, and 

Teacher Index. 
Procedure: Add each of these weighted areas together. This figure is the Total Weighted ADM for 

computing the Foundation Program and the Salary Incentive Program in the State Aid 
Formula. 

C. The  Total  Weighted   ADM  for  2012-13  is  then  multiplied  by  the  Base  Support  Level  of  $1,585 
for the Foundation Program in the State Aid Formula. 
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D. The Transportation Supplement shall be equal to the average daily haul (ADH) times the per capita allowance 
times the appropriate transportation factor. The ADH is the number of children in a district who are legally 
transported and who live one and one-half (1 ½) miles or more by commonly traveled road from the school 
attended. Students living less than one and one-half (1½) miles from school may be transported, but shall not be 
counted in determining state aid. 

The Area Served, which is the total square miles in each school district, is required for calculating the 
transportation supplement. For independent districts with an elementary transportation area, the area served is the 
total square miles in the district plus the total square miles in the assigned transportation area outside the independent 
district. 

The district ADH of the preceding year, divided by the district Area Served will provide a Density Figure*. Use 
the density figure in the chart below to determine the Per Capita Allowance. 

ADH x Per Capita Allowance x Transportation Factor 1.39 (an appropriation 
level [factor] set by the Legislature) = Transportation Aid (transportation supplement) for a school. 
The current formula transportation factor is 1.39 and has been unchanged in statute for many years. 

The Per Capital Allowance is determined using the following chart (70 O.S. § 18-200.1 [D-2]): 

DENSITY PER CAPITA DENSITY PER CAPITA 
*FIGURE ALLOWANCE *FIGURE ALLOWANCE 

.3000 - .3083 $167.00 .9334 - .9599 $99.00 

.3084 - .3249 $165.00 .9600 - .9866 $97.00 

.3250 - .3416 $163.00 .9867 - 1.1071 $95.00 

.3417 - .3583 $161.00 1.1072 - 1.3214 $92.00 

.3584 - .3749 $158.00 1.3215 - 1.5357 $90.00 

.3750 - .3916 $156.00 1.5358 - 1.7499 $88.00 

.3917 - .4083 $154.00 1.7500 - 1.9642 $86.00 

.4084 - .4249 $152.00 1.9643 - 2.1785 $84.00 

.4250 - .4416 $150.00 2.1786 - 2.3928 $81.00 

.4417 - .4583 $147.00 2.3929 - 2.6249 $79.00 

.4584 - .4749 $145.00 2.6250 - 2.8749 $77.00 

.4750 - .4916 $143.00 2.8750 - 3.1249 $75.00 

.4917 - .5083 $141.00 3.1250 - 3.3749 $73.00 

.5084 - .5249 $139.00 3.3750 - 3.6666 $70.00 

.5250 - .5416 $136.00 3.6667 - 3.9999 $68.00 

.5417 - .5583 $134.00 4.0000 - 4.3333 $66.00 

.5584 - .5749 $132.00 4.3334 - 4.6666 $64.00 

.5750 - .5916 $130.00 4.6667 - 4.9999 $62.00 

.5917 - .6133 $128.00 5.0000 - 5.5000 $59.00 

.6134 - .6399 $125.00 5.5001 - 6.0000 $57.00 

.6400 - .6666 $123.00 6.0001 - 6.5000 $55.00 

.6667 - .6933 $121.00 6.5001 - 7.0000 $53.00 

.6934 - .7199 $119.00 7.0001 - 7.3333 $51.00 

.7200 - .7466 $117.00 7.3334 - 7.6667 $48.00 

.7467 - .7733 $114.00 7.6668 - 8.0000 $46.00 

.7734 - .7999 $112.00 8.0001 - 8.3333 $44.00 

.8000 - .8266 $110.00 8.3334 - 8.6667 $42.00 

.8267 - .8533 $108.00 8.6668 - 9.0000 $40.00 

.8534 - .8799 $106.00 9.0001 - 9.3333 $37.00 

.8800 - .9066 $103.00 9.3334 - 9.6667 $35.00 

.9067 - .9333 $101.00 9.6668  or more $33.00 

Note:  If annexation or annexations or area served makes  necessary an additional unit of transportation, adjustments may 
be made upon the basis of ADH and Area Served during the first one-half of the current school year. School districts becoming 
eligible for transportation aid for the first time will be calculated on the basis of an adjustment at midyear.  (OAC 210: 25-3-5) 

E. Total Weighted ADM is then multiplied by the Incentive Aid Factor of $72.71 for the Salary Incentive Aid in the 
State Aid Formula. 
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TOTAL  WEIGHTED ADM* 

Foundation and Salary Incentive Aid Components 

Raw ADM 

ADM Grade Weight 

Special Education Weight 

Gifted Weight 

Bilingual Weight 

Summer Program Weight 

Economically Disadvantaged Weight 

Small School Weight (#) 

Isolation Weight (#) 

Teacher Index 

TOTAL WEIGHTED ADM 

*ADM = Average Daily Membership
# Uses Higher of Small School Weight or Isolation Weight in the Total Weighted ADM Formula 
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RAW  ADM 
WEIGHTED  PUPIL  GRADE  LEVEL  CALCULATION 

EC/PK 3* EC/PK 3* x 1.2 = 

EC/PK (Half Day) EC/PK (Half Day) x .7 = 

EC/PK (Full Day) EC/PK (Full Day) x 1.3 = 

KG (Half Day) KG (Half Day) x 1.3 = 

KG (Full Day) KG (Full Day) x 1.5 = 

01 01 

02 02 

Total x 1.351 = 

03 03 x 1.051 = 

04 04 

05 05 

06 06 

Total x 1.0 = 

07 07 

08 08 

09 09 

10 10 

11 11 

12 12 

Total x 1.2 = 

OHP1 OHP1 x 1.5 = 

OHP2 OHP2 x 1.8 = 

OHP3 OHP3 x 2.3 = 

OHP4 OHP4 x 3.0 = 

Original Raw ADM Grade Level 
Weighted ADM 

Grade Level Weight 

*3-year-olds with an Individualized Education Program (IEP)
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WEIGHTS  FOR WEIGHTED PUPIL CATEGORIES 
(70 O.S. § 18-109.5 and 70 O.S. 18-201.1) 

Learning Disabilities (LD) x .40 = 

Hearing Impaired (HI)    (D x 2.90 = 

Vision Impaired (VI) x 3.80 = 

Multiple Handicapped (MH) x 2.40 = 

Speech Impaired (SI) x .05 = 

Mentally Retarded (MR) x 1.30 = 
(Educable Mentally Handicapped [EMH] + Trainable Mentally Retarded [TMR]) 

Emotionally Disturbed (ED)  x 2.50 = 

Physically Handicapped (PH)  x 1.20 = 
(Orthopedically Impaired [OI] + Other Health Impaired [OHI]) 

Autism   x 2.40 = 

Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI)  x 2.40 = 

Deaf-Blind (D/B)  x 3.80 = 

Special Education Summer Program   x 1.20 = 

Total Special Education Weight Calculation 

plus 

Gifted  x .34 = 

Bilingual   x .25 = 

Economically Disadvantaged  x .25 = 

TOTAL WEIGHTED PUPIL CATEGORY CALCULATION 
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WEIGHTED DISTRICT  CALCULATION 
SIZE  OF DISTRICT 

SMALL  SCHOOL  FORMULA 

Raw ADM 
529 – = x .2 x = 

529 Same Year Small School 
Raw ADM District Weight 

DISTRICT SPARSITY-ISOLATION FORMULA 

A. If school district’s total area in square miles is greater than the state average area in square miles 
(134), go to next step and compute areal density. If district has less than state average area in square miles 
(134), go to paragraph “D” at the end of the Weighted District Calculation. 

B. Compute areal density:   School district’s Raw ADM divided by district’s total area in square 
miles   = District’s Areal Density 

If school district’s areal density is less than 2.40, calculate the District Sparsity-Isolation Formula as follows in 
the next step. If district has an areal density of 2.40 or greater, proceed to Paragraph “D” at the end of the 
Weighted District Calculation 

C. Group the subtotals of the Raw ADM (unweighted) as follows: 

Grades EC-5 + 23 = (Ca) 

Grades 6-8 + 133 = (Cb) 

Grades 9-OHP + 128 = (Cc) 

Use these Grade Level Group amounts in the following formula: 

1) 74 divided by “Ca” from above
   = + .85 = x = 

2) 
EC-5 ADM 

122 divided by “Cb” from above 
   = + .85 = x 

EC-5 Cost Factor 

= 

3) 
6-8 ADM 

292 divided by “Cc” from above 
  = + .78 = x 

6-8 Cost Factor 

= 
9-0HP ADM 9-OHP Cost Factor 

4) Sum 1+2+3 from above divided by district’s Raw ADM = 
– 1.00 = District Cost Factor

5) (District’s Square Miles – 134) divided by 134   = Area Factor

6) Multiply District Cost Factor (Line 4 above) by lesser of the Area Factor (Line 5 above) 
or 1.00 = Isolation Factor 

7) Multiply the Isolation Factor on line 6 times the Raw ADM = Isolation Weight 

D. Select the greater weight of the Small School District Weight or the Isolation Weight and use that weight for the 
Weighted District Weight . 
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WEIGHTED TEACHER INDEX 

11..11 1.2 1.3 1.4 1.5 1.6 
Experience 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16+ TOTAL 

“D” 
Degree 

0.9 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4 
Experience 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16+ 

“M” or “MT’ 
Degree 

0.7 0.8 0.9 1.0 1.1 1.2 
Experience 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16+ 

“B” 
Degree 

Degree Index 
÷ No. of Teachers = Weighted Avg. Dist. Tchr. (Round to 4 places) 

– Weighted Avg. State Tchr.  1.0880    (based on FY12 data)
= School Dist. Tchr. Index x .7_ x ( + ) = 

Grade Weight ADM Econ. Disadv. Wt. Weighted Teacher 



CALCULATING  THE  STATE  AID  FORMULA 

FOUNDATION AID 

Weighted ADM x   Foundation Aid Factor 
= (1) 

SUBTRACT  CHARGEABLE  INCOME 

(Valuations: Up to 11% - Down to 11%) 
Prior Year Net Assessed Valuation (In January: Current Year Net Assessed Valuation) 

Adjusted Valuation   x  15 Mills: x .015 * = 
*plus increased millage because of personal property tax adjustment

(Prior Year Collections of:) 

75% of County 4-Mill Levy x .75  = 

School Land 

Gross Production 

Motor Vehicle Collections 

R.E.A. Tax 

TOTAL CHARGEABLES TOTAL = (2) 

FOUNDATION AID TOTAL (Amount [1] Less Amount [2]) = (3) 
(Zero if Less Than Zero) 

TRANSPORTATION: 
(Average Daily Haul x  Per Capita x  Transportation Factor) 

x x 1.39 TOTAL   = (4) 
ADH Per Capita Transp. Factor 

SALARY  INCENTIVE AID 

A Incentive Aid Factor x = 
(Weighted ADM) 

B. Adjusted District Assessed Valuation / 1000 = 

C Step A (-) Step B = 

Step C x 20 Mills  = SALARY INCENTIVE AID = (5) 

TOTAL  STATE  AID (Amount 3 + 4 + 5) = 
*Stabilization Component of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA)

27



SECTION  III 

PENALTIES/ADJUSTMENTS 
for 

OKLAHOMA SCHOOL  DISTRICTS 



SCHEDULE  OF PENALTIES/ADJUSTMENTS 

Reports Must Be Filed:.................................................................................................................... Assessed as Needed 

September 1 

(No later than 10 

– 

– 

Expenditure and Revenue Reports for Previous Fiscal Year 

First Quarter Statistical Report 
days after the end of 
the first nine weeks) 

February 1 – Annual Final Personnel Reports for Certified and Support Personnel

(No later than 10 
days after the close 
of school) 

– Annual Statistical Report

Per Pupil Revenue in Excess of 150 Percent ....................................................Assessed on Original Allocation in July 

Per Pupil Revenue in Excess of 300 Percent ....................................................Assessed on Original Allocation in July 

Maintenance of Effort Penalty.................................................................... Assessed on October Payment of State Aid 

Minimum Teacher Salaries Penalty ............................................................ Assessed on October Payment of State Aid 

Noncertified Teacher Penalty ..................................................................... Assessed on October Payment of State Aid 

Oklahoma Cost Accounting System Penalty 
for Noncompliance ............................................................................Assessed on the November Payment of State Aid 

Delinquent Final Certified and Support Personnel Reports....................... Assessed on February Payment of State Aid 

Class Size Penalties ....................................................................................... Assessed on March Payment of State Aid 

General Fund Carryover Penalty ................................................................... Assessed on March Payment of State Aid 

Administrative Cost Penalty .......................................................................... Assessed on March Payment of State Aid 

Noncompliance Penalty on Late Audits .......................................................Assessed on August Payment of State Aid 

Penalty for Insufficient Days or Hours (per school year) .........................................(Assessed on a case-by-case basis)

Gifted and Talanted Penalty.......................................................................................................(Assessed in September)

State Student Record System Noncompliance 
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PER  PUPIL REVENUE IN EXCESS OF 150 PERCENT 
FOR SCHOOL DISTRICTS RECEIVING FUNDS 

THROUGH THE WEIGHTED DISTRICT CALCULATION 

SMALL  SCHOOL  WEIGHT 
OR 

ISOLATION WEIGHT 

Pursuant to 70 O.S. § 18-201.1 . . . If after the weighted district calculation is applied, the district’s projected 
per pupil revenue exceeds one hundred fifty percent (150%) of the projected state average per pupil revenue then 
the district’s State Aid shall be reduced by an amount that will restrict the district’s projected per pupil revenue to 
one hundred fifty percent (150%) of the projected state average per pupil revenue. Provided, in applying the 
restriction provided in this division, the district’s State Aid shall not be reduced by an amount greater than by the 
amount of State Aid which was generated by the weighted district calculation. 

The July calculation of the projected per pupil revenue shall be determined by dividing the highest of the 
district’s preceding two years average daily membership (ADM) as weighted by the pupil grade level, the pupil 
category, the district and the teacher experience degree index calculations for projected State Aid into the district’s 
projected total revenue including projected funds for the State Aid Formula for the preceding year, net assessed 
valuation for the preceding calendar year times thirty-nine (39) mills, county revenues excluding the county four- 
mills revenues for the second preceding year, other state appropriations for the preceding year and the collections 
for the preceding year of state apportionment, motor vehicle revenue, gross production tax and R.E.A. tax. 

The December calculation of the projected per pupil revenue shall be determined by dividing the highest of the 
district’s first nine (9) weeks of the current school year or the two preceding school years average daily membership 
(ADM) as weighted by the pupil grade level, the pupil category, the district and the teacher experience degree index 
calculations for projected State Aid into the district’s projected total revenues including funds for the December 
calculation of the current year State Aid Formula, net assessed valuation for the current calendar year times thirty- 
nine (39) mills, county revenues excluding the county four-mills revenue for the preceding year, other state 
appropriations for the preceding year and the collections for the preceding year of state apportionment, motor 
vehicle revenue, gross production tax and R.E.A. tax. 

The district’s projected total revenues for each calculation shall exclude the following collections for the 
preceding year: federal revenue, insurance loss payments, reimbursements, recovery of overpayments and refunds, 
unused reserves, prior expenditures recovered, prior year surpluses, and other local miscellaneous revenues. 

If the School District Per Pupil Revenue exceeds the State Average Per Pupil Revenue at 150 percent (150%), 
calculate the difference and multiply by the highest year Weighted ADM. This calculated product is the amount of 
revenue which the school district has in excess of 150 percent (150%) of the State Average Per Pupil Revenue. This 
amount in excess will be assessed as a penalty in state aid. However, the amount calculated as a penalty cannot be 
greater than the amount generated by the small school or isolation weight. Whichever is the smaller dollar amount 
will be the actual penalty amount. If required, such penalty will be assessed at the time of the initial and final 
allocation of state aid formula funds. 
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The 150 percent (150%) calculation is determined as follows: 
July Initial Allocation January Final Allocation 

2011-12 State Aid Formula 2012-13 State Aid Formula 
2011-12 Full Valuation times .039 2012-13 Full Valuation times .039 
2011-12 School Land Revenue 2011-12 School Land Revenue 
2011-12 Gross Production Revenue 2011-12 Gross Production Revenue 
2011-12 Motor Vehicle Revenue 2011-12 Motor Vehicle Revenue 
2011-12 R.E.A. Revenue 2011-12 R.E.A. Revenue 
2010-11 County Revenue Excluding Co. 4-mill* 2011-12 County Revenue Excluding Co. 4-mill* 
2011-12 State Appropriations** 2011-12 State Appropriations** 

Projected Total Revenue Projected Total Revenue 
Divided by Weighted ADM Divided by Weighted ADM 
(Higher of two [2] Years Weighed ADM) (Highest of three [3] Years Weighed ADM) 

*County Revenue includes the following: 

Initial School District Per Pupil Revenue = 
Initial State Average Per Pupil Revenue at 150% = 

County Apportionment 
Resale Property Fund 
Other County Miscellaneous Revenue 
TOTAL  COUNTY  REVENUE 

**State Appropriations include the following: 
2011-12 

Academic Achievement Awards 
ACE Remediation 
Advanced Placement Vertical Team Grants 
Adult Education Matching 
Advanced Placement Grant 
Advanced Placement Incentives 
Alternative Education Statewide Program 
Alternative Education Technology Grant 
Certified Employee Health Allowance 
Certified Employee Health Allowance in Lieu of FBA 
Driver Education 
High Challenge Grant 
I.B. Incentive 
ICTE - Special Projects 
Mentor Teacher Stipend 
Oklahoma Parents as Teachers 
Professional (Staff) Development - ADA Basis 
Purchase of Textbooks 
Reading Proficiency Act 
School/Community Network for Arts-in-Education 
School Consolidation Assistance Fund 
Staff Development/Reading Sufficiency Act (carryover) 
Staff Development/Reading Sufficiency Act 
Summer Reading Academy 
Support Personnel Health Allowance 
Support Personnel Health Allowance In Lieu of FBA 
Teachers' Retirement (TRS) Contribution Rate Increase 

PLUS 2010-11 ALLOCATIONS OF: 

TOTAL STATE APPROPRIATIONS* 
School Lunch--State Reimbursement/Matching 
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PER PUPIL  REVENUE  IN EXCESS  OF 300  PERCENT 

Pursuant to 70 O.S. § 18-200.1 . . . no district having per pupil revenue in excess of three hundred percent 
(300%) of the average per pupil revenue of all districts shall receive any State Aid or Supplement in State Aid. 

The July calculation of per pupil revenue shall be determined by dividing the district’s second preceding year’s 
total weighted average daily membership (ADM) into the district’s second preceding year’s total revenues excluding 
federal revenue, insurance loss payments, reimbursements, recovery of overpayments and refunds, unused reserves, 
prior expenditures recovered, prior year surpluses, and less the amount of any transfer fees paid in that year. 

The December calculation of per pupil revenue shall be determined by dividing the district’s preceding year’s 
total weighted average daily membership (ADM) into the district’s preceding year’s total revenues excluding 
federal revenue, insurance loss payments, reimbursements, recovery of overpayments and refunds, unused reserves, 
prior expenditures recovered, prior year surpluses, and less the amount of any transfer fees paid in that year. 

For the 2013 school year, the per pupil revenue will be calculated using data taken from the 2011 and the 2012 
School District Revenue and Expenditure Reports as reported by the Oklahoma Cost Accounting System (OCAS). 
The July calculation will use 2011 OCAS data and the 2011 Weighted Average Daily Membership (ADM). The 
December calculation will use 2012 OCAS data and the 2012 Weighted ADM. 

The calculation is determined as follows: 

DISTRICT TOTAL Source of 
Revenue 

Total Receipts 

Total Federal Revenue 
Less: 

1000-4000 

4000 

Insurance Loss Payments 

Reimbursements 

1510 

1590 

Overpayment/Refunds 
(Rebates/Refunds) 

Transfer Fees Paid (Expenditure) 

1680 

Function/ 
Object 

1000 560 

OCAS   OCAS 
Total Adjusted Revenue (2011)   (2012) (A) 

(A) Divided by 
July: 2011 Weighted ADM 

December: 2012 Weighted ADM 

= (B) 
School District 

Per Pupil Revenue 

(B) Divided by 
July: 2011 State Average Pupil Per Cap (C) 

December: 2012 State Average Pupil Per Cap 

= (B)/(C) 
Percent (%) of District Per Cap 

vs. State Per Cap 
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MAINTENANCE  OF EFFORT  PENALTY 

The Policies and Procedures for Special Education in Oklahoma (2007), states: 

“In the spring of the subsequent fiscal year, the Oklahoma Cost Accounting System (OCAS) will compare the 
MOE for special education from state and local funds to the previous fiscal year. Each LEA that fails to meet 
maintenance of effort will receive a written notice from the SEA requesting the submission of any documentation of 
exceptions to MOE that would allow the LEA to reduce the state and local expenditures, in accordance with 34 CFR 
300.204. 

Following the submission of documentation regarding these exceptions, the SEA will review the status of each 
LEA for failure to meet MOE. If the LEA does not meet maintenance of effort, the SEA will reduce the LEA’s state 
funding in the amount not met, as a sanction for noncompliance.” 

MOE=Maintenance of Effort 
LEA=Local Educational Agency 
SEA=State Educational Agency 

Note: Phone Number for Special Education: (405) 521-3351 
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MINIMUM TEACHER SALARIES—2012-13 SCHOOL YEAR 

Pursuant to 70 O.S. § 18-114.7, the Annual Certified Personnel Report from each school district is verified for 
compliance with the “State Minimum Teacher Salary Schedule.” For the 2012-13 school year (no change from 
2011-12), teachers in the public schools of Oklahoma shall receive in salary and/or fringe benefits not less than the 
amounts specified in the following schedule. When determining minimum salary, “fringe benefits” shall mean only 
the employee’s share of retirement, if paid by the district. 

YEARS OF 
EXPERIENCE 

BACHELOR’S 
DEGREE 

MASTER’S 
DEGREE 

DOCTOR’S 
DEGREE 

0 $31,600 $32,800 $34,000 
1 $31,975 $33,175 $34,375 
2 $32,350 $33,550 $34,750 
3 $32,725 $33,925 $35,125
4 $33,100 $34,300 $35,500 
5 $33,500 $34,700 $35,900 
6 $33,900 $35,100 $36,300
7 $34,300 $35,500 $36,700 
8 $34,700 $35,900 $37,100 
9 $35,100 $36,300 $37,500
10 $35,950 $37,575 $39,625 
11 $36,375 $38,000 $40,050 
12 $36,800 $38,425 $40,475
13 $37,225 $38,850 $40,900 
14 $37,650 $39,275 $41,325 
15 $38,075 $39,700 $41,750
16 $38,500 $40,125 $42,175 
17 $38,925 $40,550 $42,600 
18 $39,350 $40,975 $43,025
19 $39,775 $41,400 $43,450 
20 $40,200 $41,825 $43,875 
21 $40,625 $42,250 $44,300
22 $41,050 $42,675 $44,725 
23 $41,475 $43,100 $45,150 
24 $41,900 $43,525 $45,575
25+ $42,325 $43,950 $46,000 

To verify compliance with the State Minimum Teacher Salary Schedule, compare the individual teacher’s base 
salary, fringe benefits, degree, and total years of experience. If the base salary and fringe benefits are equal to or 
exceed the required salary as indicated by the State Minimum Teacher Salary Schedule, the school district is 
considered to be in compliance with the statutory requirements and no penalty is assessed. However, if the base 
salary and fringe benefits for the certified employee are less than the statutory amount, a penalty may be assessed 
equal to the difference between the statutory amount and the actual amount paid for the base salary plus fringe 
benefits, unless the employee’s salary and fringe benefits are adjusted to meet the state minimum salary 
requirements. 

NOTE: Extra-duty pay and Flexible Benefit Allowance cannot be used in meeting State Minimum Teacher 
Salary. 

Pursuant to OAC Title 210, 25-3-4 [h] (Finance) . . . If the district pays a teacher less than the minimum salary 
required by law, the difference will be deducted from the next payment of state aid. . . . 

NOTE:  Teachers employed that are drawing retirement pay from the Oklahoma Teachers' Retirement System 
are not subject to the above minimum salary schedule. (70 O.S. § 18-114.7) 
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NONCERTIFIED TEACHERS 

Pursuant to 70 O.S. § 6-101, the statute provides in part: 

. . . B.  Except as otherwise provided by law, no board of education shall have authority to enter into any 
written contract with a teacher who does not hold a valid certificate issued or recognized by the State Board of 
Education authorizing said teacher to teach the grades or subject matter for which the teacher is employed. Any 
board of education paying or authorizing the payment of the salary of any teacher not holding a certificate, as 
required herein, shall be adjudged to be guilty of a fraudulent expenditure of public funds . . . 

Pursuant to 70 O.S. § 6-101, local boards of education are authorized to enter into written contracts with 
persons who are not certified or licensed to teach by the State Board of Education as long as the person is enrolled in 
an education degree program at an institution of higher education and is actively in the process of securing 
certification or licensure. If the person has not obtained valid certification or licensure by the first day of the 
ensuing school year, the contract would be terminated. 

Pursuant to 70 O.S. § 6-107, the statute provides in part: 

. . . It shall be unlawful for a member of the board of education of a school district to employ, approve or vote 
for the employment of any person to perform services for such district unless the person employed holds a valid 
certificate of qualification issued in accordance with the rules of the State Board of Education to perform the 
services the person is employed to perform. 

Pursuant to 70 O.S. § 6-108, the statute provides in part: 

. . . It shall be unlawful for any person to serve, or to contract or agree to serve, as superintendent, elementary 
superintendent, principal, supervisor, librarian, school nurse, classroom teacher or other instructional, supervisory 
or administrative employee of a school district unless such person holds a valid certificate of qualification issued in 
accordance with the rules of the State Board of Education to perform the services the person performs or contracts 
or agrees to perform. 

The initial monitoring of certification is the responsibility of the School Personnel Records Section within the 
State Department of Education. Reports are generated for Regional Accreditation Officers (RAO) indicating 
noncertificated personnel within the school district. The RAO will ascertain the days that the employee was 
noncertificated. 

Pursuant to OAC Title 210, 25-3-4 [c] (Personnel): 

. . . Any district identified as contracting with a teacher, or administrator without a valid certificate shall be 
penalized in state aid. The state aid penalty amount shall be the salary amount paid by the district for the number of 
days the teacher or administrator taught without a valid certificate in excess of allowable substitute days. 

Pursuant to Title 70 O.S. § 6-105, the statute provides in part: 

No substitute teacher shall be employed for a total time in excess of ninety (90) school days during a school 
year; or one hundred (100) school days during the school year if the substitute teacher holds a lapsed or expired 
certificate or has a bachelors level college degree; or no limit of school days during the school year if the substitute 
teacher holds a valid certificate. Except as provided in this section, a substitute teacher may not be employed for 
the same assignment for more than twenty (20) school days during a school year unless the substitute teacher holds 
a valid certificate. Substitute teachers who do not hold a valid certificate and who are employed to teach special 
education for students with physical disabilities or students with mental retardation shall not be subject to the 
restrictions on total time a substitute teacher may be employed or the restrictions on time in the same assignment if 
no certified teachers are available to teach such students and the students would be denied instruction in special 
education if the substitute teacher were not employed. . . . 
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OKLAHOMA COST ACCOUNTING SYSTEM 
PENALTY FOR NONCOMPLIANCE 

Pursuant to 70 O.S. § 5-135.2: 

A. For the 1991-92 school year, school districts shall report financial transactions for all funds, except for the 
school activity fund, using the Oklahoma Cost Accounting System, as adopted by the State Board of Education 
pursuant to Section 5-135 of this title. Costs shall be reported by curricular subject area where applicable. For the 
1992-93 school year and in each subsequent school year, school districts shall report financial transactions for all 
funds using the Oklahoma Cost Accounting System. Costs shall be reported by curricular subject area where 
applicable. 

B. Beginning July 1, 1991, and in each subsequent school year, the State Department of Education shall reduce 
the monthly payment of a district’s State Aid funds if, at the time of such payment, the district is not operating 
pursuant to the Oklahoma Cost Accounting System. The amount of the reduction shall be one percent (1%) for the 
first payment, two percent (2%) for the second payment, three percent (3%) for the third payment, four percent (4%) 
for the fourth payment, and five percent (5%) for each subsequent payment. The reduction may be waived by the 
State Board of Education if the district can demonstrate that failure to operate pursuant to such system was due to 
circumstances beyond the control of the district and that every effort is being made by the district to operate 
pursuant to such system as quickly as possible. 

Any penalties assessed for noncompliance of implementation of the Oklahoma Cost Accounting System would 
be administered upon verification by the Financial Accounting Section, State Department of Education, that the 
school district was not operating under such system. The penalty would be ongoing until the system was 
implemented in a proper manner by the school district. 

Example: Original Allocation $537,433 
September Payment $53,743 
First Month's Penalty x 1% 
Approximate First Month's Noncompliance Penalty $537 

Second Month's Penalty 48,369 
x 2% 

Approximate Second Month's Noncompliance Penalty $967 

Total Penalty After Two Months $1,504 

(Process continues up to 5% reduction for each subsequent payment) 
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PENALTY  FOR INSUFFICIENT DAYS OR HOURS 

70 O.S. § 1-109 (New in 2009 legislative session): 
For all public schools in Oklahoma, school shall actually be in session and classroom instruction offered for 

not less than one hundred eighty (180) days; or for not less than one thousand eighty (1,080) hours each school 
year, if a district board of education adopts a school-hours policy and notifies the State Board of Education prior to 
September 15 of the applicable school year. Not more than thirty (30) hours each school year may be used for 
attendance  of  professional  meetings  and  teachers  may  be  paid  for  a  length  of  term  in  excess  thereof  .  .  . 
(Requirement per calendar year unless specific deregulation applies:  1,050 hours or 175 days of classroom 
instruction; 30 hours/5 days of professional days; for not less than 1,080 hours or 180 days.) 

WITHHOLDING STATE  AID PAYMENTS FOR DELINQUENT 
FINAL CERTIFIED  AND SUPPORT PERSONNEL REPORTS 

OAC 210:25-3-4 (f)—Personnel (Certified): 
No later than February 1 of each year, all public school districts must file an accurate revised “Final Certified 

Personnel Report” with the State Department of Education. The report shall contain any corrections, deletions, 
and additions that have occurred since the October 1 report was filed so that more accurate information is available 
for state aid calculations, legislative projections and other statistical requirements. State Aid funds shall be 
withheld from any school district that does not submit the Final Certified Personnel Report by February 1. Only 
after the report has been received by the State Department of Education shall the withheld State Aid funds be 
released to the school district. 

OAC 210:20-27-1 (a)(2)—Support personnel; reporting requirements: 

No later than February 1 of each year, all public school districts must file a revised “Final Support Personnel 
Report” with the State Department of Education. The report shall contain any corrections, deletions, and additions 
that have occurred since the initial report was filed so that more accurate information is available for state aid 
calculations, legislative projections and other statistical requirements. State Aid funds shall be withheld from any 
school district that does not submit the “Final Support Personnel Report” by February 1. Only after the report has 
been received by the State Department of Education shall the withheld State Aid funds be released to the school 
district. 

NONCOMPLIANCE PENALTY ON LATE AUDITS 

Pursuant to 70 O.S. § 22-108, the statute provides in part: 

E. . . . If within eleven (11) months after the end of the fiscal year of the public school a copy of the audit 
report has not been received by the State Board of Education, an inquiry shall be made by the State Board of 
Education as to why such report has not been filed. Should the State Board of Education find that the local board of 
education has failed to cause an annual audit to be commenced, the State Board of Education shall make a written 
demand on said board to complete and file such annual audit within thirty (30) days of the date of such demand. 

Pursuant to 70 O.S. § 22-112 (State Aid withheld for failure to comply with article): 

All further “payment” of State Aid for each district shall be withheld until the provisions of this article (see 
above paragraph) have been fulfilled by said district. 
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CLASS SIZE PENALTY 
INFORMATION 

INSTRUCTIONS AND 

PENALTY  EXAMPLES 

Note:  Class size information will be collected online.  
Log onto the Single Sign-on on the Home page or by 
following the link below.

www.sdeweb01.sde.ok.gov/SSO2/Signin.aspx



Janet Barresi 
State Superintendent of Public Instruction 
Oklahoma State Department of Education

CLASS SIZE AUDIT INSTRUCTIONS 
(70 O.S. §§ 18.113.1 through 18.113.4) 

Kindergarten—Grades 1, 2, and 3—Grades 4, 5, and 6 

1. For Kindergarten only:  Membership for A.M. and P.M. kindergarten must be shown as
separate totals and not combined.

2. Do not mail any of the class size audit forms; leave them with attendance registers for
Regional Accreditation Officer (RAO).  This is applicable to all Grades K-12.

3. All membership including self-contained special education must be included in the total
membership days on the first line for each grade level.  The second line for each grade level
must indicate the membership days of only the self-contained special education students.
Self-contained special education membership days must be excluded from the third line for
each grade level.  Self-contained special education classes are those classes whose students
attend the same class for three (3) or more class periods and have individualized education
programs.

4. For Kindergarten and Grades 1, 2, and 3 only:  Self-contained special education teachers
and assistants must be included in the teacher and assistant totals on the first line for each
grade level.  The second line for each grade level must indicate only self-contained special
education teachers and assistants.  The third line for each grade level must exclude self-
contained special education teachers and assistants.  Names of self-contained special
education teachers must be included on the teacher list and noted as such.

5. For Grades 4, 5, and 6 only:  Self-contained special education teachers must be included in
the teacher totals on the first line for each grade level.  The second line for each grade level
must indicate only self-contained special education teachers.  The third line for each grade
level must exclude self-contained special education teachers.  Names of self-contained
special education teachers must be included on the teacher list and noted as such.

6. Do not include physical education (PE), chorus (CH), band (BD), orchestra (OR), and similar
music class enrollments in the teacher totals.

7. Do not include any Title I teachers or other federally funded supplemental teachers in the
teacher totals. 

8. For Kindergarten and Grades 1, 2, and 3 only:  Do not include any federally funded
bilingual assistants or other federally funded supplemental assistants in the assistant totals.

9. For Kindergarten and Grades 1, 2, and 3 only:  Do not include “Volunteers” as assistants.
“Volunteers” may not be counted in the class size calculation.

10. For Kindergarten and Grades 1, 2, and 3 only:  Developmental or transitional first grade
classes shall be reported as first grade classes. 

11. State Aid allocation adjustments will not be made until this data is verified by an RAO,
signed by the school superintendent, notarized, and submitted by the RAO to the State Aid
Section of the State Department of Education.

Please note:   The figures reported for membership must be actual total membership days 
(attendance plus absences) for the first nine-week period.  The actual number of 
days taught must also be for the first nine-week period.  
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Janet Barresi 
State Superintendent of Public Instruction 
Oklahoma State Department of Education

Special Note Multisite Teachers: 

If you have a multisite teacher that is at the elementary school as well as at the middle and 
high school, the elementary portion of the day would go on the elementary class size report 
with the appropriate fraction-of-a-day shown; see example below.   

• A teacher spends 2/7 of the day at the elementary school; the fraction-of-a-day shown on
the elementary class size report would be .286

• Same teacher spends 2/7 of the day at the middle school and 3/7 of the day at the high
school

• All middle/high school classes would be shown on the high school site and the fraction-
of-a-day would be 5/7 of a day or .714.

Delete the teacher from the middle school site to avoid double counting. (You must 
coordinate between sites to determine which site is counting the teacher.)  The total fraction-
of-a-day for all classes would equal one (.286 [elementary]) +.714 (2/7 at middle school + 3/7 
high school [or 5/7]) = 1). 
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CLASS SIZE  PENALTIES  FOR KINDERGARTEN 

Penalties for oversized classes are calculated by grade and by school site. The calculations are then combined 
and penalties are assessed at the district level if penalization is necessary. Audits are made at the various grade 
levels. Examples below indicate the steps for determining the actual class sizes. 

KINDERGARTEN: For the 2012-13 school year, kindergarten class size is 20 students for each teacher and 
the addition of a teaching assistant allows an additional 9 students to be in the classroom. The example below is 
based on 45 days taught for the first nine weeks. 

EXAMPLE: Allowable Calculation 

Number of Teachers Number of Assistants Membership Days 
in this Grade 

at this Site = 3 
in this Grade 

at this Site = 1 
Allowable for this 
Grade at this Site 

3 x 20 = 60; 
60 x 45 days = 

1 x 9 = 9; 
9 x 45 days = 

2,700 + 405 = 3,105 (A) 

EXAMPLE: Attendance/Membership Register totals for all classes in this grade level at this site: 

Membership Days 
1st Nine Weeks 

45 Days Taught 
3,666 

NINE-WEEK MEMBERSHIP  DAYS ON REGISTER 3,666 (B) 

MEMBERSHIP DAYS IN EXCESS OF ALLOWABLE 
(B) minus (A) = 561 (C) 

AVERAGE DAILY MEMBERSHIP (ADM) TO BE PENALIZED 
(C) divided by (Number of days taught) 45 = 12.47 

12.47 ADM multiplied by 1.3 Kg. Grade Weight = 16.21 (D) 

STATE AID PENALTY 

(D) multiplied by Current year factor = Penalty 
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CLASS SIZE PENALTIES FOR GRADES  1, 2, AND 3 

Penalties for oversized classes are calculated by grade and by school site. The calculations are then combined 
and penalties are assessed at the district level if penalization is necessary. Audits are made at the various grade 
levels. Examples below indicate the steps for determining the actual class sizes. 

GRADES 1, 2, AND 3: For the 2012-13 school year, class size for Grades 1, 2, and 3 is 20 students for each 
teacher and the addition of a teaching assistant allows an additional 9 students to be in the classroom. The example 
below is based on 45 days taught for the first nine weeks. 

EXAMPLE: Allowable Calculation 

Number of Teachers Number of Assistants Membership Days 
in this Grade 

at this Site = 3 
in this Grade 

at this Site = 1 
Allowable for this 
Grade at this Site 

3 x 20 = 60; 
60 x 45 days = 

1 x 9 = 9; 
9 x 45 days = 

2,700 + 405 = 3,105 (A) 

EXAMPLE: Attendance/Membership Register totals for all classes in this grade level at this site: 

Membership Days 
1st Nine Weeks 

45 Days Taught 
3,384 

NINE-WEEK MEMBERSHIP  DAYS ON REGISTER 3,384 (B) 

MEMBERSHIP DAYS IN EXCESS OF ALLOWABLE 
(B) minus (A) = 279 (C) 

AVERAGE DAILY MEMBERSHIP (ADM) TO BE PENALIZED 
(C) divided by (Number of days taught) 45 = 6.20 

6.20 ADM* multiplied by 1.351 Second Grade Weight = 8.38 (D) 

STATE AID PENALTY 

(D) multiplied by Current Year Factor = Penalty 

*In the above example, the 6.20 ADM is being considered as second graders.
**Grade level weights are multiplied for each ADM as follows: 

Grades 1 and 2 = 1.351 
Grade 3 = 1.051 
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CLASS SIZE PENALTIES FOR GRADES  4, 5, AND 6 

Penalties for oversized classes are calculated by grade and by school site. The calculations are then combined 
and penalties are assessed at the district level if penalization is necessary. Audits are made at the various grade 
levels. Examples below indicate the steps for determining the actual class sizes. 

GRADES 4, 5, AND 6: For the 2012-13 school year, class size for Grades 4, 5, and 6 is 20 students for each 
teacher. At each site, a new class would have to be added when there are 16 additional students over the 20 students 
allowed for each teacher. The example below is based on 45 days taught for the first nine weeks. 

EXAMPLE: Allowable Calculation 

Number of Teachers Number of Students Membership Days 
in this Grade 

at this Site = 3 
Allowed before an 

additional class = 15 
Allowable for this 
Grade at this Site 

3 x 20 = 60; 
60 x 45 days = 

15 x 45 = 

2,700 + 675 = 3,375 (A) 

EXAMPLE: Attendance/Membership Register totals for all classes in this grade level at this site: 

Membership Days 
1st Nine Weeks 

45 Days Taught 
4,002 

NINE-WEEK MEMBERSHIP  DAYS ON REGISTER 4,002 (B) 

MEMBERSHIP DAYS IN EXCESS OF ALLOWABLE 
(B) minus (A) = 627 (C) 

AVERAGE DAILY MEMBERSHIP (ADM) TO BE PENALIZED 
(C) divided by (Number of days taught) 45 = 13.93 (D)** 

STATE AID PENALTY 

(D) multiplied by Current Year Factor = Penalty 

**   There is no additional grade level weight for Grades 4, 5, and 6. 
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Janet Barresi 
State Superintendent of Public Instruction 
Oklahoma State Department of Education 

CLASS SIZE AUDIT INSTRUCTIONS 
(70 O.S. §§ 18.113.1 through 18.113.4) 

(Grades (6), 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, and 12) 

1. Do not mail any of the class size audit forms; leave them at the superintendent’s office
for Regional Accreditation Officer (RAO).

2. In accordance with the class size requirements in 70 O.S. Supp. 2004 §§ 18.113.1 through
18.113.4, “If a district groups its grades as . . . grades six through eight, . . . then . . . the
provisions of Section 18-113.3 . . . shall apply to grades six through twelve.”  Accordingly,
middle schools (Grades 6-7-8) and junior high schools (Grades 7-8) are to be considered as
secondary schools for class size purposes.

3. If the district is elementary (Kindergarten through Grade 8), Grade 6 should be reported on
appropriate elementary “CLASS SIZE AUDIT FORM.”  Information for Grades 7 and 8 will
be used on these secondary forms.

4. Do not include physical education (PE), chorus (CH), band (BD), orchestra (OR), and similar
music class enrollments in the teacher totals; instead, use appropriate code on audit form as
outlined on attached example.

6. State Aid allocation adjustments will not be made until this data is verified by an RAO,
signed by the school superintendent, notarized, and submitted by the RAO to the State Aid
Section of the State Department of Education.

Please note: The figures reported for secondary students taught should be all students in 
class on October 1.  (This is not average days taught as in the elementary sites.)  

Special Note Multisite Teachers: 

If you have a middle school or high school multisite teacher, the teacher needs to be listed 
on the site where he/she spends the majority of the day with corresponding class cells (C1-
C9) completed for all sites for the entire day. 

If you have a multisite teacher that is at the elementary school as well as at the middle and 
high school, the elementary portion of the day would go on the elementary class size report 
with the appropriate fraction-of-a-day shown; see example below.   

• A teacher spends 2/7 of the day at the elementary school; the fraction-of-a-day shown on
the elementary class size report would be .286

• Same teacher spends 2/7 of the day at the middle school and 3/7 of the day at the high
school

• All middle/high school classes would be shown on the high school site and the fraction-
of-a-day would be 5/7 of a day or .714.

Delete the teacher from the middle school site to avoid double counting. (You must 
coordinate between sites to determine which site is counting the teacher.)  The total fraction-
of-a-day for all classes would equal one (.286 [elementary]) +.714 (2/7 at middle school + 3/7 
high school [or 5/7]) = 1). 
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HOW  TO  CALCULATE    
CLASS  SIZE  PENALTIES  FOR  GRADES  7,  8,  9,  10,  11,  AND  12          

EXAMPLE:  Enrollment data by teacher on "CLASS SIZE AUDIT FORM"
 TEACHER         TEACHER
   CERT.           NAME
 NUMBER (LAST)   (FIRST) C1 C2 C3 C4 C5 C6 C7 C8 C9 TOTAL

25 20 22 PP 28 25 120
123869 Anderson, Tina   REGIONAL ACCREDITATION OFFICER (RAO) USE ONLY

15 15 30 30 30 PP 120
157834 Fisher, George

15 PP CH 30 30 30 105
025387 Kiefer, Jim

PP 30 33 22 31 38 154
158641 Marshal, John

40 45 PE PE PE PP 85
128955 Smith, Mark

25 PP 35 25 30 35 150
131262 Smith, Sharon

John Marshal is over the class size limit by 14 students.
Sharon Smith is over the class size limit by 10 students.

John Marshal:  14 plus Sharon Smith:  10  =   24  (A) students over class size limit for this site

STATE  AID  PENALTY

(A)    multiplied by  grade level weight 1.20  = 28.80 (B) additional weight

(B)    multiplied by Current Year Factor  = Penalty

   CODE        CLASS
PE  = Physical Education
CH  = Chorus
BD  = Band
OR  = Orchestra
PP  = Planning Period

GRADES  7,  8,  9,  10,  11,  and  12:  For the 2012-13 school year, the class size limit for 
Grades 7 through 12 is 140 students for each teacher.  The secondary class size limits are based 
on a single day in the first nine weeks, not an average of the first nine weeks as in the 
elementary sites.  Physical education (PE), chorus (CH), band (BD), orchestra (OR), and similar 
music class enrollments are not to be included in these counts. 

Penalties for oversized classes are calculated by teacher and by school site.  The penalties are then 
combined and are assessed at the district level if penalization is necessary.  Audits are made of the 
various school site teacher rosters.  Examples below indicate the steps for determining the actual 
class size. 



GENERAL FUND CARRYOVER PENALTY 

Calculation for Prior Year’s General Fund Balance 

Pursuant to 70 O.S. § 18-200.1, the State Department of Education will send notification to each 
school district by February 1 of each year, detailing the calculation of the General Fund Carryover 
Penalty. Within 30 calendar days, each district will respond to the Department in writing, accepting or 
protesting the penalty amount. Districts will be notified by March 15 of the Department’s findings, and 
the penalty will be assessed by April 1. 

Any penalty assessed for excessive general fund carryover will be determined by using data that will 
be extracted from a school district’s Web-based data collection filed with the State Department of 
Education (Financial Accounting/Oklahoma Cost Accounting System [OCAS]) and crosschecked with 
the Estimate of Needs filed with the State Board of Equalization and the Financial Accounting/OCAS 
Section of the State Department of Education. (Examples of the calculation for determining the 
maximum allowable amount of General Fund Carryover follow.) 

In the “General Fund Balance (GFB) Example Number 1” on the following pages, the GENERAL 
FUND NEW COLLECTIONS to be considered for the carryover penalty calculation are $1,593,631. The 
General Fund Balance Allowable percentage is 35 percent (35%). Therefore, the allowable amount of 
carryover is $557,771. The actual amount of the school district’s general fund carryover (Line C) is 
$327,399. The example district is well within the allowable amount of $557,771. No penalty will result. 

However, if the actual amount of the school district’s general fund carryover (Line C) had exceeded 
the allowable amount (as in “GFB Example Number 2”), deduct Federal Revenue and Gifts, 
Donations, and Endowments received during the 2011-12 school year (Sources of Revenue: 4000 
Series, 1610, and 1640). Next, deduct any of the following exclusions that are applicable to your school 
district (see following paragraphs.)  If a balance remains, a State  Aid penalty would result. 

Title 70, Section 18-200.1 (Paragraph G): 

“Notwithstanding the provisions of Section 18-112.2 of this title, a school district shall have its State 
Aid reduced by an amount equal to the amount of carryover in the general fund of the district as of June 
30 of the preceding year, that is in excess of the following standards for two consecutive years.” 

Exclusions in Law: 

“Any school district which receives proceeds from a tax settlement or a Federal Emergency 
Management Agency (FEMA) settlement during the last two (2) months of the preceding fiscal year shall 
be exempt from the penalties assessed in this subsection, if the penalty would occur solely as a result of 
receiving funds from the tax settlement.” 

“Any school district which receives an increase in State Aid because of a change in Foundation 
and/or Salary Incentive aid factors during the last two (2) months of the preceding fiscal year shall be 
exempt from the penalties assessed in this subsection, if the penalty would occur solely as a result of 
receiving funds from the increase in State Aid.” Note: This applies to all school districts that received an 
adjusted allocation in Foundation and Salary Incentive Aid in June 2012 because of the factor adjustment. 
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“If a school district does not receive Foundation and/or Salary Incentive Aid during the preceding 
fiscal year, the State Board of Education may waive the penalty assessed in this subsection if the penalty 
would result in a loss of more than forty percent (40%) of the remaining State Aid to be allocated to the 
school district between April 1 and the remainder of the school year and if the Board determines the 
penalty will cause the school district not to meet remaining financial obligations.” 

“Any school district which receives gross production revenue apportionment during the 2002-2003 
school year or in any subsequent school year that is greater than the gross production revenue 
apportionment of the preceding school year shall be exempt from the penalty assessed in this subsection, 
if the penalty would occur solely as a result of the gross production revenue apportionment, as 
determined by the State Board of Education.” 

“Beginning July 1, 2003, school districts that participate in consolidation or annexation pursuant to 
the provisions of the Oklahoma School Voluntary Consolidation and Annexation act shall be exempt from 
the penalty assessed in this subsection for the school year in which the consolidation or annexation 
occurs and for the next three (3) years.” 

“Any school district which receives proceeds from a sales tax levied by a municipality pursuant to 
Section 22-159 of Title 11 of the Oklahoma Statutes or proceeds from a sales tax levied by a county 
pursuant to Section 1370 of Title 68 of the Oklahoma Statutes during the 2003–2004 school year or the 
2004–2005 school year shall be exempt from the penalties assessed in this subsection, if the penalty 
would occur solely as a result of receiving funds from the sales tax levy.” 

“For purposes of calculating the general fund balance penalty, the terms “carryover” and “general 
fund balance” shall not include federal revenue.” 

*70 O.S. § 1-117:

“G. Schools which receive gifts or donations or state-appropriated monies for the purpose of capital 
expenditures or projects shall place such monies in the building fund, as provided by Section 1– 
118 of this title, and not in the general fund. School districts which receive gifts, grants, or 
donations of monies for noncapital expenditures may place the monies in the general fund, and 
such monies shall not be required to be used during the year in which the money was received but 
may accumulate from year to year and shall not be considered a part of the general fund 
collections when calculating the general fund carryover as provided in subsection  G  of 
Section 18-200.1.” 

(Please refer to the worksheet on next two pages.) 
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GENERAL FUND CARRYOVER PENALTY—PREVIOUS YEAR CALCULATION FOR APPLICABLE 
PENALTY TO BE ASSESSED DURING THE CURRENT SCHOOL YEAR 

Schedule 2--Revenue and Expenditures EXAMPLE YOUR  DISTRICT 

Add REVENUE: 
 A Beginning Book Balance $ 155,844.00 

(Source of Revenue 6110) 

Fund Balance Transferred from Prior Years $ 3,155.90 

(Sources of Revenue 6130, 6140) 

Current Ad Valorem Tax Apportioned $ 231,645.85 

(Source of Revenue 1110) 

Miscellaneous Revenue Apportioned $ 1,353,829.25 

(All other Revenue Sources [Excluding 1610 and 1640]) 

Return of Assets $ 5,000.00 

(Sources of Revenue 5150, 5160, 5190, 6200) 
 B TOTAL REVENUE $ 1,749,475.00 

Subtract REQUIREMENTS (EXPENDITURES): 

Warrants Issued and Transfer Fees $ (1,300,062.00) 

Reserves (Encumbrances) $ (122,014.00) 

Interest Paid on Warrants (Object 833) $ - 

Reserve for Interest on Warrants (Encumbrances, Object 832) $ - 

TOTAL EXPENDITURES $ (1,422,076.00) 

 C Equals FUND BALANCE (from Estimate of Needs Balance Sheet 6-30-XX) $ 327,399.00 

Determine your district's TOTAL NEW COLLECTIONS as reported on the Prior Year  Est. of Needs and by OCAS: (per 70 O.S. § 18-200.1): 

Total Revenue (Line B) $ 1,749,475.00 

Minus Beginning Book Balance $ (155,844.00) 
 D TOTAL NEW COLLECTIONS FOR YOUR SCHOOL DISTRICT $ 1,593,631.00 

 E Based on the TOTAL NEW COLLECTIONS calculated, determine your school district's ALLOWABLE CARRYOVER 
AMOUNT from the following sliding scale: 

Total Amount of General Fund Amount of General 

Collections Excluding Previous Year Fund Balance (GFB) 

Cash Surplus as of June 30 Allowable 

Less than $1,000,000 40% 

$1,000,000 to $2,999,999 35% 

$3,000,000 to $3,999,999 30% 

$4,000,000 to $4,999,999 25% 

$5,000,000 to $5,999,999 20% 

$6,000,000 to $7,999,999 18% 

$8,000,000 to $9,999,999 16% 

$10,000,000 or more 14% 

See examples below 
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EXAMPLE YOUR  DISTRICT 

TOTAL NEW COLLECTIONS FOR YOUR SCHOOL DISTRICT $ 1,593,631.00 

GFB EXAMPLE NUMBER 1 (District is within allowable percentage): 

F The amount of allowable GFB carryover for this example would be 35%: $ 557,771.00 

([Line D] $1,593,631  x 35% = $557,771) 

G Subtract Fund Balance (Line C) $ (327,399.00) 
Note:  This example district has NOT exceeded the allowable carryover (Line F). 

GFB EXAMPLE NUMBER 2 (District exceeds allowable percentage): 

Amount of allowable GFB carryover at 35%: $ 557,771.00 

IF the amount of Fund Balance on Line C was $657,399: $ (657,399.00) 

Amount of General Fund Balance Penalty BEFORE any deductions/exclusions: $ (99,628.00) 

District exceeds GFB allowable by: $ 99,628.00 

1. Subtract/exclude Federal Revenue and Gifts/Donations/Endowments for Prior 
Year (Sources of Revenue: 4000 Series, 1610, and 1640 ): 

$ (50,000.00) 

IF APPLICABLE, apply EXCLUSIONS in law (see preceding pages): 

2. Subtract "FEMA" exclusion: $ - 

3. Subtract "Change in State Aid Factors" exclusion: $ (200.00) 

4. Subtract "Gross Production" exclusion: $ (24,000.00) 

5. Subtract "Sales Tax Levied by Municipality" exclusion (11 O.S. 22-159): $ (25,000.00) 

IF APPLICABLE, other exclusions may apply (see exclusion verbiage on preceding pages): 

6. Annexation or Consolidation exclusion: 

7. Decision of State Board of Education--District does not receive Foundation Aid and/or 
Salary Incentive Aid; loss of more than 40% of remaining State Aid: 

H   AMOUNT  OF APPROXIMATE GENERAL  FUND BALANCE  PENALTY: $ 428.00 

Note: Legislation in 70 O.S. § 18-200.1 allows a school district to exceed the allowable percentage of carryover for two (2) 
consecutive years before a General Fund Balance penalty is assessed. However, we encourage you to annually keep your carryover 
amount within the allowable percentage in law. 
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ADMINISTRATIVE  COST  PENALTY 

The Oklahoma Cost Accounting System (OCAS) was passed into law and became effective July 1, 1992, 
(70 O.S. § 5-135.2) and was adopted from Financial Accounting for Local and State School Systems, 1990. 
Financial Accounting for Local and State School Systems, 1990, was designed as a national standard for state 
departments of education to use in reporting financial data, and for school districts to use in preparing their 
comprehensive annual financial reports (CAFRs) that are submitted to their respective state departments of 
education (SDE). The purpose of the OCAS handbook is to ensure that education fiscal data can be reported in a 
comprehensive and uniform manner nationwide. 

Form ED 2447 from the United States Department of Education gives the definition of reporting “General 
Administration” as recorded under OCAS using Function Code 2300. We are instructed to include only the Board 
of Education and staff, Staff Relations and Negotiations staff, and the Superintendent and staff. 

The Financial Accounting Division of the State Department of Education computes administrative costs using 
the new state definition under 70 O.S. § 18-124. The law does not provide for waivers. 

If a district shows excess in administrative costs, the administrative costs paid with federal funds are deducted 
from the penalty as required by 70 O.S. § 18-104 which states, “. . . no such federal aid estimate shall be used in 
any way to reduce the State Foundation Aid or Incentive Aid for such school district . . .” 

Total expenditures from the OCAS records (warrants issued and reserves) are divided by the administrative 
costs to determine a percentage. If this percentage is greater than the amount listed on the percentage scale (70 O.S. 
§ 18-124), then the total expenditures are multiplied by the allowable scale.  This allowable amount is subtracted
from the coded administrative costs to calculate the amount of penalty. 

The allowable percentage scale for administrative costs is: 

Average Daily Attendance (ADA) Percentage Allowed 

More than 1,500 5 percent 
More than 500-but less than 1,500 7 percent 
Fewer than 500 8 percent 

If a school district receives an administrative cost penalty, a performance review of the effectiveness and 
efficiency of the budget and operations of the district shall be conducted. (70 O.S. § 3-118.1) 

Oklahoma Statutes Title 70, Section 18-124, states that the allowable percentages, five, seven, and eight 
percent (5, 7, and 8%) remain the same for the 2005-06 school year or any school year thereafter. 
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PENALTY  FOR DECREASING SALARY  AND BENEFITS 

Oklahoma Statutes Title 70, Section 18-114.9, forbids the same school district from paying less to a teacher 
during the next school year that what was paid the year before, unless the hours or the duties of the teacher are 
reduced proportionately. Any school district that willfully reduces the salary of a teacher shall forfeit the amount 
underpaid in the district’s State Aid. 

Additionally, the amount underpaid from the previous year will again be withheld from the school district, and 
the State Department of Education shall send the payment directly to the teacher. Therefore, it would be to the 
advantage of the school district to pay the teacher correctly during the year. 

Procedural rules are outlined in OAC 210:25-3-4. Oklahoma Statute Title 70, Section 18-114.9 states: 

A. “If a teacher, as defined in Section 6-101.3 of Title 70 of the Oklahoma Statutes, is employed by the same 
school district for the next school year as the preceding school year, the salary and fringe benefit level of 
the teacher shall not be decreased the next school year unless the hours or duties of the teacher are 
reduced proportionately. 

B. Subject to the provisions of this section, any school district that willfully reduces or has in years previous to 
enactment of this section willfully reduced the salary of a teacher in violation of subsection A of this section 
shall forfeit as a penalty a portion of its State Aid equal to the total amount that the teacher was underpaid. 
If the teacher was underpaid for more than one (1) school year, the amount forfeited shall equal the 
cumulative amount that the teacher was underpaid. The amount to be forfeited shall be deducted from the 
State Aid payment following confirmation of the underpayment by the State Department of Education. 

C. In addition to the amount of State Aid forfeited as a penalty pursuant to subsection B of this section, in 
order to ensure that the teacher receives the full amount of unpaid salary, the State Department of 
Education shall withhold an amount which is equal to the total amount that the teacher was underpaid 
from the State Aid payment of the school district and pay the amount directly to the teacher. The Board 
shall not withhold an amount for payment to the teacher pursuant to the subsection if the teacher has 
recovered the underpayment pursuant to judicial action. 

D. Complaints filed with the State Board of Education pursuant to this section may be based on alleged 
underpayments during fiscal years that began: 

(1) On or after July 1, 2002; or 

(2) Before July 1, 2002, if the teacher filed an action to recover the underpayment in a court of competent 
jurisdiction before July 1, 2002. 

E. Complaints filed with the State Board of Education alleging underpayment during fiscal years that began 
on July 1, 2002, shall be filed within one (1) year of the end of the fiscal year in which the underpayment is 
alleged to have occurred. 

F. Filing a complaint with the State Board of Education pursuant to this section shall not operate to prohibit a 
teacher from filing an action for underpayment in a court of competent jurisdiction or continuing to pursue 
an action for underpayment pending in a court of competent jurisdiction on the effective date of this act. 

G. The State Board of Education shall promulgate rules necessary to implement the provisions of this section. 
The rules shall include, but not be limited to, procedures for a teacher to file a complaint for violation of 
this section and the Department to investigate the complaint.” 
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UNDERPAID TEACHER PENALTY 
(OAC 210:25-3-4 [h]) 

If the district pays a teacher less than the minimum salary required by law, the difference shall be deducted from 
the next payment of state aid, or a claim shall be filed by the Director of Finance to recover any such overpayment to 
the school district. 

(1) The School Personnel Records Section will notify the school superintendent of all potentially underpaid 
teachers after the Final Certified Personnel Reports are filed with the State Department of Education in 
February. The school superintendent shall notify the School Personnel Records Section of the district’s 
intent to pay the teacher the underpaid amount or to dispute the amount. If disputed, the school 
superintendent is responsible for providing documentation to the School Personnel Records Section to 
show the teacher was not underpaid based on the state minimum salary schedule. The State Aid Section 
shall withhold from state aid the amount underpaid by October 1 in the school year following the year in 
which the underpayment occurred. 

(2) The method for calculating teacher salaries to ensure state minimums are met shall be determined by the 
School Personnel Records Section. 

STATE  AID FUNDS  MAY BE WITHHELD 

- REPORTS MUST BE FILED - 

Pursuant to the statute (70 O.S. § 5-128): “Boards of education of all school districts are hereby required to 
make annual statistical and financial reports to the State Board of Education . . . It is further provided in the statute 
(70 O.S. § 3-104): . . . Such authority shall include the right of the State Board of Education to withhold all state 
funds under its control, to withhold official recognition, including accrediting, until such required reports have been 
filed and accepted in the office of said Board and to revoke the certificates of persons failing or refusing to make 
such reports.” 

The statute further provides (70 O.S. § 18-116): “. . . No more than fifty percent (50%) of the funds 
apportioned to school districts under the provisions of this article shall be paid by the state unless and until there 
has been filed with the State Board of Education on forms prescribed by such Board an itemized sworn account of 
the expenditures of the school district during the next preceding fiscal year and a teacher personnel report for the 
current year . . .” 

Pursuant to State Board of Education regulations (OAC Title 210: Finance, 25-3-1): 

School districts shall qualify for an appropriation of funds . . . if the following conditions have been met: 

(1) The district was accredited for the previous year. 
(2) The Annual Statistical Report has been filed. 
(3) The Oklahoma Cost Accounting System reports for revenue and expenditures have been submitted by the 

Web-based reporting system. 

50 



NONCOMPLIANCE  PENALTY  ON  LATE  AUDITS 
(70 O.S. § 22-108) 

Paragraph E:  “ . . . If within eleven (11) months after the end of the fiscal year of the public school a copy of 
the audit report has not been received by the State Board of Education, an inquiry shall be made by the State Board 
of Education as to why such report has not been filed.  Should the State Board of Education find that the local board 
of education has failed to cause an annual audit to be commenced, the State Board of Education shall make a 
written demand on said board and file such annual audit within thirty (30) days of the date of such demand.” 

STATE  AID  WITHHELD  FOR  FAILURE  TO  COMPLY  WITH  ARTICLE 
(70 O.S. § 22-112) 

“All further payment of State Aid for each district shall be withheld until the provisions of this article have been 
fulfilled by said district.” 

GIFTED AND TALENTED PENALTY 

OAC 210: 15-23-10--Failure to Report 
Any school district who fails to submit an expenditure report to the State Department of Education 

by August 1 of each school year as required by 70 O.S. § 1210.307(0) shall have State Aid for gifted 
and talented program s withheld pursuant to 70 O.S. § 3-104(13) until all reporting requirements have 
been met. 

OAC 210:15-23-9--Process for Appeal of Penalty 
Districts against which a penalty is assessed as required under Part B of 70 O.S. 1210.303 may appeal 

to the State Board of Education by: 
(1) An intent to appeal must be filed with the Director of Gifted Education within 30 days following 
receipt of notification that the gifted child educationa l program is not in compliance with State Board 
rules and 70 O.S. 1210- 301 through 308. 
(2) The appeal will be brought to the State Board for their review and considera tion at t he   next  regularly 
scheduled meeting following receipt of notification of intent to appeal if notification is received  at least ten 
working days prior  to the next regularly scheduled board  meeting. 
(3) The State Department of Education will review for the State Board the information upon which the 
penalty is assessed. The school district found to be in noncompliance will be given an opportunity to 
provide information to the State Board to ref ut e the penalty. 

Upon  review  of  the  information  presented  by  the  State  Department  and  school  district,  the  State 
Board will either uphold or overturn the penalty. 

STATE STUDENT RECORD SYSTEM NONCOMPLIANCE 
(70 O.S. § 18-116) 

Paragraph J:  “ . . . Any school district that is not in compliance with the standards and requirements established by 
the State Board of Education related to the state student record system as provided in Section 3-160 of this title shall 
forfeit its State Aid for the time of noncompliance. 
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SPECIAL  STUDENT  ADJUSTMENTS 

AND 

INFORMATION 

• Out-of-Home Placement Procedures
and Weights



Procedures and Weights for Out-of-Home Placement Students 
(70 O.S. § 18-201.1) 

Grade Level 
Out-of-Home Placement Weights Weight 

Out-of-Home Placement - OHP1 1.5 
*Eleemosynary Child Care Facility (Educational services provided at facility) 1.5 
Juvenile Detention Center (10 beds) - OHP2 1.8 
Juvenile Detention Center (8 beds) - OHP3 2.3 
Juvenile Detention Center (6 beds) - OHP4 3.0 

*Eleemosynary Child Care Facility (Educational services provided at a school site)
Note: These students are residents of the district in which the facility is located.

*A facility funded predominantly by benevolent or charitable funds. Such facility is exempt from
taxation pursuant to the provisions of Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. 

Out-of-Home Placement Procedures 

The receiving district must notify the resident district of the enrollment date for all out-of-home placement 
students. This now includes students in Therapeutic Foster Care Homes. (Please see the sample form on page 95 
that may be used for the 2011-12 Enrollment Report of Out-of-Home Placement Student). Note: The student must 
be dropped from the resident district’s Membership and Attendance Records prior to this enrollment date. 

The receiving district shall notify the resident district immediately upon finding that a student requires special 
education and related services and the resident district shall participate in planning the student’s Individualized 
Education Program (IEP) and in subsequent reviews of the program in accordance with the Individuals with 
Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). Federal law provides that responsibility for procedural safeguards remains with 
the resident district and such special education student shall be reported on the resident district’s Special Education 
Child Count. 

The students eligible for the out-of-home placement weight shall be students who are not residents of the school 
district in which they are receiving educational services. Such weight may be claimed by the district providing 
educational services to such student for the days the student is enrolled in that district. Accurate attendance and 
membership records must be kept that identify such student by the proper out-of-home placement. The out-of-home 
placement weight shall be in lieu of the pupil grade level and any pupil category weight for that student. The 
membership and out-of-home placement pupil weight for such students shall be included in the membership of the 
district providing the education for the purposes of calculating state aid. Oklahoma Statutes Title 70, Section 18- 
201.1, eliminated the last elements of “bill backs” by authorizing funding for children in therapeutic and voluntary, 
specialized foster care home placements under the out-of-home placement weight. 

If a student is placed in an eleemosynary child care facility and attends school at a local school site in the 
district where such facility is located, such student is a resident of that district and shall be counted at the regular 
grade level weight. If such student has an IEP for special education services, the category weight shall also apply 
and the student shall be included in that district’s special education child count. 

If the needs of a student placed in an eleemosynary child care facility require that the district in which such 
facility is located provide educational services at the facility (the district has to hire a teacher to go out to the facility 
to teach classes), the student will be counted as an out-of-home placement student and the educating district will 
receive the 1.5 out-of-home placement weight. 
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SECTION  IV 

SCHOOL CONSOLIDATION 
and 

ANNEXATION IN OKLAHOMA 



Preface 

This technical assistance document has been prepared to assist school districts and local 
communities in understanding the process of school annexation and consolidation.  The purpose 
of which is to better serve Oklahoma’s children and youth. 

In 1891, the Oklahoma Territorial Legislature enacted a law organizing the school districts into 
political subdivisions of four school districts per township.  These school districts consisted of 
approximately nine square miles.  The intent for this proximity was to insure that the students 
live within walking distance of their school.  At the time of statehood, the first Oklahoma 
Legislature also organized Indian Territory into school districts.  The school districts in Indian 
Territory were usually larger than the nine square mile districts of Oklahoma Territory.  From 
this beginning, school districts have made many changes in size and organization. 

In 1914, there were 5,880 school districts in the state.  As transportation improved and 
educational demands increased, school districts continued to change in size and organization.  In 
1989, there were 609 school districts when Senate Bill 74 passed, which established the 
Voluntary School Consolidation Act.  In 1990, House Bill 1017 amended this legislation.  Since 
1989, there have been 88 school reorganizations, giving us the current number of 521 school 
districts.  The Legislature transferred all the remaining funds out of the Voluntary School 
Consolidation Act in 1993. 

In 2006, Senate Bill 1493 created in the State Treasury a fund designated as the “School 
Consolidation Assistance Fund.”  The fund shall be a continuing fund, not subject to fiscal year 
limitations, and consist of any monies the Legislature may appropriate or transfer to the fund and 
any monies contributed for the fund from any other source, public or private.  

During the 2009 legislative session, Senate Bill 1169 (effective November 1, 2009) amended 
language for the School Consolidation Assistance Fund.  Related funding will be used for 
voluntary and mandatory annexations or consolidations. 

For consolidations, not more than 200 (formerly 1,000) Average Daily Membership (ADM) of 
any one school district from the preceding school year of the consolidation shall be counted in 
determining the combined ADM of any district formed by consolidation.  The ADM of any one 
school district shall only be considered once for allocations from the fund when the school 
district consolidates with two or more school districts. Allocations will be calculated by 
multiplying the allowable ADM of the combined districts by $2,500. 

For voluntary and mandatory annexations, not more than 200 (formerly 1,000) Average Daily 
Membership (ADM) of the annexed district from the preceding school year prior to the 
annexation shall be counted.  Allocations will be calculated by multiplying the allowable ADM 
of only the annexed district by $5,000.   

The 53rd Legislature (2011) passed House Bill 2115, which removed the $400,000 minimum 
allocation of funds for annexation or consolidation funding.  It added “New” language to allow 
expenditures from the School Consolidation Assistance Fund to school districts that have entered 
into a mutual contract for a superintendent per 70 O.S. § 5-106A.  The total assistance paid over 
three consecutive years must not exceed 50% of the salary or wages of the superintendent or a 
total of $150,000 over a three-year period.  No district shall be eligible to apply more than one 
three-year time period.  School Boards that have entered into a mutual contract with a 
superintendent must notify the State Board of Education on or before June 30 of the year 
preceding the school year that the contract becomes effective.  The State Board of Education will 
determine allocations from the School Consolidation Fund with preference given to school 
consolidation/annexation if funds are insufficient.  
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The purpose shall be to provide consolidated school districts or districts who have received part 
or all of the territory and part or all of the students of a school district dissolved by voluntary or 
mandatory annexation, during the first year of consolidation or annexation, with a single one-
year allocation of funds needed for: (1) Purchase of uniform textbooks in cases where several 
districts were not using the same textbooks prior to consolidation or annexation; (2) Employment 
of certified personnel required to teach courses of the district for which personnel from the 
districts consolidated or annexed are not certified and available; (3) Employment assistance for 
personnel of the several districts who are not employed by the consolidating or annexing district. 
Personnel receiving such severance pay may accumulate one year of creditable service for 
retirement purposes.  The State Board of Education shall provide a severance allowance to 
employees dismissed from employment due to annexation or consolidation of a school district in 
the year of the annexation or consolidation and who were denied a severance allowance or 
unemployment compensation benefits and the voluntary consolidation funding of the annexing 
or consolidating district or districts has been paid on or after July 1, 2003, at the maximum 
allowable amount.  If a district employee is not employed by the annexing or consolidating 
district(s) and is subsequently denied severance or unemployment compensation by the annexing 
or consolidating district(s), pursuant to 70 O.S. §7-203(B)(1)(c), the district employee will be 
eligible to make an application for severance to the State Board of Education.  Qualifying 
applicants shall receive a severance allowance from the State Board of Education pursuant to the 
following procedure: (A) Severance allowance from the State Board of Education (for 
administrators, teachers, and support personnel) shall be in an amount up to and not to exceed 
eighty percent (80%) of the individual’s salary or wages, exclusive of fringe benefits.  An award 
of severance allowance by the State Board of Education will be made only if: (i) the applicant 
was not employed by the consolidating or annexing district and (ii) severance or unemployment 
compensation was denied at the district level.  (B) Severance allowance from the State 
Department of Education can be in any amount from 0% to 80% of the individual’s salary or 
wages, exclusive of fringe benefits, for the school year preceding the consolidation or 
annexation.  (C) Only timely applications for severance received by the State Department of 
Education, Finance Division, will be considered.  Applications for severance allowance to the 
State Department of Education must be received no later than September 1 of the fiscal year 
immediately following the fiscal year in which the annexation or consolidation occurred.  The 
application for employment assistance in the form of severance can be found on the State 
Department of Education website, <www.sde.ok.gov>, or by contacting the State Department of 
Education, Finance Division; (4) Furnishing and equipping classrooms and laboratories; 
(5) Purchase of additional transportation equipment; and (6) When deemed essential by the 
school district board of education to achieve consolidation or combination by annexation, 
renovation of existing school buildings and construction or other acquisition of school buildings. 

“The State Board of Education shall only make allocations from the fund to school districts 
formed from the combination of two or more of the districts whose boards of education notify 
the State Board of Education on or before June 30 of their intent to annex or consolidate and are 
subsequently combined by such means by January 1 of the second year following the notification 
of intent.” 

“Allocations will be made to the newly formed school district formed by consolidation on the 
basis of combined average daily membership (ADM) of the school year preceding the first year 
of operation of the newly formed school district resulting from the consolidation; provided, not 
more than two hundred (200) ADM of any one consolidated school district shall be counted in 
determining the combined ADM of any district formed by consolidation.  The ADM of any one 
consolidated school district shall not be considered more than once for allocations from the fund. 
Allocations from the fund shall be calculated by multiplying the combined ADM by Two 
Thousand Five Hundred Dollars ($2,500).” 
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Allocations will be made to school districts which have received part or all of the territory and 
students of a school district by voluntary or mandatory annexation on the basis of ADM of the 
annexed school district for the school year preceding the first year of operation of the school 
district resulting from the annexation; provided, not more than two hundred (200) ADM of the 
annexed district shall be counted.  Allocations from the fund shall be calculated by multiplying 
the allowable ADM by Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000).  In no case shall allocations be greater 
than One Million Dollars ($1,000,000).  If monies in the School Consolidation Assistance Fund 
are insufficient to make allocations to all qualified combined districts, allocations shall be made 
based upon earliest date of application.     

Voluntary Annexation 

A. A school district or part of a school district may be annexed to another school district 
adjacent or not. 

B. A school district may annex to two or more districts when approved at an annexation 
election.  Annexation elections are: (1) called by the State Superintendent of Public 
Instruction or designee of the State Superintendent; (2) conducted by the county election 
board in pursuance of a resolution for annexation; (3) the resolutions which are submitted to 
the State Superintendent must be signed by the board of education of the annexing district 
and school board or boards of the receiving district(s), or by an election called upon the 
filing of a petition with the State Superintendent of Public Instruction that is signed by a 
majority of district electors in the affected area.   

C. The State Superintendent or designee shall notify the county election board of the election 
by delivering a resolution to the secretary of the county election board not less than sixty 
(60) days preceding the election.  (Contact your local county election board for election 
dates and deadline dates.) 

D. Elections are to be held between the hours of 7:00 a.m. and 7:00 p.m. and are conducted by 
the county election board. 

E. Annexations shall be approved by a majority of the school district electors either (1) of an 
entire school district or (2) of the affected area with prior school board approval. 

F. If the annexation is approved, the designee of the State Superintendent shall within five (5) 
days after such election make an order declaring the annexation; the annexation shall not 
become effective until time for filing an appeal has expired.  

G. Within ten (10) days after the order of the State Superintendent of Public Instruction or 
designee is made, twenty-five percent (25%) of the district electors who were eligible to 
vote at the annexation election may appeal to the district court of the county in which the 
territory proposed to be annexed, or the largest part thereof, if such territory lies in more 
than one county is situated.  Thereafter, all proceedings shall be stayed until the district 
court has rendered judgment. 

H. If the territory proposed to be annexed is situated in more than one county, the State 
Superintendent or designee shall file the resolution in the county in which the largest part of 
such territory lies.  If the area to be annexed constitutes less than two percent (2%) of the 
total area of the district and no qualified electors reside in the area, no election is required 
and the area may be annexed by resolution of both the losing and receiving district. 

I. If an independent district annexes to an elementary district not maintaining a high school, 
both boards of education are abolished.  The Governor shall appoint three members of the 
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newly formed district to the board of education and these members shall appoint the 
remaining two members.   

J. It is not legally possible to annex territory to a district that has ceased to exist. 

Mandatory Annexation 

Mandatory annexation will be considered by the State Board of Education upon occurrence of 
the following situations: 

A. When a school district has been declared “academically at-risk” pursuant to 70 O.S. 1989, § 
1210.541. 

B. When a school district is nonaccredited by the State Board of Education. 

C. When a district, without officially dispensing with school, fails to open or maintain a school 
(except when situations beyond the control of the district cause a normal delay).           
[Title 70 O.S. § 8-106]. 

When it comes to the attention of the State Board of Education that a local school district is 
facing the possibility of mandatory annexation, the State Board of Education shall provide the 
district with an opportunity to be heard.  The State Board of Education shall notify the 
superintendent and each school board member of the time, date and place of the meeting.  At the 
meeting, representatives of the school district, including patrons, shall have an opportunity to 
address the State Board of Education and to provide information to the Board.  The President of 
the State Board of Education may set time limits on individual presentations and may require 
groups to select a representative to speak on behalf of the group. 

When the State Board of Education determines that a local school district is to be mandatorily 
annexed, the following steps will be followed: 

A. The State Board of Education will notify one or more school districts that they are 
responsible for taking an inventory of property and securing the buildings and other 
property of the district being mandatorily annexed.  In selecting the district(s) responsible 
for this procedure, the State Board of Education may rely on recommendations from the 
State Superintendent. 

B. The State Board of Education will immediately notify the district superintendent of the 
Board’s action. 

C. The State Superintendent of Public Instruction or designee of the State Superintendent shall 
notify the parents or legal guardians of all students in the district being annexed that they 
must apply for a transfer to the state superintendent within ten (10) days of the State Board 
of Education’s action to annex.  The state superintendent may require the parents or legal 
guardian to provide the legal description of their residence at the time the transfer request is 
made.   

D. Once the state superintendent has received the transfer requests, he/she shall notify the State 
Department of Education, in writing, of the breakdown of where students are asking to 
attend school by transfer and provide the State Department of Education with the legal 
description of the residence of each student. 

E. The State Department of Education will utilize the transfer requests and legal descriptions 
submitted to the state superintendent as a guide in plotting the proposed boundary lines for 
dividing the annexed district.  Preference of the students, parents, and guardian’s shall be 
acknowledged to the maximum extent possible. 
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F. The State Department of Education will present the propose boundary lines for division of 
the annexed district to the State Board of Education for approval.  The proposal shall be 
accompanied by the legal description of the property being annexed. 

G. The assets and liabilities of the annexed district shall become part of the annexing districts. 
When an annexing district assumes a debt incurred by the annexed district prior to July 1, 
the district assuming the debt should receive a comparable portion of the assets.   

H. When two or more annexing districts are involved in the division of an annexed district, the 
assets and liabilities are divided by agreement between the boards of education.  If the 
boards of education are unable to agree, the matter shall be decided by the State Board of 
Education. 

School law requires reporting to the State Board of Education on or before the first Monday in 
July by the Local Education Agency (LEA) if it is suspected that a district cannot financially 
open and maintain school for the next school year. 

Consolidation 

Two or more school districts may be consolidated into a single district; adjacencies are not a 
requirement.   

1. A petition by the board of education of any school district desiring a study of the
consolidation of such school district with another school district or districts, or proposing
such consolidation, shall be assigned by the president and clerk of school board of education,
and such petition shall be considered by the State Board of Education at its next regular
meeting.  If a study of the proposed consolidation is deemed proper and advisable, the
Secretary of the State Board of Education shall forthwith advise the boards of education of
all districts involved that a study of the proposed consolidation is going to be made.

2. The State Board of Education reserves the right to make a study of the advisability of
consolidation of two or more school districts in any area of the State, on its own initiative,
and without any petition from a board of education.  When such decision is made, each
school district involved shall forthwith be advised that such study is going to be made, and
such districts shall be directed to determine, by such procedures as the State Board of
Education may prescribe what, if any, consolidation should be carried on in the area under
study.

3. All studies of the advisability of consolidation shall be under the direction of the President of
the State Board of Education who shall utilize the services of appropriate divisions of the
State Department of Education.

4. If after a study of the population, wealth, terrain, trade areas and other pertinent factors, it is
determined that two or more school districts should be consolidated, the board of education
of each school district involved shall be so advised.

5. No election to determine consolidation shall be called or held unless there shall have been
filed with the State Board of Education a petition therefore, signed by a majority of the
school district electors of each school district included in the proposed consolidation.  When
such a petition is received and is determined to be sufficient, the State Board of Education
shall call an election for the purpose of affording to the school district electors in the school
districts involved an opportunity to express their wishes through a majority vote of the school
district electors in the entire territory involved.  Notice of such election, stating the time and
date thereof and the polling places, shall be posted in five (5) public places in each school
district involved, not less than ten (10) days before date of such election.  Such election shall
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be conducted by one or more member of the State Department of Education, as designated by 
the President of the State Board of Education. 

6. If a majority vote at such election is in favor of consolidation, the State Board of Education
shall issue a written order to such effect, declaring the participating school districts dissolved
and the new school district established.  Copies of such order shall be sent to the county
treasure, county assessor, county assessor, county clerk and county election board of each
county in which the districts involved are situated, the Oklahoma Tax Commission, the State
Election Board, and to the board of education of each school district involved.  If a majority
vote at such election is not in favor of consolidation, the State Board of Education shall make
a written order to such effect, and shall send a copy thereof to the board of education of each
school district involved.

7. The local board of education members representing the school district having the largest
number of children shall serve as board members of the newly formed school district for the
remainder of their term.  (On the effective date of consolidation, the districts are dissolved
and a new district is formed with a new district number.)

8. All liabilities, debts, assets, powers and duties shall become the responsibility of the newly
formed school district.

Teacher Status Because of Annexation or Consolidation 

State law provides that “No district shall be liable for the payment of compensation to a teacher 
or administrator under the provisions of any contract for the ensuing year, if it becomes 
necessary to close the school because of annexation or consolidation…provided such cause is 
known or action is taken prior to July 1 of the ensuing year.” 

The term “school” refers to a high school, middle school, junior high school, or elementary 
school, not a district, unless all the schools of a district were closed.  (Example: If district “A” 
annexed to district “B” and decided to leave the elementary school in district “B” open and to 
close the high school, the teachers of high school district “B” would not necessarily be given 
employment in the new district, but the elementary teachers would). 

Another variable in this situation is “action prior to July 1.”  If a consolidation or annexation 
occurs at midyear, the new district must use its reduction in force policy or employ all the 
teachers.  If the new board of education elects to utilize any part of a “school,” then all teachers 
in that “school” must be retained. 

Dispensing with a School or a School District 

A high school, an elementary school, or both may be dispensed with by a majority vote of the 
qualified electors.   

1. Should residents of a school district desire to dispense with all or part of a school district, it is
the duty of the State Superintendent to notify the State Board of Education of a majority vote
of eligible electors at an annual or special election or by a petition signed by sixty (60)
percent of eligible school district electors to dispense with either grades 1 thru 8 or grades 9
thru 12, or both, and such procedure shall be accomplished prior to June 30.  Subsequently,
parents of such children in the dispensed grades should file an application for transfer for the
ensuing year with the State Superintendent.  Any district which dispenses with its entire
school district for the ensuing year shall be mandatorily annexed on July 1 by the State Board
of Education to an adjacent school district(s) to which pupils have been transferred.
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2. Provided that if a school district does not officially dispense with its school following the
preceding procedure and fails to open and maintain a school during such ensuing year, the
State Board of Education, except as otherwise provided, shall at its next regular meeting
annex such district, as provided by law. [70-8-106]

Petitions for Annexation or Consolidation 

The State Department of Education, in accordance with state law, will specify what is needed on 
any petition requesting an election for annexation or consolidation. 

The following information should be included on any petition for consolidation or annexation 
filed with the State Department of Education: 

1) Petitioner’s Request;

2) General statement that all signers are legal voters in the school district;

3) Voter’s name, printed;

4) Voter’s address;

5) Voter’s signature; and

6) Signature and statement of circulator attesting every voter did sign the petition in his
presence.

To calculate sufficiency of the number of signatures on a petition, the given percentage figure 
shall be applied to the highest number of voters voting in a regular school election in the district 
or in the case of a partial annexation, in the preceding five years as determined by the county 
election board, who shall certify the adequacy of the number of the signatures on the petition. 
Once the county election board has certified the adequacy of the number of signatures on a 
petition, it is delivered to the State Superintendent of Public Instruction or the designee of the 
State Superintendent. 

Requirements of Election Laws 

Special elections for all school annexations, consolidations, or dispensing of grades are to be 
called by the State Superintendent of Public Instruction or designee of the State Department of 
Education.  The entity calling the elections shall notify the county election board by delivering a 
resolution to the secretary of the county election board at least sixty (60) days preceding the 
election. 

The resolution shall contain information necessary for the county election board to conduct the 
election: 

1) Date of election;

2) Ballot titles of the question to be voted upon;

3) Effective date of the annexation, consolidation, or grade change;

4) Description of persons eligible to vote in the election; and

5) Legal description if the annexing district is to be divided among two or more districts.
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The annexation shall be approved by a majority of the school district electors voting at such 
election: 

1) Of the entire school district, or

2) If a majority of the members of a board of education of a school district losing the territory
concur with the petitioners, or resolution, only the legal voters of the area so affected shall be
eligible to vote at such election.

Legal Election Days 

A schedule of legal election dates and deadlines may be obtained by contacting the local county 
election board, the State Election Board, or the Oklahoma State Department of Education. 

Cost of Elections 

The board of education of the school district, for which the election is being called, shall pay the 
county election board for any costs of the election.  The school district shall pay these costs even 
if the election is called by a petition of the voters of the district. 
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Calendar:  Schedule of Due Dates 

Accountability at a Glance 
This calendar is provided to assist school administrators with reporting. Both state and federal 
reporting dates are listed by month and for the entire year. Accountability at a Glance is updated 
periodically. To access the document, log onto the "Single Sign-on" on the website’s home page. 
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