
 

 

 
MEMORANDUM 

 
TO:  Oklahoma State Board of Education 
FROM: Superintendent Joy Hofmeister 
DATE: May 19, 2016 
SUBJECT: Bills signed by Governor as of April 22, 2016 
 
 
Accountability, Evaluations, Student Data 
 
SB 1431 – Updates federal citations in state statute regarding what is required for schools listed 
as in need of improvement.  Eliminates improvement models that were required under No Child 
Left Behind (NCLB), instead requiring schools in need of improvement to implement a locally 
developed, evidence-based intervention model, as required under the Every Student Succeeds 
Act (ESSA). Schools identified for school improvement for four consecutive years are required 
to seek support from the state, which may include academic intervention, professional 
development, restructuring, or any other reasonable plan.  If after two years of a state support 
plan the improvements are insufficient, the board may exercise the option of assuming control of 
the school.  Effective July 1, 2016. 
 
 
Certification, Retirement 
 
HB 2258 – Eliminates the requirement that the Oklahoma State Pension Commission include 
information regarding the analysis of the performance of the custodian bank or trust company in 
its annual financial performance report. It also removes the requirement that the annual report 
include a comparative performance piece. It requires the report to include changes in the 
investment policy statements adopted by each retirement system in the prior year and an analysis 
of the performance of the securities lending program and short-term investment fund of the 
custodian employed by each governing body of the retirement systems.  Effective November 1, 
2016. 
 
  



 

 

HB 2263 – Expands the amount of time to file an application for retirement from 30 days before 
the date of retirement to 60 days and allows TRS to waive the 60 day deadline for good cause.  
Requires the employer to provide the member’s last day physically on the job, last day on 
payroll, any regular compensation not already reported and final unused sick leave balance to 
TRS no later than the 15th day of the month of retirement. If the employers fail to do so or make 
a mistake, they are required to reemploy the member for the time period required to reach 
eligibility up to two months. Expands the abilities of certain trusts to be named beneficiaries.  
The bill also changes the amount related to the payment of monies without intervention of 
probate court from $5,000 to $25,000 in the event of a member who leaves no living beneficiary.  
Effective November 1, 2016. 
 
*NEW* SB 1128 – “Pension Improvement Act” – Creates a revolving fund for the purposes of 
paying for any legislatively authorized cost-of-living adjustment (COLA) for retirees of 
retirement systems, or to reduce the unfunded liabilities of the systems.  Does not appropriate 
any monies or create a funding stream to the revolving fund.  Effective 90 days after Legislative 
Sine Die. 
 
 
Charter Schools 
 
SB 1268 – Corrects a scriveners error in the Oklahoma Charter Schools Act, allowing for certain 
exemptions for those schools “designated” by SDE as implementing alternative education 
programs.  Effective July 1, 2016. 
 
 
Children, Families, Students 
 
HB 2404 – Directs the State Board of Education to promulgate rules that create exemptions for 
the maximum age at which a child may attend half-day or full-day pre-kindergarten. Effective 
November 1, 2016. 
 
HB 2518 – Allows for surgical procedures on a minor without consent of the parent or guardian 
when a physician determines that an emergency exists and the parent or other adult authorized to 
provide consent cannot be located or contacted after a reasonably diligent effort.  Effective 
November 1, 2016. 
 
*NEW* SB 1357 – Adds a member to the Oklahoma Food Service Advisory Council within the 
State Department of Health.  The new member, appointed by the Commissioner of Health, shall 
represent the School Nutrition Association of Oklahoma.  Effective November 1, 2016. 
 
  



 

 

*NEW* SB 1369 – Defines the term “homeless children and youth” to mean a person age 21 or 
under unaccompanied by a parent/guardian, without shelter, without a parent/guardian willing 
and able to provide shelter, and without a fixed, regular and adequate nighttime residence. Also 
defines “runaway” to mean any unmarried child under the age of 18 who is absent from their 
home or lawful placement without consent.  Also defines “youth at risk of homelessness” to 
mean any person age 21 or under whose status indicates a significant danger of experiencing 
homelessness in the near future.  Finally, the bill requires the Oklahoma Commission on 
Children and Youth to include in its annual report recommendations for services to such youth.  
Effective November 1, 2016.  
 
 
Curriculum 
 
HB 2298 – Requires driver education courses to include instruction on the dangers of texting 
while driving and the effects of being under the influence of alcohol or other intoxicating 
substances.  Effective November 1, 2016. 
 
*NEW* HB 2535 – “Apprenticeships, Internships and Mentorships (AIM) Act of 2016.”  
Allows a school board, beginning in 2017-2018, to enter into an agreement with public or private 
organizations to create apprenticeship, internship and mentorship programs for high school 
juniors and seniors, and have those programs count towards elective credit.  Directs the State 
Department SDE to promulgate rules to carry out the Act.  Effective November 1, 2016. 
 
SB 1105 – Allows students who have been denied a diploma for not completing the required 
curriculum units in order to graduate from high school to re-enroll in the district following denial 
and be provided the opportunity for remediation and intervention in order to complete the units.  
Such students are exempt from the requirement to be enrolled for a full six hours.  Allows 
districts enrolling such students to receive state aid based on the portion of the day the student is 
enrolled.  Effective July 1, 2016. 
 
*NEW* SB 1269 – Requires the State Board, in collaboration with the State Regents and 
CareerTech, to develop college and career endorsements to direct students toward clear career 
pathways.  Specifies endorsement categories for STEM, business and industry, public services, 
arts and humanities, multidisciplinary studies and any other areas determined by the Board.  The 
Board, Regents, CareerTech, and business representatives will specify the curriculum 
requirements.  The State Board must develop and implement a mechanism to recognize the 
endorsements.  Effective November 1, 2016.  
 
 
Employment, Personnel, Compensation 
 
HB 2097 – Allows members of health maintenance organization’s (HMOs) to request a printed 
copy of their individual contract if they are not able to view and print an electronic copy.  
Effective November 1, 2016. 
 
HB 2315 – Allows for district treasurers and encumbrance clerks to count applicable training in 
the prior 3 years before assuming such position towards the training required within the first nine 
months of employment.  Effective April 11, 2016. 



 

 

 
*NEW* HB 3109 – Requires school districts to provide teachers and administrators with a copy 
of an employee information worksheet containing specific information prior to the first payroll in 
September.  School districts are required to make someone available to review the worksheet 
with anyone who has questions.  Effective 90 days after Legislative Sine Die. 
 
 
Funding 
 
*NEW* HB 2616 - Defines “administrative process” to include an administrative submission 
process that allows Oklahoma Universal Service Fund (OUSF) beneficiaries to submit a 
preapproval request directly to the “administrator,” which is defined as the Director of the Public 
Utility Division (PUD) of the Corporation Commission.  Expands the definition of “public 
school” to include technology center schools providing instruction for high school students, and 
excludes from the definition private schools, home schools and virtual schools. 
 
Requires schools to submit within 60 days of the start of service to submit a request for 
reimbursement from OUSF.  The administrator must issue a determination within 60 days 
regarding the amount of funding that is recoverable. Failure to do so will result in approval of the 
request.  Payment as a result of automatic approval or approval by the administrator must be 
made within 45 days. 
 
Allows reconsideration requests to be filed within 15 days of an order being posted.  If the 
commission does not respond within 30 days then the request is deemed approved on an interim 
basis.  If a final order is not issued within 120 days then the request is deemed to be approved 
permanently. 
 
OUSF beneficiaries, including public schools, must make every effort to obtain funding from 
other state and federal sources for Special Universal Services, and double recovery is not 
allowable in any case.  Beneficiaries must explain such efforts to the administrator with their 
request for funding.  Beneficiaries must conduct fair and open competitive bidding processes to 
select services.  Requires an administrative preapproval process to be set up for beneficiaries.  
Effective May 9, 2016. 
 
HB 3115 – Amends the definition of “Textbooks” to eliminate the restriction that technology–
based materials do not include the equipment required to make use of those materials.  Effective 
July 1, 2016. 
 
*NEW* HB 3206 - Requires the Office of Management and Enterprise Services (OMES) to 
analyze and submit to the State Board of Equalization the amount of monies remaining in the 
General Revenue Cash-flow Reserve Fund which are not necessary for current year cash-flow 
needs and are available for legislative appropriation by the first Monday of each December.  
Effective September 1, 2016. 
 
*NEW* SB 933 – Extends the moratorium on certain mandates until a fiscal year immediately 
following a fiscal year when the state aid factors return to $3,291.60 on the initial allocation 
notice.  Until such time, the State Board shall not withdraw or deny accreditation or assess a 
penalty for districts not complying with the media materials and equipment standards and media 



 

 

program expenditures standards, or for districts receiving an accreditation deficiency. The State 
Board shall exempt districts from and waive any policy, rule or law to form or convene any 
advisory council or committee except those required by federal law.  Districts seeking flexibility 
to use appropriated dollars for textbooks for other purposes must demonstrate to the State Board 
that the textbooks and instructional materials being used for the area under consideration in the 
textbook adoption cycle are current and appropriate for student learning.  Effective July 1, 2016. 
 
*NEW* SB	
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Professional Development 
 
*NEW* HB 2957 – Eliminates separate qualitative and quantitative evaluation ratings and 
instead provides for one “district evaluation rating” for the Teacher and Leader Effectiveness 
Evaluation System (TLE). Requires evaluations for 2015-16 and 2016-17 to be based on the 
qualitative component of TLE. Eliminates quantitative ratings from the evaluation components, 
including performance measures based on student academic growth using standardized test data. 
Districts choosing to use quantitative measures may do so at their own expense. 
 
Allows for teachers who receive “superior” and “highly effective” ratings to be evaluated once 
every three years.  Allows for evaluations to be done by a designee of the principal, supervisor, 
content expert, department chair, peer committee or other trained persons or groups of persons. 
 
Requires each school board to develop, maintain and annually review a written policy of 
evaluation and corresponding professional development for all teachers and administrators. 
Requires SDE to work with school districts during the 2016-17 school year to develop 
individualized programs of professional development. During 2017-18 districts will incorporate 
the programs on a pilot basis, and in 2018-19 the programs will be fully incorporated.  These 
programs will count towards already required professional development and not institute any 
new requirements. 
 
Beginning in 2017-18, a career teacher receiving a rating of ineffective shall be dismissed; 
however, the superintendent and board may approve continued employment.  A career teacher 
receiving a rating of needs improvement for three consecutive years may be dismissed.  Effective 
July 1, 2016. 
 
 
  



 

 

Red Tape Task Force Recommendations 
 
HB 2544 – Changes the date for districts to notify the State Board of Education that they have 
adopted a school hours policy from Sept. 15 to Oct. 15. Eliminates the requirement that districts 
submit a report on the impact of adopting an extended day schedule and allows an extended-day 
schedule to be adopted for any grade. Effective July 1, 2016. 
 
HB 2649 – Allows for two school days of six hours each to be counted in any 24-hour period 
without seeking a waiver from the State Board of Education if one of those days is for parent-
teacher conferences.  Effective July 1, 2016. 
 
SB 1004 – Requires reporting of students dropping out from quarterly to annually.  Effective 
July 1, 2016.  
 
 
Scholarships, Adult Education 
 
HB 2615 – Prohibits gifts of money or other things of value to student-athletes or a member of 
their immediate family to persuade them to enroll or attend a certain college or university, or for 
their participation in an intercollegiate sporting event, contest or exhibition. Excludes the 
activities of postsecondary institutions acting in accordance with policy, grants and scholarships, 
immediate family members and gifts under $100. Prohibits any transactions that could cause 
student athletes to lose their scholarship or ability to participate in intercollegiate athletics. 
Requires schools to advise students of these provisions each sports season. Effective November 
1, 2016. 
 
 
School Boards 
 
HB 2281 – Allows for public bodies to meet the obligation of providing “prompt, reasonable 
access to records” by providing records online.  Effective November 1, 2016. 
 
*NEW* HB 2784 – Eliminates the requirement that schools store duplicate copies of student 
records in a separate facility, instead requiring both temporary and permanent records be stored, 
regulated, communicated and disclosed in a manner consistent with state and federal law. Allows 
districts to store student records either electronically or in paper format and directs that they be 
stored, backed up and secured in accordance with standards and protocols developed by the State 
Board of Education.  Directs that transcripts be maintained for not less than 80 years.  Requires 
all other records to be disposed of between five and seven years after graduation, transfer or 
withdrawal from the district.  Directs the State Board to promulgate rules for notification before 
destruction of records.  Effective July 1, 2016. 
 
 
HB 2965 – Prohibits a governing body or entity from interfering with an employees’ obligations 
to report child abuse or neglect, or retaliating or discriminating against them.  Any such 
governing body will be held liable for damages, costs and attorney fees.  Any child who is 
harmed by such action may file an action to recover damages, costs and attorney fees.  Effective 
November 1, 2016. 



 

 

 
*NEW* SB 1036 – Allows for names of school district personnel who have been designated by 
the school board to carry a firearm to be kept confidential.  Effective July 1, 2016. 
 
*NEW* SB 911 – Allows a school board to adopt a policy requiring students to perform 
campus-site service for violating the district’s discipline policy.  Effective 90 days after 
Legislative Sine Die. 
 
 
School Sites 
 
HB 2432 – Requires all schools to post a sign in English and Spanish with the child abuse and 
neglect reporting hotline in a clearly visible location in a public area of the school that is readily 
accessible to students. State Board of Education is to promulgate rules relating to the size and 
location of the sign. Effective July 1, 2016. 
 
*NEW* HB 2571 – Clarifies terms regarding speed limits for school buses as follows:  55 mph 
on paved two-lane “roads” and 65 mph on “the state highway system, the interstate highway 
system and the turnpike system”.  Effective November 1, 2016. 
 
HB 2614 – Adds students who have been removed from a public or private school in any state by 
an administrative or judicial process for cyberbullying to the list of circumstances under which a 
public school is not required to provide education services in a regular school setting.  The 
school may choose to keep the student out of the regular school setting until it is determined that 
the student is no longer a threat.  Effective July 1, 2016. 
 
HB 2720 – Clarifies the definition, process and required accountability for “conversion schools” 
– those schools created by converting all or part of a traditional public school into a charter 
school.  Effective July 1, 2016. 
 
*NEW* HB 2931 – Eliminates the requirement for each school to conduct two lockdown drills 
and two intruder drills and instead requires four security drills.  It requires one security drill to be 
conducted within the first 15 days of each semester.  Effective July 1, 2016. 
 
SB 1057 – Directs that business owners are prohibited from establishing a policy or rule that 
prohibits any person from carrying a concealed or unconcealed firearm with certain exceptions. 
Carrying a concealed or unconcealed firearm may be prohibited from any public property sports 
field or adjacent seating where a school sporting event or professional sporting event is being 
held. Effective November 1, 2016. 
 
 
Special Education 
 
*NEW* HB 2962 – Requires all health benefit plans issued or renewed after November 1, 2016 
to provide coverage for the screening, diagnosis and treatment of autism spectrum disorder for 
children under the age of nine as long as there is sufficient progress and improvement.  No 
insurer can deny coverage based solely on the individual being diagnosed with or having 
received treatment for an autism spectrum disorder.  Coverage for applied behavior analysis is 



 

 

limited to $25,000 per year.  A health benefit plan that has more than a one-percent increase in 
premiums due to the coverage is exempt from the requirements. 
 
Requires the Health Care Authority, in conjunction with the Dept of Mental Health and the Dept 
of Education, to examine the feasibility of a state plan amendment to the Oklahoma Medicaid 
Program for applied behavior analysis treatment of autism.  The agencies are required to submit 
a report by December 31, 2016 estimating the potential costs to the state, clinical findings, 
reviews of pilot projects and research from other states on the effects of applied behavioral 
analysis treatment on autism spectrum disorders.  If the report demonstrates treatment is essential 
to Medicaid participants then, they are to draft an amendment to the state plan by July 1, 2017.  
Effective November 1, 2016. 
 
*NEW* HB 2969 – Requires standards for accreditation adopted by the Board to include 
standards for educational services provided in partial hospitalization programs, day treatment 
programs, day hospital programs, residential treatment programs and emergency shelter 
programs, for both onsite and offsite services provided by public school districts and state-
accredited private schools.  Requires SDE to actively monitor such programs to determine 
compliance.  Requires SDE to investigate a complaint of a school not in compliance within 10 
days of receipt and make a recommendation to the Board within 60 days.  If a school does not 
comply within 90 days, the Board is required to withdraw accreditation for the school.  Effective 
90 days after Legislative Sine Die. 
 
 
State Department 
 
HB 1581 – Requires each state agency receiving federal funds to provide a report to the Office 
of Management and Enterprise Services (OMES) detailing the amount of federal funds received, 
sources of those funds, any conditions for the receipt of those funds, and required or prohibited 
actions.  Effective September 1, 2016. 
 
*NEW* SB 912 - Requires agencies to include a statement of the gist of the rule when filing the 
notice of intended rulemaking with The Oklahoma Register and with the Secretary of State when 
the rules are finally adopted.  Effective November 1, 2016. 
 
SB 1342 – Requires revenue and expenditure data for federal funds to be included on the state 
Taxpayer Transparency Website by program beginning in FY 2017.  Effective January 1, 2017. 
 
 
Teacher Shortage 
 
HB 2371 – Eliminates the requirement that a mentor teacher be employed by the school district, 
and allows a former classroom teacher to serve in that role at the discretion of the district.  
Effective July 1, 2016. 
 
*NEW* HB 3025 – Expands the list of those who qualify to pursue a standard certificate 
through an alternative placement program to include those who have successfully completed a 
terminal degree and those who have a bachelor’s degree and qualified work experience 
corresponding to an area of certification.  Requires that candidates have either demonstrated 



 

 

competency or completed a major in a field corresponding to an area of certification as 
determined by the State Board or as recommended by CareerTech for a vocational-technical 
certificate.  Allows the State Board to determine the number of hours required for the 
professional education component for each person making application, with a minimum of 6 
semester hours and maximum of 18 semester hours.  Effective November 1, 2016. 
 
HB 3102 – Increases the maximum number of clock hours an adjunct teacher may teach from 90 
hours to 270 hours per semester, which is the equivalent of a half-day every day for a full 
semester.  Effective July 1, 2016 
 
*NEW* HB 3114 – “Empowering Teachers to Lead Act.”  Creates a framework of teacher 
career paths, leadership roles and compensation requirements and allows districts to apply to 
SDE for approval to implement the framework or a comparable system of career paths and 
compensation that contains differentiated multiple leadership roles.  The framework defines the 
responsibilities of a model teacher, mentor teacher and lead teacher with a corresponding salary 
supplement.  Allows SDE to award planning grants and implementation grants to districts, 
subject to availability of funds.  Effective November 1, 2016. 
 
SB 1038 – Creates a Teacher Certification Scholarship Program under the Office of Educational 
Quality and Accountability (OEQA). Directs OEQA to establish eligibility criteria. Limits 
scholarship to one per teacher candidate. In order to receive a scholarship, the candidate is 
required to teach for one year in the state. Establishes a revolving fund for the legislature to 
appropriate money to and allows the program to be supported with gifts and donations. Effective 
January 1, 2017. 
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