
TEACHER LICENSURE AND CERTIFICATION PROCEDURES 
 

Oklahoma General Education Test (OGET)      Oklahoma Subject Area Test (OSAT)      Oklahoma Professional Teaching Exam (OPTE) 
 

Row 
Identifier 

(Option 1) 
Traditional 

Teaching Certificate 
ALL AREAS 

 
Law:  70 O.S. § 6-195 

(Option 2) 
Alternative Teaching credential  

 
Law:  70 O.S. § 6-122.3 

(Soptin 3) 
ABCTE 

PassPort to Teaching 
Middle and Secondary Level 

Certificate Areas 
Law: SB 582 - Effective 4-22-09 

(Option 4) 
Troops to Teachers 

Defense Authorization Act 
 

Public Law 102-484   
Effective November 1, 2009 

Degree 
 

Hold a bachelor's degree  Hold a bachelor's degree with a minimum retention 
GPA of 2.5 in a field that corresponds to an eligible 

certification area offered in the Alternative 
certification program.  See application for eligible 

areas.    

Hold a bachelor’s degree  
AD = Active Duty  
RC = Reserve Component  
To qualify, a service member 
must meet one of the 
requirements below:  
AD-1 – Retired from active 
duty.  
AD-2 – Active duty member 
with approved date of 
retirement with one year or 
less remaining before 
retirement.  
AD-3 – Separated on or after 
January 8, 2002, for a physical 
disability. Must register within 
four years after separation.  

 
 

Trops to Teachers 
applicants pursue 

certification via the 
Alternative Placement 

Program. 

Preparation 
 

Have a certification 
recommendation from an 

Oklahoma institution of higher 
education 

 Verify 2 years of related experience after bachelor’s 
degree OR college credit above a bachelor's degree 

Not required for Troops to Teachers 

Accepted by the American Board 
for Certification of Teacher 

Excellence (ABCTE) 

Pre Cert 
Credential Req 

 

   ABCTE issues a credential 

Testing 
 

Pass the OGET, appropriate 
OSAT(s), and the OPTE  

 Pass the OGET and approved OSAT(s)  Pass ABCTE approved middle level 
and/or secondary subject test and 

professional teacher test 

Requirement 
 

Have on file with the State 
Board of Education a current 
approved OSBI/FBI criminal 

history fingerprint check 

 Have on file with the State Board of Education a 
current approved OSBI/FBI criminal history 

fingerprint check 

Have on file with the State Board 
of Education a current approved 

OSBI/FBI criminal history 
fingerprint check 

Additional 
Requirement 

 

  TCRP dissolved as of 7/1/14  

Initial 
Credential 

 
OSDE Issues certificate  OSDE Issues  3 yr credential 

Middle Level or Secondary 
credential 

(Valid for 1 Year- non-renewable) 

Residency 
Program 

 

On Hiatus  On Hiatus Participate in ABCTE mentoring 
program –  
One Year 

Additional 
Requirement 

 

  Complete professional education requirements:  
semester hours and/or clock hours within 3 years 

 
Pass the OPTE within 3 years 

Complete ABCTE mentoring 
program 

Standard 
Certificate 

 
OSDE Issues Certificate  OSDE Issues 5 yr Certificate OSDE Issues Certificate 

Information 
 

Additional subjects may  be 
added by testing except for Early 

Childhood and Elementary, 
Education 

Effective 11-1-09 

 

Additional teaching fields may be added by testing 
except for early childhood, elementary education 

and Special Education  
(Effective 11-1-09) 

Since the OSDE cannot renew the 
initial certificate you may not wish 

to apply until you have secured 
employment. 
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Row 
Identifier 

(Column 5) 
Teach for America 

 
Initional Application to 

Teach for America  
Law:  70 O.S. § 6-195 

(Column 6) 
Four-Year-Olds and Younger 

Certificate  
Law:  70 O.S. § 11-103.7 

Column 7) 
Career Development Program for 

Paraprofessionals to be Certified Teachers 
Law:  70 O.S. § 6-127A 

(Column 8) 
Out-of-state Teachers 

Seeking Oklahoma License 
or Certificate 

(Option 9) 
Non-Traditional Special 

Education 

Degree 
 

Hold a bachelor's degree  Hold a bachelor's degree Hold a bachelor's degree with at least a 2.5 
retention GPA 

Hold a bachelor's degree Hold a Bachelor’s 

Preparation 
 

Accepted by Teach for America Have 5 years experience with 
the Head Start Program 

Have 1 year of experience as a teaching 
assistant in a public school in the area for 
which a teaching license is being pursued. 

 Complete 150 hr. State 
Board approved boot camp 

 Pre-requisite 
Credential 

 

 Hold a current Child 
Development Associate (CDA) 

– 120 Clock Hours 

 Hold an out-of-state 
credential  

Verification of boot camp 
completion 

Testing 
 

Pass the OGET and the 
desired  OSAT(s) 

Pass the OGET and the  
OSAT in Early Childhood 

Education 

Pass the OGET, pass at least one subject area 
test in the area of experience earned (Early 

Childhood Education, or Elementary Education, 
or Special Education) and the OPTE 

Pass the OGET, appropriate 
OSAT(s), and OPTE 

OR 
Provide proof from the 

Office of Educational Quality 
and Accountability (OEQA) 

of having passed out-of-
state test(s) equivalent to 

the Oklahoma test(s)  
- Per OEQA rules - 

Not required for the 
provisional but OPTE, OGET 
and OSAT are required by 

the end of the 3
rd

 yr 

Requirement 
 

Have on file with the State 
Board of Education a current 
approved OSBI/FBI criminal 

history fingerprint check 

Have on file with the State 
Board of Education a current 
approved OSBI/FBI criminal 

history fingerprint check 

Have on file with the State Board of Education 
a current approved OSBI/FBI criminal history 

fingerprint check 

Have on file with the State 
Board of Education a current 
approved OSBI/FBI criminal 

history fingerprint check 

 

Additional 
Requirement 

 

   Completed Proof of 
Teaching Experience form 

 

Initial Credential 
 

OSDE Issues certificate 
(2-year validity) 

OSDE Issues Standard 
Certificate 

OSDE Issues one-year certificate 
(1-year renewable for up to 3 years) 

OSDE Issues two-year  
provisional Certificate 

OSDE issues a one-year 
provisional certificate 

Residency 
Program 

 

Complete the course-work 
provided by Teach for 

America Program 

Oklahoma Resident Teacher 
Program not required 

On Hiatus On Hiatus On Hiatus 

Additional 
Requirement 

 

Pass the Oklahoma 
Professional Teaching Exam 

within 3 years 

 Complete 12 semester hours professional 
education coursework related to the area 

sought, including a minimum of 3 semester 
hours in reading instruction, from an 

Oklahoma accredited institution of higher 
education which has an approved program 

accredited by the Office of Educational Quality 
and Accountability (OEQA). 

If subject to Okla. Exams, 
applicant must pass 

Oklahoma Exams (all 3 
types) or show equivalency 
as determined by the OCTP 

and teach for one year in 
Oklahoma. 

Must complete  6 college 
credit hours to renew each 

year (2 renewals max). 
Must complete 18 total 
credit hours and receive 

recommendation for 
standard certificate from 

OK.  approved program by 
the end of 3

rd
 yr 

Standard 
Certificate 

 
OSDE Issues Certificate  

OSDE Issues Certificate 
(Standard Certificate 5-Year Validity) 

OSDE Issues Certificate 
OSDE Issues Certificate 
upon recommendation 

from the college 

Information 
 

Additional subjects may be 
added by testing (except E.C., 

Elem and SPED, unless TFA 
verifies prog) 

Additional subjects may not 
be added by testing 

Additional subjects may not be added by 
testing 

Additional subjects may be 
added by testing (except 

E.C., Elem and SPED unless 
area/s are on the out of 

state credential) 

Additional subjects may be 
added by testing (except for 

early childhood & 
elementary 
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