Minutes of the Regular Meeting of the

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 2500 NORTH LINCOLN BOULEVARD STATE BOARD ROOM, SUITE 1-20 OKLAHOMA CITY, OKLAHOMA

April 28, 2022

The State Board of Education met in a regular session at 9:32 a.m. on Thursday April 28, 2022, in the Board Room of the Oliver Hodge Education Building at 2500 North Lincoln Boulevard, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. The final agenda was posted at 8:25 a.m. on Wednesday, April 27, 2022.

The following were present:

Mr. Brad Clark, General Counsel, State Department of Education

Mr. Travis Jett, General Counsel, State Board of Education

Ms. Terrie Cheadle, Chief Executive Secretary

Member of the State Board of Education present:

State Superintendent Joy Hofmeister, Chairperson of the Board

Mr. Brian Bobek, Oklahoma City

Mrs. Estela Hernandez, Oklahoma City

Ms. Sarah Lepak, Claremore

Mrs. Jennifer Monies, Oklahoma City

Mr. Trent Smith, Yukon

Member of the State Board of Education not present:

Mrs. Carlisha Williams Bradley, Tulsa

CALL TO ORDER

State Superintendent Joy Hofmeister called the State Board of Education regular meeting to order at 9:32 a.m. Ms. Cheadle called the roll and ascertained there was a quorum.

Superintendent Hofmeister welcomed everyone to the board meeting.

STATE SUPERINTENDENT

Information from the State Superintendent

Employee of the Month

Superintendent Hofmeister recognized Sonia Johnson, Executive Director, Family and Community Engagement and 21st Century Program, as the April employee of the month.

Recognition of the 2022 recipients of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science teaching (PAEMST)

Secondary Mathematics

Jennifer Donwerth, Edmond Public Schools Brigit Minden, Central High Schools Gene Barnhill, Putnam City Public Schools Julie Klingensmith, Norman Public Schools

Secondary Science

Karla White, Bethany Public Schools Cheryl Fentress, Bartlesville Public Schools Jayci Harris, Bing Public Schools Megan Cannon, Sapulpa Public Schools

Superintendent Hofmeister said two teachers are selected, every year in each state, as outstanding teachers in science and mathematics and awarded the Presidential Award of Excellence in Mathematics and Science (PAEMST). Due to the pandemic the 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020 recipients were not recognized and presented their crystal awards until today. Oklahoma teachers, by award year, include:

2020-Jennifer Donwerth-Edmond Public Schools

2019-Karla White-Bethany Public Schools
Brigit Minden-Central High School
Cheryl Fentress-Bartlesville Public Schools was unable to
Attend

2018-Jean Barnhill-Putnam City Schools
Jayci Harris-Bing Public Schools and currently Director of Elementary Athletics, OSDE

2017-Julie Klingensmith-Norman Public Schools Megan Cannon-Sapulpa Public Schools

Recognition of Oklahoma's 2022 Milken Family Foundation Educator Award recipients

Tamarah Danzy, science teacher and cheer coach, 8th Grade Center-Union Public Schools

Aubrey Flowers, Principal, Council Oak Elementary School-Tulsa Public Schools

Superintendent Hofmeister said it was an honor, earlier in the month, to be with Greg Gallagher, Senior Program Director, Milken Family Foundation, in announcing and recognize two Oklahoma teachers with the Milken Family Foundation "Oscars of teaching" 2022 Educator awards. Presentations were made during separate school assemblies to a very surprised Tamarah Danzy and Aubrey Flowers as recipients of \$25,000 and professional development resource Educator Awards. These exceptional top educators will attend a later State Board of Education (SBE) meeting.

Oklahoma received excellent marks in the National Institute Early Education Research (NIEER) 2021 Edition of the *State Preschool Yearbook*. The report relates to Pre-K programs nationally. Oklahoma progressed to second in the nation for Pre-K access for four-year-old in the 2020-2021 school year; and is the fourth year Oklahoma has been named a leader in policies to support standards for high-quality Pre-K education.

The Student Advisory Council met in person in early April. Approximately 200 juniors and seniors convened at the Capitol to discuss issues that discuss issues for policy making and initiatives at the State Department of Education. A video presentation highlighted students concerns/making differences, and legislative changes due to their voices being represented.

PUBLIC COMMENT

(Item not on the agenda)

Board members Trent Smith and Jennifer Monies, signed up for comment on regarding board agenda planning and proposal, state statute, open meetings requirements, and statutory authority.

BOARD- ADMINSTRATIVE

Minutes of the March 24, 2022, regular State Board of Education meeting

Board member Monies moved to approve the March 24, 2022, regular meeting minutes. Board member Hernandez seconded the motion. The motion carried with the following votes: Mr. Bobek, yes; Ms. Monies, yes; Ms. Lepak, yes; Ms. Hernandez, yes; Mr. Smith, yes and Superintendent Hofmeister, yes.

CONSENT DOCKET

Discussion and possible action on the following deregulation applications, statutory waivers, and exemptions for the 2021-2022 school year and other requests:

(a) Cooperative Agreements for Alternative Education Programs – 70 O.S. § 1210.568

Chattanooga Public Schools, Comanche County Talihina Public Schools, LeFlore County Wister Public Schools, LeFlore County Oak Grove Public Schools, Payne County

(b) Library Media Services – OAC 210:35-5-71 and 210:35-9-71 Mason Public Schools, Okfuskee County Mid-Del Public Schools, Oklahoma County

3 Years

Poteau Public Schools, LeFlore County Hanna Public Schools, McIntosh County

- (c) **Substitute Teachers 70 O.S. § 6-105b** Union City Public Schools, Canadian County
- (d) Request approval on exceptions to State Board of Education teacher certification regulations to permit issuance of emergency (provisional) certificates 70 O.S. § 6-187
- (e) Request approval **for All Saints Catholic School (ASCS)** to participate In the Lindsey Nicole Henry Scholarships for Students with Disabilities program 70 O.S. § 13-101.2
- (f) Request approval for **Tulsa Hope Academy (THA)** to participate in the Lindsey Nicole Henry Scholarships for Students with Disabilities program 70 O.S. § 13-101.2

Board members discussed and asked questions regarding Consent Docket waiver request deadline, noncompliance and accrediting status, emergency statutory requirement/exceptions/standards and considerations, April 1st waiver request window, and SBE recommendations.

Board member Monies recommended only a one-year waiver for applicants requesting three-year waivers; and waivers requested after the October 1st deadline meeting emergency statutory requirements will be considered.

Ryan Pieper, Executive Director of Accreditation said the Office of Accreditation will communicate the board's preferences and notify districts that have applied for a waiver, as well as all deregulations.

Board member Monies moved to approve the Consent Docket and approve only 1-year waivers to districts requesting three-year waivers, item #6. (b) Library Media Services. Board member Bobek seconded the motion. The motion carried with the following votes: Mr. Smith, yes; Ms. Hernandez, yes; Ms. Lepak, yes; Mr. Bobek, Ms. Monies, yes; and Superintendent Hofmeister, yes.

ADJOURNMENT

Board member Hernandez moved to adjourn the meeting at 10:11 a.m. Board member Bobek seconded the motion. Board members unanimously agreed.

The next regular meeting of the State Board of Education will be held on Thursday May 26, 2022, at 9:30 a.m. The meeting will convene at the State Department of Education-State Board Room, 2500 North Lincoln Blvd., Oklahoma City, Oklahoma.

	Joy Hofmeister, Chairperson of the Board
Terrie Cheadle, Chief Executive Secretary	_