SPECIAL MEETING STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 2500 NORTH LINCOLN BOULEVARD STATE BOARD ROOM, SUITE 1-20

AGENDA

Thursday, August 27, 2020 – 9:30 a.m.

This meeting will include teleconferencing or videoconferencing but there may be parties present at the Oliver Hodge Building, 2500 N. Lincoln Blvd., Oklahoma City, OK 73105 Suite 1-20.

Board members present at remote locations will be:

Joy Hofmeister, State Superintendent and Chair, via Zoom videoconference Estela Hernandez, via Zoom videoconference Carlisha Williams Bradley, via Zoom videoconference William Flanagan, via Zoom videoconference Brian Bobek, via Zoom videoconference Kurt Bollenbach, via Zoom videoconference Jennifer Monies, via Zoom videoconference

Public view and access: https://www.facebook.com/OklaSDE/

1. Call to order and roll call -9:30 a.m.

2. STATE SUPERINTENDENT

Information from the State Superintendent

- Recognition of Department Employees for the month of August: Lori Gray, Human Resources Specialist
- Recognition of **Michele Presley**, Regional Coordinator, SoonerStart, Special Education OCAS for **30** years of service to the state of Oklahoma
- Recognition of Oklahoma 2020 U.S. Presidential Scholars Sukanya Bhattacharya, Heritage Hall School, Oklahoma City and Nicholas Sayegh Western Heights High School, Oklahoma City

3. BOARD - ADMINISTRATIVE

- (Action) (a) Discussion and possible action on the minutes of the July 23, 2020, special State Board of Education meeting
 - (b) Presentation of "**ELEVATE**"- chronicles of the positive, inspiring, and innovative matters in Oklahoma public schools **Phil Bacharach**,

Chief of Staff

- (Action) (c) Update, discussion and possible action relating to COVID-19 response and operations **70 O.S.** §§ **1-105, 3-104**
 - Teacher and support personnel COVID-19 <u>testing plan</u> <u>3rd Amended</u> Executive Order 2020
 - Health protocols, guidance and personal protective equipment in schools
 - School operations
 Presentation by Tulsa Public Schools
 Presentation by OSDE of school opening data

4. PUBLIC COMMENT

Patrons may speak to the Board on any matter set forth on the current board agenda, excluding any matter which may be identified as including and/or pertaining to a proposed executive session. Comments will be limited to the **first ten (10) individuals** who email Marley.Billingsley@sde.ok.gov by 5:00 p.m. on August 26, 2020, advising of their intent to provide public comment to the Board. In the email requesting to provide public comment, the individual or representative must provide their name, email and phone number, along with the agenda item to be commented on. A time limit of three (3) minutes will be allowed for each speaker. In its sole discretion, the time limit may be extended by consent of the Board. The Board Chairperson may interrupt and/or terminate any presentation during public comment, which does not conform to the procedures outlined under this Section. The Board Chairperson reserves and retains the right to interrupt, terminate, or postpone public comment as necessary to effectuate the management of the public meeting.

5. **CONSENT DOCKET** (Action)

Discussion and possible action on the following deregulation applications, statutory waivers, and exemptions for the 2020-2021 school year -70 O.S. § 3-104; OAC 210: 35-1-4:

(Action) (a) Abbreviated School Day – OAC 210:35-29-2 and 210:35-3-46
Clinton Public Schools, Custer County
Little Axe Public Schools, Cleveland County
Bristow Public Schools, Creek County
Hobart Public Schools, Kiowa County
Prague Public Schools, Lincoln County

3 Years

Stilwell Public Schools, Adair County Moore Public Schools, Cleveland County Noble Public Schools, Cleveland County Stroud Public Schools, Lincoln County Skiatook Public Schools, Tulsa County (Action) (b) Cooperative Agreements for Alternative Education Programs – 70 O.S. § 1210.568

Kiefer Public Schools, Creek County Middleberg Public Schools, Grady County Hobart Public Schools, Kiowa County

(Action) (c) Library Media Services – OAC 210:35-5-71 and 210:35-9-71

Hinton Public Schools, Caddo County Hydro-Eakly Public Schools, Caddo County Little Axe Public Schools, Cleveland County Noble Public Schools, Cleveland County Elgin Public Schools, Comanche County Wynnewood Public Schools, Garvin County Middleberg Public Schools, Grady County Laverne Public Schools, Harper County Mill Creek Public Schools, Johnson County Hobart Public Schools, Kiowa County Wilburton Public Schools, Latimer County Chandler Public Schools, Lincoln County Meeker Public Schools, Lincoln County Tecumseh Public Schools, Pottawatomie County Central Public Schools, Sequoyah County Healdton Public Schools, Carter County Vinita Public Schools, Craig County Depew Public Schools, Creek County Maysville Public Schools, Garvin County Rush Springs Public Schools, Grady County Blair Public Schools, Jackson County Fanshawe Public Schools, LeFlore County Eagletown Public Schools, McCurtain County Muskogee Public Schools, Muskogee County Henryetta Public Schools, Okmulgee County Antlers Public Schools, Pushmataha County Jenks Public Schools, Tulsa County Skiatook Public Schools, Tulsa County

- (Action) (d) Library Media Specialist 70 O.S. § 3-126 3 Years Sperry Public Schools, Tulsa County
- (Action) (e) Request approval on exceptions to State Board of Education teacher certification regulations to permit issuance of emergency (provisional) certificates 70 O.S. § 6-187
- (Action) (f) Request approval on flexibility to use textbook funds 70 O.S. § 16-114a(B)
 Colbert Public Schools, Bryan County
 Bixby Public Schools, Tulsa County
- (Action) (g) General Fund for Capital Expenditures **70 O.S. § 1-117** and OAC 210:25-5-4 Bethany Public Schools, Oklahoma County

All of the items of routine nature normally approved at board meetings will be approved by one vote unless any board member desires to have a separate vote on any or all of these items.

6. FEDERAL PROGRAMS & FINANCE – Monty Guthrie, Deputy Superintendent

(Action) (a) Discussion and possible action on payment of late federal program claims listed below - **OAC 210:25-3-7(12)**

CARES Act

Silo Public Schools
Ketchum Public Schools
Bristow Public Schools
Fanshawe Public Schools
Poteau Public Schools
White Rock Public Schools
Adair Public Schools
Santa Fe South Public Schools
Latta Public Schools

Rural & Low-Income Students (RLIS) Project 587

Fort Gibson Public Schools

Title I Project 511

Poteau Public Schools South Rock Creek Public Schools Buffalo Valley Public Schools

(Action) (b) Discussion and possible action on the FY 2021 Shared Superintendent Salary Assistance Application reports - 70 O.S. § 7-203 and 70 O.S. § 5-106A

7. LEGAL SERVICES/STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION OFFICE – Brad Clark, General Counsel

- (Action)
 (a) Discussion and possible action to resolve into Executive Session pursuant to 25 O.S. §§ 307 (B) (4) (7) and (8) for the purpose of discussing possible action to issue an emergency order summarily suspending the teacher certificate and certificate number of Aaron Hernandez pending an individual proceeding for revocation or other action 70 O.S. § 3-104; 75 O.S. § 314; OAC 210-1-5-6
 - 1. Vote to Convene in Executive Session
 - 2. Vote to Acknowledge Return to Open Session
 - 3. Discussion and possible action regarding the matters discussed in Executive Session

8. ADJOURNMENT (Action)