
 

 

MEMORANDUM 

 

TO: Oklahoma State Board of Education 

FROM: Superintendent Joy Hofmeister 

DATE: April 23, 2021 

SUBJECT: Active education-related bills as of April 20, 2021 

 

New Laws 

HB1046 – Requires each school district to post a copy or hyperlink of the most recent financial 

audit on the front page of its website. Effective November 1, 2021. 

 

HB1104 – Requires schools to collect student tribal affiliation data alongside other demographic 

data collected as part of the “Student Data Accessibility, Transparency and Accountability Act of 

2013”. Effective 90 days after Sine Die. 

 

HB2078 – Revises the calculation of Oklahoma’s school funding formula beginning with the 

2022-2023 school year, requiring that Initial State Aid be allocated based on the weighted 

average daily membership (WADM) from the preceding school year rather than the higher of the 

prior two years. Requires that the mid-year adjustment be allocated based on either the WADM 

of the first nine weeks of the current school year, or the WADM of the preceding school year, 

whichever is higher, rather than the highest WADM of the current or prior two school years. 

Lastly, the allowable percentages of general fund carryover are increased from between three and 

eight percent, depending on the general fund collections of the district, and excess carryover 

penalties for fiscal years 2024 and 2025 are waived. The bill’s provisions are contingent on the 

enactment of S.B. 783. Effective July 1, 2022. 

 

SB68 – Allows the children of active duty military personnel to pre-enroll in a local school 

district prior to moving to Oklahoma and be considered in compliance with school residency 

requirements prior to arrival. Effective July 1, 2021. 

 

SB69 – Allows the children of active duty military personnel to pre-enroll in statewide virtual 

charter schools prior to moving to Oklahoma and be considered in compliance with school 

residency requirements prior to arrival. Effective July 1, 2021. 

 

(New) SB104 – Authorizes physical therapy sessions to be provided in person or remotely via 

telehealth to individuals or groups and defines telehealth and telecommunication. Effective 

November 1, 2021. 

 

SB132 – Amends the Oklahoma Higher Learning Access Program (OHLAP) to allow students in 

public or private high schools to enroll in the program prior to their eleventh-grade year, instead 
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of prior to their tenth grade year, or prior to turning 16-years-old if educated by other means. 

Effective July 1, 2021. 

 

SB783 – Enacts significant reforms to Oklahoma’s school transfer statutes, namely, revising the 

guidelines for accepting and denying student transfers, limiting students to a maximum of two 

out-of-district transfers per school year, requiring school districts to list enrollment capacities on 

their websites and to report transfer approvals and denials to the State Department of Education, 

which must in turn post the information on its website and share it with OEQA. The bill creates a 

two-level appeal process for transfer denials, beginning with local school boards and ending with 

the State Board of Education. Lastly, the state’s emergency transfer law is repealed. The bill’s 

provisions are contingent on the enactment of H.B. 2078. The revised transfer provisions and 

requirements will take effect beginning on January 1, 2022. Now in effect. 

 

SB807 – Requires that school support employees be entitled to pay for any time lost when a 

school district is closed due to an epidemic or order issued by an authorized health officer. 

Effective July 1, 2021. 

 

SB913 – Enacts comprehensive reforms to the Administrative Procedures Act, namely, by 

changing the mechanisms for the approval, disapproval, and repeal of administrative rules, and 

creating the Joint Committee on Administrative Rules. Requires agencies to submit all rule 

proposals to the Committee for approval prior to the rules being eligible for final approval by the 

Legislature, which is no longer required to approve all rules in a single Joint Resolution. 

Additionally, agencies must submit proposed changes to the Governor and the appropriate 

cabinet secretary as part of providing official notice and may not proceed with any rule change 

upon express written disapproval by the Governor or secretary within 30 days of the notice. 

Lastly, a procedure for expedited repeal of rules is created, allowing agencies to submit a request 

for repeal to the President Pro Tempore and Speaker of the House, who may refer the request to 

the Joint Committee on Administrative Rules for consideration. Effective September 1, 2021. 

 

 

Academic Counseling  

HB2750 – Requires colleges and universities within the Oklahoma State System of Higher 

Education to grant course credit to students who score a 3 or higher on an Advanced Placement 

exam. Colleges and universities must post their credit policy regarding Advanced Placement 

exams on their websites, beginning with the 2021-2022 fall academic term, and must conduct 

biennial reviews of the policy. Effective July 1, 2021. 

  

SB261 – Creates the Oklahoma Student Borrower’s Bill of Rights Act, directing the Attorney 

General to compose the "Oklahoma Student Borrower's Bill of Rights" for a student loan 

borrower who takes out a student education loan with a student loan servicer. The statement must 

include plain and clear language prohibiting a student loan servicer from engaging in any act that 

misleads, deceives, or defrauds student borrowers. Loan servicers are also prohibited from 

making false statements or omitting material facts when submitting reports to a governmental 

agency. Effective November 1, 2021. 

  

SB292 – Creates a 14-member task force to study and make recommendations regarding current 

and future concurrent enrollment needs of the state and pathways for awarding degrees and 
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certificates through concurrent enrollment. Three members of the task force will be school 

district superintendents and must be appointed by the State Superintendent of Public Instruction 

within thirty days of the bill’s effective date. The task force must submit a report of its findings 

to the Governor, the President Pro Tempore of the Senate and the Speaker of the House by 

November 30, 2022 and then dissolve. Effective July 1, 2021. (Sent to Governor) 

 

(New) SB317 – Allows anyone aged 16 or older currently enrolled in high school and a work-

ready program, to be licensed as a student electrical intern under the Construction Industries 

Board (CIB) after completing a national criminal background check as required by the Board. A 

student intern certificate will be effective for one year, separate from the existing apprenticeship 

certificate, and issued upon payment of a fee after meeting requirements prescribed by the Board. 

Lastly, places of cap of one intern per physical job site under direct supervision by a single 

journeyman or contractor, provided the intern will not count towards the cap on apprentices 

allowed to work under a single supervisor. Interns are prohibited from working on high voltage 

systems defined by the National Electrical Code. Effective November 1, 2021. (Sent to 

Governor) 

 

SB639 – Revises the Oklahoma Higher Learning Access Program (OHLAP) to include awards 

for postsecondary career and technology programs that have been identified as critical 

occupation areas, as identified by the Executive Director of the Oklahoma Department of 

Commerce in recurring annual reports. The State Regents for Higher Education, in consultation 

with the State Board of Career and Technology Education, must identify postsecondary 

vocational-technical programs that correlate to identified critical occupation areas. Additionally, 

beginning in the 2021-2022 academic year, students participating in OHLAP will have 6 years to 

complete the program, at which point they must cover courses out of pocket. The clawback 

provision on awarded funds has been removed. Effective July 1, 2021. 

 

 

Accountability, Assessments, Student Info 

HB1715 – Repeals the requirement that students must pass the 8th grade English Language Arts 

(ELA) test to receive their driver’s permit. Effective upon its passage and approval. (Sent to 

Governor) 

 

HB1875 – Prohibits an educational agency or institution that is not the primary custodian of 

student directory information of attending students from releasing or selling any student 

directory information unless otherwise allowed by the Family Educational Rights and Privacy 

Act (FERPA) or state statute. Effective November 1, 2021. 

  

HB2030 – Requires the Oklahoma subject matter standards for history, social studies, and U.S. 

Government to include the study of important historical documents, including the Constitution, 

Declaration of Independence, Emancipation Proclamation, and Federalist Papers; simulations of 

the democratic process; and lessons on the structure and relationship between the levels of 

government. Beginning with the class of 2021, students are required to earn a passing score of 60 

out of 100 questions on the United States naturalization test to graduate high school. School 

districts must offer the test at least once per year. Students with disabilities who are assessed 

through the Oklahoma Alternate Assessment Program (OAAP) are exempt from the requirement. 

Effective November 1, 2021. 
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HB2381 – Requires school districts to conduct an annual fitness assessment for students in 

grades 3-12, as approved by the State Board of Education beginning with the 2022-2023 school 

year. Requires the State Board to adopt standards deemed appropriate to measure a student’s 

physical fitness and requires the Department of Education to adopt an assessment instrument that 

measures student aerobic capacity, body composition, muscular strength, endurance, and 

flexibility. Districts must provide overall results of the assessment to the Board and the results 

for individual students to the parent or guardian. Requires the Departments of Education and 

Health to analyze these performance results and look for correlations with other specified 

outcomes on a district basis and submit a report to the Governor. Effective 90 days after Sine 

Die. 

 

SB419 – Allows a teacher to use a student’s highest score on the statewide U.S. history 

assessment in calculating the final grade of an applicable social studies, history or citizenship 

skills unit taken in the same year the assessment is administered, beginning in the 2021-2022 

school year. Effective July 1, 2021. 

 

SB503 – Requires the Oklahoma subject matter standards for history, social studies and U.S. 

government to include the Declaration of Independence, the U.S. Constitution including the Bill 

of Rights, substantive selections from the Federalist Papers, the Emancipation Proclamation, the 

Articles of Confederation, the Gettysburg Address, and George Washington’s Farewell Address. 

The statewide U.S. history assessment must include multiple questions containing fundamental 

principles of these historical documents. Effective July 1, 2021. 

 

SB642 – Requires school districts to provide all students grades 10 through 12 an opportunity to 

take the Armed Services Vocational Aptitude Battery (ASVAB) Test and consult with a military 

recruiter beginning in the 2021-2022 school year. Effective July 1, 2021. 

 

 

Certification, Retirement 

HB1773 – Requires teacher candidates in early childhood, elementary, secondary, and special 

education, as part of their competency-based teacher preparation program, to study the 

background and implementation of multi-tiered systems of support (MTSS) designed to address 

the core academic and nonacademic needs of all students. Candidates will receive grade-

appropriate training on applying MTSS in the areas of structured literacy, mathematics, 

classroom management, and trauma-informed instruction at a minimum. Effective November 1, 

2021. (Sent to Governor) 

  

HB1796 – Allows the State Board of Education, in consultation with the Commission for 

Education Quality and Accountability, to grant subject area examination exceptions for initial 

teacher certification in a field that does not require an advanced degree if the candidate already 

has an advanced degree in the subject substantially comparable to the content assessed in the 

examination. This exception currently only exists for alternatively certified teachers. Effective 

upon its passage and approval. 

 

(New) HB2693 – Requires the State Department of Education, in coordination with OEQA, to 

establish a micro-credential program in civics by July 1, 2022, with the program being available 

to certified teachers beginning with the 2022-2023 school year. The Department and OEQA must 

convene a working group with pertinent stakeholders to determine the program’s requirements 
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and teachers earning the designation will receive a one-time salary supplement of $3,000, subject 

to the availability of funding. Additionally, the Department must develop professional 

development (PD) programs on civics with specified areas of emphasis and identify regional 

civics coaches to assist in administering the programs. Lastly, the statewide assessment for U.S. 

History is repealed. Effective July 1, 2021. 

 

HB2748 – Requires the State Board of Education to issue a one-year alternative teacher 

certificate, renewable for up to three years, to early childhood or elementary education 

candidates who declare their intention to earn standard certification within three years. 

Candidates may enter the classroom immediately as they work toward full certification provided 

they meet certain benchmarks each year which include completing credit hours and receiving 

instructional coaching in the areas of reading, classroom management, child development, and 

math instruction. Effective November 1, 2021. 

  

HB2752 – Requires the State Department of Education, in coordination with the Commission for 

Educational Quality and Accountability (OEQA), to establish a micro-credential program for 

teachers and teaching candidates to earn microcredentials in science, technology, engineering 

and mathematics (STEM) endorsement areas including computer science, upon the completion 

of additional coursework. The Department and OEQA will convene a working group with 

“pertinent education stakeholders” to determine eligible uses for STEM microcredentials, 

including add-on endorsements for teachers in STEM endorsement areas such as computer 

science, and satisfying the requirements for the OSAT examination and professional 

development. Effective July 1, 2021. 

 

HB2329 / SB67 – Allows the State Board of Education to grant an exception to the requirements 

for all certification examinations to deaf teachers who are fluent in American Sign Language 

(ASL) and who will be teaching exclusively in settings requiring the use of ASL. Effective July 

1, 2021. (Sent to Governor) 
  

SB13 – Requires a teacher whose certificate is suspended by the State Board of Education to be 

placed on suspension while proceedings for revocation or other action are pending before the 

Board. These actions do not preclude the initiation of due process procedures under the Teacher 

Due Process Act. Effective July 1, 2021. 
 

Children, Families, Students  

HB1882 – Creates the “Out-of-Schooltime Task Force”, directed to identify ways to increase and 

improve the number of quality, affordable out-of-school programs in the state and report findings 

to the Oklahoma Legislature and Governor by December 1, 2022. The State Superintendent of 

Public Instruction has a seat on the task force and two appointments. Effective November 1, 

2021. 

 

(New) SB131 – (Sen. Garvin and Rep. McEntire) Creates the Oklahomans Caring for 

Oklahomans Act, directing the Oklahoma Health Care Authority (OHCA) to create new or 

expand on existing Medicaid programs in the areas of prevention, chronic care management, 

payment reform, and health information exchange. Should the bill become law, these changes 

will purportedly be in lieu of the state’s current managed care plan for Medicaid expansion. 

Effective upon its passage and approval. 
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SB126 – Amends the Lindsey Nicole Henry Scholarship for Students with Disabilities Program 

by clarifying that participating private schools must prohibit discrimination exclusively on the 

basis of race, color and national origin. Effective July 1, 2021. 

 

(New) SB283 – Requires anyone found guilty of furnishing alcoholic beverages to persons under 

21 years of age to attend a victims impact panel program in addition to existing punishments. 

Effective November 1, 2021. (Sent to Governor) 

 
Curriculum 

HB1569 – Creates the Oklahoma Play to Learn Act, allowing early childhood educators to 

employ play-based learning techniques and school districts to provide related professional 

development. States school districts may not prohibit a teacher from using play-based learning in 

early childhood education. Effective upon its passage and approval. 

 

SB89 – Creates the Health Education Act, requiring that all PK-12 students receive instruction 

on the Oklahoma Health Academic Standards beginning in the 2023-2024 school year. Directs 

the Department to develop a micro-credential for teachers assigned the responsibility of teaching 

health education and to create professional development programs to help teachers provide 

health education instruction. Teachers providing stand-alone health education courses must be 

certified in physical or health education and the Department may issue 2-year provisional 

certificates in this area. Effective July 1, 2021. 

 

SB252 – Requires all public high schools to offer a minimum of one grade-appropriate computer 

science course to students each year. All public middle and elementary schools must offer 

instruction aligned to the Oklahoma Academic Standards for Computer Science, which may be 

offered through a stand-alone course or within an existing course. These requirements are to take 

effect beginning in the 2024-2025 school year. Starting June 30, 2025, each school district will 

submit an annual report to OSDE regarding the computer science courses offered. Effective 

November 1, 2021. 

  

SB784 – Permits the Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training (CLEET) develop a 

statewide law enforcement and public safety youth program designed for high school students. 

Effective November 1, 2021. 

  

  

Charter Schools 

(New) SB229 – Creates the Redbud School Funding Act, directing a maximum of 3/4s of 

medical marijuana excise tax revenue received in the preceding fiscal year to be deposited in the 

State Public Common School Building Equalization Fund to be distributed to Eligible Charter 

Schools and school districts. Eligible charter schools include those not sponsored by the 

Statewide Virtual Charter School Board and that provide in-person or blended instruction to at 

least 2/3s of enrolled students as the primary means of instructional service delivery. The bill 

defines “blended learning student” to mean a student who is enrolled in a combination of brick-

and-mortar and virtual learning who participates in at least one unit or set of competencies at a 

physical school building, which is the equivalent of one hour per day for each instructional day 

in the school year. 
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The amount to be distributed is calculated by dividing the amount of building funds plus 25% of 

the total amount of county four-mill levy funds received by districts in the prior year by the 

ADM in each district. Allocations will be made to bring each district below the state average per 

ADM up to that amount. Should medical marijuana tax revenue be insufficient to cover the full 

amount needed, an additional apportionment will be made from the medical marijuana sales tax. 

The bill allows the Department of Education to retain 1/2 of 1% to administer the Fund. Directs 

any money apportioned to the Fund to be included in the determination of whether or not the 

funding requirement has been met in order to enforce class size requirements in kindergarten and 

first grade. The bill also clarifies that charter schools are only eligible to receive State Aid, 

federal funds and any other state-appropriated revenue, grants or other aid for which they are 

eligible; directs charter ADA to be calculated separately from the ADA of its sponsoring district 

for the purpose funding; and requires charter schools to receive all state appropriated and federal 

funding directly. Effective upon its passage and approval. 

 

SB239 – Requires the Department of Education to determine if it has the financial and personnel 

resources to support a new charter school before the State Board approves a charter school 

sponsorship upon appeal. Requires the Board to allow the applicant and denying school district 

sponsor to appear with an attorney at any hearing before the Board. If the Board determines that 

the applicant complied with all of the applicable requirements for approval by the local board, 

that there is demonstrable local community support, and the local board should have accepted the 

proposal, the Board may choose to sponsor the charter school. Establishes a formal timeline for 

appeals to the Board, requiring the applicant to file an appeal within 30 days of denial and the 

Board to hold a hearing for final determination within 60 days of receiving the appeal. Effective 

July 1, 2021. 

  

  

Employment, Personnel, Compensation 

HB1876 – Clarifies that personal information of current and former public employees including 

home addresses, home phone numbers, Social Security numbers, private email addresses and 

mobile numbers are not open to public inspection or disclosure, with the exception of public 

records created using a private email address or mobile phone. Effective November 1, 2021. 
  

SB121 – Requires local boards of education to adopt a policy allowing school employees who 

are lactating to take paid break time to maintain their milk supply and comfort. This break time 

may run concurrently with any break time already provided to the employee and the board must 

make a reasonable effort to provide a private, sanitary room for expressing milk or breastfeeding. 

Effective July 1, 2021. (Sent to Governor) 

  

SB267 – Beginning July 1, 2021 a retired teacher may return as a classroom teacher with no 

earnings limitation provided they have been retired for at least one year and have not been 

employed at a school district during that time. The bill’s provisions expire after three years. 

Effective 90 days after Sine Die. 

  

SB683 – Retroactively removes the requirement that full-time non-classified optional personnel 

be regularly employed for more than one year to participate in the Oklahoma Teachers 

Retirement System (OTRS) from August 2, 1969 through the bill’s effective date. Upon the 

effective date, current personnel who are regularly employed for at least 20 hours per week will 

have thirty days to opt out of the System or be enrolled automatically. The option for 
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membership and the ensuing thirty-day opt out window will also apply to all eligible new hires. 

Effective 90 days after Sine Die. 

 

SB970 – Exempts any portion of any document or information provided to a state agency or 

entity for use in providing a license or certificate to an individual from being considered a 

“record” under the Oklahoma Open Records Act. Allows a public body to release personnel 

records at the body’s sole discretion, provided, identifying information relating to the occupants 

of any residential structure and email addresses are redacted in addition to existing protections. 

Effective November 1, 2021. 

  

  

Funding, Budget 

HB1968 – Eliminates duplicative annual school expenditures report for Gifted and Talented 

(GT) programs that must be provided to OSDE by August 1. Effective upon its passage and 

approval. 

 

HB2776 – Creates the “Protecting Revenues for Oklahoma Teachers, Educators and Students 

(PROTEST) Fund” consisting of ad valorem funds under protest and monies from the Ad 

Valorem Reimbursement Fund. Directs the Oklahoma Tax Commission to accept claims from 

school districts affected by protested ad valorem taxes and disburse funds to the local school 

board. Upon settlement and dispersal of protested ad valorem dollars, the receiving school board 

must reimburse the Fund. Reimbursement claims are limited to fifty percent of the amount of ad 

valorem funds under protest. Effective July 1, 2021. 

 

 

Professional Development 

HB1593 – Revises the frequency for certain professional development requirements including 

training on the importance of digital teaching and learning standards, recognizing and addressing 

the mental health needs of students, emphasizing the importance of incorporating workplace 

safety training into curriculum, and in-service training on alcohol and drug abuse. Each training 

program must be completed during a teacher’s first year of employment at a district and be 

retaken at specified intervals. Effective November 1, 2021. (Sent to Governor) 

  

HB2749 – Requires school districts receiving more than $2,500 in Reading Sufficiency Act 

(RSA) appropriations, to spend a minimum of 10% of those funds on professional development 

on the Science of Reading for pre-k through fifth grade teachers beginning in the 2022-2023 

school year. The professional development must include training on the cognitive science of how 

students learn to read, and be selected from an approved list of evidence-based programs 

compiled by the State Department of Education prior to June 30, 2022. Effective 90 days after 

Sine Die.  

  

 
School Boards 
(New) HB1775 – Prohibits school districts, including charter schools, from requiring employees 
to take training, orientation or therapy presenting any form of race or sex stereotyping or blame. 
Further prohibits school employees from teaching or incorporating certain concepts related to 
race or sex including racial superiority/inferiority, inherent racism or sexism, and racial 
guilt/shame. Effective July 1, 2021. 
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(New) HB1801 – Expands the requirements for “Riley’s Rule”, requiring local school boards to 

coordinate with local emergency medical service providers in developing an Emergency Action 

Plan for each athletic practice, event or activity held at school district facilities. The plan must 

include contact, directory and map information for emergency medical services, a designated 

medical administrator, be provided to all school athletics and events staff, specify evaluation and 

debriefing procedures following an emergency, and be updated and rehearsed annually. Lastly, 

the plan must be provided to visiting athletic teams or otherwise made available on the school 

district website. Effective November 1, 2021. 

 

HB1963 – Requires the Governor to make a temporary appointment for a local school board 

should the board ever have insufficient membership to attain a quorum and conduct business. 

Effective November 1, 2021. (Sent to Governor) 

  

HB2335 – Prohibits any state agency from enacting a vaccine requirement for any member of the 

general public or from imposing civil, criminal, or administrative penalties on those declining to 

vaccinate themselves for their children. Certain existing vaccine requirements, such as those for 

enrollment in public schools, are exempted from the prohibition. For the purposes of the bill, 

state agency is defined to mean “any office, department, board, commission or institution of the 

executive branch of state government”, specifically excluding municipal governments, hospitals, 

and health care facilities. Lastly, state agencies and individual employees are granted immunity 

from damages incurred by a person diagnosed with a communicable disease after refusing to be 

vaccinated or from side effects of vaccination. Effective upon its passage and approval. 

 

(New) HB2644 – Amends the Oklahoma Open Meetings Act by extending many of the 

flexibilities for public bodies to hold meetings by teleconference or videoconference until March 

31, 2024, beyond the Feb. 15, 2022 date or expiration of the Governor’s COVID-19 state of 

emergency as instituted by SB1031. The extended exemption deadline also applies to the 

requirement to have a physical meeting noticed posted in the body’s principal office. Effective 

upon its passage and approval. 

 

(New) SB2 – Creates the Save Women’s Sports Act, prohibiting all schools, universities, and 

athletic associations in the state from allowing students of the male sex to compete on teams 

designated for “women” or “girls”. Schools are required to expressly designate sponsored 

athletic teams as male/boys, females/girls, or coed/mixed, as determined by biological sex of the 

athletes. Requires a student’s parent or guardian, or the student themselves if they are age 18 or 

older, to sign an affidavit each school year acknowledging the student’s biological sex at birth 

prior to participating in school athletics and notify the school of a change to the student’s 

biological sex within thirty (30) days. Provides that a student deprived of an athletic opportunity 

or who suffers any direct or indirect harm as a result of a violation of this prohibition will have 

grounds for legal action against the offending school. A student will also have grounds to pursue 

legal action against a school or athletic association for any retaliation resulting from the student 

reporting a violation of the prohibition. The State Board of Education, State Regents for Higher 

Education and any school athletic association are prohibited from taking any adverse action 

against schools maintaining sex-designated athletic teams, with any such impacted school having 

grounds for legal action against the offending governing body. Effective July 1, 2021. 
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SB22 – Requires a local school board electing to dispose of real or personal property under lease 

to provide the right of first refusal to purchase the property to the current lessee. If the board 

receives an offer for the property, it must provide notice to the current lessee, allowing thirty 

days after receipt of the notice to inform the board whether the lessee will purchase the property 

on the same terms and conditions in the notice, provided any non-cash consideration may be paid 

in cash at fair market value. Effective July 1, 2021. (Sent to Governor) 

 

SB222 – Amends the definition of “bullying” to include behavior that is unwanted, aggressive, 

involves a power imbalance and is repeated. Requires local school boards to update existing 

discipline and bullying policies annually and specifies that policies contain a broader reporting 

structure for incidents of bullying, protections for anyone reporting bullying in good faith, 

required notification of parents of an identified bullying victim within twenty-four hours of an 

initial report, or immediately in instances where suicidal ideation is suspected. The policy must 

be developed with input from stakeholders and community members and the district must 

provide a report to the school board on bullying prevention activities and reported incidents each 

semester. Effective July 1, 2021. 

 

SB403 – Makes it unlawful for any person(s) to interfere with or disrupt the business or public 

meetings of a political subdivision. Effective upon its passage and approval. (Sent to Governor) 

 

SB619 – Permits the governing body of any school to obtain liability insurance coverage to 

protect a student who participates in an apprenticeship, internship or mentorship program. 

Prohibits schools from charging the student or parent for the cost of providing insurance. 

Requires the State Board of Education to review apprenticeships, internships and mentorships to 

determine if they are eligible for academic credit toward graduation. Effective July 1, 2021. 

  

SB658 – Requires the State Department of Education to provide and ensure every school district 

details the state’s vaccination requirements for enrollment, including the possibility for 

exemption, on the district’s website and any vaccine-related publication or notice. Additionally, 

the measure prohibits local school boards from imposing mask mandates without detailing the 

specific purposes for the mandate and consulting with the local county health department. Any 

such mandate must be reconsidered at each regularly scheduled board meeting, during which 

local citizens may challenge the mandate by providing evidence in the form of relevant studies, 

as defined in the bill, and related documentation showing mask wearing can cause significant 

adverse effects. Effective July 1, 2021. 

  

SB1032 – Makes permanent additions to the Open Meetings Act requiring all public bodies that 

maintain a website and utilize a high-speed internet connection, to stream all meetings on the 

website and post meeting recordings after concluding, if such actions are practicable. Also 

authorizes any public body headquartered in a county subject to a declared state of emergency to 

meet via teleconference or videoconference, with all related requirements and exemptions 

applicable to public bodies statewide under the COVID-19 emergency. Effective upon its 

passage and approval. 

 

 
School Sites  

(New) HB1124 – Creates the State Broadband Deployment Grant Program, directing the 

Oklahoma Department of Commerce with the participation and advice of the Rural Broadband 
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Expansion Council to issue competitive grants to promote expansions of broadband internet 

services in the state. Creates a revolving fund within the treasury to support the program. 

Effective November 1, 2021. 

 

HB2662 / SB128 – Creates the Seizure-Safe Schools Act, requiring each school site with a 

student who is known to have a seizure disorder, to have at least one employee who has training 

to administer or assist with self-administration of seizure medication and recognize symptoms of 

seizures and take steps to respond by Jan. 1, 2022. The State Board of Education may develop 

rules to assist in the development and implementation of the program. Lastly, school employees 

who take actions in compliance with the act are exempt from disciplinary proceedings and will 

have immunity from civil liability. Effective upon its passage and approval. (Sent to Governor) 

  

SB54 – Requires the State Department of Education to designate a school district or individual 

campus as a Purple Star Campus if the school or district applies for the designation and agrees to 

provide certain services benefiting military-connected students and their families, in addition to 

offering related professional development for staff. Effective November 1, 2021. 
 

SB1033 – Clarifies that a retail marijuana dispensary established on or after November 1, 2019 

will not be in jeopardy of losing its license in the event that a school building came to be located 

within 1,000 feet of the dispensary at a later date. Effective November 1, 2021. 

  

  

State Board/Dept. of Education 

HB1018 – Repeals the required publication and distribution of the biennial school laws book by 

the State Department of Education. Effective November 1, 2021. 

  

HB1090 – Permits the State Auditor and Inspector and the Auditor’s Performance Audit 

Division, to examine books and accounts of public officers and other governmental entities 

independent of a request by the Governor, a government entity’s CEO, or a concurrent resolution 

of the Legislature. Effective July 1, 2021. (Sent to Governor) 

   

HB2223 – Requires the State Department of Education to maintain the dyslexia handbook 

created by the Dyslexia and Education Taskforce by making revisions and additions as 

recommended by stakeholders every three years. The Department must consult with each 

member of the original task force, if available, during the revision process. Any revisions must 

include, but are not limited to, specified criteria for assisting school districts in screening for 

dyslexia and educating students who have dyslexia. Effective November 1, 2021. 

 

HB2462 – Reauthorizes the State Department of Education to enter into contracts and 

agreements for expenses necessary to host, or participate in, conferences or training sessions. 

Enables the Department to create accounts for the collection and distribution of funds from 

sponsors or registration fees related to conferences and training sessions. Effective upon its 

passage and approval. (Sent to Governor) 

   

HB2932 – Prohibits any agency or other entity organized within the executive branch from using 

federal funds from the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act in a way 

that will, or will be likely to increase the demand for state-appropriated funds without the express 

authorization of the state Legislature, beginning in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, and 
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every following fiscal year. These requirements also apply to any federal funds allocated by an 

act of Congress or federal agency rules authorized by the federal government on or after 

December 1, 2020. Effective upon its passage and approval. 

 

SB585 – Expands the definition of willful or habitual neglect of duty, for which a state officer 

may be removed from office to include knowingly giving false testimony to a legislative 

committee, knowingly engaging in operations beyond the constitutional or statutory authority 

delegated to the officer’s agency, or repeatedly refusing to provide information to a legislative 

committee or legislator in a timely manner. For the purposes of the bill, “timely manner” means 

no more than fifteen (15) business days from the date the request for information was received, 

unless extended by written agreement. Effective November 1, 2021. (Sent to Governor) 

   

 

Trauma-Informed/Mental Health 

HB1103 – Requires public schools to administer the Oklahoma Prevention Needs Assessment 

(OPNA) survey every two years beginning in the 2022-2023 school year, for the purpose of 

improving student mental health and substance abuse outcomes. Requires ODMHSAS to assist 

in administering the survey, maintain all collected data, and develop a waiver process allowing 

schools to administer an alternate assessment to meet the requirement. Lastly, the Assessment 

will only be administered as federal funding is available. Effective November 1, 2021. 

  

HB1568 – Creates Maria’s Law, requiring the State Board of Education to mandate that all 

schools provide instruction in mental health, emphasizing the interrelation between physical and 

mental well-being, beginning with the 2022-2023 school year. Requires the Board, in 

consultation ODMHSAS, to revise the Oklahoma Academic Standards for Health and Physical 

Education and develop age-appropriate resources for students in grades K-12, which will be 

made available on the Department of Education website. Additionally, local school districts may 

enter inter agreements with nonprofits and other community partners to provide this education to 

students. Directs the Board to develop rules to implement the provisions. Effective November 1, 

2021. 

 

SB21 – Requires, rather than permits, local boards of education to adopt a policy regarding 

district-wide suicide awareness training for staff and reporting student drug abuse, beginning in 

the 2021-2022 school year. Districts may provide suicide awareness training to students grade 7-

12 beginning in the 2022-2023 school year. Effective July 1, 2021. (Sent to Governor) 

 

 

Failed Deadline/Vote 

HB1002 – Eliminates the statute of limitations for civil action against individuals accused of 

childhood sexual abuse, while lengthening the same statute of limitations for corporate entities 

and organizations to 30 years. The measure allows a five-year window for the filing of 

retroactive claims for childhood sexual abuse for those persons who were previously barred from 

filing due to the time limitation. The revival of a claim does not apply to any claim that has been 

litigated to finality; or to any written settlement agreement which has been entered into between 

the plaintiff and defendant. Effective November 1, 2021. 

 

HB1027 – Requires the State Board of Education and Department of Mental Health and 

Substance Abuse Services (ODMHSAS), in consultation with school superintendents, to develop 
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and offer training for school employees on violence de-escalation, in addition to existing training 

addressing student mental health. The training will include information concerning trauma-

informed teaching, self-regulation practices for students and staff, and trauma-informed response 

protocols for addressing behavior with a positive and compassionate approach. Effective 

November 1, 2021. 

 

HB2083 – Creates a five-year schedule to progressively reduce to zero Oklahoma taxable 

income for the calculation of corporate income tax for certain local and foreign corporations by 

20 percent each year, beginning in January 2022. Outlines the Legislature’s intent to make 

modifications to offset potential revenue losses and to ensure that revenues to the Education 

Reform Revolving (HB 1017) Fund, the Teachers’ Retirement System, and the Ad Valorem 

Reimbursement Fund are not adversely affected. Estimated to decrease income tax collections by 

$32.3 million and $99.9 million in fiscal years 2022 and 2023 respectively. Effective January 1, 

2022. 

 

HB2388 – Allows school districts to provide age-appropriate instruction on social-emotional 

learning, beginning with the 2022-2023 school year. “Social emotional learning” is defined as 

the process through which children and adults manage emotions, set and achieve positive goals, 

feel and show empathy, maintain positive relationships, and make responsible decisions. The 

State Department of Education may create or offer accurate instructional materials on social-

emotional learning on the Department’s website, with districts retaining the right to create or 

implement their own instructional materials. Effective November 1, 2021. 
 

HB2399 – Allows students in 11th or 12th grade whose parents became deceased after their 10th 

grade year and whose adoptive parents have a federal adjusted gross income of less than $60,000 

per year, to be eligible for the Oklahoma Higher Learning Access Program (OHLAP), also 

known as Oklahoma’s Promise. Effective November 1, 2021. 
 

HB2588 – Allows local school boards to authorize school staff possessing a handgun license and 

having demonstrated proficiency in handgun and campus-specific active shooter training to carry 

a handgun on school property. To be eligible, an employee must successfully complete four 

hours of weapon retention training certified by the Council on Law Enforcement Education and 

Training (CLEET) and four hours of campus-specific active shooter training as determined by 

the appropriate local law enforcement agency. The above training is to be conducted biannually. 

Effective July 1, 2021. 

 

HB2727 – Allows “Adulting 101” to be taught as an elective class in public schools subject to 

the availability of funding. Instruction may include information on various topics including 

cooking, automobile maintenance, applying and interviewing for jobs, basic financial skills, 

career pathways, and stress management and may be taught in grades 6-12. Schools may 

incorporate the curriculum into existing courses and partner with nonprofits, the career and 

technology system, or other programs approved by the State Department of Education. Lastly, 

the Department may develop rules to oversee these provisions. Effective November 1, 2021. 
 

HB2755 – Requires a sponsoring school district to provide any sponsored charter school(s) the 

opportunity to submit capital projects for inclusion in any bond proposal submitted by the district 

and ensure the value of the projects is proportional to the charter’s enrollment. Any property 

purchased for the charter’s capital projects will be owned by the issuing school district, unless 
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the charter operates within the physical boundaries of the sponsor. Upon ceasing operations, the 

charter’s bond-purchased property will default to the sponsoring school district. Effective 

November 1, 2021. 
 

SB51 – Removes the requirement for alternatively and traditionally certified teachers to pass the 

general education portions of competency examinations to become certified. Effective July 1, 

2021. 
 

SB238 – Creates a taskforce until December 31, 2021 to explore a requirement for high school 

students to complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) prior to graduation. 

The nine-member taskforce will be composed of education stakeholders and include the State 

Superintendent of Public Instruction or a designee. Effective July 1, 2021. 
 

SB895 – Authorizes the director of a state agency to choose a public or certified public 

accountant, selected according to existing procedures, to conduct regular audits in lieu of the 

State Auditor and Inspector. The agency director may ask the State Auditor for a cost estimate of 

the audit to help in the selection process and must notify the State Auditor of the decision to use 

the alternative audit procedure.  Any alternative audit report must be submitted to OMES by 

October 15 for the Comprehensive Annual Financial Report. Effective November 1, 2021. 
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