To ensure appropriate social distancing, OSDE staff members are available by appointment only. Please reach out to any staff or department for help.

Diverse Learners


Contact

Questions regarding Diverse Learner support and resources?

Cindy Koss
Deputy Superintendent for Student Learning and Achievement
405-522-6369
cindy.koss@sde.ok.gov

Julian Guerrero
Executive Director of American Indian Education
405-522-5311
julian.guerrero@sde.ok.gov

Jennifer McKay
Senior Director of Early Childhood
405-522-0638
jennifer.mckay@sde.ok.gov

Dan Ruhl
Executive Director of English Language Proficiency
405-522-1220
daniel.ruhl@sde.ok.gov

Yuseli Freire
English Language Proficiency Assessment & Monitoring Specialist
405-522-0862
yuseli.freire@sde.ok.gov

Robbyn Glinnsman
Director of Gifted and Talented & Advanced Placement
405-522-3522
robbyn.glinnsman@sde.ok.gov

Todd Loftin
Executive Director for Special Education Services
405-522-3237
todd.loftin@sde.ok.gov

Mark Sharp
Executive Director of SoonerStart
405-522-4880
mark.sharp@sde.ok.gov

Who are Diverse Learners?

Diverse Learners include children and students of all abilities from racially, ethnically, culturally, and linguistically diverse backgrounds. 

Purpose of the Diverse Learner Team

1. Provide equitable access and supports for diverse learners to thrive as individuals.
2. Provide supports for teachers to understand and implement the strategies needed for diverse learners.
3. Provide research and information in order to change the way we think about Tier I instruction for all learners.
4. Provide meaningful data to implement cross-sector opportunities to support diverse learners.
5. Provide ways for educators to identify their own biases and recognize cultural differences in order to better serve diverse learners.

Diverse Learner Presentation- Who Are Diverse Learners?

Our Focus Areas

 

Back to Top
Share This Page!
Last updated on April 23, 2020