Youth Senate Delegates, Alternates Named

The Oklahoma State Department of Education recently announced two state delegates and two alternates to participate in the 51st Annual United States Senate Youth Program.

Selected as delegates are Johnathan Thomas Young of Vian High School in the Vian School District and Emma Jane Hutchison of Putnam City North High School in the Putnam City School District.

First Alternate is Daniel Lee Pae of Lawton High School in the Lawton School District. Second Alternate is Dylan Matthew Oney of Muskogee High School in the Muskogee School District.

“I’m thrilled for these students to be selected to view their national government in action,” State Superintendent Janet Barresi said. “A very important part of my C3 agenda is to ensure that each student graduating an Oklahoma high school is college, career and citizen ready. The third ‘C’ ensures students become active participants in our system of government, ensuring their freedom and that of future generations.”

The students will be recognized at a future State Board of Education meeting.

Established in 1962 by U.S. Senate Resolution, the Annual United States Senate Youth Program selects two student leaders and two alternates from each state, the District of Columbia, and the Department of Defense Education Activity.

Nominations are by principal invitation only. Selection is based on the students' outstanding abilities and demonstrated qualities of leadership in an elected or appointed high school student office for the 2011-2012 school year. Students can only serve as a delegate and receive a USSYP scholarship only once.

To be eligible, a student must be a junior or senior in an Oklahoma high school during the current year of the competition, be a permanent resident of the United States, and be enrolled in a public or private secondary school in Oklahoma.

The Youth Senate program will be held in Washington, D. C., from March 2-9, 2013. The students will spend a week in Washington experiencing their national government in action. Delegates will hear major policy addresses by senators, cabinet members, officials for the Departments of State and Defense, and directors of federal agencies, as well as participate in a meeting with a Justice of the U.S. Supreme Court. Each delegate will be awarded a $5,000 College Scholarship for undergraduate studies. The William Randolph Hearst Foundation will pay all expenses for the Washington Week.

The Oklahoma State Department of Education coordinates and implements the United States Senate Youth Program on a yearly basis. The Director of Social Studies Education in the Office of Instruction on behalf of State Superintendent Janet Barresi oversees the program. Questions about the U.S. Senate Youth Program scholarship may be directed to Mr. Kelly Curtright, Director of Social Studies Education, at

Back to Top
Share This Page!
Last updated on December 8, 2017