Governor's ACE Awards Given to 188 School Districts


 Governor Mary Fallin, State Superintendent of Public Instruction Janet Barresi, Former Governor Brad Henry and State Legislators honored 188 school districts with the Governor’s ACE Award at a celebratory luncheon on Monday, March 4, 2013, at the Oklahoma History Center.

The Governor’s Ace Award was given to school districts in which 100 percent of the seniors of the Class of 2012 met all graduation requirements, including Achieving Classroom Excellence (ACE). ACE, which was enacted in 2005 under Gov. Brad Henry, requires that high school seniors, beginning with the Class of 2012, prove proficiency on four of seven end-of-instruction exams before graduation.

“To continue to create jobs and grow our economy, it’s critical to raise Oklahoma’s academic performance and develop a highly skilled workforce," Gov. Mary Fallin said. "The ACE requirements help ensure that upon graduation Oklahoma’s students are ready for success at the college level and beyond. The schools receiving the Governor’s ACE Award are great examples of what we can achieve when we raise our expectations for students. Congratulations to the teachers, administrators, parents and students of these schools for achieving academic excellence. These schools not only are giving our students a great education, but they are helping us develop the workforce we need to compete in the global economy.”  

Superintendent Barresi said, "I am very proud of this achievement by so many of our school districts. The educators in these schools, the students and the parents worked hard to achieve proficiency on core end-of-instruction exams. This bipartisan reform has ensured this hard work will be rewarded with students better prepared for the rigors of college, careers and life."

Former Gov. Brad Henry said, "I am thankful to have been involved from the beginning with this significant legislation. Making sure students learn basic math, English, history and science skills before they graduate high school will give them a better chance of success in their next phases of life."

School districts receiving the Governor’s ACE Award are:

Achille, Adair, Agra, Alex, Aline-Cleo, Antlers, Arapaho-Butler, Arkoma, Arnett, Asher, Balko, Barnsdall, Battiest, Beaver, Beggs, Berryhill, Big Pasture, Billings, Blair, Bluejacket, Boise City, Bokoshe, Boone-Apache, Boswell, Braggs, Bray-Doyle, Bristow, Buffalo, Buffalo Valley, Burlington, Burns Flat-Dill City, Butner, Byng, Cache, Calumet, Canadian, Caney, Canute, Cashion, Cave Springs, Central High, Chattanooga, Cherokee, Cheyenne, Chickasha, Claremore, Colbert, Cordell, Covington-Douglas, Coyle, Cyrill, Dale, Davenport, Davidson, Davis, Deer Creek-Lamont, Discovery Schools of Tulsa, Dover, Duke, Dustin, Eldorado, Elmore City-Pernell, Empire, Erick, Fargo, Felt, Forgan, Fort Cobb-Broxton, Fort Supply, Foyil, Frederick, Freedom, Fort Towson, Gans, Glencoe, Goodwell, Gore, Grandfield, Granite, Harding Charter Preparatory High School, Hartshorne, Haworth, Henessey, Henryetta, Hobart, Hollis, Hominy, Howe, Hulbert, Indiahoma, Indianola, Jones, Keota, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Konawa, Kremlin-Hillsdale, Laverne, Leedey, LeFlore, Lexington, Lomega, Lone Grove, Lone Wolf, Marlow, Mason, Maud, Maysville, McCurtain, Medford, Miami, Midway, Mill Creek, Minco. Mountain View-Gotebo, Mulhall Orlando, Oilton, Okarche, Okeene, Oklahoma Union, Oktaha, Olustee, Panola, Paoli, Pawnee, Perkins-Tryon, Perry, Pittsburg, Pocola, Pond Creek-Hunter, Porter Consolidated, Prague, Preston, Prue, Quapaw, Rattan, Reydon, Ringwood, Ripley, Rock Creek, Roff, Rush Springs, Ryan, Sasakwa, Savanna, Sayre, Schulter, Seminole, Sentinel, Sharon-Mutual, Shattuck, Skiatook, Soper, Stonewall, Stratford, Stringtown, Stuart, Sweetwater, Taloga, Temple, Texhoma, Thomas Fay Custer, Tipton, Tishomingo, Turner, Turpin, Tushka, Tyrone, Union City, Velma-Alma, Verden, Verdigris, Vian, Vici, Wanette, Wapanucka, Washington, Waukomis, Wayne, Webbers Falls, Welch, Weleetka, Wellston, Whitesboro, Wilson, Wright City, Wynona, Yarbrough

Back to Top
Share This Page!
Last updated on October 4, 2018