Banner Headline

Supt. Hofmeister praises Oklahoma students named to prestigious U.S. Senate Youth Program

OKLAHOMA CITY (Jan. 16, 2015) – Two Oklahoma high school students have been named this year’s state delegates to the prestigious 53rd annual U.S. Senate Youth Program (USSYP).

Mohamed Aly, a junior in the International Baccalaureate program at Booker T. Washington High School in Tulsa, and John Teague, who attends Mount St. Mary Catholic High School in Oklahoma City, will join 102 other delegates from around the country for an exclusive week this spring in Washington D.C.

Trenton Thornburg from Dale High School and Matthew Welborn from Norman North High School were chosen as alternates.

“Congratulations to these great students. I know their parents and teachers are proud to see them representing Oklahoma in our nation’s capital, and I am, too. They seized the opportunity to lead in their communities, and this recognition gives them even more momentum to pursue their goals. I can’t wait to hear more about them in the future,” state Superintendent of Public Instruction Joy Hofmeister said.

Aly serves as the captain of the varsity academic team at his school. He is an Eagle Scout and the advocacy committee chair for the Youth Philanthropy Initiative Cohort 7 in Tulsa. He said he hopes to become an entrepreneur and change the world through a love of learning.

Teague is vice president of the National Honor Society at his school. He is active in Youth Leadership Oklahoma and has been a page for the Oklahoma State Senate. He said he is interested in working for the government and might run for political office one day. He is the first USSYP delegate from Mount St. Mary.

Both were nominated by the Oklahoma State Department of Education after going through an application process that adhered to high standards set by the USSYP.

On March 7, two student leaders from every U.S. state, Washington D.C. and the U.S. Department of Defense school system will arrive in the nation’s capital for a week-long look at how the country functions. They will meet with prominent officials from every branch of government and related fields, including members of Congress, the President, a Supreme Court justice, an ambassador and members of the media.

Each will also receive a $5,000 undergraduate college scholarship.

The USSYP has been sponsored by the U.S. Senate and fully-funded by The Hearst Foundation since its inception in 1962.

Delegates generally rank academically in the top percent of their states, and they have shown great leadership ability and a commitment to volunteer work.

For more information on the USSYP in Oklahoma, visit:






Back to Top
Share This Page!
Last updated on January 18, 2015