Four Oklahoma schools named to National Blue Ribbon Schools list

OKLAHOMA CITY (September 30, 2016) – The U.S. Department of Education this week named four Oklahoma public schools 2016 National Blue Ribbon Schools for their academic excellence.
Oklahoma’s 2016 National Blue Ribbon Schools are Booker T. Washington High School (Tulsa Public Schools), L. Mendel Rivers Elementary School in Altus (Altus Public Schools), Northwood Elementary School in Piedmont (Piedmont Public Schools) and Sadler Arts Academy in Muskogee (Muskogee Public Schools).
“The annual National Blue Ribbon Schools designation acknowledges the very best of our nation’s schools,” said State Superintendent of Public Instruction Joy Hofmeister. “We are thrilled to recognize the accomplishments of each of these exceptional schools. Doors to the highest levels of learning can only be opened when communities of learners, teachers, administrators, staff, parents and others collaborate to achieve the highest outcomes for all students.
“We are at a crossroads in Oklahoma education. The challenges are many; the opportunities even greater. The schools we are recognizing this year should serve as examples for us as we work together to champion excellence in Oklahoma schools. We are proud of their accomplishments and grateful for the work they do every day to lift student outcomes and build a strong future for Oklahoma.”
The U.S. Department of Education named 329 National Blue Ribbon Schools this year. All will be honored in a ceremony Nov. 7-8 in Washington, D.C.
Back to Top
Last updated on September 30, 2016