Hofmeister congratulates six National Blue Ribbon Schools in Oklahoma

Oklahoma City (September 28, 2017) – Six Oklahoma public schools were named 2017 National Blue Ribbon Schools today for their overall academic performance. Each was honored in the Exemplary High Performing Schools category.
Oklahoma’s 2017 National Blue Ribbon Schools are Centennial Elementary School and Cheyenne Middle School in Edmond (Edmond Public Schools), Grove Valley Elementary School in Edmond (Deer Creek Public Schools), Dove Science Academy in Oklahoma City, Earl Harris Elementary School in Bethany (Bethany Public Schools) and Westwood Elementary School in Stillwater (Stillwater Public Schools).
State Superintendent of Public Instruction Joy Hofmeister acknowledged the effort that went into the prestigious awards.
“High levels of academic achievement require visionary leadership, exceptional educators who prioritize meeting the needs of students every day and the support of engaged families,” Hofmeister said. “We congratulate these six educational communities for being recognized as among the very best in the United States.
“I am inspired by the effort and teamwork that went into this accomplishment and the high bar these schools are setting for their faculty and students.”
The U.S. Department of Education named 342 National Blue Ribbon Schools this year. All winners will be honored in a ceremony Nov. 6-7 in Washington D.C.
Back to Top
Last updated on September 28, 2017