Edmond, Claremore students selected as U.S. Presidential Scholars

OKLAHOMA CITY (May 9, 2018) – Three Oklahoma students have been named U.S. Presidential Scholars, one of the nation’s highest honors for high school students, by the U.S. Department of Education.

Each year, up to 161 graduating seniors are named Presidential Scholars for their accomplishments in academics, the arts and career and technical education fields. Heritage Hall Upper School students Michael P. Gehr and Michael Mandanas of Edmond and Oologah High School’s Jamie E. Marrara of Claremore were selected from Oklahoma.

“These students exemplify leadership in their schools and communities,” said State Superintendent of Public Instruction Joy Hofmeister. “We are so proud of their educational accomplishments and are confident they will represent Oklahoma well on the national stage.”

Other Oklahoma semifinalists were Jenny Ha of Western Heights High School in Oklahoma City and Keegan R. Myers and Bethany A. Paris of Edmond North High School.

The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars selects scholars annually based on their academic success, artistic excellence, essays, school evaluations and transcripts, as well as evidence of community service, leadership and demonstrated commitment to high ideals.

Students chosen as U.S. Presidential Scholars receive an expenses-paid trip to Washington, D.C., in June and are presented the U.S. Presidential Scholars medallion at a ceremony sponsored by the White House. Scholars also have access to important national and international figures, including government officials, educators, authors, musicians and scientists.

“This once-in-a-lifetime opportunity will position these young scholars to continue their engagement, leadership and scholarship in an even more impactful way as they embark on distinguished postsecondary careers,” said Hofmeister.

In the fall, Marrara plans to continue her education at Yale University, while Gehr will be at Washington University in St. Louis and Mandanas at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT).



Photos from top to bottom: Michael P. Gehr, Michael Mandanas and Jamie E. Marrara



Back to Top
Last updated on May 9, 2018