Hofmeister announces 74 members of 2019 Student Advisory Council

OKLAHOMA CITY (Dec. 17, 2018) – State Superintendent of Public Instruction Joy Hofmeister today announced that 74 Oklahoma high school students have been named to her 2019 Student Advisory Council, the fourth consecutive year the group has been convened to assist Hofmeister and the Oklahoma State Department of Education (OSDE) in matters of policy.

“These are among Oklahoma’s best and brightest high school leaders, and we look forward to learning more about the student perspective on matters of school policy,” said Hofmeister. “Working with these outstanding young people is a highlight of every spring, and their input on topics as diverse as bullying, career readiness and school funding has been instrumental to our state-level decision-making.”

The students, nominated by their district superintendents, hail from across Oklahoma and represent rural, urban and suburban schools of all sizes. Nineteen are returning members who have served on the council in previous years.

The first meeting of Superintendent Hofmeister’s Student Advisory Council is scheduled for Jan. 31, 2019, in Senate Room 535 of the Oklahoma State Capitol.

“We are excited to usher in a new class of our Student Advisory Council,” said Hofmeister. “The commitment to civic engagement among these students is exemplary and ensures that our state’s leadership will be in excellent hands in the years and decades to come.”

Full Name School/District
McHale Baker Oologah-Talala
Rio Bonham Madill
Katrina Bottoms Watts
Zile Cao Norman
Beverlee Caraway Pryor
Kate Carpenter Stillwater
Kassidee Chouteau Wynona
Charla Christian Hobart
Alvaro Cisneros Hinton
Karigan Clay Idabel
Caylea Coles Keys
Isabell Cook  Jones
Gentry Cox Duncan
Magdaline Dansby Latta
Isabella Darby Altus
Cydnee Davis Perry
Chase Dooling Hominy
Tapanga Fairless Sayre
Kielee Ferrell Tulsa
Jayke Flaggert Choctaw-Nicoma
Josie Frazier Hugo
Maximilian Glasgow Geary
Kilie Goins Broken Arrow
Kailey Guinn Porter
Valencia Herrero Putnam City
Paula Hickerson Snyder
Makenna Hill Frederick
Caleb Horn Mustang
Bree Kisling Chisholm 
Garrett Knowles Arnett
Caleb Laverty Shattuck
Raigen Leflore McAlester
Tayten Lierle Hydro-Eakly
Madeline Loosen Kingfisher
Brayden Love Woodward
Seth McCaa Elmore City-Pernell
Sydney McClaskey Tecumseh
Chance McGill Barnsdall
Luzviminda McKinsey Watonga
Taryn McLaughlin Mid-Del
Lexie Mclntosh Stuart
Victoria Middleton Chouteau-Mazie
Jada Montgomery Carnegie
Payton Moody Hartshorne
Lexi Mosqueda Elk City
Emma Nance Sallisaw
Mary Neal Enid
Mason Norton Glenpool
Julie Nowlin  Mannford
Cormell Padillow Langston Hughes Academy
Demetri Papahronis Edmond
Chanler Podany Durant
Coleman Prince  Ada 
Rocio Quihui Navajo
Payson Ramirez Blair
James Roth Tonkawa
Hunter Savage Silo
Gracie Scarbrough Alva
Elizabeth Schneider Seiling
Dawson Simeroth Yukon
Kobie Sloan Coyle
Lily Tennekoon Jenks
Parker Tidwell Piedmont
Perla Tovar Byng
Cory Trent Healdton
Brenna Tuttle Broken Bow 
James VanOrsdol Bristow
Corbin Walls Miami
William Wang OK School of Sci and Math
Colton Williams Prague
Stone Yang Bartesville 
Makenzie Yates Texhoma
PaShioun Young Idabel
Amine Zebri Dove Science Academy


Back to Top
Share This Page!
Last updated on December 18, 2018