Hofmeister announces new members of Student Advisory Council

OKLAHOMA CITY (Dec. 30, 2019) – State Superintendent of Public Instruction Joy Hofmeister today announced that 104 Oklahoma high school students have been named to her 2020 Student Advisory Council, the fifth consecutive year the group has been convened to assist Hofmeister and the Oklahoma State Department of Education (OSDE) in matters of policy.

“As we continue to improve public education, it is imperative to gather feedback and insight directly from Oklahoma students,” Hofmeister said. “Each year I continue to be touched by the wisdom, hope and compassion of these amazing young people who represent their schools and communities.”

Dominant themes voiced by last year’s Student Advisory Council were the importance of personal financial literacy, increased awareness of student mental health needs, and how trauma affects chronic absenteeism and student success. Feedback from the Council has been instrumental in state-level initiatives to provide teachers more professional development in trauma-informed instruction, replace end-of-course high school testing with ACT or SAT, and pilot Individual Career Academic Planning (ICAP).

The students, recommended by their district superintendents, hail from across Oklahoma and represent rural, urban and suburban schools of all sizes. Twenty-four are returning members who have served on the council in previous years.

The first meeting of the Student Advisory Council is scheduled for 10 a.m., Jan. 29, in Room 535 of the State Capitol.

2020 Superintendent Student Advisory Council Full List

Name School
Landon Swopes Ada 
Grace Taylor Adair
Chance McGill* Barnsdall
Stone Yang* Bartesville 
Elijah Winter Bartlesville
John Clemmons Bethel
Rylie Pass Bray Doyle
James VanOrsdol* Bristow
Kilie Goins* Broken Arrow
Perla Tovar* Byng
Jadyn Pitts Chisholm
Alyssa Payne Choctaw-Nicoma
Alexia Aston Clinton
Connor Williams Clinton
Kobie Sloan* Coyle
Nathan Slater Deer Creek
Khushi Patel Dove Schools OKC
Joseph Brewer Dove Schools Tulsa
Elise Thompson Dove Science OKC (charter)
Amine Zebri* Dove Science OKC (charter)
Raylee Conn Duncan
Gentry Cox* Duncan
Grace Ahlgrim Edmond
Gabriella Chisholm Edmond
Payton Shears Edmond
Delaney York Elgin
Eduardo Bustillos Elk City
Landon Geitzenauer Enid
Emily Sanders Epic Charter
Caedmon Brooks* Epic Charter School
Bree Phelps Fox
Makenna Hill* Frederick
Andruw Hoopes Garber
Maximilian Glasgow* Geary
Jake Lammes Guymon
Joshua Harvey Healdton
Luke Spady Hinton
Jenny Hoyle Hobart
Chase Dooling* Hominy
Brayden Oglesby Howe
Tayten Lierle* Hydro-Eakly
Kaelin Clay Idabel
Maya Reeves Jenks
Tessa Dorrell Jones
Dylan Murrell Kiefer
Jolie Jackson Kingston
Magdaline Dansby* Latta
Caroline Skaggs Latta
Alexandra Kasper LeFlore
Connor Walker Lomega
Brandon Serrano Madill
Joshlyn Tomlin Merritt
Corbin Walls* Miami
Malayna Stober Mid-Del
Rocio Quihui* Navajo
Jordan Ashley Newcastle
Zile Cao* Norman
Kaylee Eyabl Norman
Legend Collins OKCPS
Erin Williams OKCPS
Elizabeth Carlson Oklahoma Connections Academy
Amy Brooks Oklahoma School of Science & Math
Natalie Rojo Oklahoma Virtual Charter Academy
Brianna Harris Okmulgee
Gracie Pendley Oktaha
Matthew Garrison Oologah-Talala
Isabel Cevallos Owasso
Mitchell Hartwig Perry
David Fuentez Piedmont
Lily Humphries Piedmont
Raigen LeFlore Pittsburg
Jentri Rayburn Plainview
Phoenix Klein Poteau
Nikki Padilla Pryor
Ryan Maynard Purcell
Valencia Herrero* Putnam City
Brittney Luong Putnam City
Trakel Pinkston Putnam City
Morgan McClellan Rattan
Mariah Martin Ringling
Sean Kuehn Sand Springs
Heather Sparks Sapulpa
Carter Johnson Seminole
Caleb Laverty* Shattuck
Marleigh Merrell Shawnee
Cord McDonald Silo
Paula Hickerson* Snyder
Paeton Watkins Stillwater
Nickolas Simons Stilwell
Zackary Clark Stuart
Hannah Holder Sulphur
Ayzia Shirey Tecumseh
Ashton Linton Tonkawa
Julian Paul Tulsa
Tyla Webb* Tulsa
Jaden Johnston Velma-Alma
Katrina Bottoms* Watts
Landry Forsyth Waurika
Erin Slagell Weatherford
Callie "Madison" Stephens* Weatherford
Nicholas Sayegh Western Heights
Morgan Francis Wilburton
Zoe Routh Woodward
Raelyn Beene Wright City
Back to Top
Share This Page!
Last updated on December 30, 2019