Hofmeister congratulates students chosen for U.S. Senate Youth Program

Having trouble viewing this email? View it as a Web page.
Press Release State Seal  

Carrie Burkhart
Director of Communications
(405) 521-3371, c: (405) 760-7881

Erin Corbin
Communications Specialist
(405) 521-3375

Annette Price
Communications Specialist
(405) 521-6647



Hofmeister congratulates students chosen for U.S. Senate Youth Program 

OKLAHOMA CITY (Feb. 26, 2021) – Two Oklahoma high school students have been named state delegates to the 59th annual U.S. Senate Youth Program (USSYP), which brings together outstanding student leaders from every state. 

Sean Kuehn from Charles Page High School in Sand Springs and Julian Ober from Union High School in Tulsa will join 102 other delegates from around the country March 14-17 for a highly interactive, virtual education and leadership forum.  

Sean and Julian have demonstrated exemplary leadership in their schools and communities,” said State Superintendent of Public Instruction Joy Hofmeister. “I congratulate them on their remarkable academic accomplishments and am delighted they will be representing Oklahoma on the national stage.” 

Sean Kuehn

Kuehn is a member of Hofmeister’s Student Advisory Council and serves as the national president of the Technology Student Association. Throughout high school, he has been a member of the Gold Pride Marching Band, the National Honor Society and captain of the academic team. Sean volunteers at the Tulsa City County Library and for the American Cancer Society. He plans to attend Columbia University and major in political science.  

Julian Ober

Ober served as the co-facilitator of the Youth Philanthropy Initiative. She is a member of the Student Athlete Advisory Council, Union Superintendents Student Advisory Council,  and the captain of the tennis team. She has served as the District 3 president of Family Career and Community Leaders of America. Ober plans to go to college and study international affairs and women's, gender and sexuality studies. 

Elliott Kmetz from Norman High School and Priya George from Jenks High School were chosen as alternates.

During the forum, Kuehn and Ober will attend online meetings and briefings with senators, the president, a justice of the Supreme Court, leaders of cabinet agencies and senior members of the national media. Both students were chosen by Hofmeister after a rigorous application process that adhered to high standards set by the USSYP. 

The USSYP has been sponsored by the U.S. Senate and fully funded by the Hearst Foundation since its inception in 1962. The stated goal of USSYP is “to increase young Americans’ understanding of the interrelationships of the three branches of government, learn the caliber and responsibilities of federally elected and appointed officials and emphasize the vital importance of democratic decision making not only for America but people around the world.” 

Kuehn and Ober will also receive a $10,000 undergraduate college scholarship with encouragement to continue their studies in government, history and public affairs. 


Back to Top
Share This Page!
Last updated on February 26, 2021