OSDE announces $5.25 million in new 21st Century Community Learning Center grants

Press Release State Seal  

Carrie Burkhart
Director of Communications
(405) 521-3371, c: (405) 760-7881

Erin Corbin
Communications Specialist
(405) 521-3375

Annette Price
Communications Specialist
(405) 521-6647



OSDE announces $5.25 million in new
21st Century Community Learning Center grants 

OKLAHOMA CITY (Aug. 27, 2021) – The Oklahoma State Department of Education (OSDE) today announced more than $5.25 million in new 21st Century Community Learning Center (21st CCLC) grants over a five-year period in OklahomaThe 20 new recipients join 36 returning grantees for a total federally funded allocation of $13.5 million.

Schools and community partners are coming together to address learning gaps created because of disruptions to instruction during the pandemic,” said State Superintendent of Public Instruction Joy Hofmeister“These grant recipients are dedicated to serving students beyond the school day with activities that keep young minds and bodies engaged.” 

The 21st CCLC initiative provides learning opportunities and enrichment activities to complement school-day learning for students in pre-kindergarten through 12th grade. The grant funding helps students meet state and local academic performance standards, particularly in high-poverty areas and low-performing schools. Activities take place before and after school, on summer breaks and during school holidays. 

In addition to reading, math and tutoring assistance, 21st CCLC programs offer enrichment activities including robotics, chess, debate, art, music, drama, science, college and career exploration, health and physical fitness. Literacy and other educational supports are also available to the families of students served. 

Oklahoma received more than 50 21st CCLC grant applications this year. The 20 new grants give Oklahoma a total of 56 statewide grantees in over 100 sites. The new grantees include: 

  • Atoka Public Schools - $299,818
  • Cave Springs Public Schools - $236,384 
  • Checotah Public Schools - $237,932
  • Hartshorne Public Schools - $299,993
  • Hominy Public Schools - $228,856
  • Kingfisher Public Schools - $295,500
  • Lukfata Public Schools - $214,078 
  • Macomb Public Schools - $235,917 
  • Maud Public Schools - $278,736 
  • Miami Public Schools - $300,000 
  • Minco Public Schools - $192,481 
  • Sand Springs Public Schools - $300,000 
  • Shawnee Public Schools - $300,000 
  • Springer Public Schools - $152,110 
  • Stigler Public Schools - $ 264,095 
  • TOUCH Tulsa - $296,691
  • Varnum Public Schools - $300,000 
  • Westville Public Schools - $255,644 
  • Union Public Schools - $300,00 
  • Zion Public Schools - $260,901 

Authorized under Title IV, Part B of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act, as amended by the Every Student Succeeds Act, 21st CCLC provides annual awards through a competitive application process to both school districts and community-based organizations. 


Back to Top
Share This Page!
Last updated on August 27, 2021