Blue Ribbon Schools

National Blue Ribbon Schools Program

Recognizing Great American Schools Since 1982. The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program recognizes public and private elementary, middle, and high schools based on their overall academic excellence or their progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups. 

Every year the U. S. Department of Education seeks out and celebrates great American schools, schools demonstrating that all students can achieve to high levels.  The National Blue Ribbon School award affirms the hard work of students, educators, families, and communities in creating safe and welcoming schools where students master challenging content. The National Blue Ribbon School flag gracing an entry or flying overhead is a widely-recognized symbol of exemplary teaching and learning.

*Formally No Child Left Behind


Blue Ribbon Schools 2015-16 National Press Release 

Blue Ribbon Schools 2014-15 National Press Release 

Blue Ribbon Schools 2013-14 National Press Release

Program Details

Program Statute
Public Law 107-110 § 5411(b)(5)

Funding Source

Eligible Recipients
States may nominate elementary, middle and high schools where students achieve at very high levels and/or where the achievement gap is narrowing. At least one-third of the schools nominated from each state must have a student body with at least 40 percent being from disadvantaged backgrounds.

Performance Measures
Exemplary High Performing Schools - Regardless of the school's demographics or percentage of students from disadvantaged backgrounds, the school is high performing. These are schools that are ranked among a state's highest performing schools as measured by state assessments in both reading/language arts and mathematics or that score at the highest performance level on tests referenced by national norms in at least the most recent year tested.

Exemplary Improving Schools - These are schools with at least 40 percent of the students from disadvantaged backgrounds that have reduced the achievement gap by making the most progress in improving student performance in reading/language arts and mathematics on state assessments or tests referenced by national norms in at least the most recent year tested.


Award Recipients



School SiteDistrict
Centennial Elementary SchoolEdmond Public Schools
Cheyenne Middle SchoolEdmond Public Schools
Dove Science Academy -OKCDove Science
Earl Harris Elementary SchoolBethany Public Schools
Grove Valley Elementary SchoolDeer Creek Public Schools
Westwood Elementary SchoolStillwater Public Schools



School SiteDistrict
Booker T. Washington High SchoolTulsa Public Schools
Northwood Elementary SchoolPiedmont Public Schools
L. Mendel Rivers Elementary SchoolAltus Public Schools
Sadler Arts AcademyMuskogee Public Schools



School SiteDistrict
Carnegie Elementary SchoolCarnegie Public Schools
Flower Mound Elementary SchoolFlower Mound Public School
Harding Fine Arts AcademyOKC Charter: Harding Fine Arts
Schwartz Elementary SchoolMidwest City-Del City Public Schools
Tulsa School of Arts/SciencesTulsa Charter: School of Arts/Sciences



School SiteDistrict
Adair High SchoolAdair Public Schools
Bethany High SchoolBethany Public Schools
Edmond Doyle Elementary SchoolMcAlester Public Schools
Reydon Elementary SchoolReydon Public Schools
Southeast Elementary SchoolJenks Public Schools



School SiteDistrict
Bartlesville Mid-High SchoolBartlesville Public Schools
Central High Elementary SchoolCentral High Public Schools
Chisholm High SchoolChisholm Public Schools
Eisenhower International Elementary SchoolTulsa Public Schools

Harding Charter Preparatory High School

Oklahoma City Public Schools
Wayland Bonds Elementary SchoolMoore Public Schools












School SiteDistrict
Hoover Elementary SchoolEnid Public Schools
Hulbert Elementary SchoolHulbert Public Schools
KIPP Reach College Preparatory SchoolOklahoma City Public Schools
Pratt Elementary SchoolSand Springs Public Schools
Santa Fe High SchoolEdmond Public Schools
Waurika Elementary SchoolWaurika Public Schools



School SiteDistrict
Belle Isle Enterprise Middle SchoolOklahoma City Public Schools
Bishop Elementary SchoolBishop Public Schools
Carver Middle SchoolTulsa Public Schools
Cleveland Bailey Elementary SchoolMid-Del Schools
Deer Creek Prairie Vale Elementary SchoolDeer Creek Schools
Gilmour Elementary SchoolKingfisher Schools


Last updated on May 17, 2018