Personal School Board Member Training Attendance Log Journal Name				
Only school board members <b>elected or appointed on/after January 1, 2014</b> are subject to the training hours as listed on this form. [OAC 210:20-23-3, January 2014]				
Each local school board member may use this log journal to assure meeting the training as required by state law. This form is not an official report of attendance. Do not submit this form as it is intended for personal reference only.				
SEAT NUMBER /NEWor INCUMBENT /APR	POINTED DATE	/ ELECTED D	DATE	/ FIRST 15 MONTHS ENDS
Qualified training presentations must be in-state and must be a workshop, seminar, conference or convention presented by Oklahoma State Department of Education Oklahoma State School Boards Association, or approved local professional development program of board member's district. Any other program must have prior approval in writing by the State Department of Education.				
New Elected or New Appointed: 12 hours of qualified topics from list below is required within 15 months after the date of election/appointment.  Incumbent (in 2 <sup>nd</sup> consecutive elected term or greater): 6 hours of qualified topics is required within first 15 months after the date of election/appointment.				
*New Elected, New Appointed, and all Incumbents must complete 1 hour each of the below listed topics 1, 2 and 3 within their first 15 months. (If a person is appointed with less than 15 months remaining in that seat term from date of appointment, they are exempt from training for that term.)				
1. Public School Finance or Career Tech Finance*	1 Hour Attended	Date	City	Sponsor
2. Okla. Open Meetings Act and Open Records Act*	1 Hour Attended	Date	City	Sponsor
3. Ethics, Duties and Responsibilities*	1 Hour Attended	Date	City	Sponsor
Topics listed below or above qualify for the additional training hours required to meet points needed within the first 15 months. [OAC 210:20-23-3 January 2014]				
(A) Legal issues impacting local school districts	1 Hour Attended	Date	City	Sponsor
(B) School employment and due process	1 Hour Attended	Date		
(C) New laws	1 Hour Attended	Date		
(D) Special education laws	1 Hour Attended			Sponsor
(E) Legal issues related to school finance, or	1 Hour Attended			Sponsor
open meetings/records, or ethics, duties, responsibilities				

Continuing Education (CE) is required if elected to a full term: 15 hours for 5 year term; 12 hours for 4 year term; 9 hours for 3 year term. The CE hours are in addition to the 12 hours, or the 6 hours, that are required within first 15 months of a term. Approved CE instruction includes all in-state workshops, seminars, conferences, and/or conventions that are conducted by the Oklahoma State Department of Education, Oklahoma State School Boards Association, or approved local professional development program of board member's district. Other programs must have prior approval in writing from the Oklahoma State Department of Education.

A separate second page of this form may be used to record the Continuing Education training attendance hours as needed for each member's situation.

This personal journal is not to be utilized as an official report of attendance for local school board members.