Training Required for Public School Board Members Only if Elected or Appointed on/after January 1, 2014

Qualified school board training hours must be instruction provided at a workshop, conference, convention or seminar held in-state and conducted by the Oklahoma State Department of Education, or Oklahoma Department of Career and Technology, or the Oklahoma State School Boards Association, or an approved professional development program of the board member's district. Any other school board training program must have prior approval in writing from the Oklahoma State Department of Education and Department of Career and Technology to be qualified.

A **New** school board member elected or appointed must complete **12 hours** of instruction from topics listed below and their attendance must be completed within 15 months after the date elected or appointed. An **Incumbent** is a school board member elected to a second consecutive term (or greater) of the same school board seat, with no break in service. An **Incumbent** must complete **6 hours** of training within 15 months after the date of their election or appointment.

*A school board member appointed after 1/1/2014 to a seat with less than 15 months remaining in the term at time of appointment, and did not serve in the previous term, is exempt from school board training until end of the term. If this same appointee remains for a consecutive full term by election/appointment, all New board member training hours apply.

Required Training Topics for Elected or Appointed on/after January 2014		Number of Hours if Elected or Appointed on/after January 2014
1.	Public School Finance or if applicable Career and Technology Finance Must be within 15 months after election date or appointment date.	1 Hour minimum for New or Incumbent Elected or Appointed
2.	Oklahoma Open Records Act and Open Meetings Act Must be within 15 months after election date or appointment date.	1 Hour minimum for New or Incumbent Elected or Appointed
3.	Ethics / Ethical Issues Must be within 15 months after election date or appointment date.	1 Hour minimum for New or Incumbent Elected or Appointed
(A) (B) (C) (D)	In addition, any combination of A-E subjects listed below or above Must be within 15 months after election date or date appointed to board. Legal issues impacting local school districts School employment and due process law New laws Special Education laws Legal issues involving school finance	9 Hours minimum for New member (1st term Elected or Appointed 3 Hours minimum for Incumbent member Elected or Appointed
	*If an appointed member is exempt from the minimum hours of training, the appointee may attend approved topic classes as desired until the term ends.	*No minimum training hours for this appointed
	Continuing Education is required for any New or Incumbent board member elected to a full term after 1/1/14, in addition to their first 15 month training hours. Appointees may take continuing education approved topics as desired.	3 year term = 9 hours 4 year term = 12 hours 5 year term = 15 hours
Oklahor	ma local school board training information can be found in 70 O.S. § 5-110,110.1;and	OAC 210:20-23-3 and 4.