

MINUTES

of the

OKLAHOMA STATE TEXTBOOK COMMITTEE

February 9, 2024

The Oklahoma State Textbook Committee (STC) held a special meeting beginning on February 9, 2024.

Committee Chair designee Kendra Wesson called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

Shanda Finnell then called the roll.

The committee members that were present:

Kathryn Szallar Jay Rotert Jessica Thompson Sonya Covalt Holly Helm Terry Brandenburg Allison Kidney Melissa Pearce Committee Chair designee Kendra Wesson

The committee member absent: Kathryn Yarbrough Teresa Gerber

Committee Chair designee Kendra Wesson requested confirmation of posted agenda in compliance with Open Meeting Act. Shanda Finnell confirmed.

The next item on the agenda was discussion of, and possible action on, the minutes for the November 17, 2023 regularly scheduled meeting. Kathryn Szallar made a motion to accept the minutes. Sonya Covalt seconded the motion. Vote was called. Yes -9 -, Katheryn Szallar, Jay Rotert, Jessica Thompson, Sonya Covalt, Holly Helm, Terry Brandenburg, Allison Kidney, Melissa Pearce, and Kendra Wesson. No -0 - The motion passed.

The next item on the agenda was discussion and possible action of the proposed 2024-25 State Textbook Calendar, a schedule of events for the next fiscal year. Allison Kidney made a motion to accept the calendar. Holly Helm seconded the motion. Vote was called. Yes -9 -, Katheryn Szallar, Jay Rotert, Jessica Thompson, Sonya Covalt, Holly Helm, Terry Brandenburg, Allison Kidney, Melissa Pearce, and Kendra Wesson. No -0 - The motion passed.

The next item on the agenda was discussion and possible action on verifying the review process has been conducted in a scrupulous and fair manner for Savvas: Math K, 1, 2. Terry Brandenburg made a motion that the process was done in a Fair and scrupulous manner. Jay Rotert seconded the motion. Vote was called. Yes -9 -, Katheryn Szallar, Jay Rotert, Jessica Thompson, Sonya Covalt, Holly Helm, Terry Brandenburg, Allison Kidney, Melissa Pearce, and Kendra Wesson. No -0 - The motion passed.

The next item on the agenda was discussion and possible action on the careful examination of all books submitted for adoption; select textbooks in each subject area called for n the adoption; adopt a final rating for each textbook prior to including it on the textbook list required. a. Mathematics (pre-k through 12th grade): 1. Savvas Learning Company: K, 1, 2. Kathryn Szallar made a motion to approve the materials and change the final rating to Approaching Quality. Holly Helm seconded the motion. Vote was called. Yes – 9 –, Katheryn Szallar, Jay Rotert, Jessica Thompson, Sonya Covalt, Holly Helm, Terry Brandenburg, Allison Kidney, Melissa Pearce, and Kendra Wesson. No – 0 – The motion passed.

The next item on the agenda was discussion and possible action on the 2024-25 instructional material evaluation rubrics for: a. Fine Arts PK-12; b. Computer Science PK-12; c. Technology Education PK-12. Gateway 4, a new gateway, had a lot of discussion. Allison Kidney made a motion to approve all Fine Arts PK-12, Computer Science PK-12 and Technology Education PK-12 rubrics for 2024-25. Kathryn Szallar seconded the motion. Vote was called. Yes – 9 –, Katheryn Szallar, Jay Rotert, Jessica Thompson, Sonya Covalt, Holly Helm, Terry Brandenburg, Allison Kidney, Melissa Pearce, and Kendra Wesson. No – 0 – The motion passed.

The next item on the agenda was discussion and possible action on the 2024-25 Content Expert Review Team Application. Holly Helm made a motion to approve the 2024-25 Application with the date change of July 16 – 18^{th} . Sonya Covalt seconded the motion. Vote was called. Yes – 9 –, Katheryn Szallar, Jay Rotert, Jessica Thompson, Sonya Covalt, Holly Helm, Terry Brandenburg, Allison Kidney, Melissa Pearce, and Kendra Wesson. No – 0 – The motion passed.

The next item on the agenda was discussion and possible action to nominate and vote on the election of a State Textbook Committee Vice-Chair to serve for one year. Kathryn Szallar nominated Jay Rotert. Terry Brandenburg seconded the nomination. Blind vote was cast. Jay Rotert -9 - Votes. No -0 - The motion passed.

The next item was presentation of certificates of appreciation to the Oklahoma State Textbook Committee members scheduled to complete their term. – State Textbook Committee Designated Chairperson. a. Melissa Pearce (Lay person, Congressional District 5) 3/2/2021-3/1/2024. b. Kathryn Szallar (Early Childhood, Congressional District 5) 3/2/2021-3/1/2024. c. Jessica Thompson (Mathematics, Congressional District 2) 4/28/23-3/1/2024.

The next item on the agenda was discussion and possible action for adjournment of the February 9, 2024 Special Meeting. Allison Kidney made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 10:56 a.m. Jessica Thompson seconded the motion. Vote was called. Yes -9 -, Katheryn Szallar, Jay Rotert, Jessica Thompson, Sonya Covalt, Holly Helm, Terry Brandenburg, Allison Kidney, Melissa Pearce, and Kendra Wesson. No -0 - The motion passed.