

## **MINUTES**

## of the

## **OKLAHOMA STATE TEXTBOOK COMMITTEE**

February 3, 2023

The Oklahoma State Textbook Committee (STC) held a regular meeting beginning on February 3, 2023.

Deputy Superintendent Tiffany Neill as proxy for Committee Chair Ryan Walters called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m. and requested confirmation of compliance with Open Meeting Act. Shanda Finnell confirmed compliance.

Shanda Finnell then called the roll and confirmed quorum.

The committee members that were present:

Lucianne Copelin Sonya Covalt Keely Cox Kim Ellis Teresa Gerber Joniece LeValley Kathryn Szallar Kathryn Yarbrough Tiffany Neill

The committee members absent: Olivia Ehle Melissa Pearce

Deputy Superintendent Tiffany Neill welcomed committee members.

The next item on the agenda was approval of the minutes for the regular December 1, 2023, meeting. Joniece LeValley made a motion to accept the minutes. Kathryn Szallar seconded the motion. Vote was called. Yes - 9 -, Lucianne Copelin, Sonya Covalt, Keely Cox, Kim Ellis, Teresa Gerber, Joniece LeValley, Kathryn Szallar, Kathryn Yarbrough, and Deputy Superintendent Neill. No-0 – The motion passed.

The next item on the agenda was a presentation of the instructional material evaluation rubrics for the 2023 adoption cycle from Rebecca Morales, Director of Instructional Materials, or designee. Tiffany Neill, Deputy Superintendent of Curriculum and Instruction, presented as designee. At the end of the presentation, Dr. Neill asked the Committee if there were any questions. The Committee did not have any questions.

The next item on the agenda was discussion and possible action on the 2023-24 instructional material evaluation rubrics for Early Childhood Education (Comprehensive), PK-5 Mathematics, and 6-12 Mathematics. 70 O.S. §16-102(F); O.A.R. 720:1-1-2(10) Jonice LeValley made a motion to accept or approve the 2023-24 instructional material evaluation rubrics for Early Childhood Education (Comprehensive), PK-5 Mathematics, and 6-12 Mathematics. Keely Cox seconded the motion. Deputy Superintendent Tiffany Neill asked if there was any discussion on the motion; Kim Ellis commented that she appreciated the inclusion of the term "research-based" into the rubrics. Vote was called. Yes – 9-, Lucianne Copelin, Sonya Covalt, Keely Cox, Kim Ellis, Teresa Gerber, Joniece LeValley, Kathryn Szallar, Kathryn Yarbrough, and Deputy Superintendent Neill. No-0 – The motion passed.

The next item on the agenda was discussion and possible action on bids for substitution – 70 O.S. § 16-107; O.A.R. 720: 1-1-2(7): i. Boizone Corporation, ii. Macmillan Learning dba Bedford, Freeman, & Worth Publishing, iii. McGraw-Hill LLC. Kim Ellis made a motion to approve all three of the bids for substitution Biozone corporation, Macmillan Learning dba Bedford, Freeman and Worth. Lucianne Copelin seconded the motion. Vote was called. Yes – 8-, Lucianne Copelin, Keely Cox, Kim Ellis, Teresa Gerber, Joniece LeValley, Kathryn Szallar, Kathryn Yarbrough, and Deputy Superintendent Neill. No-0, Abstain-1-, Sony Covalt. – The motion passed.

The next item on the agenda was discussion and possible action on 2023-24 Content Expert Review Team Application – 70 O.S. §16-102(E); O.A.R. 720:1-1-2(9). Kathryn Szallar made a motion to approve the application. Joniece Levalley seconded the motion. Vote was called. Yes – 9-, Lucianne Copelin, Sonya Covalt, Keely Cox, Kim Ellis, Teresa Gerber, Joniece LeValley, Kathryn Szallar, Kathryn Yarbrough, and Deputy Superintendent Neill. No-0 – The motion passed.

The next item on the agenda was discussion and possible action to nominate and vote on the election of a State Textbook Committee Vice-Chair to serve for one year – 70 O.S. §16-101; O.A.R. 720:1-1-2(1); 720:1-1-3. Joniece Levalley nominated Kathryn Szallar. Kathryn Szallar accepted nomination. Lucianne Copelin seconded the nomination. Vote was called. Yes – 9-, Lucianne Copelin, Sonya Covalt, Keely Cox, Kim Ellis, Teresa Gerber, Joniece LeValley, Kathryn Szallar, Kathryn Yarbrough, and Deputy Superintendent Neill. No-0 – The motion passed.

The next item on the agenda was the presentation of certificates of appreciation to the Oklahoma State Textbook Committee members scheduled to complete their term. Deputy Superintendent Tiffany Neill presented certificates to Joniece LeValley, Keely Cox, Lucianne Copelin, and Kim Ellis.

The last item on the agenda was adjournment of the February 3, 2023 STC meeting. Kim Ellis made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 10:39 a.m. Sonya Covalt seconded the motion. Vote was called. Yes – 9-, Lucianne Copelin, Sonya Covalt, Keely Cox, Kim Ellis, Teresa Gerber, Joniece LeValley, Kathryn Szallar, Kathryn Yarbrough, and Deputy Superintendent Neill. No-0 – The motion passed.