Pathway	Traditional (teaching area)	Traditional (advanced area)	Out-of-State Reciprocity	Out-of-State Reciprocity (no cert)
Statute	70 O.S. § 6-190	70 O.S. § 6-190	70 O.S. § 6-190	70 O.S. § 6-190
Degree	Bachelor's degree from an accredited college	Master's degree from an accredited college	Bachelor's degree from an accredited college (master's required for specialty areas)	Bachelor's degree from an accredited college (master's required for specialty areas)
Preparation	Have a certification recommendation from an Oklahoma institution of higher education	Have a certification recommendation from an Oklahoma institution of higher education		
Pre Cert Req	Completion of an educator preparation program	Completion of an educator preparation program	Hold a full out-of-state teaching certificate	Completion of an out-of-state educator preparation program
Testing	Appropriate OSAT(s), OPTE/PPAT	Appropriate OSAT(s), OPTE/PPAT for some areas	N/A	Appropriate OSAT(s), OPTE/PPAT
Background Req	Have on file with the OSDE a current approved OSBI/FBI criminal history fingerprint check	Have on file with the OSDE a current approved OSBI/FBI criminal history fingerprint check	Have on file with the OSDE a current approved OSBI/FBI criminal history fingerprint check	Have on file with the OSDE a current approved OSBI/FBI criminal history fingerprint check
Application for Provisional Cert	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A
Provisional Cert	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A
Additional Requirements	N/A	N/A	Optional: Proof of Teaching form for credit for out-of-state teaching experience	
Application for Standard Cert	Online application, \$50 fee, official college transcripts	Online application, \$50 fee, official college transcripts	App, \$50 fee, official transcripts, copy of out-of-state certificate	App, \$50 fee, official transcripts, state-approved program form
Standard Cert	OSDE issues 5 yr certificate	OSDE issues 5 yr certificate	OSDE issues 5 yr certificate	OSDE issues 5 yr certificate
Information	Additional subjects may be added by testing; except for Early Childhood and Elementary Education (unless an EC, EE, or SPED prog was completed)	by testing once OPTE/PPAT	Additional subjects may be added by testing; except for Early Childhood and Elementary Education (unless EC, EE, or SPED are on out-of-state certificate)	Additional subjects may be added by testing; except for Early Childhood and Elementary Education (unless EC, EE, or SPED are on out-of-state certificate)

OSDE = Oklahoma State Department of Education

OSAT = Oklahoma Subject Area Test

Pathway	Non-Traditional Special Education Program (Boot Camp)	Alternative Placement Program	Troops to Teachers	
Statute	70 O.S. § 6-122.7	70 O.S. § 6-122.3	Defense Authorization	
Degree	Bachelor's degree from an accredited college with at least a 2.75 GPA	Bachelor's degree from an accredited college + 2.5 retention GPA or 2 yrs related work experience or terminal degree	Act Public Law 102-484	
			(on hiatus)	
Preparation	Complete 150 hour OSDE approved Boot CampDemonstrate competency in applicable area w following: academic major or academic minor experience or 3 yrs related experience or relev in a peer-reviewed academic journal		related Troops to Teachers	
Pre Cert Req		Alternative Placement Program Evaluation application, \$50 fee, official college transcripts, resume	Program.	
Testing		Approved secondary OSAT	AD = Active Duty RC = Reserve Component To qualify, a service	
Background Req	Have on file with the OSDE a current approved OSBI/FBI criminal history fingerprint check	Have on file with the OSDE a current approved OSBI/FBI criminal history fingerprint check	member must meet one of the requirements below: AD-1 – Retired from active duty. AD-2 – Active duty	
	Non-Traditional SPED application, \$50 fee, official transcripts, and verification of Boot Camp completion	Initial Alternative Certification application and \$50 fee		
Provisional Cert	OSDE issues 1 yr provisional certificate (renew x2)	OSDE issues 3 yr initial certificate	member with	
Additional Requirements	Six college credit hours in SPED each year to renew (application, official transcript, college letter). End of 3 yrs: 18 credit hours in SPED or master's in SPED; SPED OSAT and OPTE/PPAT	OPTE/PPAT; complete one college course in classroom management and one in teaching pedagogy; complete additional semester hours and/or professional development hours	approved date of retirement with one year or less remaining before retirement. AD-3 – Separated on or after January 8, 2002, for a	
Application for Standard Cert	Application, \$50, official transcript, and college letter (if master's in SPED wasn't completed)	Application, \$50 fee, official college transcripts, district letter for professional development		
Standard Cert	OSDE issues 5 yr certificate	OSDE issues 5 yr certificate	physical	
Information	Additional areas may be added by testing for grading purposes in SPED only; secondary areas can only be added for general teaching purposes if a master's in SPED was completed	Additional secondary subjects may be added by testing; except for Early Childhood and Elementary Education; may test to add SPED only if certified in a core academic area	disability. Must register within four years after separation.	

OSDE = Oklahoma State Department of Education

OSAT = Oklahoma Subject Area Test

Pathway	Career Development Program	Alternative Certification for Early Childhood/Elementary
Statute	70 O.S. § 6-127A	70 O.S. § 6-122.11
Degree	Bachelor's degree from an accredited college with at least a 2.5 cumulative GPA	Bachelor's degree from an accredited college
Pronaration	Have 1 yr of experience at an accredited school in a classroom in the area being pursued (early childhood, elementary education, or SPED)	Have two years of post-degree work experience in Early Childhood or Elementary or a terminal degree (MLS, MFA, Ded, PhD, etc.)
Pre Cert Req		
Testing	OSAT (early childhood, elementary edu, or SPED - must match experience)	(not required to obtain initial certification)
-	Have on file with the OSDE a current approved OSBI/FBI criminal history fingerprint check	Have on file with the OSDE a current approved OSBI/FBI criminal history fingerprint check
Application for	Application, \$30 fee, official transcripts,	District submits online request (resume for first application, official transcripts each year); then
Provisional Cert	district letter verifying experience	educator online application and \$50 fee
Provisional Cert	OSDE issues 3 yr provisional certificate	OSDE issues 1 yr certificate (renew x2)
Additional Requirements	OPTE/PPAT; successfully teach one year on prov. cert; 12 sem. hours in cert area (3 hrs in reading instruction) approved by OK college with EPP in the area	Yr 1: Complete two required college courses from EPP; yearlong mentorship; reading training Yr 2: Complete two required college courses from EPP; yearlong mentorship; appropriate OSAT Yr 3: Complete two required college courses from EPP; yearlong mentorship; OPTE/PPAT
Application for Standard Cert	App, \$50, official transcripts, OK college letter, district letter of recommendation	District online request (official transcripts); educator online application and \$50 fee
Standard Cert	OSDE issues 5 yr certificate	OSDE issued 5 yr certificate
Information	Additional subjects may <u>not</u> be added by testing; Early Childhood, Elementary Education, and/or SPED can be added by passing the test and having one <i>additional</i> year of experience in the area sought	Additional subjects may not be added by testing (See program information online for details about the courses and mentorship topics required.)

OSDE = Oklahoma State Department of Education

OSAT = Oklahoma Subject Area Test

Pathway	АВСТЕ	Teach for America (TFA)	
Statute	70 O.S. § 6-122.6	70 O.S. § 6-122.4	
Degree	Bachelor's degree from an accredited college	Bachelor's degree from an accredited college	
Preparation	Accepted by the American Board for Certification of Teacher Excellence (ABCTE) - secondary subjects only (English, math, science, history)	Accepted by Teach for America	
Pre Cert Req	ABCTE issues a credential		
Testing	ABCTE secondary subject test and the Professional Teaching Knowledge exam (PTK)	approved TFA Praxis exams	
Background Req	Have on file with the OSDE a current approved OSBI/FBI criminal history fingerprint check	Have on file with the OSDE a current approved OSBI/FBI criminal history fingerprint check	
	Application, \$50 fee, official college transcripts, score reports (subject area and PTK), letter from OK district confirming employment	TFA rep. recommends online (official transcripts); then educator online application (no fee)	
Provisional Cert	OSDE issues 1 yr non-renewable certificate	OSDE issues 2 yr certificate	
Additional Requirements	Complete ABCTE residency program	TFA rep. must verify all requirements have been completed	
Application for Standard Cert	Application, \$50 fee, residency certificate	Application and \$50 fee	
Standard Cert	OSDE issued 5 yr certificate	OSDE issues 5 yr certificate	
Information	Additional secondary subjects may be added by testing, except for Early Childhood and Elementary Education; may test to add SPED only if certified in a core academic area	Additional secondary subjects may be added by testing, except for Early Childhood and Elementary Education; may test to add SPED only if certified in a core academic area	

OSDE = Oklahoma State Department of Education

OSAT = Oklahoma Subject Area Test

Pathway	Four-Year-Olds and Younger	Out-of-Country Reciprocity
Statute	70 O.S. § 11-103.7	70 O.S. § 6-190
Degree	Bachelor's degree from an accredited college	Bachelor's degree from an accredited college
Preparation	Have five years experience as early childhood educator with the Head Start Program	Have two years of teaching experience in the last five years and be certified/authorized to teach PreK-12 in a foreign country
Pre Cert Req	Hold a current Child Development Associate (CDA) - 120 clock hours	
Testing	OSAT in Early Childhood	N/A
Background Req	Have on file with the OSDE a current approved OSBI/FBI criminal history fingerprint check	Have on file with the OSDE a current approved OSBI/FBI criminal history fingerprint check
Application for Provisional Cert	N/A	N/A
Provisional Cert	N/A	N/A
Additional Requirements	N/A	N/A
Application for Standard Cert	App, \$50, official transcripts, copy of CDA credential, verification of Head Start experience	App, \$50, foreign evaluation of degrees and teaching certification/authorization; 3 letters: good standing, recommendation, and 2 yrs of teaching experience in last 5 yrs
Standard Cert	OSDE issues 5 yr certificate	OSDE issues 5 yr certificate
Information	Additional subjects may <u>not</u> be added by testing	Must submit verification of lawful presence if not US citizen Must be proficient in spoken and written English (See more detailed information on our website.)
		Additional subjects may be added by testing; except for Early Childhood and Elementary Education (unless an EC, EE, or SPED prog was completed)

OSDE = Oklahoma State Department of Education

OSAT = Oklahoma Subject Area Test