Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA)

IDEA B State Advisory Panel

Zoom Meeting

1:00 PM- 4:00 PM

Thursday, September 23, 2021

Present

Jamie Brock, Aaron Bullock, Penny Cantley, Latisha Coats, Kaylin Coody, Malissa Cook, Chris Dvoark, Ria Echelle, Darci Forrester, Lynn Hodge, Linda Jaco, Tiffany Jenkins, Tina Kaminski, Michelle Keiper, Jamie Lahey, Sharon Long, Bonnie McBride, Becky Moore, Janice Morris, Jen Randle, Terry Spigner, Lori Wathen, and Lori Wieder.

Absent

Sharon Baker, JoAnne Blades, Kathy Brown, Malissa Cook, Malarie Deardorff, Melinda Fruendt, Cindy Gould, Marsha Herron, Tara Hood, Jordan House, Amber Ledbetter, Kylie Lyons, Sonya Parsons, Ashlee Rhodes, Jennifer Robinson, Ashlee Robson, Julie Sanders, Mandy Seward, Ginger Trouba, and Linda Whaley.

State Department of Education Employees

Abby Johnson, Todd Loftin, and Ginger Elliott-Teague

Dr. Penny Cantley: Welcome

Dr. Penny Cantley called the meeting to order at 1:02 p.m. She welcomed members to the meeting, thanking them or their continued service. She also introduced the newly elected vice-chair Darci Forrester, highlighting her service to the panel and expertise in the field of technology.

Norm Ames (TAESE): SAP Orientation

Dr. Penny Cantley introduced Norm Ames from the Technical Assistance for Excellence in Special Education (TAESE) at Utah State University. Norm then gave an orientation presentation to new and current members that focused on the following topics 1) purpose of the panel, 2) history of special education, 3) membership and organization, 4) role of the council, 5) panel function, 6) by-laws and procedures, 7) panel priorities, 8) annual report, and 9) collaboration with Part C.

Dr. Ginger Elliott-Teague (OSDE): Annual Performance Report (APR) Target Setting

Dr. Ginger Elliott-Teague gave a brief presentation on setting targets for annual performance indicators. She discussed in detail the IDEA requirement that states produce a "State Performance Plan and Annual Performance Report" on the state's achievement on 17 indicators regarding students with disabilities.

Todd Loftin (OSDE): Adjourn

Motion to adjourn the meeting, seconded, meeting adjourned at 4:00 p.m.