OKLAHOMA Education Application for Adding Areas to Existing Certificate									
Name					FEE:				
-	Last	First	Middle	Maiden	-				
Address					_				
	Stre	et or Rural							
	City		State	Zip Code	-				
	()		()						
	Daytime Telephone Number		Evening Telephone Number		-				
	()				_				
Other Telephone Number		E-Mail Address							
Social Security Number									
If your name has changed since your last license/certificate, please check.			Highest Degree C	Conferred:	LEAVE THIS SPACE BLANK				

Please Note: Under the Oklahoma Open Records Act, the address, telephone number, and email address you provide may be subject to disclosure if OSDE receives an Open Records Request for this information. Your Social Security Number is not an open record and will never be disclosed.

INSTRUCTIONS TO APPLICANT

1. Adding New Areas

New subject areas may be added to a certificate by passing the appropriate subject area test(s), according to the competency-based licensure and certification system mandated in 70 O.S. § 6-187.

EXCEPTIONS: Effective November 1, 2009, early childhood, elementary education and special education cannot be added to a certificate by testing only unless the individual has met the requirements outlined in HB 2747. The applicant must meet a full university program. Specialist certification (library media specialist, school counselor, school psychometrist, school psychologist, speech-language pathologist, reading specialist and administrator*) requires a graduate program meeting the professional education association standards specific to the profession.

A recommendation from the Oklahoma university/college whose program you completed is required along with passing test scores. **Part II** of this application should be completed by the official higher education representative from your university's teacher education office.

Note: Individuals who completed another state's specialist program should submit verification of state-approved Teacher Education Program for non-Oklahoma college/university.

* Traditional Principal Certification: Individuals who hold a master's degree in education administration with emphasis in

eligible to apply. Those already holding an area of principal certification may apply directly to the Teacher Certification Section.

- * **Traditional Superintendent Certification:** Individuals who hold a master's degree in education administration with emphasis in district-level leadership skills and have two years of administrative experience in an accredited public or private are eligible to apply.
- * Alternative Administrator Certification for Superintendents and Principals (Effective July 1, 2007): For an initial threeyear credential, a designated teacher education representative from the university must complete PART II of this application and check the box verifying the applicant is being recommended for Alternative Administrator Certification. (The alternative administration credential is **non-renewable** and is **\$50**.)

2. All Applicants

- The processing fee is \$25 except where otherwise noted. Payment can be made by check, cashier's check, or money order payable to the Oklahoma State Department of Education (OSDE).
- If you have completed a higher degree since the last time you applied for licensure/certification, enclose an official transcript with this application.
- Do NOT submit this application until you have received a passing score on the competency examination.

Mail application packet to: Oklahoma State Department of Education Teacher Certification, Room 212 2500 North Lincoln Boulevard Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73105-4599 Telephone: (405) 521-3337

No

Revised January 2020

Pursuant to legislation, 70 O.S. §§ 3-104 and 3-104.1, every applicant is required to answer each of the following questions: Have you ever been convicted in Oklahoma, whether upon a verdict or plea of guilty or upon a plea of nolo contendere (no contest), or received a suspended sentence for a crime or an attempt to commit a crime which Have you ever been convicted, received a suspended sentence, or received a deferred judgment for a crime or

Have you ever had adverse action taken against any educator certificate, or any other professional licensure, 5. Is any action now pending against you for alleged misconduct in any school district, court, or before any 6 licensing agency in Oklahoma or any other state or jurisdiction?

Do you currently have any outstanding criminal charges or warrants of arrest pending against you in 7.

If the answer to any of the preceding questions is "Yes," state on a separate sheet of paper the nature of the charge and in what court or jurisdiction you were charged/convicted. You may be required to obtain and provide to the Oklahoma State Department of Education, official certified copies of all court and/or police records.

The Oklahoma State Department of Education has the authority to require state and national (fingerprint-based) felony background checks on any applicant. If a background check is required, it will be at the applicant's expense.

_____ Yes ____

Are you a United States citizen?

If the answer is no, the following applies to you: Noncitizens of the United States are required to submit documentation proving lawful presence with the application before an Oklahoma teaching credential may be issued or reissued. The Oklahoma teaching credential may be issued/reissued for no longer than the validity of the documentation proving lawful presence. If the documentation proving lawful presence does not have an expiration date that affects the duration of a noncitizen's lawful presence, then the teaching credential shall have the same validity period as the teaching credential of a U.S. citizen.

Falsification of any information pertaining to certification can result in denial, withdrawal, or revocation of the Oklahoma teaching credential.

Signature of Applicant

1

2.

3.

4.

Effective May 31, 2001, 68 O.S. § 238.1 requires that all license/certificate holders be in compliance with Oklahoma state income tax laws BEFORE a teacher license or certificate can be RENEWED.

TAX COMPLIANCE

The Department of Education is mandated to provide to the Oklahoma Tax Commission a list of individuals who are applying for license/certificate renewal.

The Tax Commission will contact any person who appears to be in noncompliance. Please contact the Oklahoma Tax Commission's Professional Compliance Unit, (405) 522-6800, with any questions.

PART II: RECOMMENDATION FROM THE DIRECTOR OF TEACHER EDUCATION FOR COLLEGE USE

Required for EARLY CHILDHOOD, ELEMENTARY EDUCATION, SPECIAL EDUCATION, and SPECIALIST guage

		d administrator).		ool psycho	ometrist	, school ps	ychologist,	speecn-	lang
Cartificate Area	Grada Laval	Cortificate Area	Grada Laval		_				

Certificate Area | Grade Level | Certificate Area | Grade Level _____ - 7 - 7 _____ - 7 _____ - 7 - 7

Highest Degree (Code) Degree Date College Code (Degree) College Code (Recommending).._____

Alternative administrator certification: Please check (\boxtimes)

PART I II: CRIMINAL HISTORY DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Signature of Official Higher Education Institution Representative

Date

Oklahoma Graduates Only

PART I: NEW CERTIFICATE AREA(S) DESIRED

(Examples: English, Biological Sciences, Intermediate Mathematics, Library Media Specialist, etc.)

Date _