APPLICATION FOR OKLAHOMA SCHOOL CERTIFICATE



GENERAL CERTIFICATION INFORMATION

This application is used for applicants qualifying for a teaching certificate.

CERTIFICATES are issued to educators who have completed an approved teacher education program or hold a teaching credential from another state.

CERTIFICATION FEES:

- The application fee for an Oklahoma certificate is \$50. (no cash)
- All other transactions (adding new areas, duplicates, degree changes) are \$25 per application. (no cash)
- Payment may be made by check, cashier's check, or money order payable to the **Oklahoma State Department of Education (OSDE)**. The fee for requesting certification is nonrefundable.

The state agency with authority and responsibility for teacher testing is the Office of Educational Quality and Accountability (OEQA). For information regarding testing registration, contact the OEQA at (405) 522-5399, 840 Research Parkway, Suite 455, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73104, <<u>http://www.ok.gov/oeqa</u> >.

FINGERPRINTING INFORMATION:

Al l first-time credentialed Oklahoma teachers are required to have on file with the Oklahoma State Board of Education (OSBE) a current Oklahoma criminal history record from the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation (OSBI) as well as a national fingerprint-based criminal history record provided by the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). (70 O.S. § 6-190; OAC 210:20-9-91)

This applies only to individuals applying for their first Oklahoma credential. It does not apply to renewals.

If you have questions concerning whether this law pertains to your eligibility for certification, contact the Teacher Certification Section at (405) 521-3337 or <<u>http://www.sde.state.ok.us</u>>.

IMPORTANT NOTICE

Title 68 O.S. § 238.1 (effective May 31, 2001) requires that all certificate holders comply with Oklahoma state income tax laws before a teaching certificate can be renewed.

The Department of Education is mandated to provide to the Oklahoma Tax Commission a list of individuals who are applying for certification renewal.

The Tax Commission will contact any person who appears to be in noncompliance.

Please contact the Oklahoma Tax Commission's Professional Compliance Unit, (405) 522-6800, with any questions.

In the event an educator's certificate cannot be renewed due to failure to comply with Oklahoma's tax laws, the renewed certificate will be dated the date the State Department of Education receives notice from the Tax Commission that the educator has come into compliance.

Additional instructions are continued on the back of this page.

PROCESSING INSTRUCTIONS (Continued)

OKLAHOMA GRADUATES

• Applicants completing a higher education program must have a higher education institution recommendation (Part II). Transcripts must show verification of degree. Applications for **career and technology education** certification should then be forwarded by the higher education representative to the appropriate program administrator at the Oklahoma Department of Career and Technology Education, 1500 West Seventh Avenue, Stillwater, Oklahoma 74074-4364, telephone (405) 377-2000.

PROVISIONAL LEVEL I CAREER AND TECHNOLOGY EDUCATION APPLICANTS

If the Provisional Level I Career and Technology Certificate is requested, the signature of the employing district superintendent is also required. Applications must be filed through the appropriate program administrator at the Oklahoma Department of Career and Technology Education, 1500 West Seventh Avenue, Stillwater, Oklahoma 74074- 4364, telephone (405) 377-2000.

OUT-OF-STATE APPLICANTS

Applications may be approved by the Oklahoma State Department of Education if applicant holds a full out-ofstate credential; the higher education institution (Part II) or Oklahoma State Department of Career and Technology Education (Part III) signature is not required. For additional information and eligibility options, refer to "Out-of- State Applicants" brochure or Oklahoma State Department of Education Web site, <http://www.sde.state.ok.us>, Site Index, Professional Standards. If you have a certificate issued by the **National Board for Professional Teaching Standards**, please enclose a copy.

- Enclose a copy of the front and back of your full out-of-state credential.
- Verification of out-of-state teaching experience is required by having districts complete a proof of teaching form. You may request a proof of teaching form from this office or access the Oklahoma State Department of Education Web site at http://www.sde.state.ok.us, Site Index, Professional Standards.

To receive credit for years of experience, please include a copy of your out-of-state certificate that was valid during the dates of service.

SCHOOL NURSE APPLICANTS

Please enclose a copy of your current Oklahoma registered nurse's license.

PROCESSING INSTRUCTIONS

Mail application packet to:

Oklahoma State Department of Education, Teacher Certification Section - Room 212, 2500 North Lincoln Boulevard, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73105-4599.

Telephone: (405) 521-3337. Oklahoma State Department of Education Web site:

<<u>http://www.sde.state.ok.us</u>> Submit all materials including fee in one packet. See next page for more

information.

Did you include:

Completed Application?Official Transcripts?Proof of Teaching Form?\$50 Processing Fee? (no cash)Copy of Out-of-State Credential?Signature/Date in Part V?

REVISED JULY 2022

APPLICATION FOR OKLAHOMA SCHOOL CERTIFICATE

!01-001CERT!

Name					FEE:			
Address	Last	First	Middle	Maiden				
Address		Street or Rural R						
	City		State	Zip Code				
() Daytime Telephone	Number	() Evening Telep	hone Number				
() Other number where you c	an be reached	E-Mail A	ddress				
	ecurity Number:							
If you have an out-of-state certificate, please check. If your name has changed since your last certificate, please check. If your name has changed since your last certificate, please check. If your name has changed since your last certificate, please check. If your name has changed since your last certificate, please check. If your name has changed since your last certificate, please check. If your name has changed since your last certificate, please check. If your name has changed since your last certificate, please check. If your name has changed since your last certificate, please check. If your name has changed since your last certificate, please check. If your name has changed since your last certificate, please check. If your name has changed since your last certificate, please check. If your name has changed since your last certificate, please check. If your name has changed since your last certificate, please check. If your name has changed since your last certificate, please check. If your name has changed since your last certificate, please check. If your name has changed since your last certificate, please check. If your name has changed since your last certificate, please check. If your name has changed since yo								
Please Note: Under the Oklahoma Open Records Act, the address, telephone number, and email address you provide may be subject to disclosure if OSDE receives an Open Records Request for this information. Your Social Security Number is not an open record and will never be disclosed.								

PART I: CERTIFICATE AREA(S) REQUESTED

(Elementary Education, Intermediate Mathematics, Superintendent, Nurse, Library Media Specialist, etc.)

PART II: RECOMMENDATION FROM THE DIRECTOR OF TEACHER EDUCATION

Certificate Grade Certificate Grade Highest Degree (Code) Area Level Level Area Degree Date - 7 - 7 College Code (Degree) - 7 - 7 College Code (Recommending) - 7 - 7

Signature of Official Higher Education Institution Representative

Date

Oklahoma Graduates Only

FOR COLLEGE USE ONLY

PART III: TO BE USED FOR CAREER AND TECHNOLOGY EDUCATION CERTIFICATE(S)

Oklahoma Graduates Only

Applications for career and technology education certificate(s) must be made through the appropriate state program administrator at the Oklahoma Department of Career and Technology Education. These occupational divisions are:								
 Agricultural Education Career and Technology Business Career and Technology Home Economics/Family and Consumer Sciences 	 Marketing Education Health Occupations Education 							
Please check (\checkmark) the occupational division for which you are applying.								
For Provisional Level I Career and Technology Certificate in:	(Certificate Area)							
Signature	Date							
(District Superintendent or Official Representative)								
Signature	Date							

PART IV:								
I hold or have held an OKLAHOMA CERTIFICATE(S):								
Type of Certificate	Issue Date	Expiration Date	Name When Certificate Was Issued					
Do you have a certificate issued by the N If yes, please enclose verification or a co		rofessional Teaching Star	ndards? Yes No					
PART V:	P).							
Pursuant to legislation, 70 O.S. §§ 3-104	and 3-104.1, every	applicant is required to a	answer each of the following questions:					
1. During the preceding ten-year period	d, have you been co	onvicted of a felony?	Yes No					
			ving moral turpitude?Yes No					
 Have you ever been convicted in Oklahoma, whether upon a verdict or plea of guilty or upon a plea of nolo contendere (no contest), or received a suspended sentence for a crime or an attempt to commit a crime which is considered sexually related in nature?								
4. Have you ever been convicted, received a suspended sentence, or received a deferred judgment for a crime or attempted crime which was considered sexually related in nature in any other state or jurisdiction?								
in Oklahoma or any other state or ju	. Have you ever had adverse action taken against any educator certificate, or any other professional licensure, in Oklahoma or any other state or jurisdiction?							
licensing agency in Oklahoma or ar	Is any action now pending against you for alleged misconduct in any school district, court, or before any licensing agency in Oklahoma or any other state or jurisdiction?							
7. Do you currently have any outstand Oklahoma or in any other state or ju	Do you currently have any outstanding criminal charges or warrants of arrest pending against you in Oklahoma or in any other state or jurisdiction?							
jurisdiction you were charged/convicted official certified copies of all court and/	 You may be req or police records. cation has the authority 	uired to obtain and provority to require state and the	of paper the nature of the charge and in what court or vide to the Oklahoma State Department of Education, national (fingerprint-based) felony background checks bense.					
Are you a United States citizen?								
If the answer is no, the following applies to you.								
Noncitizens of the United States are required to submit documentation proving lawful presence with the application before an Oklahoma teaching credential may be issued or reissued. The Oklahoma teaching credential may be issued/reissued for no longer than the validity of the documentation proving lawful presence. If the documentation proving lawful presence does not have an expiration date that affects the duration of a noncitizen's lawful presence, then the teaching credential shall have the same validity period as the teaching credential of a U.S. citizen.								
Are you a United States military spouse?								
Falsification of any information pertaining to certification can result in denial, withdrawal, or revocation of the Oklahoma teaching credential.								
Signature of Applicant	Date							
(Oklahoma Department of Caree	r and Technology Educa	ation state program administrate	or or representative)					

IMPORTANT Complete educational information and criminal history disclosure statement on reverse.

REVISED JULY 2022