
APPLICATION FOR OKLAHOMA SCHOOL 
CERTIFICATE 

GENERAL CERTIFICATION INFORMATION 

This application is used for applicants qualifying for a teaching certificate. 

CERTIFICATES are issued to educators who have completed an approved teacher education program or 
hold a teaching credential from another state. 

CERTIFICATION FEES: 

• The application fee for an Oklahoma certificate is $50. (no cash) 

• All other transactions (adding new areas, duplicates, degree changes) are $25 per application. (no cash) 

• Payment may be made by check, cashier’s check, or money order payable to the Oklahoma State 
Department of Education (OSDE). The fee for requesting certification is nonrefundable. 

The state agency with authority and responsibility for teacher testing is the Office of Educational Quality 
and Accountability (OEQA). For information regarding testing registration, contact the OEQA at (405) 522-
5399, 840 Research Parkway, Suite 455, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73104, <http://www.ok.gov/oeqa >. 

FINGERPRINTING INFORMATION: 

Al l first-time credentialed Oklahoma teachers are required to have on file with the Oklahoma State Board 
of Education (OSBE) a current Oklahoma criminal history record from the Oklahoma State Bureau of 
Investigation (OSBI) as well as a national fingerprint-based criminal history record provided by the Federal 
Bureau of Investigation (FBI). (70 O.S. § 6-190; OAC 210:20-9-91) 

This applies only to individuals applying for their first Oklahoma credential. It does not apply to renewals. 

If you have questions concerning whether this law pertains to your eligibility for certification, contact the 
Teacher Certification Section at (405) 521-3337 or <http://www.sde.state.ok.us>. 

IMPORTANT NOTICE 

Title 68 O.S. § 238.1 (effective May 31, 2001) requires that all certificate holders comply with Oklahoma 
state income tax laws before a teaching certificate can be renewed. 

The Department of Education is mandated to provide to the Oklahoma Tax Commission a list of 
individuals who are applying for certification renewal. 

The Tax Commission will contact any person who appears to be in noncompliance. 

Please contact the Oklahoma Tax Commission’s Professional Compliance Unit, (405) 522-6800, with any 
questions. 

In the event an educator’s certificate cannot be renewed due to failure to comply with Oklahoma’s tax 
laws, the renewed certificate will be dated the date the State Department of Education receives notice 
from the Tax Commission that the educator has come into compliance. 

Additional instructions are continued on the back of this 
page. 

 

http://www.ok.gov/oeqa
http://www.sde.state.ok.us/
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PROCESSING INSTRUCTIONS 
(Continued) 

 

OKLAHOMA GRADUATES 

• Applicants completing a higher education program must have a higher education institution 
recommendation (Part II). Transcripts must show verification of degree. Applications for career 
and technology education certification should then be forwarded by the higher education 
representative to the appropriate program administrator at the Oklahoma Department of Career 
and Technology Education, 1500 West Seventh Avenue, Stillwater, Oklahoma 74074-4364, 
telephone (405) 377-2000. 

PROVISIONAL LEVEL I CAREER AND TECHNOLOGY EDUCATION APPLICANTS 

If the Provisional Level I Career and Technology Certificate is requested, the signature of the employing 
district superintendent is also required. Applications must be filed through the appropriate program 
administrator at the Oklahoma Department of Career and Technology Education, 1500 West Seventh 
Avenue, Stillwater, Oklahoma 74074- 4364, telephone (405) 377-2000. 

OUT-OF-STATE APPLICANTS 

Applications may be approved by the Oklahoma State Department of Education if applicant holds a full out-of-
state credential; the higher education institution (Part II) or Oklahoma State Department of Career and 
Technology Education (Part III) signature is not required. For additional information and eligibility options, 
refer to “Out-of- State Applicants” brochure or Oklahoma State Department of Education Web site, 
<http://www.sde.state.ok.us>, Site Index, Professional Standards. If you have a certificate issued by the 
National Board for Professional Teaching Standards, please enclose a copy. 

• Enclose a copy of the front and back of your full out-of-state credential. 

• Verification of out-of-state teaching experience is required by having districts complete a proof 
of teaching form. You may request a proof of teaching form from this office or access the Oklahoma 
State Department of Education Web site at <http://www.sde.state.ok.us>, Site Index, Professional 
Standards. 

To receive credit for years of experience, please include a copy of your out-of-state certificate that was 
valid during the dates of service. 

SCHOOL NURSE APPLICANTS 

Please enclose a copy of your current Oklahoma registered nurse’s license. 

PROCESSING INSTRUCTIONS 

Mail application packet to: 

Oklahoma State Department of Education, Teacher Certification Section - Room 212, 
2500 North Lincoln Boulevard, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73105-4599. 

Telephone: (405) 521-3337. Oklahoma State Department of Education Web site: 

<http://www.sde.state.ok.us> Submit all materials including fee in one packet. See next page for more 

information. 

Did you include: 

  Completed Application?   Official Transcripts?   Proof of Teaching Form? 

  $50 Processing Fee? (no cash)   Copy of Out-of-State Credential?   Signature/Date in Part V? 
 

http://www.sde.state.ok.us/
http://www.sde.state.ok.us/
http://www.sde.state.ok.us/
http://www.sde.state.ok.us/
http://www.sde.state.ok.us/
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APPLICATION FOR OKLAHOMA SCHOOL CERTIFICATE !01-001CERT! 
 
Name   

Last First Middle Maiden 

 

Address   
Street or Rural Route Number 

 
 

 

City State Zip Code 

 

( ) ( ) 
    

Daytime Telephone Number Evening Telephone Number 

( ) 
   

Other number where you can be reached E-Mail Address 

 

Social Security Number: 

 

If you have an out-of-state certificate, please check. 
Highest 

Degree 
If your name has changed since your last certificate, please check. Conferred 

FEE: 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
LEAVE THIS SPACE BLANK 

Please Note: Under the Oklahoma Open Records Act, the address, telephone number, and email address you provide may be subject to disclosure 

if OSDE receives an Open Records Request for this information. Your Social Security Number is not an open record and will never be disclosed. 
 

(Elementary Education, Intermediate Mathematics, Superintendent, Nurse, Library Media Specialist, etc.) 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 
Signature of Official Higher Education Institution Representative Date 

 
Applications for career and technology education certificate(s) must be made through the appropriate state program administrator at the Oklahoma 
Department of Career and Technology Education. These occupational divisions are: 

❑ Agricultural Education ❑ Career and Technology Business ❑ Marketing Education ❑ Health Occupations Education 

❑ Career and Technology Home Economics/Family and Consumer Sciences ❑ Trade and Industrial Education 

Please check (✓) the occupational division for which you are applying. 
 

 
Signature   Date 

PART III: TO BE USED FOR CAREER AND TECHNOLOGY EDUCATION CERTIFICATE(S) 
Oklahoma Graduates Only 

   

 

      

 

Certificate 

Area 

Grade 

Level 
Certificate 

Area 

Grade 

Level 

 
  - 7   

  - 7   

  - 7   

 
  - 7   

  - 7   

  - 7   

 

PART I: CERTIFICATE AREA(S) REQUESTED 

PART II: RECOMMENDATION FROM THE DIRECTOR OF TEACHER EDUCATION 
Oklahoma Graduates Only 

FOR COLLEGE USE ONLY 

Highest Degree (Code) .................   

Degree Date . .......................   

College Code (Degree) .................   

College Code (Recommending)   

 
For Provisional Level I Career and Technology Certificate in:   

(Certificate Area) 

Signature   Date   
(District Superintendent or Official Representative) 

354735
Stamp



REVISED JULY 2022  

(Oklahoma Department of Career and Technology Education state program administrator or representative) 

PART IV: 

I hold or have held an OKLAHOMA CERTIFICATE(S): 

Type of Certificate Issue Date Expiration Date Name When Certificate Was Issued 

    

 
Do you have a certificate issued by the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards? Yes   No   

If yes, please enclose verification or a copy. 

PART V: 

Pursuant to legislation, 70 O.S. §§ 3-104 and 3-104.1, every applicant is required to answer each of the following questions: 

1. During the preceding ten-year period, have you been convicted of a felony? .......................................................... Yes   No   

2. During the preceding ten-year period, have you been convicted of a crime involving moral turpitude? ................. Yes   No   

3. Have you ever been convicted in Oklahoma, whether upon a verdict or plea of guilty or upon a plea of nolo 
contendere (no contest), or received a suspended sentence for a crime or an attempt to commit a crime which 

is considered sexually related in nature? .................................................................................................................. Yes   No   

4. Have you ever been convicted, received a suspended sentence, or received a deferred judgment for a crime or 
attempted crime which was considered sexually related in nature in any other state or jurisdiction? ...................... Yes   No   

5. Have you ever had adverse action taken against any educator certificate, or any other professional licensure, 
in Oklahoma or any other state or jurisdiction? ........................................................................................................ Yes  No   

6. Is any action now pending against you for alleged misconduct in any school district, court, or before any 
licensing agency in Oklahoma or any other state or jurisdiction? ............................................................................ Yes  No   

7. Do you currently have any outstanding criminal charges or warrants of arrest pending against you in 
Oklahoma or in any other state or jurisdiction? ........................................................................................................ Yes   No   

 
If the answer to any of the preceding questions is “Yes,” state on a separate sheet of paper the nature of the charge and in what court or 
jurisdiction you were charged/convicted. You may be required to obtain and provide to the Oklahoma State Department of Education, 
official certified copies of all court and/or police records. 

The Oklahoma State Department of Education has the authority to require state and national (fingerprint-based) felony background checks 
on any applicant. If a background check is required, it will be at the applicant’s expense. 

 

Are you a United States citizen? .................................................................................................................................. Yes   No   

If the answer is no, the following applies to you. 

Noncitizens of the United States are required to submit documentation proving lawful presence with the application before an Oklahoma teaching 

credential may be issued or reissued. The Oklahoma teaching credential may be issued/reissued for no longer than the validity of the documentation 

proving lawful presence. If the documentation proving lawful presence does not have an expiration date that affects the duration of a noncitizen’s 

lawful presence, then the teaching credential shall have the same validity period as the teaching credential of a U.S. citizen. 

 

Are you a United States military spouse? .................................................................................................................... Yes   No   

Falsification of any information pertaining to certification can result in denial, 
withdrawal, or revocation of the Oklahoma teaching credential. 

 

Signature of Applicant   Date   

IMPORTANT 
Complete educational information and criminal history disclosure statement on reverse. 
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