TITLE 210. STATE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
CHAPTER 15. CURRICULUM AND INSTRUCTION

SUBCHAPTER 11. EARLY CHILDHOOD PROGRAMS

210:15-11-3. Criteria for pilot early childhood program pursuant to Title 70 O.S. § 10-105.4
[AMENDED]
(a) Qualifying children are those children aged birth through three years, who are identified as at-
risk as determined by Federal Poverty Guidelines.
(b) Qualifying programs must meet childcare licensing requirements as provided by the Oklahoma
Department of Human Services for Children aged birth through three years.
(c) The adult child ratio shall meet minimum childcare licensing requirements as provided by the
Oklahoma Department of Human Services for children aged birth through three years.
(d) The provider will ensure the operational schedule is a minimum of eight hours a day for 56 46
weeks a year. Children will be served 48 44 weeks, with two additional weeks for staff training.
(e) Staffing requlrements are: '
(1) b prasth
teachers must hold one of the followmg
(i) an associate's degree (AA), baccalaureate degree (BA), or master's degree (MA)
in early childhood, child development, elementary education, or early childhood
special education;
(i1) an associate's degree (AA), baccalaureate degree (BA), or master's degree (MA)
in social work, nursing, psychology, human development and family studies and one
year experience as a teacher;
(iii) at least 60 college/university credits with at least 30 college credits in early
childhood education, child development, elementary education, or early childhood
special education; or
(iv) a baccalaureate degree or higher in any discipline with at least 36 college credits
in early childhood education, child development, elementary education, or early
childhood special education.

-Lead

@

in-ehild-development-orarelated field:
(i) a high school diploma and a current Child Development Associate (CDA) degree
(120 clock hours):

(ii) a high school diploma and at least 12 college credits in early childhood education,
child development, elementary education, or early childhood special education; or
(iii) one of the options outlined in section (e)(1).
(3) Each staff member must undergo a Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) background
check.
(4)_Any staff member not meeting the requirements outlined in section (e)(1) or (€)(2) above
will be given a “plan of correction” and meet requirements within a 2-year period.
(5) The provider shall employ a family support worker whose caseload shall be
approximately 50 families.
() All staff must participate in initial training and annual training in infant and toddler
development, curriculum, and parent education.
(g) The curriculum shall be aligned with Oklahoma's Early Learning Guidelines for Infants and
Toddlers.
(h) All programs must undergo an annual program evaluation.

Assistant teachers must hold one of the followmg
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RULE IMPACT STATEMENT 210:15-11-3

Criteria for pilot early childhood program pursuant to Title 70 O.S. § 10-105.4 [AMENDED]

a.

What is the purpose of the proposed rule change?

The current rules governing the Oklahoma Early Childhood Program (OECP) were adopted

in 2007, shortly after the creation of the program by the Oklahoma Legislature. The updated
staffing requirements expand the background qualifications for teachers and assistant teachers to
include areas beyond early childhood education while maintaining similar qualifications. This
ensures that the pool of applicants is large enough to adequately staff classrooms with high-quality
teachers. The updated timeframe for which programming is offered aligns more accurately with
partnering childcare providers.

b.

What classes of persons will be affected by the proposed rule change and what classes
of persons will bear the costs of the proposed rule change?

The rule change will directly affect students and individuals who benefit and participate in
the Oklahoma Early Childhood Program, established in 70 O.S. § 10-105 4.

What classes of persons will benefit from the proposed rule change?

The rule change will benefit students and individuals who benefit and participate in the
Oklahoma Early Childhood Program, established in 70 O.S. § 10-105 4.

What is the probable economic impact of the proposed rule upon affected classes of
persons or political subdivisions?

The agency does not anticipate any economic impact upon political subdivisions or
affected classes as a result of implementation of the proposed rule change at this time.

What is the probable cost to the agency to implement and enforce the proposed rule
change?

The agency does not anticipate any cost to the agency to implement and enforce as a result
of the proposed change in the rule at this time.

What is the economic impact on any political subdivision to implement the proposed
rule change?

The agency does not anticipate any economic impact on any political subdivision to
implement the proposed rule change at this time.

Will implementing the rule change have an adverse effect on small business as
provided by the Oklahoma Small Business Regulatory Flexibility Act?



The agency does not anticipate any adverse economic impact on small business as a result
of the proposed rule change at this time.

h. Are there any other methods which are less costly, nonregulatory, or less intrusive to
achieve the purpose of the proposed rule change?

No.

i. Will the rule change impact the public health, safety, and environment, and is the
change designed to reduce significant risks to the public health, safety, and
environment? If so, explain nature of risk and to what extent the proposed rule
change will reduce the risk.

The updated staffing requirements expand the background qualifications for teachers and
assistant teachers to include areas beyond early childhood education while maintaining
similar qualifications. This ensures that the pool of applicants is large enough to adequately
staff classrooms with high-quality teachers. As such, the agency believes the changes will
positively impact the public health, safety and environment.

j. 'What detrimental effect will there be on the public health, safety, and environment if
the rule change is not implemented?

The agency does not anticipate any detrimental effect on public health, safety, or
environment as a result of failure to implement the proposed rule at this time.

k. Date Prepared: February 1,2022




STATUTORY AUTHORITY FOR 210:15-11-3

Oklahoma Statutes Citationized
TXTitle 70. Schools
THchapter 1 - School Code of 1971
aArtlcle Article X - School Population and Attendance

DSectlon 10-105.4 - Early Childhood Pilot Program for At-Risk Children
Citeas: 0.5.8§, _____

The State Board of Education shall establish a pilot early childhood program to consist of private
donations and state funds that will serve at-risk children in at least one urban area and one rural area of
this state to be selected by the Board. The Board shall solicit applications from the private sector for the
program and require applicants to match state funds on a two-to-one basis and commit a minimum
investment of Ten Million Dollars ($10,000,000.00) in the program.



TITLE 210. STATE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
CHAPTER 15. CURRICULUM AND INSTRUCTION

SUBCHAPTER 27. READING SUFFICIENCY ACT
YELLOW HIGHLIGHTS INDICATE CHANGES FOLLOWING PUBLIC COMMENT

210:15-27-4. Individualized Program of Reading Instruction [AMENDED]

(a) Eligible students. Each-sStudents enrolled in kindergarten, first, second, and third grade in
the public schools of Oklahoma shall be assessed at the beginning, middle, and end of each
school year using a screening instrument approved by the State Board of Education. Fhis

includes-all students-exceptthe following:

the student’s TEP team-

Any student found not to be reading at grade level shall be provided an Individualized
Program of Reading Instruction designed to enable the student to acquire the appropriate
grade level reading skills. Diagnostic assessment shall be provided if determined appropriate,
and progress monitoring shall continue throughout the year.

(b) Student Reading Proficiency Team. For students found not to be reading at the
corresponding grade level upon completion of an approved screening instrument, a Student
Reading Proficiency Team shall be created. The following guidelines apply to Student
Reading Proficiency Teams:

(1) For a student not reading at the corresponding grade level in first grade or second
grade as identified by an approved screening instrument, the Student Reading Proficiency
Team shall develop an individualized program of reading instruction. The team shall be
composed of:

(A) The student's parent(s) or guardian(s);

(B) The teacher assigned responsibility for the student's reading instruction in that

academic year;

(C) A teacher assigned responsibility for reading instruction in the student's next

grade level; and

(D) A certified reading specialist, if available.
(2) For a third grade student who is not eligible for automatic promotion and who does
not meet criteria on the reading foundations/processes and vocabulary portions of the
third-grade assessment administered pursuant to 70 O.S. § 1210.508, a Probationary
Promotion Reading Proficiency Team may evaluate the student for probationary
promotion. Upon the unanimous recommendation of the Probationary Promotion Reading
Proficiency Team and approval of the school principal and district superintendent, a
student recommended for probationary promotion shall be promoted to fourth grade. The
Probationary Promotion Reading Proficiency Team shall be composed of:

(A) The student's parent(s) or guardian(s);



(B) The teacher assigned responsibility for the student's reading instruction in that
academic year;

(C) A teacher assigned responsibility for reading instruction in the student's next
grade level; and

(D) A certified reading specialist.

(¢) Program requirements. Each program of reading instruction shall include provisions of the
READ Initiative adopted by the school district as provided for in 70 O.S. § 1210.508C. For
purposes of the Reading Sufficiency Act, a "program of reading instruction" shall be based
upon a Multi-Tiered Systems of Support (MTSS) model, and shall include:

(1) Tier I Tier I, or core instruction, is research-based reading instruction for all students
that is based on the science of how students learn to read and is aligned with the
Oklahoma Academic Standards. Tier I instruction provides all students a minimum of
ninety (90) minutes of daily reading instruction.
(2) Tier IL Tier II intervention is supplemental, direct, research-based instruction based
on the cognitive science of how students learn to read, designed to supplement core
instruction and address students' reading skill deficits. Tier II intervention is:

(A) Based on specific student needs;

(B) Reflects the needed intensity and/or frequency as identified by an appropriate

reading assessment; and

(C) Is determined by the teacher responsible for grade level Tier I reading instruction,

reading specialist (if available), and building principal.
(3) Tier IIL Tier III intervention is supplemental, direct, customized, and intensive
research-based instruction based on the cognitive science of how students learn to read,
designed to supplement core instruction and address students' reading skill deficits by
targeting the area(s) of greatest need. Tier I1I intervention is:

(A) Based on specific student needs;

(B) Reflects the needed intensity and/or frequency as identified by a diagnostic

assessment; and

(C) Is determined by the teacher responsible for grade level Tier I reading instruction,

reading specialist (if available), and building principal.

(d) District review of program. Each district shall conduct a review of the program of reading
instruction for all students who do not meet criteria on the reading foundations/processes and
vocabulary portions of the third grade assessment and do not qualify for a good-cause
exemption under 70 O.S. § 1210.508C. For each student retained under the provisions of the
Reading Sufficiency Act, the school district shall require a student portfolio to be completed.
The district review of each retained student's program of reading instruction shall address
additional supports and services needed to remediate the identified areas of reading
deficiency, which may include but not limited to:

(1) Small group instruction;

(2) Reduced teacher-student ratios;

(3) More frequent progress monitoring;

(4) Tutoring or mentoring;

(5) Transition classes containing third and fourth grade students;
(6) Extended school day, week, or year; and



(7) Summer Academy Reading Programs as provided for in 70 O.S. § 1210.508E, if
available.

(¢) Students approved for probationary promotion. For a student who is approved for
probationary promotion, the Probationary Promotion Reading Proficiency Team shall
continue to review the student's reading performance and repeat the evaluation and
recommendation process described in 1210.508C each academic year until the student
demonstrates grade-level reading proficiency on an approved screening instrument or
transitions to another school. If a student who has been approved for probationary promotion
transitions to another school before demonstrating grade-level proficiency on an approved
screening instrument, a copy of the student's Individualized Program of Reading Instruction
shall be provided to the student's subsequent school.







PUBLIC COMMENT SUMMARY

210:15-27-4 Individualized Program of Reading Instruction [AMENDED]

1.

Summary of Public Comment

Commenter supports the two proposed
exceptions in subsection (a); however,
advises that the statute does not authorize
OSDE to adopt rules concerning certain
specified areas of the Reading Sufficiency
Act and does not grant authority to limit the
students subject to the screening and
assessment. As such, the proposed rule
exceeds the scope of authority of the
OSDE.

1.

Agency Response

The Agency is directed in 70 O.S. §
1210.508C to adopt rules for the
implementation and evaluation of the
provisions of the Reading Sufficiency Act
(RSA or the Act). However, the OSDE
appreciates the comments provided and
will accept the proposal, as provided.
Please see the Proposed Final Rule.







RULE IMPACT STATEMENT 210:15-27-4

Individualized Program of Reading Instruction [AMENDED]

a. What is the purpose of the proposed rule change?

The current Administrative Rules for the Reading Sufficiency Act (RSA): Individualized
Program of Reading Instruction (210:15-27-4) were updated in 2020. When discussing the
Program Requirements for Tier 1 instruction, it was discovered that the word “daily” was
eliminated from the update when referring to the ninety (90) minutes of reading instruction. The
word “daily” needs to be added to this description to provide clarity and consistency for districts.

Regarding recommended changes for Eligible Students, there are two groups of students
for whom screening is not beneficial when considering the intent of the legislation and best practice
for screening. Both groups are identified under IDEA. In order to provide consistency, these two
groups are defined in the rules as exempt from screening requirements. This change ensures
alignment with mirrored guidance for dyslexia screening and students receiving special education
services.

b. What classes of persons will be affected by the proposed rule change and what classes
of persons will bear the costs of the proposed rule change?

The rule change will directly affect students and staff in public schools who provide
programs of reading instruction pursuant to the Reading Sufficiency Act (RSA),70 O.S. §
1210.508A et seq.

c. What classes of persons will benefit from the proposed rule change?

The rule change will benefit students and to ensure sufficient reading instruction is
provided to students, and will provide clarity and consistency for school districts to know
the amount of time required for reading instruction to students under the RSA as provided
relating to individualized programs of reading instruction.

d. What is the probable economic impact of the proposed rule upon affected classes of
persons or political subdivisions?

The agency does not anticipate any economic impact upon political subdivisions or
affected classes as a result of implementation of the proposed rule change at this time.

e. What is the probable cost to the agency to implement and enforce the proposed rule
change?

The agency does not anticipate any cost to the agency to implement and enforce as a result
of the proposed change in the rule at this time. Additional record keeping, if any, will be
performed by existing staff.







What is the economic impact on any political subdivision to implement the proposed
rule change?

The agency does not anticipate any economic impact on any political subdivision to
implement the proposed rule change at this time.

. Will implementing the rule change have an adverse effect on small business as
provided by the Oklahoma Small Business Regulatory Flexibility Act?

The agency does not anticipate any adverse economic impact on small business as a result
of the proposed rule change at this time.

. Are there any other methods which are less costly, nonregulatory, or less intrusive to
achieve the purpose of the proposed rule change?

No.
Will the rule change impact the public health, safety, and environment, and is the
change designed to reduce significant risks to the public health, safety, and

environment? If so, explain nature of risk and to what extent the proposed rule
change will reduce the risk.

The agency does not anticipates passage of this emergency rule will have an impact on the
public health, safety and environment.

What detrimental effect will there be on the public health, safety, and environment if
the rule change is not implemented?

The agency does not anticipate any detrimental effect on public health, safety, or
environment as a result of failure to implement the proposed rule at this time.

. Date Prepared: February 1,2022







STATUTORY AUTHORITY FOR 210:15-27-4

Oklahoma Statutes Citationized
{Sritle 70. Schools
BChapter 22 - Testing and Assessment
'-[_jReading Sufficiency Act

@ Section 1210.508C - Assessments for Reading Skills
Cite as: 70 O.S. § 1210.508C (OSCN 2022), Reading Sufficiency Act

A. 1. Each student enrolled in kindergarten in a public school in this state shall be screened at the
beginning, middle and end of each school year for reading skills including, but not limited to, phonemic
awareness, letter recognition, and oral language skills as identified in the subject matter standards
adopted by the State Board of Education. A screening instrument approved by the State Board shall be
utilized for the purposes of this section.

2. For those kindergarten children at risk for reading difficulties at the beginning of the year, teachers shall
emphasize reading skills as identified in the subject matter standards adopted by the State Board of
Education, monitor progress throughout the year and measure mid-year and year-end reading progress.

3. Kindergarten students who are not meeting grade-level targets by mid-year in reading shall be
provided a program of reading instruction designed to enable the student to acquire the appropriate
grade-level reading skills.

4. Classroom assistants, which may include parents, grandparents, or other volunteers, shall be provided
in kindergarten classes to assist with the screening of students if a teacher aide is not already employed
to assist in a kindergarten classroom.

B. Each student enrolled in first, second and third grade of the public schools of this state shall be
assessed at the beginning, middle and end of each school year using a screening instrument approved
by the State Board of Education for the acquisition of reading skills including, but not limited to, phonemic
awareness, phonics, reading fluency, vocabulary, and comprehension.

C. Any student enrolled in first, second or third grade who is assessed and who is not meeting grade-level
targets in reading shall be provided a program of reading instruction designed to enable the student to
acquire the appropriate grade level reading skills. The program of reading instruction shall include
provisions of the READ Initiative adopted by the school district as provided for in subsection P of this
section.

Throughout the year progress monitoring shall continue, and diagnostic assessment, if determined
appropriate, shall be provided. Year-end reading skills shall be measured to determine reading success.

D. The State Board of Education shall approve screening instruments for use at the beginning and end of
the school year, for monitoring of progress, and for measurement of reading skills at the end of the school
year as required in subsections A and B of this section; provided, at least one of the screening
instruments shall meet the following criteria:

1. Assess for phonemic awareness, phonics, reading fluency, vocabulary and comprehension;
2. Document the validity and reliability of each assessment;

3. Can be used for identifying students who are at risk for reading deficiency and progress monitoring
throughout the school year,

4. Can be used to assess students with disabilities and English language learners; and



5. Accompanied by a data management system that provides profiles for students, class, grade level and
school building. The profiles shall identify each student's instructional point of need and reading
achievement level. The State Board shall also determine other comparable reading assessments for
diagnostic purposes to be used for students at risk of reading failure. The State Board shall ensure that
any assessments approved are in alignment with the subject matter standards adopted by the State
Board of Education.

E. 1. The program of reading instruction required in subsections A and B of this section shall align with
the subject matter standards adopted by the State Board of Education and shall include provisions of the
READ Initiative adopted by the school district as provided for in subsection P of this section. A program of
reading instruction may include, but is not limited to:

a. sufficient additional in-school instructional time for the acquisition of phonemic awareness, phonics,
reading fluency, vocabulary, and comprehension,

b. if necessary, tutorial instruction after regular school hours, on Saturdays and during summer; however,
such instruction may not be counted toward the one-hundred-eighty-day or one-thousand-eighty-hour
school year required in Section 1-109 of this title, and

c. assessments identified for diagnostic purposes and periodic monitoring to measure the acquisition of
reading skills including, but not limited to, phonemic awareness, phonics, reading fluency, vocabulary,
and comprehension, as identified in the student's program of reading instruction.

2. A student enrolled in first or second grades who has been assessed as provided for in subsection B of
this section and found not to be meeting grade-level targets in reading, shall be entitled to supplemental
instructional services and supports in reading until the student is determined by the results of a screening
instrument to be meeting grade-level targets in reading. The program of reading instruction for each
student shall be developed by a Student Reading Proficiency Team and shall include supplemental
instructional services and supports. Each team shall be composed of:

a. the parent or guardian of the student,

b. the teacher assigned to the student who had responsibility for reading instruction in that academic
year,

c. a teacher who is responsible for reading instruction and is assigned to teach in the next grade level of
the student, and

d. a certified reading specialist, if one is available.

F. The program of reading instruction shall continue until the student is determined by the results of
approved reading assessments to be meeting grade-level targets.

G. 1. Every school district shall adopt, and implement a district reading sufficiency plan which has had
input from school administrators, teachers, and parents and if possible a reading specialist, and which
shall be submitted electronically to and approved by the State Board of Education. The plan shall be
updated annually. School districts shall not be required to electronically submit the annual updates to the
Board if the last plan submitted to the Board was approved and expenditures for the program include only
expenses relating to individual and small group tutoring, purchase of and training in the use of screening
and assessment measures, summer school programs and Saturday school programs. If any expenditure
for the program is deleted or changed or any other type of expenditure for the program is implemented,
the school district shall be required to submit the latest annual update to the Board for approval. The
district reading sufficiency plan shall include a plan for each site which includes an analysis of the data
provided by the Oklahoma School Testing Program and other reading assessments utilized as required in
this section, and which outlines how each school site will comply with the provisions of the Reading
Sufficiency Act.

2. The State Board of Education shall adopt rules for the implementation and evaluation of the provisions
of the Reading Sufficiency Act. The evaluation shall include, but not be limited to, an analysis of the data
required in subsection S of this section.



H. For any third-grade student found not to be meeting grade-level targets as determined by reading
assessments administered pursuant to this section, a new program of reading instruction, including
provisions of the READ Initiative adopted by the school district as provided for in subsection P of this
section, shall be developed by a Student Reading Proficiency Team and implemented as specified in
subsection E of this section. In addition to other requirements of the Reading Sufficiency Act, the plan
may include specialized tutoring.

I. 1. Any first-grade, second-grade or third-grade student who demonstrates end of year proficiency in
reading at the third-grade level through a screening instrument which meets the acquisition of reading
skills criteria pursuant to subsection B of this section shall not be subject to retention pursuant to this
section. After a student has demonstrated proficiency through a screening instrument, the district shall
provide notification to the parent or guardian of the student that they have satisfied the requirements of
the Reading Sufficiency Act and will not be subject to retention pursuant to this section.

2. If a third-grade student is identified at any point of the academic year as having a significant reading
deficiency, which shall be defined as not meeting grade-level targets on a screening instrument which
meets the acquisition of reading skills criteria pursuant to subsection B of this section, the district shall
immediately begin a student reading portfolio as provided by subsection L of this section and shall
provide notice to the parent of the deficiency pursuant to subsection J of this section.

3. If a student has not yet satisfied the proficiency requirements of this section prior to the completion of
third grade and still has a significant reading deficiency, as identified based on assessments administered
as provided for in subsection B of this section, has not accumulated evidence of third-grade proficiency
through a student portfolio as provided in subsection L of this section, or is not subject to a good-cause
exemption as provided in subsection L of this section, then the student shall not be eligible for automatic
promotion to fourth grade.

4. The minimum criteria for grade-level performance of third-grade students pursuant to the Reading
Sufficiency Act shall be that students are able to read and comprehend grade-level text. To determine the
promotion and retention of third-grade students pursuant to the Reading Sufficiency Act, the State Board
of Education shall use only the scores for the standards for reading foundations/processes and
vocabulary portions of the statewide third-grade assessment administered pursuant to Section

1210.508 of this title and shall not use the scores from the other language arts portions of the
assessment. The performance levels established by the Commission for Educational Quality and
Accountability pursuant to Section 1210.508 of this title shall ensure that students meeting the
performance-level criteria are performing at grade level on the reading foundations and vocabulary
portions of the statewide third-grade assessment.

5. a. A student not eligible for automatic promotion as provided for under paragraph 3 of this subsection
and who does not meet the criteria established by the Commission for Educational Quality and
Accountability on the reading portion of the statewide third-grade assessment administered pursuant

to Section 1210.508 of this title may be evaluated for probationary promotion by the Student Reading
Proficiency Team which was created for the student pursuant to subsection E of this section.

b. The student shall be promoted to the fourth grade if the team members unanimously recommend
probationary promotion to the school principal and the school district superintendent and the principal and
superintendent approve the recommendation that promotion is the best option for the student. If a student
is allowed a probationary promotion, the team shall continue to review the reading performance of the
student and repeat the requirements of this paragraph each academic year until the student
demonstrates grade-level reading proficiency, as identified through a screening instrument which meets
the acquisition of reading skills criteria pursuant to subsection B of this section, for the corresponding
grade level in which the student is enrolled or transitions to a locally designed remediation plan after the
fifth grade which shall have the goal of ensuring that the student is on track to be college and career
ready.

6. Beginning with the 2017-2018 school year, students who do not meet the performance criteria
established by the Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability on the reading portion of the
statewide third-grade assessment administered pursuant to Section 1210.508 of this title, who are not




subject to a good cause exemption as provided in subsection L of this section, and who do not qualify for
promotion or probationary promotion as provided in this subsection, shall be retained in the third grade
and provided intensive instructional services and supports as provided for in subsection O of this section.

7. Each school district shall annually report to the State Department of Education the number of students
promoted to the fourth grade pursuant to this subsection and the number of students promoted to a
subsequent grade pursuant to the provisions in paragraph 5 of this subsection. The State Department of
Education shall publicly report the aggregate and district-specific number of students promoted on their
website and shall provide electronic copies of the report to the Governor, Secretary of Education,
President Pro Tempore of the Senate, Speaker of the House of Representatives, and to the respective
chairs of the committees with responsibility for common education policy in each legislative chamber.

J. The parent of any student who is found to have a reading deficiency and is not meeting grade-level
reading targets and has been provided a program of reading instruction as provided for in subsection B of
this section shall be notified in writing of the following:

1. That the student has been identified as having a substantial deficiency in reading;

2. A description of the current services that are provided to the student pursuant to a conjoint
measurement model such that a reader and a text are placed on the same scale;

3. A description of the proposed supplemental instructional services and supports that will be provided to
the student that are designed to remediate the identified area of reading deficiency;

4. That the student will not be promoted to the fourth grade if the reading deficiency is not remediated by
the end of the third grade, unless the student is otherwise promoted as provided for in subsection | of this
section or is exempt for good cause as set forth in subsection L of this section;

5. Strategies for parents to use in helping their child succeed in reading proficiency;
6. The grade-level performance scores of the student;

7. That while the results of the statewide assessments administered pursuant to Section 1210.508 of this
title are the initial determinant, they are not the sole determiner of promotion and that portfolio reviews
and assessments are available; and

8. The specific criteria and policies of the school district for midyear promotion implemented as provided
for in paragraph 4 of subsection O of this section.

K. No student may be assigned to a grade level based solely on age or other factors that constitute social
promotion.

L. For those students who do not meet the academic requirements for promotion and who are not
otherwise promoted as provided for in subsection | of this section, a school district may promote the
student for good cause only. Good-cause exemptions for promotion shall be limited to the following:

1. English language learners who have had less than two (2) years of instruction in an English language
learner program;

2. Students with disabilities whose individualized education program (IEP), consistent with state law,
indicates that the student is to be assessed with alternate achievement standards through the Oklahoma
Alternate Assessment Program (OAAP);

3. Students who demonstrate an acceptable level of performance on an alternative standardized reading
assessment approved by the State Board of Education;

4. Students who demonstrate, through a student portfolio, that the student is reading on grade level as
evidenced by demonstration of mastery of the state standards beyond the retention level;

5. Students with disabilities who participate in the statewide assessments administered pursuant
to Section 1210.508 of this title and who have an individualized education program that reflects that the




student has received intensive remediation in reading and has made adequate progress in reading
pursuant to the student's individualized education program;

6. Students who have received intensive remediation in reading through a program of reading instruction
for two (2) or more years but still demonstrate a deficiency in reading and who were previously retained in
prekindergarten for academic reasons, kindergarten, first grade, second grade, or third grade; and

7. Students who have been granted an exemption for medical emergencies by the State Department of
Education.

M. A student who is otherwise promoted as provided for in subsection | of this section or is promoted for
good cause as provided for in subsection L of this section shall be provided intensive reading instruction
that includes specialized diagnostic information and specific reading strategies for each student until the
student meets grade-level targets in reading. The school district shall assist schools and teachers to
implement reading strategies for the promoted students that research has shown to be successful in
improving reading among low-performing readers.

N. Requests to exempt students from the retention requirements based on one of the good-cause
exemptions as described in subsection L of this section shall be made using the following process:

1. Documentation submitted from the teacher of the student to the school principal that indicates the
student meets one of the good-cause exemptions and promotion of the student is appropriate. In order to
minimize paperwork requirements, the documentation shall consist only of the alternative assessment
results or student portfolio work and the individual education plan (IEP), as applicable;

2. The principal of the school shall review and discuss the documentation with the teacher and, if
applicable, the other members of the Student Reading Proficiency Team as described in subsection E of
this section. If the principal determines that the student meets one of the good-cause exemptions and
should be promoted based on the documentation provided, the principal shall make a recommendation in
writing to the school district superintendent; and

3. After review, the school district superintendent shall accept or reject the recommendation of the
principal in writing.

0. Each school district shall:

1. Conduct a review of the program of reading instruction for all students who do not meet the
performance criteria established by the Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability on the
reading portion of the statewide assessment administered pursuant to Section 1210.508 of this title and
did not meet the criteria for one of the good-cause exemptions as set forth in subsection L of this section.
The review shall address additional supports and services, as described in this subsection, needed to
remediate the identified areas of reading deficiency. The school district shall require a student portfolio to
be completed for each retained student;

2. Provide to students who have been retained as set forth in subsection | of this section with intensive
interventions in reading, intensive instructional services and supports to remediate the identified areas of
reading deficiency, including a minimum of ninety (90) minutes of daily, uninterrupted, scientific-research-
based reading instruction. Retained students shall be provided other strategies prescribed by the school
district, which may include, but are not limited to:

a. small group instruction,

b. reduced teacher-student ratios,

c. more frequent progress monitoring,

d. tutoring or mentoring,

e. transition classes containing third- and fourth-grade students,

f. extended school day, week, or year, and



g. summer reading academies as provided for in Section 1210.508E of this title, if available;

3. Provide written notification to the parent or guardian of any student who is to be retained as set forth in
subsection | of this section that the student has not met the performance criteria required for promotion
and was not otherwise promoted and the reasons the student is not eligible for a good-cause exemption.
The notification shall include a description of proposed interventions and intensive instructional supports
that will be provided to the student to remediate the identified areas of reading deficiency;

4. Implement a policy for the midyear promotion of a retained student who can demonstrate that the
student is a successful and independent reader, is reading at or above grade-level targets, and is ready
to be promoted to the fourth grade. Tools that school districts may use in reevaluating any retained
student may include screening assessments, alternative assessments, and portfolio reviews, in
accordance with rules of the State Board of Education. Retained students may only be promoted midyear
prior to November 1 and only upon that the student has met the performance criteria established by the
Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability on the reading portion of the statewide third-grade
assessment administered pursuant to Section 1210.508 of this title, or upon demonstrating proficiency in
reading at the third-grade level through a screening instrument administered pursuant to subsection B of
this section, and upon showing progress sufficient to master appropriate fourth-grade-level skills, as
determined by the school. A midyear promotion shall be made only upon agreement of the parent or
guardian of the student and the school principal;

5. Provide students who are retained with a high-performing teacher who can address the needs of the
student, based on student performance data and above-satisfactory performance appraisals; and

6. In addition to required reading enhancement and acceleration strategies, provide students who are
retained with at least one of the following instructional options:

a. supplemental tutoring in scientific-research-based reading services in addition to the regular reading
block, including tutoring before or after school,

b. a parent-guided "Read at Home" assistance plan, as developed by the State Department of Education,
the purpose of which is to encourage regular parent-guided home reading, or

¢. a mentor or tutor with specialized reading training.

P. Beginning with the 2011-2012 school year, each school district shall establish a Reading Enhancement
and Acceleration Development (READ) Initiative. The focus of the READ Initiative shall be to prevent the
retention of third-grade students by offering intensive accelerated reading instruction to third-grade
students who failed to meet standards for promotion to fourth grade and to kindergarten through third-
grade students who are exhibiting a reading deficiency. The READ Initiative shall:

1. Be provided to all kindergarten through third-grade students at risk of retention as identified by the
assessments administered pursuant to the Reading Sufficiency Act. The assessment used shall measure
phonemic awareness, phonics, reading fluency, vocabulary, and comprehension;

2. Be provided during regular school hours in addition to the regular reading instruction;
3. Provide a reading curriculum that, at a minimum, meets the following specifications:

a. assists students assessed as exhibiting a reading deficiency in developing the ability to read at grade
level,

b. provides skill development in phonemic awareness, phonics, reading fluency, vocabulary, and
comprehension,

c. provides a scientific-research-based and reliable assessment,
d. provides initial and ongoing analysis of the reading progress of each student, and

e. is implemented during regular school hours,



4. Establish at each school, where applicable, an Intensive Acceleration Class for retained third-grade
students who subsequently do not meet the performance criteria established by the Commission for
Educational Quality and Accountability on the reading portion of the statewide assessment administered
pursuant to Section 1210.508 of this title. The focus of the Intensive Acceleration Class shall be to
increase the reading level of a child at least two grade levels in one (1) school year. The Intensive
Acceleration Class shall:

a. be provided to any student in the third grade who does not meet the performance criteria established
by the Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability on the reading portion of the statewide
assessments and who was retained in the third grade the prior year because of not meeting the
performance criteria on the reading portion of the statewide assessments,

b. have a reduced teacher-student ratio,

c. provide uninterrupted reading instruction for the majority of student contact time each day and
incorporate opportunities to master the fourth-grade state standards in other core subject areas,

d. use a reading program that is scientific-research-based and has proven results in accelerating student
reading achievement within the same school year,

e. provide intensive language and vocabulary instruction using a scientific-research-based program,
including use of a speech-language therapist, and

f. include weekly progress monitoring measures to ensure progress is being made,

5. Provide reports to the State Board of Education, upon request, on the specific intensive reading
interventions and supports implemented by the school district. The State Superintendent of Public
Instruction shall annually prescribe the required components of the reports; and

6. Provide to a student who has been retained in the third grade and has received intensive instructional
services but is still not ready for grade promotion, as determined by the school district, the option of being
placed in a transitional instructional setting. A transitional setting shall specifically be designed to produce
learning gains sufficient to meet fourth-grade performance standards while continuing to remediate the
areas of reading deficiency.

Q. 1. Each school district board of education shall annually publish on the school website, and report in
writing to the State Board of Education by September 1 of each year, the following information on the
prior school year:

a. the provisions of this section relating to public school student progression and the policies and
procedures of the school district on student retention and promotion,

b. the number and percentage of all students in grade three that did not meet the performance criteria
established by the Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability on the reading portion of the
statewide assessment administered pursuant to Section 1210.508 of this title,

c. by grade, the number and percentage of all students retained in grades three through ten,

d. information on the total number and percentage of students who were promoted for good cause, by
each category of good cause as specified above, and

e. any revisions to the policies of the school district on student retention and promotion from the prior
year.

2. The State Department of Education shall establish a uniform format for school districts to report the
information required in this subsection. The format shall be developed with input from school districts and
shall be provided not later than ninety (90) days prior to the annual due date. The Department shall
annually compile the information required, along with state-level summary information, and report the
information to the public, the Governor, the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, and the Speaker of the
House of Representatives.



R. The State Department of Education shall provide technical assistance as needed to aid school districts
in administering the provision of the Reading Sufficiency Act.

S. On or before January 31 of each year, the State Department of Education shall issue to the Governor,
the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, the Speaker of the House of Representatives and members of
the Senate and House of Representatives Education Committees a Reading Sufficiency Report which
shall include, but is not limited to, trend data detailing three (3) years of data, disaggregated by student
subgroups to include economically disadvantaged, major racial or ethnic groups, students with
disabilities, and English language learners, as appropriate for the following:

1. The number and percentage of students in kindergarten through third grade determined to be at risk for
reading difficulties compared to the total number of students enrolled in each grade;

2. The number and percentage of students in kindergarten who continue to be at risk for reading
difficulties as determined by the year-end measurement of reading progress;

3. The number and percentage of students in kindergarten through third grade who have successfully
completed their program of reading instruction and are reading on grade level as determined by the
results of approved reading assessments;

4. The number and percentage of students that meet or do not meet the performance criteria established
by the Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability on the reading portion of the statewide
third-grade assessment administered pursuant to Section 1210.508 of this title;

5. The number of students tested, the number of students promoted through meeting proficiency on a
screening instrument as provided for in subsection | of this section, the number of students promoted
through each of the good-cause exemptions as provided for in subsection L of this section and the
number of students retained and the number of students promoted through probationary promotion as
provided for in subsectionl of this section for each elementary site;

6. Data tracking the progression of students promoted through each of the good-cause exemptions as
provided for in subsection L of this section and students promoted through probationary promotion or
students who are retained in third grade as provided for in subsection | of this section. The data shall
include but not be limited to information regarding whether students graduate on time;

7. The amount of funds for reading remediation received by each district;

8. An evaluation and narrative interpretation of the report data analyzing the impact of the Reading
Sufficiency Act on students' ability to read at grade level;

9. The type of reading instruction practices and methods currently being used by school districts in the
state;

10. Socioeconomic information, access to reading resources outside of school and screening for and
identification of learning disabilities for students not reading at the appropriate grade level by third grade;

11. The types of intensive remediation efforts being conducted by school districts to identify best practices
for students that are not reading at the appropriate grade level and are not retained under the provisions
of this section; and

12. Any recommendations for improvements or amendments to the Reading Sufficiency Act.

The State Department of Education may contract with an independent entity for the reporting and analysis
requirements of this subsection.

T. Copies of the results of the assessments administered shall be made a part of the permanent record of
each student.



TITLE 210. STATE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
CHAPTER 20. STAFF

SUBCHAPTER 9. PROFFESIONAL STANDARDS: TEACHER EDUCATION AND
CERTIFICATION
PART 9. TEACHER CERTIFICATION

210:20-9-110. Alternative placement teaching certificates [AMENDED]
(a) Issuance of provisional alternative teaching certificates. The State Department of Education
shall issue a three (3) year, nonrenewable provisional alternative placement teaching certificate to
an individual who completes the application for an alternative placement teaching certificate and
submits all documentation necessary to verify that the applicant meets all of the following criteria:
(1) Post-secondary education. The applicant for alternative placement certification holds:
(A) At least a baccalaureate degree from an institution whose accreditation is
recognized by the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education and has attained a
retention grade point average of not less than 2.50 on a 4.0 scale; or
(B) A terminal degree in any field from an institution accredited by a national or
regional accrediting agency recognized by the United States Department of
Education, verified as a terminal degree by the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher
Education; or
(C) At least a baccalaureate degree from an institution whose accreditation is
recognized by the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education, and has
completed at least two (2) years of qualified work experience. For purposes of this
section, qualified work experience must be documentable through standard
employment verification procedures, and relevant to a certification area or area of
specialization as determined by the State Board of Education, the Office of
Educational Quality and Accountability, the Department of Career and Technology
Education, and/or the State Regents for Higher Education.
(2) Competency in a certification area. In addition to having completed qualifying post-
secondary education, the applicant demonstrates competency in an area of specialization for
an elementary-secondary certificate, a secondary certificate, or a vocational-technical
certificate. Competency in a certification area may be demonstrated through the following:
(A) Completion of an academic major, or at least thirty (30) credit hours of post-
secondary coursework, in a field that corresponds to a certification area.
(B) Completion of an academic minor, or at least fifteen (15) credit hours of post-
secondary coursework, in a field that corresponds to a certification area, plus at least
one (1) year of qualified work experience or relevant volunteer experience in the
same field. Volunteer experience must be verified through documentation and/or
references.
(C) At least three (3) years of qualified work experience or relevant volunteer
experience in a field that corresponds to an area of certification, or a combination of
relevant work and volunteer experience totaling at least three (3) years, plus a
written recommendation from an employer or volunteer coordinator.
(D) Successful completion of a relevant professional exam (e.g. accountancy,
nursing).
(E) Publication of a relevant article in a peer-reviewed academic journal or trade
journal.
(F) Other documentable means of demonstrating competency, subject to the
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approval of the State Department of Education.
(3) Intent to earn standard certification. The applicant declares the intention to earn
standard certification by means of an alternative placement program that meets the
requirements of 70 0.S. § 6-122.3 in not more than three (3) years. An applicant shall be
deemed to have declared their intent to earn standard certification through submitting a
completed application for alternative certification.
(4) Teacher competency examinations. The applicant has passed all of the following
teacher competency examinations:
(A) The Oklahoma General Education Test (OGET); and
(B) The Oklahoma Subject Area Test (OSAT) in each area of specialization for
which certification is sought, unless the applicant is eligible for an exception to the
OSAT requirement under 70 O.S § 6-122.3(e). Pursuant to statute, in consultation
with the Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability, the State Board
of Education may grant an exception to the requirement to complete the OSAT
exam for initial certification in a subject area for which the applicant holds a
substantially related advanced degree from an accredited institution. This exception
is not available for subject areas which require an advanced degree for certification,
such as school administrator, school counselor, library media specialist, and reading
specialist certificates.
(5) Intent to serve as a public school teacher. The applicant declares their intention to
serve as a teacher at an Oklahoma public school. An applicant shall be deemed to have
declared their intent to seek employment at an accredited Oklahoma public school district
through submitting a completed application for alternative certification.
(b) Requirements for enrollment in an alternative certification program. As a prerequisite to
enrollment in an alternative placement program set forth in 70 O.S. § 6-122.3, applicants shall
meet all of the following requirements:
(1) The applicant has never been denied admittance to a teacher education program
approved by the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education, the North Central
Association of Colleges and Schools and by the Oklahoma Commission for Educational
Quality and Accountability to offer teacher education programs; and has never been
enrolled in and subsequently failed courses necessary to successfully meet the minimum
requirements of the program;
(2) The applicant has on file with the director of teacher education at an Oklahoma
institution of higher education a plan for meeting standard certification requirements within
three (3) years; and
(3) The applicant is participating in the teacher residency program set forth in 70 O.S. § 6-
195.
(c) Requirements for professional education instruction. Participants in alternative placement
programs as addressed in subsection (b) must complete between six (6) and eighteen (18) credit
hours of professional education instruction, or between ninety (90) and two hundred seventy (270)
clock hours of school district-approved professional development, with the minimum hours of
instruction required dependent on the applicant's prior level of education and/or experience.
Professional education requirements must be completed within three (3) years after entering the
Alternative Placement program. For all participants, except school counselors, professional
education instruction must include at least one college credit course addressing pedagogical
principles and at least one college credit course addressing classroom management. For school
counselors, professional education instruction must include at least two college credit courses

addressing the components of a comprehensive school counseling program., including but not
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limited to. data-informed decision making, closing achievement and opportunity gaps., school

counseling ethical standards, and improving student achievement, attendance and discipline. For
each year of documented experience in the relevant certification area, a participant's total required
professional education may be reduced by three (3) credit hours or forty-five (45) clock hours,
provided all participants must complete at least six (6) credit hours or ninety (90) clock hours of
professional education instruction. Minimum required instructional hours shall be determined as
follows:
(1) For alternative placement program participants who hold a terminal degree, six (6)
credit hours or ninety (90) clock hours of professional education instruction are required.
(2) For alternative placement program participants who hold a non-terminal degree beyond
a baccalaureate degree, twelve (12) credit hours or one hundred eighty (180) clock hours of
professional education instruction are required.
(3) For alternative placement program participants who hold a baccalaureate degree,
eighteen (18) credit hours or two hundred seventy (270) clock hours of professional
education instruction are required.
(d) Issuance of standard teaching certificates. The State Department of Education shall issue a
standard teaching certificate to an individual who successfully completes all of the requirements
set forth in (a), (b), and (c) of this Section within three (3) years of the date of issuance of the
applicant's provisional alternative teaching certificate and meets all of the following requirements:
(1) The applicant has passed the Oklahoma Professional Teaching Exam (OPTE) for either
elementary/middle level or secondary level; and
(2) The applicant has completed all professional education requirements of the alternative
placement program set forth in 70 O.S. § 6-122.3 and the administrative rules and/or
adopted policies of the State Board of Education.
(e) No student teaching experience required. Student teaching and/or pre-student teaching field
experience shall not be required of alternative program applicants as a condition of receiving a
provisional or standard certificate pursuant to the provisions of this Section.
(f) Criminal history record check. Prior to employing an alternatively certified teacher, the
district board of education shall request a criminal history record check of the individual under the
provisions of 70 O.S. § 5-142.
(g) State Board of Education exceptions. In accordance with the requirements of 70 O.S. § 6-
122.3, the State Board of Education may grant a waiver or exception to any of the requirements of
this Section and may grant a certificate upon demonstration of specific competency in the subject
area of specialization by the applicant. An applicant for alternative certification who does not
have at least two (2) years of relevant work experience, but demonstrates competency in the
subject area in which certification is sought, may request an exception to the work experience
requirement of 70 O.S. § 6-122.3.







a.

RULE IMPACT STATEMENT 210:20-9-110

Alternative Placement Teaching Certificates AMENDED]

What is the purpose of the proposed rule change?

The purpose of this rule amendment is to update professional education instruction requirements
for alternatively certified school counselors to exempt them from pedagogy and classroom
management college coursework and instead requiring the completion of college coursework
aligned with the competencies of comprehensive school counseling. This training will count
towards the minimum required amounts professional education instruction while ensuring school
counselors receive training better aligned with their duties.

b.

What classes of persons will be affected by the proposed rule change and what classes
of persons will bear the costs of the proposed rule change?

The rule change will directly affect school counselors with alternative teaching certificates,
in addition to the students and public school districts (ie. traditional, charter, virtual charter)
they serve.

What classes of persons will benefit from the proposed rule change?

The rule change will benefit students and school communities by ensuring all school
counselors, are properly trained and equipped to provide meaningful and effective mental
health supports, regardless of a counselor’s pathway to certification.

What is the probable economic impact of the proposed rule upon affected classes of
persons or political subdivisions?

The agency does not anticipate any economic impact upon political subdivisions, but does
anticipate some impact on school counselors with an alternative teaching certificate as they
will be exempt from the pedagogy and classroom management college coursework but be
required to obtain other college credit coursework that aligns with counseling
competencies.

What is the probable cost to the agency to implement and enforce the proposed rule
change?

The agency does not anticipate any material or significant cost to the agency to implement
and enforce as a result of the proposed change in the rule at this time.

What is the economic impact on any political subdivision to implement the proposed
rule change?

The agency does not anticipate any economic impact on any political subdivision to
implement the proposed rule change at this time.







. Will implementing the rule change have an adverse effect on small business as
provided by the Oklahoma Small Business Regulatory Flexibility Act?

The agency does not anticipate any adverse economic impact on small business as a result
of the proposed rule change at this time.

. Are there any other methods which are less costly, nonregulatory, or less intrusive to
achieve the purpose of the proposed rule change?

No.
Will the rule change impact the public health, safety, and environment, and is the
change designed to reduce significant risks to the public health, safety, and

environment? If so, explain nature of risk and to what extent the proposed rule
change will reduce the risk.

No.

What detrimental effect will there be on the public health, safety, and environment if
the rule change is not implemented?

The agency does not anticipate any detrimental effect on public health, safety, or
environment as a result of failure to implement the proposed rule at this time.

. Date Prepared: February 1,2022







STATUTORY AUTHORITY FOR 210:20-9-110

Oklahoma Statutes Citationized
Z3itle 70. Schools
{—Achapter 1 - School Code of 1971
FjAlternative Certification and Licensing
EﬂArticle Article VI - Teachers

l.é_.l Section 6-122.3 - Eligibility for Grant of Alternative Placement Teaching Certificate
Cite as: 70 0.S. § 6-122.3 (OSCN 2022), Alternative Certification and Licensing

A. The State Board of Education shall grant an alternative placement teaching certificate to a person who
makes application to the Board and meets the following criteria:

1. a. holds at least a baccalaureate degree from an institution whose accreditation is recognized by the
Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education and has attained a retention grade point average of not
less than 2.50 on a 4.0 scale, or

b. has successfully completed a terminal degree, such as a doctorate of philosophy, a doctorate in
education, professional doctorates, a master of fine arts degree or a master of library science degree,
from an institution accredited by a national or regional accrediting agency which is recognized by the
Secretary of the United States Department of Education. The Oklahoma State Regents for Higher
Education shall be consulted to verify other terminal degrees, or

c. holds at least a baccalaureate degree from an institution whose accreditation is recognized by the
Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education and has qualified work experience in a field that
corresponds to an area of certification as determined by the State Board of Education, and

d. in addition to the requirements of subparagraphs a, b and c of this paragraph, has demonstrated
competency or completed a major in a field that corresponds to an area of specialization for an
Elementary-Secondary Certificate or a Secondary Certificate as determined by the State Board of
Education or a vocational-technical certificate as recommended by the Oklahoma Department of Career
and Technology Education;

2 Declares the intention to earn standard certification by means of an alternative placement program in
not more than three (3) years. The State Board of Education shall determine the subject matter and the
number of clock or semester hours required for the professional education component for each person
making application for an alternative placement teaching certificate based on the criteria of paragraph 1 of
this subsection.

The State Board of Education shall establish a core minimum of six (6) semester hours or ninety (90)
clock hours and a maximum of eighteen (18) semester hours or two hundred seventy (270) clock hours
for the professional education component.

The requirements set forth in this subsection shall exclude all student teaching requirements pursuant to
the provisions of subsection E of this section;

3. Has passed the general education and subject area portions of the competency examination required
in Section 6-187 of this title in the area of specialization for which certification is sought; and

4. Either presents a document from an accredited public school district in this state offering employment
in the area of specialization for which certification is sought on condition that the person enroll in an
alternative placement program approved by the State Board of Education or declares the intention to
seek employment as a teacher at an accredited public school district in this state. The certificate granted
pursuant to this subsection shall be considered a “valid certificate of qualification” for the purposes



of Sections 6-107 and 6-108 of this title, and the holder of the certificate shall be considered an inductee
for the purposes of Section 6-195 of this title.

B. An alternative placement teaching certificate shall be renewed for not more than a maximum of three
(3) years upon presentation of a document from an accredited public school district in this state offering
renewed employment in the same area of specialization and a document from a teacher education
institution verifying satisfactory progress in an appropriate alternative placement program.

C. Persons enrolled in an alternative placement program shall:

1. Have never been denied admittance to a teacher education program approved by the Oklahoma State
Regents for Higher Education, the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools and by the
Oklahoma Commission for Teacher Preparation to offer teacher education programs, nor have enrolled in
and subsequently failed courses necessary to successfully meet the minimum requirements of the
program, except those persons who hold a certificate;

2. Have on file with the director of teacher education at an Oklahoma institution of higher education a
plan for meeting standard certification requirements within three (3) years; and

3. Participate in an induction program as required in Section 6-195 of this title and have the same duties
and responsibilities as other inductees.

D. The State Board of Education may grant an exception to the requirements for certification and, upon
demonstration by an individual of specific competency in the subject area of specialization, may grant a
certificate to the individual. The State Board may establish other requirements necessary to grant
exceptions.

E. The State Board of Education, in consultation with the Commission for Educational Quality and
Accountability, may grant an exception to the requirement to complete a subject area examination for
initial certification in a field which does not require an advanced degree pursuant to this section if the
candidate has an advanced degree in a subject that is substantially comparable to the content assessed
on a subject area examination. The degree shall be from an institution accredited by a national or
regional accrediting agency which is recognized by the Secretary of the U.S. Department of

Education. The Commission shall provide the Board with the necessary information to determine
comparability.

F. Student teaching and a prestudent teaching field experience shall not be required of alternative
placement program participants for standard certification.

G. The State Board of Education shall promulgate rules authorizing adjunct teachers who shall be
persons with distinguished qualifications in their field. Adjunct teachers shall not be required to meet
standard certification. Adjunct teachers shall be limited to two hundred seventy (270) clock hours of
classroom teaching per semester.

H. Each teacher education institution shall provide the Oklahoma Commission for Teacher Preparation
an annual report of information as specified by the Commission regarding participation in the alternative
placement programs offered by the institution.

I. The Oklahoma Commission for Teacher Preparation shall not accredit, renew the accreditation of, or
otherwise approve any teacher education program of any institution of higher education in this state that
has not implemented alternative placement programs in at least four areas of specialization, including
mathematics, science and a foreign language. Each institution shall allow individuals who meet the
criteria of subsections A and C of this section to be:

1. Admitted to an alternative placement program without further qualification; and

2. Offered the opportunity to complete the requirements for standard certification set forth in subsection A
of this section during the summer preceding and the summer following the first year of teaching with an
alternative placement teaching certificate. Any person seeking standard certification through an



alternative placement program shall be permitted to take necessary courses during regular semesters if
offered.

J. The criteria specified in subsection | of this section can be met through a cooperative arrangement
entered into by two or more institutions of higher education.







TITLE 210. STATE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

CHAPTER 10. SCHOOL ADMINISTRATION AND INSTRUCTIONAL SERVICES

SUBCHAPTER 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS

210:10-1-18. Transfers [AMENDED]

(a)

Definitions. The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, shall have the

following meaning, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

(ab)

(1) "Student of a Deployed Parent' means a student who is the dependent child of a
member of the active uniformed military services of the United States on full-time active
duty status and for whom Oklahoma is the home of record or a student who is the dependent
children of a member of the military reserve on active duty orders and for whom Oklahoma
is the home of record.

(2) "Open Transfer(s)'" means the transfer of a student from the district in which the
student resides to another school district furnishing the grade the student is entitled to
pursue.

(3) "Parent" means the parent, legal guardian, foster parent, or person having custody
of the student seeking a transfer, whose residence is used to determine the residence of the
student in accordance with the provisions of 70 O.S. § 1-113(A)(1). For purposes of the
Individuals with Disabilities Education Act at 20 U.S.C. § 1400 et seq. (IDEA), the
definition of Parent set forth in 34 C.F.R. § 300.30 shall supersede the definition of Parent
set forth in this subsection.

(4) '"Receiving School District" means the school district to which the student is
seeking to be transferred.

(5) "Resident School District' means the school district in which the Parent, guardian,
or person having custody of the student resides, as defined in 70 O.S. § 1-1 13(A)(1).
Governing statutes. All-distriettransfers Open Transfers shall be governed by the

Oklahoma Education Open Transfer Act, 70 O.S. § 8-101.1, et seq. In addition, the following types
of transfers are governed by the following provisions of law:

(1) Students with disabilities. Transfers made for the purpose of providing a free
appropriate public education (FAPE) to special education students shall be governed by 70
0.S. § 18-110 and 70 O.S. § 13-101, et seq. Such transfers shall not be considered epen
transfers Open Transfers subject to the provisions of (d) of this Section.

(2) Gifted and talented students. Transfers made for the purpose of providing gifted
child educational programs shall be governed by 70 O.S. § 1210.307. Such transfers shall
not be considered Open Transfers subject to the provisions of (d) of this Section.

(3) Parents who are teachers. Transfers for the purpose of allowing a student to attend
school in a district in which the student's parentParent is employed as a teacher shall be
governed by 70 O.S. § 8-113. Such transfers shall not be subject to the provisions of (d) of
this Section.

(4) Deployed parentsParents. Transfers for the purpose of allowing a student of a
deployed parentParent to attend-sehoelin-a transfer districts in-which-afamily-member
resides shall be governed by 70 O.S. § 8-103.1. Such transfers shall not be subject to the
provisions of (d) of this Section.




(65) Sibling transfers. Transfers of siblings pursuant to the provisions of 70 O.S. § 8-
101.2 shall be processed as epen—transfers—Open Transfers in accordance with the
requirements of 70 O.S. § 8-103 and (d) of this Section. Transfers of multiple birth siblings
shall be processed as epen-transfers-Open Transfers, provided that if multiple birth siblings

are transferred to the same receiving district, a parent-Parent er-guardian may request
placement at the same school and/or in the same classroom under the provisions of 70 O.S.
§ 254-154(A).

(1) _Each school district board of education shall adopt a policy to determine the number
of transfer students the school district has the capacity to accept in each erade level for
each school site within a school district pursuant to 70 O.S. § 8-101.2. The policy may
include the acts and reasons outlined in 70 O.S. § 24-101.3 and a history of absences as
bases for denial of a transfer. “History of absences” means ten or more absences in one
semester that are not excused for the reasons provided for in 70 O.S. § 10-105(B) or due to
illness. The school district’s policy shall not include any other basis for denying a transfer
request.
(2) The transfer of a student from the district in which the student resides to another
school district furnishing instruction in the grade the student is entitled to pursue shall be
granted at any time in the year unless:

(a) The number of transfers exceeds the capacity of a grade level for each school

site within a school district; or

(b)  The transfer would violate the school’s adopted transfer policy with respect

to acts and reasons outlined in 70 O.S. § 24-101.3 or a student’s history of absences.
(3) A school may not accept or deny a request based on the statutorily prohibited factors
as set forth in 70 O.S. § 8-103.1.
4 If the grade a student is entitled to pursue is not offered in the district where the
student resides, a transfer request shall be automatically approved by the Receiving School
District. 70 O.S. § 8-101.




i - All Open Transfers must be initiated

and processed in accordance with the following procedures:

(1)  The parentParent of the student must complete an application form specified by the
State Board of Education. teati : i A

istrict—The application shall be
filed with the superintendent of the Receiving School District for transfers to school
districts in this state and with the State Board of Education for transfers to school districts
in another state.




approve or deny the application and notify the Parent of the student of the decision in
writing within 30 days of receiving an application. Applications shall be processed in the
order in which they are received. If the number of student transfer applications exceeds the
capacity of'a Receiving School District, the district shall select transfer students in the order
in which the district received the student tr ansfe1 anphcatlons

transfer apphcauon is accepted the pafentstents of the student shall p10v1de the
receiving school district with written notification that the student will be enrolling in the
reeeiving-sehool-distriet Receiving School District within ten days of receiving notice that
the transfer application was approved. Failure of the pareatsParents to notify may result in
the loss of the student's right to enroll in the school district for that year only. If a
parentParent fails to notify the reeeiving sehoel-distriet Receiving School District that a
student will be enrolling, and the receiving—school-distriet Receiving School District
chooses to cancel the transfer, the receiving-sechool-distriet Receiving School District shall
provide a written notice of the cancellation to the parentParent and-theresident distriet of
the student 1mmed1ately upon cancellatmn

) ‘ e er:_If a transfer
application is denied, the Parents of the student may appeal the Recelvm,q School Districts
decisions as set forth in 70 O S. § 8- 101 2(E) and Okla. Admln Code § 210: 10 1-18.1.

be—aﬁp}eyed—lf the Rece1v1ng School Dlstnct receives notlce that the tlansfemng student
will be enrolling in the Receiving School District, the Receiving School District shall notify
the Resldent School District w1th1n ten (1 O) davs

(7)

lﬁﬁ%@iﬁeﬂﬂﬂﬁ%&k@#ﬁa{m%fe&hﬂﬁ%ﬂlbseeﬁeﬁ—ADDIOVal of the re51dent

district is not required for an Open Transfer.




|




(fe) Deployed pafentsParents -Student-transfers-under-the DeployedParents-School Act-of

feeellﬁﬂg—seheel—drsmet— If a transfel 1equest is subm1tted on behalf of a Student of a
Deployed Parent in accordance with 70 O.S. § 1-103.1 and this administrative rule, the
application shall be apmoved 1e,qardless of the capacrcv of the Recewm,q School Dlstuct
(2) 5 nten it : ione o

ef—%h%felIGWﬂ%Local school dlstrlct b0a1ds of educatlon shaH adopt a pohcy for tr ansfer
requests by Students of a Deployed Parent.

(3) %mﬁ%mﬁ%m%ﬁ%pfm&ﬁ%&eﬁh}&wbseeﬁawhaﬂﬁ%b%ﬂbj%ﬁe%heepen
transter-deadlines-set-forth-in(d)-of this-Seetion—Transfer requests on behalf of Students of

a Deployed Parent shall be processed in accordance with 70 O.S. § 8-103.1.

(gf) CaneellationTermination of tTransfers. Transfers-may-enlybecancelled-in-accordance
w%hﬂ&%feﬂm&mg—p}esﬁs}eﬁs—A transfer may not be terminated in the middle of a school year. At

the end of each school year, a school district may deny continued transfer of the student for the
reasons outlined in 70 O.S. § 8-101.2(B)(1)-(2). Written notice of a Receiving School District’s
intention to deny continued transfer of a student shall be given to the Parent of a student by no
later than July 15 and shall comply with Okla. Admin. Code § 210:10-1-18.1(b)(3). A Receiving
School District’s denial of a continued transfer may be appealed in compliance with § 210:10-1-
18.1.

(hg) Reporting transfers.
(1) On or before Septembert-of each-schoolyear-January 1. April 1, July 1, and October
1, the Superintendent of each reeeiving-school-distriet Receiving School District shall file




a statement with the State Board of Education and each resident-schoel-distriet Resident
School District showing the name and grade level of each student granted a transfer to the
receiving-school-distriet-Receiving School District and the Resident School District for
each student.

(2) On or before January 1. April 1, July 1, and October 1, each school district board of
education shall submit to the State Department of Education the number of student transfers
approved and denied and whether each denial was based on capacity, acts and reasons
outlined in Section 24-101.3 of this title or a history of absences as provided for in
paragraph 2 of subsection B of this section. The State Department of Education shall
publish the data on its website and make the data available to the Office of Educational

Quality and Accountability.







PUBLIC COMMENT SUMMARY

210:10-1-18 Transfers [AMENDED]

Summary of Public Comment

1. Commenter advises that the definition of
“Student of a Deployed Parent” is different from
that in statute. Specifically, the comments suggest
that the inclusion of “for whom Oklahoma is the
home of record” is beyond the authority of the
Agency to require as related to a student of a
deployed parent seeking a transfer.

Further, comments advise that proposed language
at (b)(1) regarding “such transfers shall not be
considered open transfers...” be included within

(b)(2)-(4).

Comments also provided that the language in
subsection (c) repeats state law such that they are
unnecessary and violate the Administrative
Procedures Act.

With respect to subsection (d) of the proposed rule,
comments request that school districts be afforded
longer than a thirty day window to approve or deny

Agency Response

1. The Agency appreciates the comments
provided. However, the phrase “for whom
Oklahoma is the home is record” is within the
latest version of the 2021 amendments to 70 O.S.
§ 8-103.1. See Senate Bill 68 (2021). As such,
according to rules of statutory interpretation, the
Agency believes the language in subsection (a)(1)
is appropriate.

The Agency agrees in part and disagrees in part
with the comments relating to subsection (b) of the
proposed rule. Specifically, the agency agrees that
gifted and talented student transfers pursuant to 70
0.S. § 1210307 are not governed by the
Oklahoma Education Open Transfer Act, 70 O.S.
§ 8-101.1, et seq.. However, transfers of a student
who’s parent is employed as a teacher (70 O.S. 8-
113) and for a student of a deployed parent (70
0.S. § 8-103.1) are under the Open Transfer Act
as it is titled in the Oklahoma statutes. All of that
said, the Agency agrees that the aforementioned
transfers are not subject to the provisions of
subsection (d) of the rule such that a proposed
modification to the rule is being made.

OSDE is mindful of the commenter’s reference to
75 0.S. § 251(B). Respectfully, OSDE does not
believe that the identification of the statutory
language in the rule is wumnecessary. The
identification of the statutory language in the rule
is in attempt to streamline a reader’s understanding
of the entirety of the rule and so as to not cause a
reader to reference back and forth between statute
and rule.

The Agency believes the thirty-day window is
appropriate to timely afford students and parents
with information regarding their school district for

1







transfers. Specifically, the request is to allow
school districts more time to review applications
for an ensuing school year as it would afford
parents a more generous time to apply for
transfers. Justification offered for this proposal
includes that more parents and guardians will be
filing applications for an ensuing school year than
during the year such that this would be more
convenient for parents and school administrators
was extended to sixty days.

Commenter  further  proposes  eliminating
subsection (e) as it is not applicable to transfers for
students of deployed parents.

Finally, comments propose eliminating language
in subsection (f) relating to a deadline for
cancellation of a transfer by July 15.

2. Commenter suggests cleanup language
regarding the proper title of the Individuals with
Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). Further,
comments propose a good cause exception for
districts not meeting the requirement to notify a
parent or legal guardian of a decision on an
application for a transfer within the required thirty
day period.

the ensuing school year. Further, with the
implementation of the online system to date and
time stamp applications, with the District posting
capacity at a minimum of each quarter (may be
more frequent), the Agency believes thirty days is
appropriate at this time, but will monitor through
this first year to determine is future amendment
through rulemaking is appropriate.

The Agency appreciates the comments relating to
subsection (e). However, the Agency respectfully
disagrees that the language in subsection (e)
provides that the Open Transfer law is implicated
by any language in the rule for a student of a
deployed parent. In further support, please refer to
the response to proposed modification to
subsection (b)(4).

The Agency respectfully disagrees with the
suggestion relating to subsection (f). The language
currently in subsection (f) is believed to provide
students and families with reasonable advance
notice of a school district’s decision to terminate a
student transfer and provides the school district
with reasonable time by which it should make a
decision to terminate a student transfer for the
ensuing year.

2. The Agency appreciates the comments
provided regarding IDEA and is making the
change in the Proposed Final Rule.

Pursuant to 70 O.S. § 24-101.4, a district that
receives a request for the education records of a
student shall forward the records within three (3)
business days of receipt of the request. These
records are required to include any disciplinary
records. Additionally, similar language is provided
on the Agency’s transfer form. The Agency
believes the obligation on resident district is clear







in statute and the process is workable to provide
records within the timeframe to be able for a
district to render a decision within the thirty-day
period. Further, existing statutes already provide
for remedies available should the Resident District
not comply. Finally, to the extent a Receiving
District finds itself not meeting the thirty-day
period for rendering a decision and that is directly
due to the Resident District not providing the
records and/or providing the appropriate
representative for the meeting, the Agency states
that it would not foresee imposing any
consequence to the Resident District if it can show
it was exercising its efforts and diligence to obtain
the student records or garnering the participation
of the representative for the meeting.







RULE IMPACT STATEMENT

210:10-1-18. Transfers [AMENDED]

What is the purpose of the proposed rule change?

The purpose of this rule is to implement the provisions of Senate Bill 783 (2021), amending
the Education Open Transfer Act, which was signed into law and became effective on
March 31, 2021, and is codified at 70 O.S. § 8-101.2, 8-103, 8-103.1, and 8-113.

. What classes of persons will be affected by the proposed rule change and what classes
of persons will bear the costs of the proposed rule change?

The rule change will directly affect students and their parents who seek a student transfer
to a non-resident school district, as well as teachers, administrators, and other employees
of public school districts (i.e., traditional, charter, virtual charter) who will oversee or
implement the revised transfer process.

What classes of persons will benefit from the proposed rule change?

The rule change will benefit students by ensuring that the any student may apply for a
transfer to any public school district within the state, subject to the provisions of the
Education Open Transfer Act.

. What is the probable economic impact of the proposed rule upon affected classes of
persons or political subdivisions?

The agency does not anticipate any economic impact upon political subdivisions or
affected classes as a result of implementation of the proposed rule change at this time.

What is the probable cost to the agency to implement and enforce the proposed rule
change?

The agency will incur expense to update data applications in order to implement new
provisions of the Education Open Transfer Act. The agency may also need additional staff
to receive and review transfer appeals depending on the quantity of appeals in the future.

What is the economic impact on any political subdivision to implement the proposed
rule change?

The agency does not anticipate any economic impact on any political subdivision to
implement the proposed rule change at this time.







Will implementing the rule change have an adverse effect on small business as
provided by the Oklahoma Small Business Regulatory Flexibility Act?

The agency does not anticipate any adverse economic impact on small business as a result
of the proposed rule change at this time.

. Are there any other methods which are less costly, nonregulatory, or less intrusive to
achieve the purpose of the proposed rule change?

No.

Will the rule change impact the public health, safety, and environment, and is the
change designed to reduce significant risks to the public health, safety, and
environment? If so, explain nature of risk and to what extent the proposed rule
change will reduce the risk.

The agency does not anticipate passage of these rules will impact the public health, safety,
and environment. These rules are proposed in order to clarify and allow for practical

implementation of existing law.

What detrimental effect will there be on the public health, safety, and environment if
the rule change is not implemented?

The agency does not anticipate any detrimental effect on public health, safety, or
environment as a result of failure to implement the proposed rule at this time.

. Date Prepared

February 15, 2022







STATUTORY AUTHORITY FOR 210:10-1-18

Oklahoma Statutes Citationized

{ritle 70. Schools

EﬂChapter 1 - School Code of 1971
J!aArticIe Article VIII - Transfer of Pupils

E‘Section 8-101.2 - Selection - Approval - Policy - Capacity- Report - Appeal - Audit
Cite as: 70 0.S. § 8-101.2 (OSCN 2022)

A. Except as provided in subsection B of this section, on and after January 1, 2022, the transfer of a
student from the district in which the student resides to another school district furnishing instruction in the
grade the student is entitled to pursue shall be granted at any time in the year unless the number of
transfers exceeds the capacity of a grade level for each school site within a school district. If the capacity
of a grade level for each school site within a school district is insufficient to enroll all eligible students, the
school district shall select transfer students in the order in which the district received the student transfer
applications. The capacity of a school district shall be determined by the school district board of
education based on its policy adopted pursuant to subsection B of this section. A student may be granted
a one-year transfer and may continue to attend the school each school year to which the student
transferred with the approval of the receiving district. At the end of each school year, a school district may
deny continued transfer of the student for the reasons outlined in paragraphs 1 and 2 of subsection B of
this section. Any brother or sister of a student who transfers may attend the school district to which the
student transferred as long as the school district has capacity and the brother or sister of the transferred
student does not meet a basis for denial as outlined in paragraphs 1 and 2 of subsection B of this
section. Any child in the custody of the Department of Human Services in foster care who is living in the
home of a student who transfers may attend the school district to which the student transferred. Except
for a child in the custody of the Department of Human Services in foster care, a transfer student shall not
transfer more than two (2) times per school year to one or more school districts in which the student does
not reside, provided that the student may always reenroll at any time in his or her school district of
residence.

If the grade a student is entitled to pursue is not offered in the district where the student resides, the
transfer shall be automatically approved.

B. Each school district board of education shall adopt a policy to determine the number of transfer
students the school district has the capacity to accept in each grade level for each school site within a
school district no later than January 1, 2022. The policy may include:

1. The acts and reasons outlined in Section 24-101.3 of this title as a basis for denial of a transfer; and

2. A history of absences as a basis for denial of a transfer. For the purposes of this section, “history of
absences” means ten or more absences in one semester that are not excused for the reasons provided
for in subsection B of Section 10-105 of this title or due to illness.

The policy shall be publicly posted on the school district website.

C. By the first day of January, April, July and October, the school district board of education shall
establish the number of transfer students the school district has the capacity to accept in each grade level
for each school site within a school district.

D. After establishing the number of transfer students the school district has the capacity to accept in each
grade level for each school site within a school district, the board of education shall:

1. Publish in a prominent place on the school district website the number of transfer students for each
grade level for each school site within a school district which the school district has the capacity to accept;
and



2. Report to the State Department of Education the number of transfer students for each grade level for
each school site within a school district which the school district has the capacity to accept.

E. If a transfer request is denied by the school district, the parent of the student may appeal the denial
within ten (10) days of notification of the denial to the receiving school district board of education. The
receiving school district board of education shall consider the appeal at its next regularly scheduled board
meeting. If the receiving school district board of education denies the appeal, the parent of the student
may appeal the denial within ten (10) days of notification of the appeal denial to the State Board of
Education. The parent shall submit to the State Board of Education and the superintendent of the
receiving school a notice of appeal on a form prescribed by the State Board of Education. The appeal
shall be considered by the State Board of Education at its next regularly scheduled meeting, where the
parent and a representative from the receiving school district may address the Board. The State Board of
Education shall promulgate rules to establish the appeals process authorized by this subsection.

F. Each school district board of education shall submit to the State Department of Education the number
of student transfers approved and denied and whether each denial was based on capacity, acts and
reasons outlined in Section 24-101.3 of this title or a history of absences as provided for in paragraph 2 of
subsection B of this section. The State Department of Education shall publish the data on its website and
make the data available to the Office of Educational Quality and Accountability.

G. Each year, the Office of Educational Quality and Accountability shall randomly select ten percent
(10%) of the school districts in the state and conduct an audit of each district's approved and denied
transfers based on the provisions of the policies adopted by the respective school district board of
education. If the Office finds inaccurate reporting of capacity levels by a school district, the Office shall
set the capacity for the school district.



TITLE 210. STATE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
CHAPTER 10. SCHOOL ADMINISTRATION AND INSTRUCTIONAL SERVICES

SUBCHAPTER 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS

210:10-1-18.1. Right to Appeal Transfer Application Upon Denial [NEW]

(a)

Definitions. The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, shall have the

following meaning, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

(1) “Student” means a student who is requesting transfer from the district in which the

student resides to another school district furnishing instruction in the grade the student is

entitled to pursue.

(2) “Parent” means the parent, legal guardian, foster parent, or person having custody of

the student seeking a transfer, whose residence is used to determine the residence of the

student in accordance with the provisions of 70 O.S. § 1-113(A)(1). For purposes of the

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act at 20 U.S.C. § 1400 et seq. (IDEA), the

definition of Parent set forth in 34 C.F.R. § 300.30 shall supersede the definition of Parent

set forth in this subsection.

(3) “Receiving School District” shall mean a school district to which a Student is seeking

to be transferred.

(4) “Receiving Board of Education” shall mean the board of education for the Receiving

School District.
Appeal to Receiving Board of Education.

(1) If a transfer request made pursuant to 70 O.S. § 8-101.2 is denied by the Receiving

School District, the Parent of the Student may appeal the denial to the Receiving Board of

Education.

(2) The Receiving School District shall provide notification of denial in writing to the

Parent of the Student by either hand-delivery, by U.S. Mail or electronic mail.
(3) The notification shall include:

(A) An explanation, including but not limited to any citation to the statute,

regulation, or school district policy under which the denial was made;

(B) A copy of the policy adopted by the Receiving Board of Education for

determining the number of transfer students the school district has capacity to

accept;
(C) A copy of this administrative rule; and

(D) The date upon which the appeal will be due.

(4) A Parent of a Student shall have ten days to appeal a Receiving School District’s denial

of a transfer request. If notification of denial is hand-delivered, the appeal period shall

begin the day after the notification is delivered. If notification of denial is sent by U.S.

Mail. the appeal period shall begin three days after the notification is mailed. If notification

of denial is sent by electronic mail, the appeal period shall begin the day after the

notification is sent. The Receiving Board of Education shall accept an otherwise untimely

appeal if a Parent of a Student can establish that they did not receive actual notice of the

notification denying the transfer request, and the appeal was submitted within ten days after

the Parent of the Student received actual notice.




(c) Submission of Appeal to Receiving Board of Education. An appeal to a Receiving Board
of Education shall be submitted to the office of the superintendent of the Receiving School District.
The appeal shall include the following:
(1) The name, address and telephone number of the Parent of the Student and the Student
for whom the appeal is being taken;
(2) The date the Receiving School District gave notice denying the transfer request:
(3) The basis for appealing the decision of the Receiving School District; and
(4) The name, address and telephone number of the appellant’s legal representative, if
applicable.
Any documentary evidence should be attached to the petition for appeal.
(d)  Timeframe for Hearing of Appeal to Receiving Board of Education. The Receiving
Board of Education shall consider the appeal at its next regularly scheduled board meeting.
(e) Appeal to State Board of Education.
(1) If the Receiving Board of Education denies an appeal of a request to transfer made
pursuant to 70 O.S. § 8-101.2, the Parent of the Student may appeal the denial to the State
Board of Education.
(2) The Receiving Board of Education shall provide notification of denial in writing to the
Parent of the Student by either hand-delivery, by U.S. Mail or by electronic mail.
(3) The notification shall include:
(A) An explanation, including but not limited to any citation to the statute,
regulation, or school district policy under which the denial was made:
(B) A copy of the policy adopted by the Receiving Board of Education for
determining the number of transfer students the school district has capacity to
accept;
(C) A copy of the State Board of Education’s prescribed form for an appeal; and
(D) A copy of this administrative rule.
(4) A Parent of a Student shall have ten days to appeal a Receiving Board of Education’s
denial of a transfer request. If notification of denial is hand-delivered, the appeal period
shall begin the day after the notification is delivered. If notification of denial is sent by U.S,
Mail, the appeal period shall begin three days after the notification is mailed. If notification
of denial is sent by electronic mail, the appeal period shall begin the day after the
notification is sent. The State Board of Education shall accept an otherwise untimely appeal
if a Parent of a Student can establish that they did not receive actual notice of the
notification denying the transfer request, and the appeal was submitted within ten days after
the Parent of the Student received actual notice.
[63) Submission of an Appeal to the State Board. An appeal to the State Board of Education
shall be submitted to the Executive Secretary of the Board. The Parent of a Student appealing a
transfer denial from a Receiving Board of Education shall use the form prescribed by the State
Board of Education. At the time of submitting an appeal to the State Board, the appellant must
concurrently submit a copy of the appeal to the superintendent of the Receiving School District
that denied the transfer request. The superintendent shall immediately transmit the appeal to the
Receiving Board of Education.
(g)  Form for Appeal. At a minimum, the appeal form prescribed by the State Board of
Education shall include the following information:
(1) The name, address, and telephone number of the Parent of the Student and the Student
for whom the appeal is being taken;




(2) The name of the Receiving Board of Education against whom the appeal is filed;

(3) The date on which the Parent of the Student received notification that the Receiving

Board of Education denied the transfer request;

(4) The basis for appealing the decision of Receiving School Board and statement that any

documentary evidence should be attached to the petition for appeal;

(5) The name, address and telephone number of the appellant’s representative, if

applicable;

(6) Notice that the appeal will be considered by the State Board at the next regularly

scheduled meeting, at which the appellant and school district may appear; and

(7) A signature of the appellant, or authorized representative.
()  Response. Upon receipt of notice of an appeal, but not later than five (5) days prior to the
date at which the appeal is scheduled to be considered by the State Board of Education, the
Receiving Board of Education may submit a written response to the appeal. Responses should not
exceed five (5) pages. If not submitted by the appealing Parent, the Receiving Board of Education
shall provide a copy of the policy adopted to determine the number of transfer students the school
district has the capacity to accept in each grade level for each school site within a school district.
1) Timeframe for Hearing Appeal to State Board. Appeals shall be considered by the State
Board of Education at its next regularly scheduled meeting. No later than ten (10) days from the
date of the consideration of the appeal request, the State Board of Education will provide the
appellant and the denying school district with notice of the time and place of the State Board
meeting at which the appeal will be considered. The appellant and school district will have an
opportunity to appear in person or by authorized representative or by attorney to address the State
Board at the meeting.
4 Consideration of Appeal to State Board of Education. If a Receiving Board of
Education has not adopted a policy to determine the number of transfer students the school district
has the capacity to accept in each grade level for each school site within a school district, there
shall be a presumption that the receiving school district has capacity to accept the student
requesting transfer. If no policy has been adopted, the receiving school district board of education
shall have the burden to present evidence demonstrating that capacity does not exist. If a Receiving
Board of Education has not adopted a capacity policy. it may not reject a transfer request based
on:

(1) The acts and reasons outlined in Section 24-101.3; or
(2) A history of absences.







PUBLIC COMMENT SUMMARY

210:10-1-18.1 Right to appeal transfer application upon denial [NEW]

Summary of Public Comment Agency Response

1. Commenter suggests cleanup language | 1. The Agency appreciates the comments
regarding the proper title of the Individuals with | provided regarding IDEA and is making the
Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). change in the Proposed Final Rule.







RULE IMPACT STATEMENT

210:10-1-18.1 Right to Appeal Transfer Application Upon Denial [NEW]

What is the purpose of the proposed rule change?

The purpose of this rule is to implement the provisions of Senate Bill 783 (2021), amending
the Education Open Transfer Act, which was signed into law and became effective on
March 31, 2021, and is codified at 70 O.S. § 8-101.2, 8-103, 8-103.1, and 8-113.

. What classes of persons will be affected by the proposed rule change and what classes
of persons will bear the costs of the proposed rule change?

The rule change will directly affect students and their parents who seek a student transfer
to a non-resident school district, as well as teachers, administrators, and other employees
of public school districts (i.e., traditional, charter, virtual charter) who will oversee or
implement the revised transfer process.

What classes of persons will benefit from the proposed rule change?

The rule change will benefit individuals who have been denied a request for a transfer and
who want to appeal those denials to the State Board of Education.

. What is the probable economic impact of the proposed rule upon affected classes of
persons or political subdivisions?

The agency does not anticipate any economic impact upon political subdivisions or
affected classes as a result of implementation of the proposed rule change at this time.

What is the probable cost to the agency to implement and enforce the proposed rule
change?

The agency will incur expense to update data applications in order to implement new
provisions of the Education Open Transfer Act. The agency may also need additional staff
to receive and review transfer appeals depending on the quantity of appeals in the future.

What is the economic impact on any political subdivision to implement the proposed
rule change?

The agency does not anticipate any economic impact on any political subdivision to
implement the proposed rule change at this time.

. Will implementing the rule change have an adverse effect on small business as
provided by the Oklahoma Small Business Regulatory Flexibility Act?

The agency does not anticipate any adverse economic impact on small business as a result
of the proposed rule change at this time.







h. Are there any other methods which are less costly, nonregulatory, or less intrusive to
achieve the purpose of the proposed rule change?

No.

i. Will the rule change impact the public health, safety, and environment, and is the
change designed to reduce significant risks to the public health, safety, and
environment? If so, explain nature of risk and to what extent the proposed rule
change will reduce the risk.

The agency does not anticipate passage of these rules will impact the public health, safety,
and environment. These rules are proposed in order to clarify and allow for practical
implementation of existing law.

j.  What detrimental effect will there be on the public health, safety, and environment if
the rule change is not implemented?

The agency does not anticipate any detrimental effect on public health, safety, or
environment as a result of failure to implement the proposed rule at this time.

k. Date Prepared

February 15, 2022







STATUTORY AUTHORITY FOR 210:10-1-18.1

Oklahoma Statutes Citationized
{Z3itle 70. Schools
{=chapter 1 - School Code of 1971
aArticle Article VIII - Transfer of Pupils

@ Section 8-101.2 - Selection - Approval - Policy - Capacity- Report - Appeal - Audit
Cite as: 70 0.S. § 8-101.2 (OSCN 2022)

A. Except as provided in subsection B of this section, on and after January 1, 2022, the transfer of a
student from the district in which the student resides to another school district furnishing instruction in the
grade the student is entitled to pursue shall be granted at any time in the year unless the number of
transfers exceeds the capacity of a grade level for each school site within a school district. If the capacity
of a grade level for each school site within a school district is insufficient to enroll all eligible students, the
school district shall select transfer students in the order in which the district received the student transfer
applications. The capacity of a school district shall be determined by the school district board of
education based on its policy adopted pursuant to subsection B of this section. A student may be granted
a one-year transfer and may continue to attend the school each school year to which the student
transferred with the approval of the receiving district. At the end of each school year, a school district may
deny continued transfer of the student for the reasons outlined in paragraphs 1 and 2 of subsection B of
this section. Any brother or sister of a student who transfers may attend the school district to which the
student transferred as long as the school district has capacity and the brother or sister of the transferred
student does not meet a basis for denial as outlined in paragraphs 1 and 2 of subsection B of this
section. Any child in the custody of the Department of Human Services in foster care who is living in the
home of a student who transfers may attend the school district to which the student transferred. Except
for a child in the custody of the Department of Human Services in foster care, a transfer student shall not
transfer more than two (2) times per school year to one or more school districts in which the student does
not reside, provided that the student may always reenroll at any time in his or her school district of
residence.

If the grade a student is entitled to pursue is not offered in the district where the student resides, the
transfer shall be automatically approved.

B. Each school district board of education shall adopt a policy to determine the number of transfer
students the school district has the capacity to accept in each grade level for each school site within a
school district no later than January 1, 2022. The policy may include:

1. The acts and reasons outlined in Section 24-101.3 of this title as a basis for denial of a transfer; and

2. A history of absences as a basis for denial of a transfer. For the purposes of this section, “history of
absences” means ten or more absences in one semester that are not excused for the reasons provided
for in subsection B of Section 10-105 of this title or due to iliness.

The policy shall be publicly posted on the school district website.

C. By the first day of January, April, July and October, the school district board of education shall
establish the number of transfer students the school district has the capacity to accept in each grade level
for each school site within a school district.

D. After establishing the number of transfer students the school district has the capacity to accept in each
grade level for each school site within a school district, the board of education shall:

1. Publish in a prominent place on the school district website the number of transfer students for each
grade level for each school site within a school district which the school district has the capacity to accept;
and



2. Report to the State Department of Education the number of transfer students for each grade level for
each school site within a school district which the school district has the capacity to accept.

E. If a transfer request is denied by the school district, the parent of the student may appeal the denial
within ten (10) days of notification of the denial to the receiving school district board of education. The
receiving school district board of education shall consider the appeal at its next regularly scheduled board
meeting. If the receiving school district board of education denies the appeal, the parent of the student
may appeal the denial within ten (10) days of nofification of the appeal denial to the State Board of
Education. The parent shall submit to the State Board of Education and the superintendent of the
receiving school a notice of appeal on a form prescribed by the State Board of Education. The appeal
shall be considered by the State Board of Education at its next regularly scheduled meeting, where the
parent and a representative from the receiving school district may address the Board. The State Board of
Education shall promulgate rules to establish the appeals process authorized by this subsection.

F. Each school district board of education shall submit to the State Department of Education the number
of student transfers approved and denied and whether each denial was based on capacity, acts and
reasons outlined in Section 24-101.3 of this title or a history of absences as provided for in paragraph 2 of
subsection B of this section. The State Department of Education shall publish the data on its website and
make the data available to the Office of Educational Quality and Accountability.

G. Each year, the Office of Educational Quality and Accountability shall randomly select ten percent
(10%) of the school districts in the state and conduct an audit of each district’s approved and denied
transfers based on the provisions of the policies adopted by the respective school district board of
education. If the Office finds inaccurate reporting of capacity levels by a school district, the Office shall
set the capacity for the school district.



TITLE 210. STATE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
CHAPTER 1. STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
SUBCHAPTER 5. DUE PROCESS

210:1-5-6. Suspension and/or revocation of certificates
(a) Application. The rules and regulations of the State Board of Education governing the
suspension and revocation of certificates apply to the following: superintendents of schools,
principals, supervisors, librarians, school nurses, school bus drivers, visiting teachers, classroom
teachers and other personnel performing instructional, administrative and supervisory services in
the public schools. Except as otherwise specifically provided by law, the issuance or denial of a
new certificate shall not be considered an individual proceeding subject to the process and
procedures set forth in this Section.
(b) Grounds for revocation. A certificate shall be revoked only for:
(1) A willful violation of a rule or regulation of the State Board of Education, or the United
States Department of Education; or
(2) A willful violation of any federal or state law, or
(3) A conviction for any of the offenses or bases for revocation set forth in 70 O.S. §§ 3-
104 or 3-104.1; or
(4) For other proper cause, including but not limited to violation of the Standards of
Performance and Conduct for Teachers at Chapter 20, Subchapter 29 of this Title.
(c) Duty to report and refrain from illegal activity. It shall be a violation of State Board of
Education rules and regulations for any person holding a valid teaching certificate to be aware of
and fail to report, or knowingly participate in any activity deemed illegal while participating in
job-related activities of student organizations, athletic and scholastic competitions, fairs, stock
shows, field trips, or any other activity related to the instructional program. Willful violation of
(b)(1)-(b)(4) of this regulation or the failure to report or knowing participation in any activity
deemed illegal may result in recommendation of revocation or suspension of the certificate, or
such other penalty, as may be determined after due process by the State Board of Education.
(d) Right to hearing on revocation of an existing certificate. No certificate shall be revoked
until the holder of the certificate has been provided with a copy of the application to revoke the
certificate and opportunity for a hearing provided by the State Board of Education in accordance
with the following procedures:
(1) Filing of application to revoke a certificate. An individual proceeding to revoke a
certificate shall be initiated by filing an application to revoke a certificate. An application to
revoke a certificate shall be filed with the Secretary of the State Board of Education by the
State Department of Education. The application shall name the holder of the certificate to be
revoked as the respondent in the action, and shall contain:
(A) A statement of the legal authority and jurisdiction under which the applicant seeks
to initiate the proceeding and the hearing is to be held,;
(B) A reference to each particular statute and/or rule involved;
(C) A short and plain statement of the allegations asserted; and
(D) A statement of the facts alleged to give rise to the revocation. The application shall
also state a proposed effective date for the relief requested (e.g., revocation), which shall
be set no earlier than forty-five (45) calendar days from the date the complaint is filed.
(2) TInformal disposition. Informal disposition of the application to revoke a certificate
may be made by stipulation, agreed settlement, consent order, or default, unless otherwise




precluded by law. Written notice signed by each party or counsel representatives shall be
delivered to the Secretary of the State Board of Education prior to the time of the scheduled
hearing.
(3) Notice to parties. Within three (3) business days of the date the application to revoke a
certificate is filed with the Secretary of the State Board of Education, the Secretary shall send
a copy of the application along with a notice of intent to revoke the certificate by certified or
registered mail, restricted delivery with return receipt requested, to the holder of the
certificate. It is the responsibility of every certificate holder to notify the State Department of
Education upon a change of address, and the mailing address on file for each certificate
holder shall be presumed to be a proper address for service of notice. Service of notice of
intent to revoke a certificate shall be deemed complete upon certified or registered mailing of
the notice to the certificate holder's last known address. In addition to the requirements of
notice set forth at 75 O.S. § 309, the notice of intent to revoke the certificate shall include:
(A) A statement setting forth the proposed effective date of revocation of the certificate;
and
(B) A statement advising the holder that if the holder fails to appear for a hearing and
contest the revocation, the allegations in the application for revocation will be deemed
confessed and the Board may issue a final order to effect revocation of the certificate as
of the effective date proposed in the notice.
(¢) Emergency Action. Pursuant to 75 O.S. § 314, in the event the State Board of Education
finds that public health, safety, or welfare imperatively requires emergency action, the State
Board of Education may issue an emergency order summarily suspending a certificate pending
an individual proceeding for revocation or other action. Such proceedings shall be promptly
instituted and determined. Such an order shall include specific findings of fact specifying the
grounds for the emergency action. Within three (3) business days of the issuance of the order by
the Board, a copy of the order shall be sent to the holder of the certificate via certified or
registered mail, delivery restricted to the certificate holder, with return receipt requested.
(f) Hearing procedures.
(1) Hearing and appointment of a hearing officer. Upon filing the application with the
Secretary of the Board, the Secretary shall set the matter for a hearing. The Board, at its
discretion, may utilize a hearing officer to conduct the hearing. If utilized, the hearing officer
shall be appointed by the Chairperson of the Board.
(2) Attendance of witnesses. If the complainant, or the holder of the certificate wants any
person to attend the hearing and testify as a witness, he/she shall notify the Chairperson of
the State Board of Education at least fifteen (15) calendar days prior to the hearing, in
writing, giving the name and address of the desired witness, and the Chairperson may shalt
cause the Secretary to thereupon issue a subpoena, by mail, to the desired witness to attend in
accordance with the provisions of this subsection. Every person testifying at a revocation
hearing shall be sworn to tell the truth. The parties to the hearing shall exchange witness and
exhibit lists and any exhibits no later than fifteen (15) calendar days prior to the hearing.
(3) Subpoenas. Subpoenas and/or subpoenas duces tecum may be issued in accordance
with the following procedures:
(A) Issuance of subpoenas. Subpoenas for the attendance of witnesses, or for the
production of books, records, papers, objects, or other evidence of any kind as may be
necessary and proper for the purposes of a proceeding shall be issued by the Secretary of
the Board at the direction of the Chairperson; upon order of the Board; or at the request




of any party to a proceeding before the Board. The signature of the Secretary shall be
sufficient authentication for any subpoena.

(B) Service of subpoenas. Subpoenas shall be served in any manner prescribed for
service of a subpoena in a civil action in the district courts of the State of Oklahoma.

(C) Objections to and compliance with subpoenas. Any party to the proceeding may
move to quash a subpoena or subpoenas duces tecum issued in accordance with the
provisions of this Section, provided that, prior to quashing a subpoena or subpoenas
duces tecum the agency shall give notice to all parties. A motion to quash shall be filed

within seven days of the issuance of the subpoena. A-subpeena-or-subpoenas-duces-tecun

(D) Enforcement of subpoenas. Upon the failure of any person to obey a subpoena, or
upon the refusal of any witness to be sworn or make an affirmation or to answer a
question put to her or him in the course of any individual proceeding or other authorized
action of the Board, the party seeking enforcement may file an appropriate motion for
enforcement with the State Board or hearing officer, as applicable, or may seek
enforcement in a court of competent jurisdiction. the-Beard-as-soon-as-convenient-shall

e at-the-Subhhoen
Cl v v i,

any-judge thereof foran orderto-compel-complian e-with-the-subpeen a-or-the-furnishing
i i v i - Meanwhile, the hearing or other matters shall
proceed, so far as is possible, but the Board at its discretion at any time may order a stay
or continuance of the proceedings for such time as may be necessary to secure a final
ruling in the compliance proceedings.
(E) Costs of issuance and service of subpoenas. The costs covering the issuance and
service of subpoenas and all witness fees incurred on behalf of a party to the proceedings,
other than the Board, shall be borne by the party on whose behalf they are incurred.
(4) Right to representation. Any party to the individual proceeding shall at all times have
the right to representation by counsel, provided that such counsel must be duly licensed to
practice law by the Supreme Court of Oklahoma, and provided further that counsel shall have
the right to appear and act for and on behalf of the party represented.
(5) Legal counsel to State Board of Education. The attorney for the State Department
Beard of Education shall present evidence to the Board, in furtherance of the application.
Should the Board not have legal counsel, and i}f deemed necessary by the Chairperson of the
Board, a request may be made of the Attorney General to provide counsel to the Board
regarding te rule-en questions of admissibility of evidence, competency of witnesses, and any
other questions of law. In the event that counsel is not requested from the Attorney General
the Chairperson of the Board will rule on the evidence, competency of the witness and other
questions of law.
(6) Disqualification of a Board member or hearing officer. A Board member or hearing
officer shall withdraw from any individual proceeding in which he or she cannot accord a fair
and impartial hearing or consideration. Any party may request the disqualification on the
ground of his or her inability to give a fair and impartial hearing by filing an affidavit
promptly upon discovery of the alleged disqualification, stating with particularity the grounds
upon which it is claimed that a fair and impartial hearing cannot be accorded. The issue shall
be determined promptly by the Board, or if it affects a member of the Board, by the
remaining members thereof, if a quorum. Upon the entry of an order of disqualification




affecting a hearing officer, the Board shall either assign a replacement hearing officer, or
conduct the hearing itself. Upon the entry of an order of disqualification affecting a Board
member, the Governor immediately shall appoint a member pro tempore to sit in place of the
disqualified member in that proceeding.
(7) Notice of facts. The Board shall give notice to all parties, prior to, or at the hearing, of
any facts of which it proposes to take official notice. Any party or her/his attorney may
request that official notice be taken of any fact qualified for such notice by the statutes of this
state. If such official notice is taken, it shall be stated in the record, and all parties shall have
opportunity to contest and give evidence in rebuttal or derogation of the official notice.
(8) Presentation and consideration of evidence. The State Board of Education shall
consider only evidence upon the specific cause contained in the notice, and evidence will be
heard for such cause. Questions of the admissibility of evidence shall be governed by the
provisions of 75 O.S. § 310.
(9) Order of procedure. The order of procedure at the hearing shall be as follows:
(A) Opening statements by legal counsel of both parties;
(B) Presentation of evidence by both parties followed by cross-examination of
witnesses, and questions by State Board members or the hearing officer;
(C) Closing arguments by legal counsel of both parties; and
(D) Submission of case to the Board or the hearing officer for decision.
(10) Continuance of a hearing. The Board or hearing officer may continue or adjourn the
hearing at any time for a specified time by notice or motion. The Board or hearing officer
may grant a continuance upon motion of a party for good cause shown if written request is
filed and served on all parties of record and filed with the Secretary of the Board at least five
(5) days prior to the date set for hearing. A respondent may be granted only one (1)
continuance.
(g) Deliberations and decisions. Deliberations by the Board or the hearing officer in an
individual proceeding may be held in executive session pursuant to the provisions of the Open
Meeting Act set forth at 25 O.S. § 307.
(1) Decision. Decisions shall be issued in accordance with the following procedures:
(A) After hearing all evidence, and all witnesses, the State Board of Education or, if
applicable, the hearing officer, shall render its decision on whether the certificate shall be
revoked.
(B) The decision of the State Board of Education or a hearing officer presiding at the
hearing shall be announced at the conclusion of the hearing and notification of that
decision shall be by certified or registered mail, restricted delivery with return receipt
requested to the holder of the certificate.
(C) If the holder of the certificate fails to appear at the scheduled hearing without prior
notification within the time frame to request a stay or continuance set forth in (f)(10) of
this Section, demonstration of good cause, the Board or hearing officer shall hold the
party in default and issue an order sustaining the allegations set forth in the application.
(D) Ifthe applicant fails to appear at the scheduled hearing without prior notification
within the time frame to request a stay or continuance set forth in subsection (£)(10) of
this Section, demonstration of good cause, or fails to prove the allegations by clear and
convincing evidence, the application shall be dismissed.
(2) Findings of fact and conclusions of law. After the decision is announced, but before
issuance of the final order, if the Board has not heard the case or read the record of the



individual proceeding, the hearing officer shall provide the parties with an opportunity to
prepare and submit proposed findings of fact and conclusions of law in accordance with the
provisions of 75 O.S. § 311. After the parties have been given notice and an opportunity to
file exceptions, present briefs and oral arguments to the proposed findings of fact and
conclusions of law, the Board may take action to accept, reject, or modify the proposed
Findings and Conclusions of the hearing officer. The Board shall render findings of fact and
conclusions of law. All findings of fact made by the Board shall be based exclusively on the
evidence presented during the course of the hearing or previously filed briefs, (made a part of
the record), of the testimony of witnesses taken under oath.
(3) Final order. As the final determination of the matter, the final order shall constitute the
final agency order and shall comply with the requirements set forth at 75 0.S.§312.Ifno
motion for rehearing, reopening or reconsideration of the order is filed in accordance with (h)
of this Section, the final agency order shall represent exhaustion of all administrative
remedies by the State Board of Education. All final orders in an individual proceeding shall
be in writing and made a part of the record. Final orders are to be issued by the Chairperson
of the Board or the presiding officer for transmission to the parties by the Secretary of the
Board. Within five (5) business days of the date of issuance of the final order, parties shall be
notified of a final order either personally or by certified mail, return receipt requested. Upon
request, a copy of the order shall be delivered or mailed to each party and the party's attorney
of record, if any.
(4) Communication with parties. Unless required for the disposition of ex parte matters
authorized by law, the Chairperson and the members of the Board, the hearing officer, or the
employees or the agents of the Board shall not communicate, directly or indirectly, in
connection with any issue of fact, with any person or party, nor, in connection with any issue
of law, with any party or his or her representative except upon notice and opportunity for all
parties to participate. The Chairperson and members of the Board or their employees may
communicate with one another and have the aid and advice of one or more personal
assistants. Advice may also be secured from the Attorney General's office.
(h) Record of hearing.

(1) The record of a hearing shall be set forth in such form and detail as the Chairperson or
the Board may direct. The hearing may also be fully transcribed, and shall be placed on file
in the Secretary's office. Parties to the proceeding may have the proceedings transcribed by a
court reporter at their own expense. In accordance with the requirements of 75 0.8. § 309,
the record shall include:

(A) All pleadings, motions, and intermediate rulings;

(B) Evidence received or considered during the individual proceeding;

(C) A statement of matters officially noticed;

(D) Questions and offers of proof, objections, and rulings thereon;

(E) Proposed findings and exceptions;

(F) Any decision, opinion, or report by the Board or a hearing officer presiding at the

hearing; and

(G) All other evidence or data submitted to the Board or hearing officer in connection

with their consideration of the case.
(2) The State Board Secretary shall electronically record the proceedings, with the
exception of the executive sessions The recording shall be made and maintained in
accordance with the requirements of 75 O.S. § 309, and a copy shall be provided to any party




to the proceeding upon request. If the requesting party should desire the tape(s) to be
transcribed by a court reporter, the requesting party shall bear the expense.
(i) Rights to a rehearing, reopening or reconsideration.
(1) A petition for rehearing, reopening or reconsideration of a final order must be filed with
the Secretary of the State Board within ten (10) days from the entry of the order. It must be
signed by the party or his or her attorney, and must set forth with particularity the statutory
grounds upon which it is based. However, a petition based upon fraud practiced by the
prevailing party or upon procurement of the orders by perjured testimony or fictitious
evidence may be filed at any time. All petitions for rehearing, reopening, or reconsideration
will be considered and ruled upon as soon as the convenient conduct of the Board's business
will permit.
(2) A petition for a rehearing, reopening, or reconsideration shall set forth the grounds for
the request. The grounds for such a petition shall be either:
(A) Newly discovered or newly available evidence, relevant to the issues;
(B) Need for additional evidence adequately to develop the facts essential to proper
decision;
(C) Probable error committed by the Agency in the proceeding or in its decision such as
would be grounds for reversal on judicial review of the order;
(D) Need for further consideration of the issues and the evidence in the public interest;
or
(E) A showing that issues not previously considered ought to be examined in order to
properly dispose of the matter. The grounds which justify the rehearing shall be set forth
by the State Board of Education which grants the order, or in the petition of the
individual making the request for the hearing.
(3) Itis the burden of the party requesting a rehearing to notify the opposing party of the
appeal.
(4) Rehearing, reopening, or reconsideration of the matter may be heard by the State Board
of Education or may be referred to a hearing officer. The hearing must be confined to those
grounds on which the recourse was granted.
() Judicial review. Any person or party aggrieved or adversely affected by a final order in an
individual proceeding is entitled to certain judicial review in accordance with the provisions of
the Oklahoma Administrative Procedures Act, and the procedures set forth therein shall govern
appeals.
(k) Applications for reinstatement of a certificate. After five (5) years of the effective date
of revocation of a certificate, or after expungement of the offense(s) that formed the basis for the
revocation by a court of competent jurisdiction, an individual may apply for reinstatement of the
certificate in accordance with the application procedures set forth by the State Department of
Education.
() Notifications of suspension or revocation. Upon the suspension or revocation of an
individual's certificate, the State Department Beard of Education shall notify the superintendent
(or board of education, if the superintendent is the holder of the suspended or revoked certificate)
of the district that most recently employed the certified individual based upon the individual's
certification number and the personnel reports currently on file with the State Department of
Education. In addition, the State Board shall to the extent possible notify the superintendents of
all Oklahoma school districts. Notification shall also be provided to the extent possible to
certification officers in each state or territory of the United States.




RULE IMPACT STATEMENT

210:1-5-6. Suspension and/or revocation of certificates [AMENDED]

What is the purpose of the proposed rule change?

The purpose of this rule is to clarify existing administrative rule provisions governing the
suspension and/or revocation of an educator certificate.

. What classes of persons will be affected by the proposed rule change and what classes
of persons will bear the costs of the proposed rule change?

The rule change will affect individuals who have an educator certificate issued by the
Oklahoma State Board of Education and who may be the subject of an application to
suspend or revoke the educator certificate.

What classes of persons will benefit from the proposed rule change?

Individuals who are subject to an action to suspend and/or revoke a certificate will benefit
from the proposed rule change.

. 'What is the probable economic impact of the proposed rule upon affected classes of
persons or political subdivisions?

The agency does not anticipate any economic impact upon political subdivisions or
affected classes as a result of implementation of the proposed rule change at this time.

What is the probable cost to the agency to implement and enforce the proposed rule
change?

The agency does not anticipate a material cost to implement and enforce the proposed rule
change.

What is the economic impact on any political subdivision to implement the proposed
rule change?

The agency does not anticipate any economic impact on any political subdivision to
implement the proposed rule change at this time.

. Will implementing the rule change have an adverse effect on small business as
provided by the Oklahoma Small Business Regulatory Flexibility Act?

The agency does not anticipate any adverse economic impact on small business as a result
of the proposed rule change at this time.







h. Are there any other methods which are less costly, nonregulatory, or less intrusive to
achieve the purpose of the proposed rule change?

No.

i. Will the rule change impact the public health, safety, and environment, and is the
change designed to reduce significant risks to the public health, safety, and
environment? If so, explain nature of risk and to what extent the proposed rule
change will reduce the risk.

The agency does not anticipate passage of these rules will impact the public health, safety,
and environment. These rules are proposed in order to clarify and allow for practical

implementation of existing law.

j.  What detrimental effect will there be on the public health, safety, and environment if
the rule change is not implemented?

The agency does not anticipate any detrimental effect on public health, safety, or
environment as a result of failure to implement the proposed rule at this time.

k. Date Prepared

February 15, 2022







STATUTORY AUTHORITY FOR 210:1-5-6

Oklahoma Statutes Citationized
Z3itle 70. Schools
{=Achapter 1 - School Code of 1971
aArticle Article lll - State Department of Education

E‘Section 3-104 - State Board of Education - Powers and Duties
Cite as: 70 O.S. § 3-104 (OSCN 2022)

A. The supervision of the public school system of Oklahoma shall be vested in the State Board of
Education and, subject to limitations otherwise provided by law, the State Board of Education shall:

1. Adopt policies and make rules for the operation of the public school system of the state;

2. Appoint, prescribe the duties and fix the compensation of a secretary, an attorney and all other
personnel necessary for the proper performance of the functions of the State Board of Education. The
secretary shall not be a member of the Board;

3. Submit to the Governor a departmental budget based upon major functions of the Department as
prepared by the State Superintendent of Public Instruction and supported by detailed data on needs and
proposed operations as partially determined by the budgetary needs of local school districts filed with the
State Board of Education for the ensuing fiscal year. Appropriations therefor shall be made in lump-sum
form for each major item in the budget as follows:

a. State Aid to schools,

b. the supervision of all other functions of general and special education including general control, free
textbooks, school lunch, Indian education and all other functions of the Board and an amount sufficient to
adequately staff and administer these services, and

c. the Board shall determine the details by which the budget and the appropriations are administered.
Annually, the Board shall make preparations to consolidate all of the functions of the Department in such
a way that the budget can be based on two items, administration and aid to schools. A maximum amount
for administration shall be designated as a part of the total appropriation;

4. On the first day of December preceding each regular session of the Legislature, prepare and deliver to
the Governor and the Legislature a report for the year ending June 30 immediately preceding the regular
session of the Legislature. The report shall contain:

a. detailed statistics and other information concerning enroliment, attendance, expenditures including
State Aid, and other pertinent data for all public schools in this state,

b. reports from each and every division within the State Department of Education as submitted by the
State Superintendent of Public Instruction and any other division, department, institution or other agency
under the supervision of the Board,

c. recommendations for the improvement of the public school system of the state,
d. a statement of the receipts and expenditures of the State Board of Education for the past year, and

e. a statement of plans and recommendations for the management and improvement of public schools
and such other information relating to the educational interests of the state as may be deemed necessary
and desirable;

5. Provide for the formulation and adoption of curricula, courses of study and other instructional aids
necessary for the adequate instruction of pupils in the public schools;



6. Have authority in matters pertaining to the licensure and certification of persons for instructional,
supervisory and administrative positions and services in the public schools of the state subject to the
provisions of Section 6-184 of this title, and shall formulate rules governing the issuance and revocation
of certificates for superintendents of schools, principals, supervisors, librarians, clerical employees, school
nurses, school bus drivers, visiting teachers, classroom teachers and for other personnel performing
instructional, administrative and supervisory services, but not including members of boards of education
and other employees who do not work directly with pupils, and may charge and collect reasonable fees
for the issuance of such certificates:

a. the State Department of Education shall not issue a certificate to and shall revoke the certificate of any
person who has been convicted, whether upon a verdict or plea of guilty or upon a plea of nolo
contendere, or received a suspended sentence or any probationary term for a crime or an attempt to
commit a crime provided for in Section 843.5 of Title 21 of the Oklahoma Statutes if the offense involved
sexual abuse or sexual exploitation as those terms are defined in Section 1-1-105 of Title 10A of the
Oklahoma Statutes, Section 741, 843.1, if the offense included sexual abuse or sexual

exploitation, 865 et

seq., 885, 888, 891, 1021, 1021.2, 1021.3, 1040.13a, 1087, 1088, 1111.1, 1114 or 1123 of Title 21 of the
Oklahoma Statutes or who enters this state and who has been convicted, received a suspended sentence
or received a deferred judgment for a crime or attempted crime which, if committed or attempted in this
state, would be a crime or an attempt to commit a crime provided for in any of said laws,

b. all funds collected by the State Department of Education for the issuance of certificates to instructional,
supervisory and administrative personnel in the public schools of the state shall be deposited in the
“Teachers’ Certificate Fund” in the State Treasury and may be expended by the State Board of Education
to finance the activities of the State Department of Education necessary to administer the program, for
consultative services, publication costs, actual and necessary travel expenses as provided in the State
Travel Reimbursement Act incurred by persons performing research work, and other expenses found
necessary by the State Board of Education for the improvement of the preparation and certification of
teachers in Oklahoma. Provided, any unobligated balance in the Teachers’ Certificate Fund in excess of
Ten Thousand Dollars ($10,000.00) on June 30 of any fiscal year shall be transferred to the General
Revenue Fund of the State of Oklahoma. Until July 1, 1997, the State Board of Education shall have
authority for approval of teacher education programs. The State Board of Education shall also have
authority for the administration of teacher residency and professional development, subject to the
provisions of the Oklahoma Teacher Preparation Act;

7. Promulgate rules governing the classification, inspection, supervision and accrediting of all public
nursery, kindergarten, elementary and secondary schools and on-site educational services provided by
public school districts or state-accredited private schools in partial hospitalization programs, day treatment
programs, and day hospital programs as defined in this act for persons between the ages of three (3) and
twenty-one (21) years of age in the state. However, no school shall be denied accreditation solely on the
basis of average daily attendance.

Any school district which maintains an elementary school and faces the necessity of relocating its school
facilities because of construction of a lake, either by state or federal authority, which will inundate the
school facilities, shall be entitled to receive probationary accreditation from the State Board of Education
for a period of five (5) years after the effective date of this act and any school district, otherwise qualified,
shall be entitled to receive probationary accreditation from the State Board of Education for a period of
two (2) consecutive years to attain the minimum average daily attendance. The Head Start and public
nurseries or kindergartens operated from Community Action Program funds shall not be subjected to the
accrediting rules of the State Board of Education. Neither will the State Board of Education make rules
affecting the operation of the public nurseries and kindergartens operated from federal funds secured
through Community Action Programs even though they may be operating in the public schools of the
state. However, any of the Head Start or public nurseries or kindergartens operated under federal
regulations may make application for accrediting from the State Board of Education but will be accredited
only if application for the approval of the programs is made. The status of no school district shall be
changed which will reduce it to a lower classification until due notice has been given to the proper



authorities thereof and an opportunity given to correct the conditions which otherwise would be the cause
of such reduction.

Private and parochial schools may be accredited and classified in like manner as public schools or, if an
accrediting association is approved by the State Board of Education, by procedures established by the
State Board of Education to accept accreditation by such accrediting association, if application is made to
the State Board of Education for such accrediting;

8. Be the legal agent of the State of Oklahoma to accept, in its discretion, the provisions of any Act of
Congress appropriating or apportioning funds which are now, or may hereafter be, provided for use in
connection with any phase of the system of public education in Oklahoma. It shall prescribe such rules as
it finds necessary to provide for the proper distribution of such funds in accordance with the state and
federal laws;

9. Be and is specifically hereby designated as the agency of this state to cooperate and deal with any
officer, board or authority of the United States Government under any law of the United States which may
require or recommend cooperation with any state board having charge of the administration of public
schools unless otherwise provided by law;

10. Be and is hereby designated as the “State Educational Agency” referred to in Public Law 396 of the
79th Congress of the United States, which law states that said act may be cited as the “National School
Lunch Act”, and said State Board of Education is hereby authorized and directed to accept the terms and
provisions of said act and to enter into such agreements, not in conflict with the Constitution of Oklahoma
or the Constitution and Statutes of the United States, as may be necessary or appropriate to secure for
the State of Oklahoma the benefits of the school lunch program established and referred to in said act;

11. Have authority to secure and administer the benefits of the National School Lunch Act, Public Law
396 of the 79th Congress of the United States, in the State of Oklahoma and is hereby authorized to
employ or appoint and fix the compensation of such additional officers or employees and to incur such
expenses as may be necessary for the accomplishment of the above purpose, administer the distribution
of any state funds appropriated by the Legislature required as federal matching to reimburse on children’s
meals;

12. Accept and provide for the administration of any land, money, buildings, gifts, donation or other things
of value which may be offered or bequeathed to the schools under the supervision or control of said
Board;

13. Have authority to require persons having administrative control of all school districts in Oklahoma to
make such regular and special reports regarding the activities of the schools in said districts as the Board
may deem needful for the proper exercise of its duties and functions. Such authority shall include the right
of the State Board of Education to withhold all state funds under its control, to withhold official recognition,
including accrediting, until such required reports have been filed and accepted in the office of said Board
and to revoke the certificates of persons failing or refusing to make such reports;

14. Have general supervision of the school lunch program. The State Board of Education may sponsor
workshops for personnel and participants in the school lunch program and may develop, print and
distribute free of charge or sell any materials, books and bulletins to be used in such school lunch
programs. There is hereby created in the State Treasury a revolving fund for the Board, to be designated
the School Lunch Workshop Revolving Fund. The fund shall consist of all fees derived from or on behalf
of any participant in any such workshop sponsored by the State Board of Education, or from the sale of
any materials, books and bulletins, and such funds shall be disbursed for expenses of such workshops
and for developing, printing and distributing of such materials, books and bulletins relating to the school
lunch program. The fund shall be administered in accordance with Section 155 of Title 62 of the
Oklahoma Statutes;

15. Prescribe all forms for school district and county officers to report to the State Board of Education
where required. The State Board of Education shall also prescribe a list of appropriation accounts by
which the funds of school districts shall be budgeted, accounted for and expended; and it shall be the



duty of the State Auditor and Inspector in prescribing all budgeting, accounting and reporting forms for
school funds to conform to such lists;

16. Provide for the establishment of a uniform system of pupil and personnel accounting, records and
reports;

17. Have authority to provide for the health and safety of school children and school personnel while
under the jurisdiction of school authorities;

18. Provide for the supervision of the transportation of pupils;

19. Have authority, upon request of the local school board, to act in behalf of the public schools of the
state in the purchase of transportation equipment;

20. Have authority and is hereby required to perform all duties necessary to the administration of the
public school system in Oklahoma as specified in the Oklahoma School Code; and, in addition thereto,
those duties not specifically mentioned herein if not delegated by law to any other agency or official;

21. Administer the State Public Common School Building Equalization Fund established by Section 32 of
Article X of the Oklahoma Constitution. Any monies as may be appropriated or designated by the
Legislature, other than ad valorem taxes, any other funds identified by the State Department of
Education, which may include, but not be limited to, grants-in-aid from the federal government for building
purposes, the proceeds of all property that shall fall to the state by escheat, penalties for unlawful holding
of real estate by corporations, and capital gains on assets of the permanent school funds, shall be
deposited in the State Public Common School Building Equalization Fund. The fund shall be used to aid
school districts and charter schools in acquiring buildings, subject to the limitations fixed by Section 32 of
Article X of the Oklahoma Constitution. It is hereby declared that the term “acquiring buildings” as used in
Section 32 of Article X of the Oklahoma Constitution shall mean acquiring or improving school sites,
constructing, repairing, remodeling or equipping buildings, or acquiring school furniture, fixtures, or
equipment. It is hereby declared that the term “school districts” as used in Section 32 of Article X of the
Oklahoma Constitution shall mean school districts and eligible charter schools as defined in subsection B
of this section. The State Board of Education shall disburse redbud school grants annually from the State
Public Common School Building Equalization Fund to public schools and eligible charter schools pursuant
to subsection B of this section. The Board shall promulgate rules for the implementation of disbursing
redbud school grants pursuant to this section. The State Board of Education shall prescribe rules for
making grants of aid from, and for otherwise administering, the fund pursuant to the provisions of this
paragraph, and may employ and fix the duties and compensation of technicians, aides, clerks,
stenographers, attorneys and other personnel deemed necessary to carry out the provisions of this
paragraph. The cost of administering the fund shall be paid from monies appropriated to the State Board
of Education for the operation of the State Department of Education. From monies apportioned to the
fund, the State Department of Education may reserve not more than one-half of one percent (1/2 of 1%)
for purposes of administering the fund;

22. Recognize that the Director of the Oklahoma Department of Corrections shall be the administrative
authority for the schools which are maintained in the state reformatories and shall appoint the principals
and teachers in such schools. Provided, that rules of the State Board of Education for the classification,
inspection and accreditation of public schools shall be applicable to such schools; and such schools shall
comply with standards set by the State Board of Education; and

23. Have authority to administer a revolving fund which is hereby created in the State Treasury, to be
designated the Statistical Services Revolving Fund. The fund shall consist of all monies received from the
various school districts of the state, the United States Government, and other sources for the purpose of
furnishing or financing statistical services and for any other purpose as designated by the Legislature.
The State Board of Education is hereby authorized to enter into agreements with school districts,
municipalities, the United States Government, foundations and other agencies or individuals for services,
programs or research projects. The Statistical Services Revolving Fund shall be administered in
accordance with Section 155 of Title 62 of the Oklahoma Statutes.

B. 1. The redbud school grants shall be determined by the State Department of Education as follows:



a. divide the county four-mill levy revenue by four to determine the nonchargeable county four-mill
revenue for each school district,

b. determine the amount of new revenue generated by the five-mill building fund levy as authorized
by Section 10 of Article X of the Oklahoma Constitution for each school district as reported in the
Oklahoma Cost Accounting System for the preceding fiscal year,

c. add the amounts calculated in subparagraphs a and b of this paragraph to determine the
nonchargeable millage for each school district,

d. add the nonchargeable millage in each district statewide as calculated in subparagraph c of this
paragraph and divide the total by the average daily membership in public schools statewide based on the
preceding school year's average daily membership, according to the provisions of Section 18-107 of this
title. This amount is the statewide nonchargeable millage per student, known as the baseline local funding
per student,

e. all eligible charter schools shall be included in these calculations as unique school districts, separate
from the school district that may sponsor the eligible charter school, and the total number of districts shall
be used to determine the statewide average baseline local funding per student,

f. for each school district or eligible charter school which is below the baseline local funding per student,
the Department shall subtract the baseline local funding per student from the average nonchargeable
millage per student of the school district or eligible charter school to determine the nonchargeable millage
per student shortfall for each district, and

g. the nonchargeable millage per student shortfall for a school district or eligible charter school shall be
multiplied by the average daily membership of the preceding school year of the eligible school district or
eligible charter school. This amount shall be the redbud school grant amount for the school district or
eligible charter school.

2. For fiscal year 2022, monies for the redbud school grants shall be expended from the funds
apportioned pursuant to Section 2 of this act. For fiscal year 2023 and each subsequent fiscal year,
monies for the redbud school grants shall be appropriated pursuant to Section 2 of this act, not to exceed
three-fourths (3/4) of the tax collected in the preceding fiscal year pursuant to Section 426 of Title 63 of
the Oklahoma Statutes as determined by the Oklahoma Tax Commission. For fiscal year 2023 and each
subsequent fiscal year, if such appropriated funds are insufficient to fund the redbud school grants, then
an additional apportionment of funds shall be made from sales tax collections as provided by subsection
D of Section 3 of this act. If both funds are insufficient, the Department shall promulgate rules to permit a
decrease to the baseline local funding per student to the highest amount allowed with the funding
available.

3. As used in this section, “eligible charter school” shall mean a charter school which is sponsored
pursuant to the provisions of the Oklahoma Charter School Act. Provided, however, “eligible charter
school” shall not include a charter school sponsored by the Statewide Virtual Charter School Board but
shall only include those which provide in-person or blended instruction, as provided by Section 1-111 of
this title, to not less than two-thirds (2/3) of students as the primary means of instructional service
delivery.

4. The Department shall develop a program to acknowledge the redbud school grant recipients and shall
include elected members of the Oklahoma House of Representatives and Oklahoma State Senate who
represent the school districts and eligible charter schools.

5. The Department shall create a dedicated page on its website listing annual redbud school grant
recipients, amount awarded to each recipient and other pertinent information about the Redbud School
Funding Act.

6. The Department shall provide the Chair of the House Appropriations and Budget Committee and the
Chair of the Senate Appropriations Committee no later than February 1 of each year with an estimate of
the upcoming year’s redbud school grant allocation as prescribed by this section.
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A. Except as otherwise specifically provided by law, the issuance or denial of a new license shall not
require an individual proceeding.

B. Except as otherwise prohibited by law, if a licensee has made timely and sufficient application for
renewal of a license or a new license with reference to any transfer of an activity of a continuing nature,
the existing license does not expire until the application has been finally determined by the agency. In
case the application for renewal or for a new license with reference to any transfer of an activity of a
continuing nature is denied or the terms of the new license limited, the existing license does not expire
until the last day for seeking review of the final agency order or a later date fixed by order of the reviewing
court.

C. 1. Unless otherwise provided by law, an existing license shall not be revoked, suspended, annulled,
withdrawn or nonrenewed unless, prior to the institution of such final agency order, the agency gave
notice by mail to the licensee of facts or conduct which warrant the intended action, and the licensee was
given an opportunity to show compliance with all lawful requirements for the retention or renewal of the
license.

2. If the agency finds that public health, safety, or welfare imperatively requires emergency action, and
incorporates a finding to that effect in its order, summary suspension of a license may be ordered pending
proceedings for revocation or other action. These proceedings shall be promptly instituted and
determined.
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As authorized by or pursuant to law, if an agency finds that the public health, safety, or welfare
imperatively requires emergency action, has promulgated administrative rules which provide for such
action and incorporates a finding regarding the emergency in its order, emergency actions may be
ordered pending the final outcome of proceedings instituted pursuant to this article.



