## **MEMORANDUM**

**TO:** The Honorable Members of the State Board of Education

**FROM:** Janet Barresi

**DATE:** January 23, 2014

**SUBJECT:** 2012 Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching

The State Department of Education recognizes the Oklahoma recipients of the 2012 Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching, Carol Huett of Moore Public Schools and Patricia Reece of Bokoshe Public Schools. Mrs. Reece received the award posthumously.

The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) are the highest honors bestowed by the United States government specifically for K-12 mathematics and science (including computer science) teaching. Established by Congress in 1983, the PAEMST program authorizes the President to bestow up to 108 awards each year.

The award recognizes those teachers who develop and implement a high-quality instructional program that is informed by content knowledge and enhances student learning. Since the program's inception, more than 4,200 teachers have been recognized for their contributions in the classroom and to their profession.

Awardees serve as models for their colleagues, inspirations to their communities, and leaders in the improvement of mathematics and science (including computer science) education. The National Science Foundation administers PAEMST on behalf of The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy.

JCB/ey