
Additional instructions are continued on the back of this page. 

 

 

 

GENERAL CERTIFICATION INFORMATION 

This application is used for applicants qualifying for a teaching certificate. 

CERTIFICATES are issued to educators who have completed an approved teacher education program or hold a 
teaching credential from another state. 

CERTIFICATION FEES: 

∙ The application fee for an Oklahoma certificate is $50.

∙ All other transactions (adding new areas, duplicates, degree changes) are $25 per application.

∙ Payment may be made by check, cashier’s check, or money order payable to the Oklahoma State Department
of Education (OSDE).  The fee for requesting certification is nonrefundable.

The state agency with authority and responsibility for teacher testing is the Oklahoma Commission for Teacher 
Preparation (OCTP).  For information regarding testing registration, contact the Oklahoma Commission for 
Teacher Preparation at (405) 525-2612, 3545 NW 58

th
 Street, Suite 200, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73112, 

<http://www.ok.gov/octp>. 

FINGERPRINTING INFORMATION: 

 

 

 

APPLICATION FOR OKLAHOMA 

SCHOOL CERTIFICATE 

All first-time credentialed Oklahoma teachers are required to have on file with the Oklahoma State Board of 
Education (OSBE) a current Oklahoma criminal history record from the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation 
(OSBI) as well as a national fingerprint-based criminal history record provided by the Federal Bureau of 
Investigation (FBI).  (70 O.S. §  6-190; OAC 210:20-9-91) 

This applies only to individuals applying for their first Oklahoma credential.  It does not apply to renewals. 

If you have questions concerning whether this law pertains to your eligibility for certification, contact the 
Professional Standards Section at (405) 521-3337 or <http://www.sde.state.ok.us>. 

IMPORTANT NOTICE 

Title 68 O.S. § 238.1 (effective May 31, 2001) requires that all certificate holders be in compliance with Oklahoma 
state income tax laws before a teaching certificate can be renewed. 

The Department of Education is mandated to provide to the Oklahoma Tax Commission a list of individuals who are 
applying for certification renewal. 

The Tax Commission will contact any person who appears to be in noncompliance. 

Please contact the Oklahoma Tax Commission's Professional Compliance Unit, (405) 522-6800, with any questions. 

In the event an educator's certificate cannot be renewed due to failure to comply with Oklahoma's tax laws, the 

renewed certificate will be dated the date the State Department of Education receives notice from the Tax 

Commission that the educator has come into compliance. 



Did you include: 

Completed application? Official transcripts? Proof of Teaching form? 

$50 processing fee? Copy of out-of-state credential? Signature/date in Part V? 

 

 

 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 

Applications may be approved by the Oklahoma State Department of Education if applicant holds a full out-of-state 

credential; the higher education institution (Part II) or Oklahoma State Department of Career and Technology 

Education (Part III) signature is not required.  For additional information and eligibility options, refer to “Out-of-State 

Applicants” brochure or Oklahoma State Department of Education Web site, <http://www.sde.state.ok.us>, Site 

Index, Professional Standards.  If you have a certificate issued by the National Board for Professional Teaching 

Standards, please enclose a copy. 

 Enclose a copy of the front and back of your full out-of-state credential.  

 Verification of out-of-state teaching experience is required by having districts complete a proof of teaching form.  
You may request a proof of teaching form from this office or access the Oklahoma State Department of 
Education Web site at <http://www.sde.state.ok.us>, Site Index, Professional Standards. 

To receive credit for years of experience, please include a copy of your out-of-state certificate that was valid 

during the dates of service. 

PROCESSING INSTRUCTIONS 
(Continued) 

Name

Addres

s

Social Security Number: 

If you have an out-of-state license/certificate, please 

check.

Highest

Degree

Conferred

APPLICATION FOR OKLAHOMA SCHOOL CERTIFICATE

If your name has changed since your last license, please 

check.

FEE: 

Last First Middle Maiden 

Street or Rural Route Number 

City State Zip Code

PART II: RECOMMENDATION FROM THE DIRECTOR OF TEACHER EDUCATION 
Oklahoma Graduates Only 

FOR COLLEGE USE ONLY 

PART I: CERTIFICATE AREA(S) REQUESTED

Date Signature of Official Higher Education Institution Representative 

PART III: TO BE USED FOR CAREER AND TECHNOLOGY EDUCATION CERTIFICATE(S) 
Oklahoma Graduates Only

Signature Date
(Oklahoma Department of Career and Technology Education state program administrator or representative) 

For Provisional Level I Career and Technology Certificate: 

Signature Date 
(District Superintendent or Official Representative) 

Applications for career and technology education certificate(s) and/or endorsement(s) must be made through the appropriate state program administrator at 

the Oklahoma Department of Career and Technology Education. These occupational divisions are:  Agricultural Education; Career and Technology

Business; Marketing Education; Health Occupations Education; Career and Technology Home Economics/Family and Consumer Sciences; and Trade and 

Industrial Education. 

Daytime Telephone Number 

( ) 
Evening Telephone Number 

( ) 

IMPORTANT
Complete educational information and criminal history disclosure statement on reverse.

(Elementary, Mathematics, Superintendent, Nurse, Library Media Specialist, etc.)

Highest Degree (Code) ........... 

Degree Date ....................... 

College Code (Degree) .......... 

College Code (Recommending)

Certificate 

Area 

Grade

Level 

Certificate

Area 

Grade

Level 

- 7 

- 7 

- 7 

- 7 

- 7 

- 7 

Revised April 2015 

PROVISIONAL LEVEL I CAREER AND TECHNOLOGY EDUCATION APPLICANTS 

If the Provisional Level I Career and Technology Certificate is requested, the signature of the employing district 

superintendent is also required.  Applications must be filed through the appropriate program administrator at the 

Oklahoma Department of Career and Technology Education, 1500 West Seventh Avenue, Stillwater, Oklahoma  74074-

4364, telephone (405) 377-2000. 

Submit all materials including fee in one packet.  See next page for more information. 

Mail application packet to: 

Oklahoma State Department of Education, Teacher Certification Section - Room 212, 2500 North Lincoln 
Boulevard, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma  73105-4599.  Telephone:  (405) 521-3337.  Oklahoma State Department of 
Education Web site:  <http://www.sde.state.ok.us> 

PROCESSING INSTRUCTIONS 

Please enclose a copy of your current Oklahoma registered nurse’s license. 

SCHOOL NURSE APPLICANTS 

OUT-OF-STATE APPLICANTS 

OKLAHOMA GRADUATES 

 Applicants completing a higher education program must have a higher education institution recommendation   
(Part II).  Transcripts must show verification of degree.  Applications for career and technology education 
certification should then be forwarded by the higher education representative to the appropriate program 
administrator at the Oklahoma Department of Career and Technology Education, 1500 West Seventh Avenue, 
Stillwater, Oklahoma  74074-4364, telephone (405) 377-2000.   



PART IV:  EDUCATIONAL INFORMATION 

Last College

Attended 

Dates of Last

Semester in Attendance

Began Ende

d
Month Year Month Year District 

Kind of 

School Experience

Administrator 

in Charge

I hold or have held OKLAHOMA LICENSE(S) or CERTIFICATE(S): 

Type of License or Certificate Issue Date Expiration Date Name When Certificate Was Issued

PART V:  CRIMINAL HISTORY DISCLOSURE STATEMENT 

Pursuant to legislation, Title 70 O.S. 1991, § 3-104 and 3-104.1, every applicant is required to answer each of the following questions: 

If the answer to any of the preceding questions is “Yes,” state on a separate sheet of paper the nature of the charge and in what court or 

jurisdiction you were charged/convicted. You may be required to obtain and provide to the State Department of Education, official 

certified copies of all court and/or police records.

The State Department of Education has the authority to require state and national (fingerprinting) felony background checks on any

applicant. If a background check is required, it will be at the applicant’s expense.

Falsification of any information on this application can result in denial, withdrawal, or revocation of the Oklahoma teaching credentials.Signature of Applicant Date

Last College

Attended 

List last five (5) years of experience in the teaching profession (most recent first): 

(If you have teaching experience in an Oklahoma nonpublic school or in an out-of-state school system, request a proof-of-teaching form from 

the Professional Standards Section or download the form from the State Department of Education web site at <http://sde.state.ok.us>.) 

1. During the preceding ten-year period, have you been convicted of a felony? .................................................... Yes ____ No ____ 

2. During the preceding ten-year period, have you been convicted of a crime involving moral turpitude? .................. Yes ____ No ____ 

3. Have you ever been convicted in Oklahoma, whether upon a verdict or plea of guilty or upon a plea of nolo 

contendere (no contest), or received a suspended sentence for a crime or an attempt to commit a crime which 

is considered sexually related in nature? ..................................................................................................Yes ____ No ____

4. Have you ever been convicted, received a suspended sentence, or received a deferred judgment for a crime or 

attempted crime which was considered sexually related in nature in any other state or jurisdiction? ...................... Yes ____ No ____ 

5. Have you ever had adverse action taken against any educator certificate or license in Oklahoma or any other

state or jurisdiction? ........................................................................................................................... Yes ____ No ____ 

6. Is any action now pending against you for alleged misconduct in any school district, court, or before any

educator licensing agency in Oklahoma or any other state or jurisdiction? ..................................................... Yes ____ No ____ 

7. Do you currently have any outstanding criminal charges or warrants of arrest pending against you in 

Oklahoma or in any other state or jurisdiction? ....................................................................................... Yes ____ No ____

Subscribed and Sworn before me this day of , . 

Notary My Commission Expires 

(Must be signed before a Notary)

Do you have a certificate issued by the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards?

If yes, please enclose verification or a copy.

Yes No 

Name 

Address 

Social Security Number: 

If you have an out-of-state certificate, please check. 
Highest 

Degree 

Conferred 

APPLICATION FOR OKLAHOMA SCHOOL CERTIFICATE 

If your name has changed since your last certificate, please check. LEAVE THIS SPACE BLANK

FEE: 
Last First Middle Maiden 

Street or Rural Route Number 

City State Zip Code 

PART II:  RECOMMENDATION FROM THE DIRECTOR OF TEACHER EDUCATION 
Oklahoma Graduates Only 

FOR COLLEGE USE ONLY 

PART I:  CERTIFICATE AREA(S) REQUESTED 

Date Signature of Official Higher Education Institution Representative 

PART III:  TO BE USED FOR CAREER AND TECHNOLOGY EDUCATION CERTIFICATE(S) 
Oklahoma Graduates Only 

Signature Date 
(Oklahoma Department of Career and Technology Education state program administrator or representative) 

For Provisional Level I Career and Technology Certificate in: 

Signature Date 
(District Superintendent or Official Representative) 

Applications for career and technology education certificate(s) must be made through the appropriate state program administrator at the Oklahoma 
Department of Career and Technology Education.  These occupational divisions are:   

 Agricultural Education  Career and Technology Business  Marketing Education  Health Occupations Education

 Career and Technology Home Economics/Family and Consumer Sciences  Trade and Industrial Education

Please check () the occupational division for which you are applying. 

Daytime  Telephone  Number 

( ) 

Evening  Telephone  Number 

( ) 

  IMPORTANT   
Complete educational information and criminal history disclosure statement on reverse. 

(Elementary Education, Intermediate Mathematics, Superintendent, Nurse, Library Media Specialist, etc.) 

Highest Degree (Code) ........... 

Degree Date ....................... 

College Code (Degree) .......... 

College Code (Recommending) 

Certificate 

Area 

Grade 

Level 
Certificate 

Area 

Grade 

Level 

- 7

- 7

- 7

- 7

- 7

- 7

Other number where you can be reached 

( ) 

E-Mail Address

(Certificate Area) 

!01-001CERT!



JANUARY 2001 

TYPE 

PART IV:  

I hold or have held an OKLAHOMA CERTIFICATE(S): 

Type of Certificate Issue Date Expiration Date Name When Certificate Was Issued 

PART V:  

Revised April 2015 

 IMPORTANT  

Application will
 
not be processed if not signed

 
and

 
dated IN THE PRESENCE OF a Notary!

 

Pursuant to legislation, Title 70 O.S. 1991, § 3-104 and 3-104.1, every applicant is required to answer each of the following questions: 

1. During the preceding ten-year period, have you been convicted of a felony? .......................................................  Yes ____ No ____ 

2. During the preceding ten-year period, have you been convicted of a crime involving moral turpitude? ..............  Yes ____ No ____ 

3. Have you ever been convicted in Oklahoma, whether upon a verdict or plea of guilty or upon a plea of nolo
contendere (no contest), or received a suspended sentence for a crime or an attempt to commit a crime which

is considered sexually related in nature? ...............................................................................................................  Yes ____ No ____ 

4. Have you ever been convicted, received a suspended sentence, or received a deferred judgment for a crime or
attempted crime which was considered sexually related in nature in any other state or jurisdiction? ...................  Yes ____ No ____ 

5. Have you ever had adverse action taken against any educator certificate in Oklahoma or any other
state or jurisdiction? ..............................................................................................................................................  Yes ____ No ____ 

6. Is any action now pending against you for alleged misconduct in any school district, court, or before any
educator licensing agency in Oklahoma or any other state or jurisdiction? ..........................................................  Yes ____ No ____ 

7. Do you currently have any outstanding criminal charges or warrants of arrest pending against you in
Oklahoma or in any other state or jurisdiction? ....................................................................................................  Yes ____ No ____ 

If the answer to any of the preceding questions is “Yes,” state on a separate sheet of paper the nature of the charge and in what court or 
jurisdiction you were charged/convicted.  You may be required to obtain and provide to the Oklahoma State Department of Education, 
official certified copies of all court and/or police records.  
The Oklahoma State Department of Education has the authority to require state and national (fingerprint-based) felony background 
checks on any applicant.  If a background check is required, it will be at the applicant’s expense. 

Are you a United States citizen?   ...............................................................................................................................  Yes ____ No ____ 

If the answer is no, the following applies to you. 

Noncitizens of the United States are required to submit documentation proving lawful presence with the application before an Oklahoma teaching 
credential may be issued or reissued.  The Oklahoma teaching credential may be issued/reissued for no longer than the validity of the documentation 
proving lawful presence.  If the documentation proving lawful presence does not have an expiration date that affects the duration of a noncitizen’s 
lawful presence, then the teaching credential shall have the same validity period as the teaching credential of a U.S. citizen.

Do you have a certificate issued by the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards?       Yes ______  No ______ 
If yes, please enclose verification or a copy. 

• • 

Falsification of any information pertaining to certification can result in denial, 
withdrawal, or revocation of the Oklahoma teaching credential. 

Signature of Applicant _____________________________________________ Date ____________________ 




