Four-Year-Olds and Younger Teaching Certificate


The Four-Year-Olds and Younger Teaching Certificate is for Child Development Associates with experience in Head Start programs to attain a teaching certificate to teach four-year-old and younger students in a public school.
 


I have taught in a Head Start program and would like to teach in a public school. Is there a way I can do that?

Yes. If you have five years teaching experience in a Head Start program, currently hold a Child Development Associate (CDA), and you have earned a bachelor’s degree in any area you may apply for a teaching certificate. This certificate is restricted to teach four-year-old and younger students in a public school.

After I receive a bachelor’s degree, what do I have to complete to be certified to teach?

To receive a certificate to teach four-year-olds and younger, please submit all of the following:

  • Verification of at least five years of experience as an early childhood educator with the Head Start program.
  • A copy of your current Child Development Associate (CDA) credential.
  • Official copies of all college transcripts. Transcript must denote degree earned and the date the degree was conferred.
  • Passing scores for the Oklahoma General Education Test and the Early Childhood Education Subject Area Test.
  • Submit fingerprint cards and the $53.94 fee for a criminal history record search.
    • Or, for faster and more accurate results, you may have your fingerprints laser-scanned at the Oklahoma State Department of Education (OSDE), Room 212, 2500 North Lincoln Boulevard, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, for a $53.94 processing fee.
    • Fingerprints are scanned at the OSDE between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. For additional information refer to Fingerprints/Background Checks Information.
  • Application for Certificate to Teach Four-Year-Olds and Younger
  • $50 processing fee (check, cashier’s check or money order) made payable to the Oklahoma State Department of Education.

 

Can I add another subject area to my Four-Year-Olds and Younger certificate by testing?

No. This credential is limited by Oklahoma Law.

 

back button icon Back to Alternative Certification Paths

 

Back to Top
Last updated on April 9, 2018