Oklahoma's Milken Educators

2017 National Milken Educator Award Recipient
Edmond North Principal wins $25,000

Debreon Davis, principal at Edmond North High School, received a big surprise – a $25,000 surprise – at an all-school assembly this morning with a $25,000 Milken Educator Award from Lowell Milken, chairman and co-founder of the Milken Family Foundation.

Davis, one of 44 honorees across the U.S. for 2017-18, is the only Milken Educator Award winner from Oklahoma this year.

Davis is known in the district for setting high expectations for her students and faculty. Last year, she served as an assistant principal at Edmond Memorial High School, where students of all learning abilities have improved their academic performance. Davis advocates for community outreach, faculty collaboration and technology integration, all of which help students prepare for postsecondary educational opportunities.

Read the full press release 


Award Program Facts - Oklahoma

Year Program Began in Oklahoma:2000
Number of Recipients Since Inception:28
Total Dollars Awarded Since Inception:$700,000.00

The Awards alternate yearly between elementary and secondary educators. Unlike most teacher recognition programs, the Milken Educator Awards has no formal nomination or application process. Candidates are sourced through a confidential selection process and then reviewed by blue ribbon panels appointed by state departments of education. Those most exceptional are recommended for the Award, with final approval by the Milken Family Foundation.

Past recipients have used their Awards to fund their children’s education or their own continuing education. Others have financed dream field trips, established scholarships and even funded the adoption of children.

Recipient Name, School at Time of Award


Debreon Davis, Edmond North High School, Edmond2017
Amanda Raupe, Hilldale Elementary School, Putnam City Schools2016
No Oklahoma winners during this time.2013 - 2015
Tammera Mittelstet, Highland Park, Will Rogers Elementaries, Stillwater2012
Sarah Vann, Owasso Eighth Grade Center, Owasso2011
Jennifer Evans-Lowery, Highland Park Elementary School, Midwest City-Del City 2010
Chris Brewster, Santa Fe South Charter School, Oklahoma City2009
Ronia Davison, Sadler Arts Academy, Muskogee2008
Shelly Unsicker, Central Junior High School, Moore2007
Dionne Liebl, Putnam City West, Putnam City2007
Deborah Harwell, Hugh Bish Elementary School, Lawton2006
Lisa Brown, Harvest Hills Elementary School, Putnam City2006
Shelley Self, Coweta High School, Coweta2005
Jill Rumbaugh, Cheyenne Middle School, Edmond2005
Malissa C. Barker, West Intermediate School, Jenks2004
Pam Holland, Russell Babb Elementary School, Harrah2004
Darryl Andrews, Yukon High School, Yukon2003
Kasandra Lovell, Spiro High School, Spiro2003
Kristy Crabtree, Jefferson Elementary School, Norman2002
Ginger Mendenhall, Marshall Elementary School, Tulsa2002
Paula L. Dyer, Mayfield Middle School, Putnam City2001
Tim Rose, Bridge Creek High School, Blanchard2001
Gene L. Williams, Emerson Alternative Education Center, Oklahoma City2001
Jean Brassfield, Pershing Elementary School, Muskogee2000
Suzanne Craig, Summit Middle School, Edmond2000
Tracy L. Foor, Norman High School North, Norman2000
Dee Fox, Taft Middle School, Oklahoma City2000
Marcellus Hankins, Soldier Creek Elementary School, Midwest City2000
Theresa Kiger, Robert B. Grove Elementary School, Tulsa2000

For more information about the Milken Educator Awards, visit www.MilkenEducatorAwards.org or call MFF at (310) 570-4772.

To get regular updates on the surprise Milken Educator Award events, follow and use the #MilkenAward hashtag on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. The Milken Educator Awards tour is on social media at www.facebook.com/milkeneducatorawardswww.twitter.com/milkenwww.youtube.com/milkenaward, and http://instagram.com/milkenfamilyfdn.



Last updated on December 13, 2017