Many OSDE staff members are working remotely to help contain the spread of COVID-19. Please do not hesitate to reach out to any staff or department. We will respond to your call or email as soon as possible.

Governor’s Christmas Tree Lighting Ceremony

Lighting Ceremony

When: Monday, December 9, 2019

Time: 5:30pm

Where: Oklahoma History Center 

Hosts: Office of Governor Kevin Stitt, the Oklahoma State Department of Education, the Oklahoma History Center, the Oklahoma Arts Council, the Office of Management & Enterprise Services and the Oklahoma Highway Patrol.


Events Office
Governor’s Christmas Tree Lighting Ceremony or (405) 522-8767
State Superintendent of Public Instruction Joy Hofmeister welcomes schools to attend the Governor’s Christmas Tree Lighting Ceremony, at the Oklahoma History Center. All students and the public are invited to attend the lighting of the Capitol tree, which will take place on the south side of the Capitol.

Calling all First through Fifth Grade Classrooms!

On behalf of Governor Kevin Stitt, First Lady Sarah Stitt, and State Superintendent of Public Instruction Joy Hofmeister, we are excited to announce the upcoming Governor's Christmas Tree Lighting Ceremony on Monday, December 9, 2019


Capitol Building Trees Decoration

Apply Here

Applications are due by November 4, 2019 and teachers will be notified if their class has been chosen. Each class of students is responsible for decorating one four-foot artificial tree, with a theme selected by the students.

The day’s activities, for the 25 chosen classes, include tree decorating; photos with Governor Kevin Stitt, First Lady Sarah Stitt, and State Superintendent Hofmeister; a visit from Santa Claus; treats; storybook reading; musical entertainment, and the lighting of the Christmas Tree.



Schools Selected for Decorating

2018 Selected Schools

  • Alex Elementary – Alex Public Schools
  • Arnett Elementary – Arnett Public Schools
  • Richard Kane Elementary – Bartlesville Public Schools
  • Battiest Elementary – Battiest Public Schools
  • Carnegie Elementary – Carnegie Public Schools
  • Dover Elementary – Dover Public Schools
  • Washington Irving Elementary – Edmond Public Schools
  • Glenwood Elementary – Glenwood Public Schools
  • Gore Elementary – Gore Public Schools
  • Central Elementary – Guthrie Public Schools
  • Gypsy Elementary – Gypsy Public Schools
  • Crosby Park Elementary – Lawton Public Schools
  • McAlester Elementary – McAlester Public Schools
  • Country Estates Elementary – Mid-Del Public Schools
  • Mustang Valley Elementary – Mustang Public Schools
  • Bodine Elementary – Oklahoma City Public Schools
  • Oklahoma Virtual Charter Academy
  • Pauls Valley Elementary – Pauls Valley Public Schools
  • Preston Elementary – Preston Public Schools
  • Garfield STEAM Academy – Sand Springs Public Schools
  • Ward Elementary – Shidler Public Schools
  • Silo Elementary – Silo Public Schools
  • Tupelo Elementary – Tupelo Public Schools
  • Wilburton Elementary – Wilburton Public Schools
  • Highland Park Elementary – Woodward Public Schools


2017 Selected Schools

  • Achille Elementary - Achille Public Schools
  • Anderson Elementary - Anderson Public Schools
  • Bethel Lower Elementary - Bethel Public Schools
  • Rhoades Elementary - Broken Arrow Public Schools
  • Will Rogers Elementary - Burns Flat-Dill City Public Schools
  • Plato Elementary - Duncan Public Schools
  • Ida Freeman Elementary - Edmond Public Schools
  • Frederick Elementary - Frederick Public Schools
  • Hugo Intermediate - Hugo Public Schools
  • Jenks East Intermediate - Jenks Public Schools
  • Elementary - John Rex Charter School
  • McLoud Early Childhood Center - McLoud Public Schools
  • Plaza Towers Elementary - Moore Public Schools
  • Elementary - Oklahoma School for the Deaf
  • Okmulgee Primary - Okmulgee Public Schools
  • Porter Elementary - Porter Consolidated
  • Jefferson Elementary - Pryor Public Schools
  • Wiley Post Elementary - Putnam City  Public Schools
  • Limestone Tech Academy - Sand Springs Public Schools
  • Shattuck Elementary - Shattuck Public Schools
  • South Rock Creek Elementary - South Rock Creek
  • Tonkawa Elementary - Tonkawa Public Schools
  • Walters Elementary - Walters Public Schools
  • Watonga Elementary - Watonga Public Schools
  • Highland Park Elementary - Woodward Public Schools
  • Finley-Reese Elementary - Wright City Public Schools


2016 Selected Schools

  • Washington Grade Center - Ada Public Schools
  • Balko Elementary - Balko Public Schools
  • Bokoshe Elementary - Bokoshe Public Schools
  • Edison Elementary - Bristow Public Schools
  • Cherokee Nation Immersion - Cherokee Nation Public Schools
  • Southwest Elementary - Clinton Public Schools
  • Washington Irving Elementary - Durant Public Schools
  • Orvis Risner Elementary - Edmond Public Schools
  • Gore Lower Elementary - Gore Public Schools
  • Locust Grove Upper Elementary - Locust Grove Public Schools
  • Marietta Primary Elementary - Marietta Public Schools
  • Mason Elementary - Mason Public Schools
  • Parkview Elementary - Mid-Del Public Schools
  • Mill Creek Elementary - Mill Creek Public Schools
  • Elementary Learning Academy - Millwood Public Schools
  • Pioneer Elementary - Noble Public Schools
  • Hawthorne - Oklahoma City Public Schools
  • Barnes Elementary - Owasso Public Schools
  • Lake Park Elementary - Putnam City Public Schools
  • Springer Elementary - Springer Public Schools
  • Stratford Elementary - Stratford Public Schools
  • Strother Elementary - Strother Public Schools
  • Roy Clark Elementary - Union Public Schools
  • Central Intermediate - Wagoner Public Schools
  • Wellston Elementary - Wellston Public Schools
  • Cedar Heights Elementary - Woodward Public Schools




  Summit Bus - Sponsor
Summit Bus


Back to Top
Share This Page!
Last updated on October 18, 2019