Oklahoma Advisory Council on Indian Education (OACIE)

The Oklahoma Advisory Council on Indian Education was created by House Bill 2929 which became effective on July 1, 2010, and will continue until July 1, 2014. The Council shall make recommendations to the State Board of Education and the Superintendent of public instruction in the Education matters affecting the Education of Native American students in Oklahoma.

The Council is composed of an 18 member board which will make a recommendation, evaluate, and make an annual report on the effectiveness of the public education system in meeting the needs of the Native American students in Oklahoma. The Council meets quarterly.

Oklahoma Advisory Council on Indian Education Meetings

OACIE Next Meeting
Wednesday, October 12th at the Oklahoma State Department of Education in room 315 at 10:00 a.m

Previous 2016 Meetings

  • July 20
  • April 13
  • February 10

All meetings begin at 10:00 a.m. and held at Oklahoma State Department of Education unless noted otherwise.

All minutes can be view below.


OACIE Membership List

The complete list of appointees for the 18-member Oklahoma Advisory Council on Indian Education is as follows:

Members representing Tribes – appointed by Governor

  • Greg Anderson, Muscogee Creek Nation
  • Jana Roth, Delaware Tribe
  • Lori Hamilton, Chickasaw Nation
  • Lisa John, Chickasaw Nation
  • David Walkingstick, Cherokee Nation

Members representing Tribal Education Departments – appointed by Governor

  • Judy C. Davis, Miami Nation
  • Mary McCormick, Sac and Fox Nation
  • Jim Parrish, Choctaw Nation
  • Rhonda Hayworth Ottawa Tribe

Member representing the Oklahoma Council for Indian Education – appointed by Governor

  • Lucyann Harjo, Coordinator, Indian Education, Norman Public Schools

Members representing statewide teacher organizations – appointed by President Pro Tempore

  • Esther Bell, Shawnee, Ok
  • Mr. Paul Pinkerton, Stilwell, OK

Member representing a statewide organization for school superintendents – appointed by the Speaker of the House

  • Todd Crabtree, Superintendent, Byng Public Schools

Member representing an Oklahoma Tribal College – appointed by Chancellor of Higher Ed

  • President Robert Bible, College of the Muscogee Nation

Director of the Native American Cultural & Educational Authority  

  • Shoshana Wasserman, Oklahoma City, OK

The Chancellor of Higher Education’s Designee

  • Matt Higdon, Director of Student Preparation Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education

Oklahoma Department of Career & Technology Education’s Designee

  • Becky Foster


Previous Year Meetings and Minutes

  • October 12 | Minutes
  • July 20 | Minutes
  • April 13 | Minutes
  • February 10 | Minutes


Last updated on November 9, 2018