Questions regarding
Project AWARE?

Cheryl McGee, MHR, LPC, LADC

Project AWARE Program Manager


Lori Hollingsworth, M.Ed., LPC

AWARE East Project Manager



Janessa Bointy, M.Ed.


 School Counseling Specialist


Follow Us!

OK Aware logo


The purpose of the AWARE grant is to build or expand the capacity of State Educational Agencies in partnership with State Mental Health Agencies and Local Education Agencies to 1) increase awareness of mental health issues among students 2) provide training to school personnel and other adults who interact with students to detect and respond to mental health issues; and 3) connect students, who may have behavioral health issues, serious emotional disturbance or serious mental illness, and their families to needed services.

Project AWARE is a SAMHSA grant totaling $8,616,110. It is a five year grant that will increase mental health services and supports to students in Elk City, Weatherford and Woodward public schools. Project AWARE has added an additional licensed mental health professional in each district as well as a community manager. These individuals with the project AWARE team are working to ensure students mental health needs are met within district buildings as well as increase partnerships and mental health awareness in the community.

Check out what Superintendent Joy Hofmeister has to say about Project AWARE!

Mental Health Grants Press Release

In September 2020, a second SAMHSA grant was awarded totaling $8,981,170. This is also a five year grant that will increase mental health services and supports to students in Ada City, Atoka, and Checotah public schools. 

New Grants Press Release



AWARE Grant School Districts

Elk City Woodward Logo Weatherford
Elk City Woodward Weatherford
Ada City Atoka Checotah



Back to Top
Share This Page!
Last updated on January 8, 2021