To ensure appropriate social distancing, OSDE staff members are available by appointment only. Please reach out to any staff or department for help.

STEM


STEM Education

STEM is an acronym that stands for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics. The Oklahoma State Department of Education is dedicated to preparing students for their futures, and a high-quality STEM education will help prepare students for post-secondary science, math, engineering, computer science, and technology opportunities.

As the Department of Education states, in an ever-changing, increasingly complex world, it's more important than ever that our nation's youth are prepared to bring knowledge and skills to solve problems, make sense of information, and know how to gather and evaluate evidence to make decisions. These are the kinds of skills that students develop in science, technology, engineering, and math. If we want a nation where our future leaders, neighbors, and workers have the ability to understand and solve some of the complex challenges of today and tomorrow, and to meet the demands of the dynamic and evolving workforce, building students' skills, content knowledge, and fluency in STEM fields is essential. We must also make sure that, no matter where children live, they have access to quality learning environments (https://www.ed.gov/stem).

In Oklahoma, STEM education includes the individual disciplines of mathematics, computer science, and science as well as the purposeful integration and application of mathematics and science with technology and engineering. Students must receive quality foundations in each of their STEM subjects while also engaging in both STEM appreciation and STEM integration experiences throughout their PK-12 academic journeys.

STEM Appreciation STEM Integration

Contains one or more of the STEM subject content areas isolated or loosely connected in a lesson or activity.

Connects concept(s) and practice(s) across STEM disciplines.

 

Contains activities related to STEM concepts, but they may not be related to all grade-level content standards.

Contains all facets of STEM disciplines in activities related to grade-appropriate content standards.

Whether students are experiencing the individual disiplines, STEM appreciation, or STEM integration experiences, high-quality STEM education is driven by problem-solving, discovery, exploratory project/problem-based learning, and student-centered development of ideas and solutions.

To ensure Oklahoma students become inspired learners and prepared leaders who can solve the challenges of a world of emerging STEM careers,the Oklahoma State Department of Education STEM Team will provide leadership, support, and resources to allow for the design and implementation of effective STEM learning environments and prepare students to make informed decisions on STEM issues and careers.

STEM Curriculum and Instruction Team

Name Title Email

Megan Ashbaugh

Coordinator I

Megan.Ashbaugh@sde.ok.gov

Gena Barnhill

Oklahoma Excel Math Specialist

Gena.Barnhill@sde.ok.gov

Lauren Jenks-Jones

Director of Early Childhood

Lauren.Jenks-Jones@sde.ok.gov

Heather Johnston

Director of Science and Engineering

Heather.Johnston@sde.ok.gov

Susan Kirk

Director of Elementary Mathematics

Susan.Kirk@sde.ok.gov

Christine Koerner

Director of Secondary Mathematics

Christine.Koerner@sde.ok.gov

Karen Leonard

Director of Computer Science and Education Technology

Karen.Leonard@sde.ok.gov

Ashley Moore

Director of Gifted and Talented

Ashley.Moore@sde.ok.gov

Rebecca Morales

Director of Instructional Materials and Library Media

Rebecca.Morales@sde.ok.gov

Susan Wray

Oklahoma Excel- Science Specialist

Susan.Wray@sde.ok.gov

 

 

 

Back to Top
Share This Page!
Last updated on November 4, 2020